We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend with dog and been back on business!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westmorland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westmorland Hotel to your Saves list
Westmorland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Orton | Penrith, Orton CA10 3SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orton
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic weekend with dog and been back on business!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Was desperately trying to find a dog friendly hotel for a weekend in Cumbria that was affordable and stumbled on this one. It couldn't have been better! Dog bowls, dog mat and a bag of dog treats ensured the German Shepherd was entirely happy with the stay, and a comfortable room, lovely restuarant views and a log fire meant his humans were happy too. Yes, it is a motorway hotel - but - once in the hotel you would never know it. Charming.

Re-booked an overnight stop as part of a business trip and the hotel could not be more accommodating. Arriving at 1.00 am I did not expect to be offered a drink from the bar and sandwiches and a late breakfast if I woke late! Staff are charming.

I will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westm0rlandH0tel, Manager at Westmorland Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I am really pleased you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently introduced dog bowls, mats and Lily's Kitchen treats which are put in your room ready to use on arrival. Although we are a dog friendly hotel, we do have a limited number of dog friendly rooms which means these rooms can be maintained to a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you and your dog again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    134
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
181
26
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have enjoyed using this hotel for the last 25 years. Its location is close to the M6, yet far enough back to be quiet. The moorland location is excellent and the large log fire in the lounge is extremely inviting.
The restaurant was better than the last time we ate there with a few worthwhile new items.
However there were downers. The bathroom had a strong small of mould and the paintwork in the room and the corridor were looking tired. We told the front desk about the mould and they seemed genuinely surprised - or were they?
Normally a higher score for this hotel, but their crown has gone mouldy! Let's hope they regain their crown soon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

On a trip to visit friends in North Wales we decided to break our journey by taking b&b at this Hotel. Very pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation and service provided by a Hotel which is so easily accessed from the motorway. The bedrooms are beautifully presented and you are not aware of any traffic noise. We ate in the bar and were surprised to find we could have had the same meal at no extra charge in our room. The only disappointment was the lack of choice for the breakfast not too much choice for a vegetarian on the hot buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is located close to the Tebay services, on the North side of the M6. Our visit was to break the journey between Glasgow and London and it was a good choice. The hotel is located within lovely scenery, with lots of hills and dales and, closer to the hotel, water features and beautiful local stone. We were warmly welcomed and encouraged to have (free) tea and coffee in the lounge, to unwind after the drive. The main lounge area is very large, but made cosy with the log fire and impressive fireplace and soft furnishings. There are magazines to read, newspapers and books, plus a range of board games etc. We also dined at the hotel and the food was very good. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and thankfully very warm as it was a very cold night. We had tea-making equipment in our room, with delicious shortbread biscuits, excellent. The bed, the linens, towels, etc., are all to a high standard.

Room Tip: Check-in staff seem keen to ensure guests have a good experience, so if you have any specific room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our stop at the Westmorland was not planned and therefore we had not read the reviews. I am not at all surprised with the comments. This is an outstanding hotel, easy to find, warm and comfortable, excellent staff and great food and wine .OK there are no table cloths in the restaurant and dogs are not allowed to be in the very enticing lounge with the great log fire, but these are not a reason not to have a great stay on the way north or south. Our dinner was one of the best meals we have ever had in a hotel, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This weekend we have made our second trip to the Westmorland and it was just as great as we remembered. Last time we stayed here was with family and grandchildren when attending a wedding at Ullswater. The hotel was warm and very well appointed and the service was excellent
and the food was delicious with locally sourced ingredients cooked well. Once again the food was as good as last time and staying as a couple gave us time to savour and enjoy all this hotel has to offer from the tea and coffee and home made biscuits served each afternoon free of charge to relaxing by the open log fire in the lounge with coffee after a splendid meal. This truly is a gem in the Lakes and as the Autumn colour was at it's best we had a really relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the Hotel overlooking the waterfall have a magnificent view over the moor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Agree with all the positive comments - this is easily the best motorway hotel you'll find, and excellent value in terms of hotels anywhere. Service is professional, polite and free of those insincere formulaic questions you find in many hotels. The room was comfortable, clean and had a very useful cupboard for putting children in (seriously!). Taps needed a slight refurb, but everything else was fine and the green focus of this business means you get what you need in terms of toiletries etc. but no more. No tea-making equipment, but you can get it sent up easily. Breakfast similar to most breakfasts, but the ingredients are very good quality. There was a beautiful open log fire burning in the main reception area, but it must be reported that the air in that room did smell a bit smoky, which could annoy some people. The restaurant is obviously good (we did not eat in it), but a great point about this place is that you can walk 2 minutes to the Tebay services canteen and eat more basic but good quality food there if you want to - it's all part of the same company. Why can't more places offer this level of quality and value for money?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westmorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmorland Hotel

Address: Near Orton | Penrith, Orton CA10 3SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Orton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family owned 3 star Westmorland Hotel has a contemporary design, which uses natural materials throughout. Friendly and relaxing with a cosy lounge complete with crackling log fire and 50 comfortable bedrooms with luxurious bathrooms and many have breathtaking mountain views too. The restaurant has tempting menus serving the finest local ingredients including Galloway Beef and Herdwick lamb from our farm just a mile away. Our award winning Farmshop is a short walk from the Hotel, where you can stock up on goodies with the cool bags provided. Add to this our attentive team of staff who care passionately that your stay at The Westmorland Hotel will be the first of many. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westmorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmorland Hotel Penrith
Westmorland Hotel Orton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westmorland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.