We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will walk away satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roadside Grill

Roadside Grill
3334 Hwy 1, Belliveaus Cove, Nova Scotia B0W 1J0, Canada
(902) 837-5047
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You will walk away satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I live next door to this place. I have probably been here 100 times and it has been great every single time! David, the owner, takes great pride in his restaurant and it shows. The portions are generous and the seafood is always fresh. The seafood platter is the cat's meow. Might i add the service is great and you will not wait for your meal. Top notch roadside diner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Been coming here for decades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Whenever I am in Nova Scotia I have to come here for a fried clams and a milkshake. Been coming here since the 70's and have never been disappointed. If you are passing through skip the fast food and stop here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Food In Clare..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is the best place to eat in Clare.... Fast,resealable price,friendly,and best of all! The best food seafood..Oh the gravy!Yummy..Every thing is good here..We never know what to eat,because everything is SO good...:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“soooooooo good :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of our family traditions as a local - we often enjoy our Sunday lunch following church at the Roadside Grill. My favorite is the homemade chicken rapure pie with coleslaw. It is made fresh almost every day of the year, but when it runs out, it runs out - much more difficult to get it by suppertime. I enjoy the pan fried fish as well. The deep fried mushrooms are very good with sour cream as an appetizer or with your meal. My husband often orders clams and fish - huge portions and some of the best around this area. Most of the staff have worked at the Grill their whole lives and are very pleasant and super quick! Just like going home......

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“My "Must Stop" for Clare, Digby Co.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Since a young child, I have been making stops at the Roadside Grill. On each visit to see family, Roadside Grill is our first stop when first entering Clare. The quality is always great as is the value (huge portions!). My personal favorites is the Clam & Chips platter or the Hot Chicken Sandwich & Fries. Getting a dish of rapure/rappie is hit and miss as they tend to sell out quickly. Though there is nothing fancy about Roadside Grill (the name should help paint the picture!) and your beverage comes in a can, this little place holds a special spot in my heart... and my stomach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadside Grill also viewed

Saulnierville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Belliveaus Cove, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Weymouth, Southwest Nova Scotia

Been to Roadside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.