We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Victoria PH

Queen Victoria PH
Pelting Drove, Priddy, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Priddy
Cuisines: Vegetarian, British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

After a long walk around the mendips while staying with my family, we popped into the Queen Victoria in a tiny village in Priddy.
The roaring open fire makes everyone that frequents this beautiful country pub feel warm, welcome and homely.

The lady behind the bar(Assistant Manager, sorry the name evades me!) was an excellent host, always smiling, and nothing was too much of a problem for her, when she had time she would converse with us about our visit and showed us a couple of books on Priddy's 'past.' She even brought our dog a couple of doggy treats!
The food was astronomically good. Very large portions that warm and fill you and excellent value. The "Proper Pie,"I would recommend to all whom visit the beautiful Queen Victoria.

Overall a quaint and welcoming 'proper' country pub.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice and warm inside in the winter, but plenty of space outside in the summer. Good selection of drinks on tap and the food is always tasty and good value - lots of the meat etc. is sourced from the farm shop just up the road. A regular haunt when in the area!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A haven for the hungry traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I confess to being on the ham-egg-and-chips experience at the moment. So apologies to more discerning gourmets. But this classic pub-grub dish varies enormously in quality and price. A couple of weeks ago I sampled it at a pub near my home in Axminster and was pretty disappointed. This week, my faith in the ham-egg-and-chips experience was fully restored at the Queen Vic. It's not a pub you are likely to stumble on other than by chance because it sits in the back of nowhere at a wee village called Priddy in the Mendip Hills hinterland beyond the city of Wells.

The Queen Victoria is a lovely old Somerset pub, virtually untouched by modernisation. There are flagstone floors, rough hewn wooden tables and an inglenook with a blazing log fire. Wet dogs and wellies are welcome, if not de rigeur. We sat beneath a photograph of Her Majesty, the only sombre touch that we encountered. The service, by the recently arrived hosts, is as warm and welcoming as the hearth. This time around my ham-egg-and-chips was served as I reckon it should be served! Tender, sweet ham, two proper free-range eggs, home-cooked chips to die for, and a decent fresh garnish of salad and coleslaw. My wife tucked into the steak-and-ale pie and was equally impressed. All at a decently-pitched price. If you are in the area, make a pilgrimage! In these days when country pubs are in danger of extinction, this is one definitely to put on the protected list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had left booking a meal to the last minute and this was the only place available for 7 of us.
It was a cosy pub and very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble when ordering food, they were even going to do us a meal to take away for one of our group who couldn't make it. The food was delicious and the portions massive. Order the small portion option as this is more than enough. Will definitely return if in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Making you feel at home when away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having just returned from a very relaxing week break in the village of Priddy, I really must say that the welcome that we received from the landlord, the staff, and locals of the Queen Victoria Inn was probably the best that we have received anywhere. Mark the landlord was an excellent host the whole week, he remembered our names and really did make us and the dog feel really at home (he even gave the dog a chewy stick on each visit). Even at busy times he did his best to reserve our 'favourite table' as soon as it became free. The meals are super and great value for money, we wished we could have stayed longer to eat our way through the whole menu! The ambience is warm, cosy and exactly what we were looking for in a village pub. Its a real village pub with real village people, not just filled with tourists and 'weekend' residents. We most certainly will visit this place again - the pub, the village, the people are a real delight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Victoria PH also viewed

 
Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Queen Victoria PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Victoria PH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.