We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn House

The Barn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn House
Orton CA10 3RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Orton B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed at here while doing the coast to coast walk, this was first class accommodation, Judith and Peter made us most welcome. Lovely big rooms and a nice deep bath to soak weary legs.
There is an excellent residents lounge to sit and have a cuppa while overlooking the fields. The George Hotel is only a few minutes walk away where Hazel and her hubby have recently taken over and the food is excellent. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B

Room Tip: Ask forthe first floor room, its closer to the residents lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The guide book spoke glowingly of this place and it was spot on. Great welcome, best room of the walk with en-suite facilities including a bath – very welcome at this stage. Run by a very friendly couple who appreciate the needs of walkers. On the edge of a beautiful village with a pub for the evening meal. We set off from here for the last day of our walk in very good spirits.
General note: We only did the 1st half of the Coast to Coast from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen. Our trip was organised very well by Mac’s Adventures. In addition to the accommodation reviewed here, we also stayed at the Jolly Farmers, Kirkby Stephen, The Stork Hotel, Frizington/Ennerdale Bridge, Yew Cragg Guesthouse, Rosthwaite, Silverlea Guest House, Grasmere, Home Farm, Patterdale and the Crown & Mitre, Bampton

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Another welcome bath on our C2C walk.........the magnetic ducks in the bath amused my husband for a time while he soaked his aches away. Lovely big room. The other good thing for us was the fact that there was fresh milk put out in a flask for tea instead of the usual plastic milk you find everywhere, though to be fair everywhere we have been we have asked for a jug of milk and have been given one without any fuss.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Warm welcome after an awful day weather wise.
Best bath of the walk, lovely room.
Food (evening meal was also offered) was excellent.
Chocolate factory nearby definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn House

Address: Orton CA10 3RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Orton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orton
Also Known As:
The Barn House Orton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Barn House to your Saves list