We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful surprise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blazing Horizon Cottages

Blazing Horizon Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiteway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blazing Horizon Cottages
Save
You added Blazing Horizon Cottages to your Saves list
445 Main Street | Route 80, Whiteway, Heart's Delight, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we couldn't have been happier. We booked online, and when we drove up to the KYRA cottage we were SO pleasantly surprised. The price we paid is a complete VALUE!!! Believe me. We had up to date furnishings, comfy linens, lots of pillows and cushions. Full kitchen and full bathroom with bathrobes even! We were in the 3 bedroom cottage and felt like we were at our home away from home. There was a fire place too. We felt so peaceful with the Shag Rock views on Trinity Bay and the forest beside us. Heavenly!! I only wish we could have spent more time there to enjoy the local sights and have a fire in our firepit, or a BBQ. We enjoyed eating at Brown's Restaurant on site, a couple of times. The staff led by Barb, are just incredible and SO friendly. Everything we ever heard of the friendly people in Newfoundland is true at this establishment! Absolutely perfect, and if we ever are back in that area, we will certainly be staying at Blazing Horizons again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We didn't stay at the cottages but we ate at the restaurant 3 times. The menu is extensive & the food is really good. Friendly staff & management. Next time in NL, we'll stay at the cottages. They look great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Falls-windsor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have stayed at these beautiful cabins twice now and tried a third time (spur of the moment and they were booked up unfortunately!). The restaurant has THE BEST staff and the food is fantastic! We love staying here and traveling into the city for shopping and it's great that these cabins are only approx. 45 minutes from St. John's! I would stay here anytime and travel that distance than stay in the city for the same price and not near as comfortable as this!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Blazing Horizon Cottages was an experience we'll never forget. The cottages were were secluded, well appointed, and had ocean views that soothed our souls. Hosts, Barb and Cecil Brown, opened their hearts as well as their accommodations to us. Beginning with our arrival until our departing hugs, they did everything possible to insure that our trip was picture perfect. We enthusiastically recommend Blazing Horizon and their accompanying restaurant, Brown's Restaurant. You won't find a more beautiful site or kinder people anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Althought I didn't stay at the Blazing Horizon Cottages, we most certainly frequented the restaurant most every night for dinner. One of the waitresses, Una, did a wonderful job of teaching us about the local culture; Barb the owner showed my 14 yr old teen the craft of folding paper napkins (staff fold 30,000 yearly!) and all of the staff were very gracious when I thought Shag Rock (as viewed directly from the restaurant window) was a black iceberg!
I've never seen such a colourful shrimp cocktail, the seafood dinner was superb and each time we went, my teen ate the seafood chowder and fried chocolate brownie or the apple caramel dessert.
Their little gift shop offered some really nice local crafts, too, which I found waned on the rest of the peninsula.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Blazing Horizon Cottages in Whiteway on the Avalon was the highlight of our trip. Went to NFLD with mother and girlfriends to site-see and stayed at the Kyra Cottage in Blazing Horizon cottages. Cottage was beautiful, tastefully decorated, extremely clean and very homey. Barb and Cecil, along with their daughters Colleen and Renne made us feel like extended family and went out of their way to help us plan an itinerary, sit around the campfire with us, share their history and provide the best NFLD food we've had in their restaurant, Brown's. Already planning to go back next summer with more family and friends. Cottages provide a great view of Shag Rock and more are being built already, right down to the ocean. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Just spent a week travelling around the Avalon Peninsula in Newfoundland. We stumbled upon Blazing Horizon Cottages while looking for accomadations and what a find. Having just opened their cottages in 2006, Barb & Cecil Brown spared no expense to make you feel at home. These lovely cottages are fully furnished, featuring leather couches, feather beds, whirlpool bath, separate shower, and full kitchens. The views of the ocean were spectacular.
The Browns also operate an award winning restaurant on-site, so if we didn't feel like cooking, a great meal was only steps away.

  • Liked — The view and all the comforts of home
  • Disliked — We could get right down to the ocean (I hear it is coming soon though!)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blazing Horizon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blazing Horizon Cottages

Address: 445 Main Street | Route 80, Whiteway, Heart's Delight, Newfoundland and Labrador A0B 3L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Heart's Delight > Whiteway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Whiteway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blazing Horizon Cottages, located on the scenic Baccalieu Trail, in Whiteway, Newfoundland, offering fully equipped two-bedroom and three-bedroom oceanfront cottages where you will experience breathtaking blazing horizons ...Blazing Horizon Cottages are privately situated in a quiet country setting overlooking Trinity Bay and Shag Rocks. Cottages are spacious and fully wheelchair accessible with large picture windows and decks that give you a panoramic view! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blazing Horizon Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.