We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Budir

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Budir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Budir
Save
You added Hotel Budir to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budir, Budir 356 Snaefellsnes, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a "country hotel" set in the most beautiful location. The views are over the windswept beach, with the lava fields on the side. We stayed here one night during our 11 day drive around Iceland. It was the perfect spot to relax and enjoy nature. I had two lovely long walks, from the hotel, without getting in the car again. The communal sitting areas are comfortable and a perfect place to enjoy the view when it is cold outside. I had an attic bedroom, which was very comfortable and had a view towards the sea.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    113
    29
    24
    7
See reviews for
53
233
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really nice Place, lovely old fashion styled rooms and good breakfast. We expected a little bit more from the restaurant, but it was good. You can have a nice walk from the Hotel through Lava fields and its a good Location to discover the snaefellsnes peninsula..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

WE recently stayed at this gorgeous hotel. After a long day of driving we stumbled into this oasis. The view of the ocean from our room was stunning. Slept with the windows open to the sounds of the surf and sea birds. Fantastic dinner with beautiful presentation. Slept so well and then beautiful breakfast with pretty china and table cloths. Staff made us coffee as we arose long before breakfast. An absolute delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 on honeymoon. Driving up to the hotel it is in the middle of nowhere. The landscape around is beautiful. We stayed one night in room 1 corner room on ground floor near reception. The views were breathtaking from the windows (see photo), it did look onto the carpark but did not matter. You could see the small stream near the hotel and the misty mountains in the background. The bed was extremely comfortable, nicely decorated room. We spent some time using the telescope near the bar watching a local seal swim around in the river. I would definitely recommend having a drink there to savor the view. We had dinner in the restaurant, probably the best lamb I have ever had. It was not cheap but definitely worth the price, an unforgettable meal. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Room 1 had beautiful view, on ground floor and corner room (see photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel Budir is an oasis in the middle of the sparsely populated Snaefellsnes Peninsula. The rooms and common areas are beautifully decorated, and the surrounding countryside is magnificent. The restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Budir was the highlight of our Iceland trip. What makes it special is authenticity. It is not a luxury hotel like a Four Seasons – more comparable to a remote high-quality lodge in Alaska. The setting is breathtaking, windswept, isolated – stunning. We put on our windbreakers and warm clothing and went for walks with fantastic views of ocean, mountains, glaciers, lava fields – it was magical. The little black church at the top of the hill, seen against the backdrop of the desolate yet gorgeous landscape, is achingly beautiful. When the weather is not inviting or you just want to rest, the comfortable bar/lounge is always open and provides beautiful views through the large glass windows. Talk to Johannes at the bar to get insights about Iceland.

We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant – the seafood soup, which takes several days to make, is intensely flavorful, the lamb and fish excellent. Breakfast was very good with wonderful smoked salmon and many other choices from fish to cereal. We could barely tear ourselves away from the place.

Don’t go with expectations for an American hotel chain – open your eyes and heart and inhale the surroundings. There are few places left like Hotel Budir. Most of them have been bought by investors who transform them into luxury lodges for the “One Percent”. Hotel Budir tries to stay accessible to people like us who can’t afford to drop a thousand Dollars for a night. It is a very special place, and we will certainly return there when we visit Iceland again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel, but I happened to have lunch there while on a road trip in a car to view the surrounding country side. What an amazing place! I would highly recommend this especially for couples. If I ever come back to Iceland, I plan to drive the island and stay at this hotel. This is truly a unique place. The food was excellent, the decor and history truly unique.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Budir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Budir

Address: Budir, Budir 356 Snaefellsnes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Budir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Budir is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful countryside hotels in Iceland, just a short drive from Iceland’s capital city, Reykjavik. The hotel sits in a lava field on the westernmost tip of the Snaefellsnes peninsula, in the western region of Iceland.Due to the hotel’s location, guests have an impressive view of the breathtaking Snaefellsjokull glacier and the Budir-estuary which meanders into the vast Faxafloi-Bay where a number of seals reside.Over the winter time its cozy sitting by the fireplace having hot chocolate and enjoying the amazing northern lights Aurora borealis just outside the hotel.Hotel Budir’s restaurant, arguably one of the most romantic restaurants in Iceland, has been referred to as "The Mecca of Icelandic cooking", due to its unique and delightful cuisine. The restaurant’s menu is seasonal and takes advantage of fresh local produce like seafood and fish from neighbouring villages such as Stykkisholmur, Olafsvik and Borgarnes.The hotel also organises and hosts a number of weddings, all of which are unique and tailor made with the wedding couple or their representatives. Many of the weddings ceremonies are conducted in the little church close to Hotel Budir or in the hotel reception; it is even possible to get married on the golden sand beach close to the hotel.In addition, the hotel also offers facilities for meetings and small-to-medium sized conferences thus making it ideal for business-meetings or conferences with colleagues.Hotel Budir has it all, a world-class service, fine food and drink and luxurious rooms, making it ideal for get-togethers with friends and family, or a romantic weekend with a loved one – all of which can be enjoyed in an indescribably beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Budir Hotel Stykkishólmur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Budir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.