We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn House

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn House
Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port William B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful bed & breakfast for one night, wish I could have stayed longer but work didn't permit. The room was lovely with some really nice touches. This was a bed & breakfast which is priced as a bed and breakfast but has the facilities and food of a large hotel. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks very much for posting this review.
It is lovely to know that our guests enjoy their stay and great to see your generous comments.
I hope the "business" side of your trip went well (despite the weather) and that all your beasts had been well looked after upon your return home.
We hope you will stay with us again if you find yourself in Galloway.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
59
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting the Wigtown Book Festival. Tim and Hilary are very welcoming and they have got the balance just right between making you feel at home and leaving you to your own devices.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh and what a view from the dining room!
I'd highly recommend Hawthorn House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this review. We really appreciate that you made time to do this after your brief, busy visit to Galloway. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House - and we hope your move goes well!!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilatry Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We book ed here after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and were not disappointed. Tim and Hilary made us feel very welcome. We booked the King Size room which was very spacious and plenty of drawers etc. We had a lovely view of the sea and having a pair of binoculars in the room was good to see the sea/bird life. As we arrived around 1pm we quickly left our bags and then went to the local pub for lunch as it stops serving around 1.45pm. Tim managed to books into the Clansman restuarant for our evening meal. There is not a lot to do in Port William but Tim and Hilary are very knowledgeable about the local area. The breakfast in the B & B is excellent. Good variety of cereal etc and although I did not have it my husband had the full scottish breakfast which was plentiful, homemade bread was great. Nice touches in the bedroom were the bathrobes, chocolates and most important shortbread which was delicious.
If visiting this area again I would certainly return to Hawthorn House.

Room Tip: Go for King Size room which has ensuite and looks out to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We know potential guests like to read reviews before making a booking - as you did - and are very grateful for your generous comments.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope you'll find time to visit us again.
Thank you.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashbourne derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

a luxurious place to stay while at the same time being very homely. Tim & hilary were excellent & friendly hosts who went out of their way to help and advise you. We stayed in the king-size room and it was very spacious with a large en-suite. the whole place was spotless clean and the sea view was lovely. Breakfast was very well cooked with lots of choice.Would not hesitate to stay here again if returning to this excellent area of Scotland.

Room Tip: The king size is really king size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review with your very generous comments.
We really appreciate the effort and are very grateful for all the compliments.
We're very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope that should you return to Galloway and stay with us again, you will bring better weather with you!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We chose Hawthorn House as a base to explore this lovely corner of Galloway, and were not disappointed. Hosts Tim and Hilary were welcoming and knowledgeable regarding the area, and always happy to advise on where to visit. The large en-suite double room was spacious and comfortable with a splendid sea view towards the Mull of Galloway. Breakfasts were always freshly cooked and provided an excellent start to the day.
We still have a couple of locations to 'tick-off' in the area, so if the opportunity arises we would have no hesitation in selecting Hawthorn House as our first choice of accommodation.
Tip: if you decide to dine at the nearby Clansman Restaurant in the evening, advance booking is almost essential, and even more so at weekends. (On our last evening I was fortunate enough to observe an otter on our return to the B&B - a rare and unexpected bonus!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review - and so soon too - presumably while you are continuing your holiday in Scotland. We really appreciate the positive comments you have made. When you return to Galloway to visit those remaining locations, you'll be most welcome, and rest assured we will have a ready supply of veggie suasages and beans at Hawthorn House !!
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Scotland/England and spent 1 night here. Twin room was very comfortable, warm and we were made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast also and every need catered for by lovely hosts. They went out of their way to look up places to go for our onward journey and were very knowledgeable about the local area. Lovely place to stay to explore this part of Scotland..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. We really appreciate your generous comments.
We hope the rest of your trip went well - and that you managed to fit in some viewing of birds of prey.
Next time you are in Galloway, please come and stay with us.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I couldn't be more complimentary of my stay at Hawthorn house last weekend. Tim and Hilary are friendly, down to earth hosts who have a passion for what they do while the location of Hawthorn House offers a fantastic base to discover the area by car or bike.

I paid for a single room and got a nice size double which was a great bonus as well as being offered a glass of wine in the evening which isn't the kind of hospitality I would usually expect.

I was travelling on a weekend road trip and was looking for inexpensive accommodation in the area and hawthorn House ticked those boxes from both the booking.com and visitscotland websites. In fact it far exceeded expectations in location and what was on offer.

Breakfast was great and the coffee making facilities in the room were proper jars instead of those awful satchets. An additional bonus was some excellent home-made shortbread which vanished very quickly.

Would I go back- Definitely!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim-Hilary, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a brilliant review. We really appreciate that you have made time to post such generous comments, thank you.
We hope you'll visit Galloway again soon - perhaps a cycle tour of the area - lovely quiet roads and beautiful countryside.
Whenever you return, you can be sure of a warm welcome at Hawthorn House.
Thanks again.
Tim & Hilary Pavitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: Second Sands, Port William DG8 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Port William
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north end of the coast road at Port William, there are unrestricted views over Luce Bay onto the Mull of Galloway. We are perfectly sited to offer an ideal holiday for visitors of all ages. With safe beaches, a wide variety of wildlife, beautiful countryside for walking and cycling, golf, fishing, wonderful sunsets, and a friendly welcome, you are sure to enjoy your stay. Luxurious accommodation in a beautiful location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.