We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Kettle B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Kettle B&B
Save Saved
You added Iron Kettle B&B to your Saves list
7005 Country Road 46, Comber, Lakeshore, Ontario N0P 1J0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Comber B&B and Inns
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As soon as we arrived at the Iron Kettle, we were charmed by the historic setting. Truly a beautifully maintained historic home and property. The rooms offered luxury beds, top quality towels and linens (all ironed) and our personal bathroom. Ben and Ginette, our hosts, made us feel at home the minute we walked in. The dinners and breakfasts prepared by Ben were exquisite. Wonderful place to stay if you are visiting the Pelee wineries. We will be back for sure! Merci!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A 5 star superior standard! A historic 5 bedroom house true to the period and restored impeccably! Rooms offer an interesting mix of modern and antique furnishings, luxury beds, top quality linens & towels (all ironed!), bathroom amenities. The grounds are impeccable offering private patio area, pool and hot tub, pond and more! Wineries are relatively close!

The distinguishing a factor...the food! The owners, Chef Ben Leblanc-Beaudoin and his wife Ginette Tremblay offer the best meals! Every breakfast offers fruits, fresh pastries, coffee, cappuccino, espresso, and some form of warm dish often with farm fresh eggs, local potatoes and veggies etc...

A MUST...the Chef’s Table Escape!!! Using local ingredients, Chef Ben creates the most exquisite 5 course meal! In our case we had: a strawberry/raspberry warm spinach & basil salad with balsamic reduction dressing; wild Ontario leek risotto with pickerel cheeks and Grana Padano cheese; Pan seared Lake Erie pickerel with sautéed spinach and mushrooms on a caper parsillade; Local lamb served with thyme rosemary flavored, bbq grilled sweet potato and fresh, local green beans; desert to die for... Local berries cobbler with espresso...all served with exquisitely paired wines from Crew, Oakley and Viewpoint Wineries.

The hosts are friendly, kind and a pleasure to chat with.... and to fully bilingual! Des vrais franco-ontariens!!!

An experience not to miss!

Room Tip: Ask Ben about winery tours or visits and local markets If not interested in the 5 course meal.... a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I arrived with a friend on a picture-perfect summer day to the warm welcome of Ben at the historic Iron Kettle. We had just enough time to visit a winery before dinner and select a wine to match Ben's planned menu. When we returned, we relaxed around the pool while dinner was prepared. It didn't disappoint – local ingredients, farm-fresh and perfectly prepared. And plenty. By the time we finished our chocolate Crème Brulée, we were stuffed.
We loved our room, with fresh flowers on the bedside table, overlooking the pond.
The area is ripe with roadside farm stands, flower shops and wineries. The lake – and Point Pelee – is a short drive.
Iron Kettle will no doubt become a repeat destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the moment we walked in till the moment we left our experience at the Iron Kettle was no where shy of superb. Everything from the hospitality and bliss felt from this historical house and its surroundings to Ben's undeniably delicious meals one can not help but find heir way back to this wonderful place. Aside from being affordable Ben's 5 course dinner masterpiece was outstanding. The rooms not only are well kept and clean but have an inviting feel to them. The Iron Kettle is not just a B&B but much more then that. It embraces all the essentials to be mentioned in the same category as a 5 Star Hotel. The Iron Kettle is a definite must!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Here is a place where you can feel comfortably at home. Benjamin wants guests to feel as relaxed as possible and goes out of his way to do so.

The food is fantastic, what you would expect from a top restaurant. Local ingredients are conjured by a highly skilled chef and the caffeine options are extensive. The breakfast area is modern and charming with large windows facing the grounds. Perfect start to the day.

The location is conveniently near major roads and highways making it easy to get around. We were able to visit the Windsor area and Pelee in just two days with time to relax in the outdoor hot tub. We fell in love with the hot tub when we relaxed under the stars while being massaged by the jets. Bliss.

All rooms are recently renovated, clean, simple and charming. Sheets, duvets, mattresses and towels are all of a fine quality. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to view all of the rooms. The Iron Kettle room is on the main floor next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The house and property are beautiful, the food is fantastic, the owners are very welcoming and friendly. The price was great, and it was a short drive to many different destinations in Windsor-Essex county. We will definitely go back, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My son and his wife gave us a nights stay at the Iron Kettle We travelled to wine country bought some wine had dinner at a great restaurant and spent our evening at The Iron Kettle Very clean! House was old and classy and had lots of wood features. Benjamin was the ultimate host. He is a tremendous chef and better then that a very warm young man with a great future in this Bed and Breakfast venture. We recommend this to all as it was Affortable beautiful and a place to kick up your heals and be pampered Thank You Benjamin for you time and friendship. We will be back! By the way ,wait until you try his breakfast treats Awesome Mr and Mrs Adam

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Kettle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Kettle B&B

Address: 7005 Country Road 46, Comber, Lakeshore, Ontario N0P 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakeshore > Comber
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Comber
Also Known As:
Iron Kettle B&B Comber, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Kettle B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.