We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Family Friendly, Something for Everyone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Value, Family Friendly, Something for Everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Date of Vacation: January 21-28, 2011
Wholesaler: Nolitours (Cameleon Select, standard Club Room)
Airline: Air Transat (direct flight Vancouver-Cancun)

About Us:-
We are a laid-back, self-employed, well travelled professional couple, age bracket early 60s. We tend to favour casual resorts which offer good off beach snorkeling opportunities as we are very avid snorkelers. Large, fancy resorts with amenities we are unlikely to use do not appeal to us. We prefer small resorts on a nice beach and it goes without saying that cleanliness is paramount. Although we prefer to vacation in late November, we chose this particular time period to coincide with a birthday celebration and the resort was offered at a good price. I do all of my own research and book on-line.

Unfortunately, the weather was less than idea with several very cloudy days. This was our first visit to the Catalonia Yucatan but not our first time in the Mayan Riviera or Mexico.

Flight:-
As experienced travelers we have flown Air Transat many times. Flight was on time both coming and going and actually arrived early at destination due to a strong tail wind. I had opted to pay extra and pre-booked our 2x2 seats at the rear of the aircraft. Hot meal, which included a glass of red or white wine, was decent for airline food compared to the cold sandwich they used to serve. All onboard purchases (snacks, bar, duty free) must be made by credit card only. Flight staff were extremely friendly and professional. No complaints!

Arrival:-
Our flight arrived 45 minutes early! Going through immigration and customs was painless. I knew to head straight for the exit doors to find our Nolitours rep. so the time share sharks had no opportunity to distract or detain us. We had no problem finding the bus which was to take us to the resort but as most often seems to be the case, we had a 45 minute wait for people who never showed up. I wish people would have the courtesy to let the rep. know if they plan to take a taxi instead of the bus! Our bus was to drop vacationers off at 2 resorts- the Catalonia Yucatan/Riviera Maya (where most of us got off) and then on to Catalonia Royal Tulum. Trip from the airport to the resort took about 75 minutes. Beer (Corona) was offered for sale on the bus. We arrived at the resort shortly before dinner time.

Resort Overview:-
For those who are unfamiliar with this resort, you should be aware that it's actually two resorts in one, the Yucatan side (CYB with 205 rooms) and the Riviera Maya side (CRM with 395+ rooms). Collectively the resort is often referred to as the CAT. A small service road separates the two but it's quite unobtrusive as everything flows together nicely. Guests are able to use all of the amenities at both resorts as well as the Alegria Spa. The Yucatan side is a U-shaped, 4 storey building with all balconies facing towards the pools. The Riviera Maya side is comprised of several buildings of varying heights/views and also contains the Privileged suites section. The rooms on this side are apparently renovated and nicer than those on the Yucatan side. The resort offers adjoining rooms and also a few for handicapped guests in wheelchairs or other mobility problems. Many areas of the resort are non smoking, including all of the eateries, both lobbies, theater, indoor bars and the spa.

The resort was at full capacity during our stay. This can greatly affect the atmosphere! Guests were predominantly Canadians (more than 50% were from Quebec), some Americans, a few from the UK & continental Europe, and a couple of Mexican families. We observed guests from every age group-infant to 80+ - and in all shapes & sizes. The resort also hosted seven weddings during our stay and from our vantage point, it appeared that one wedding was nicer than the next.

Check-in was a breeze and seemed reasonably efficient considering the large number of newly arrived guests. I suppose it helped to be at the front of the line! There is no bar in the lobby but a welcome drink is offered. The check-in pouch contained the room key cards, 3 a la carte restaurant vouchers, general resort info including a resort map, and several $10 discount coupons for the spa. Our beach towels were already waiting in the room. Towels can be changed daily at the hut on the beach and lost towels are subject to a $30US penalty. The in-room, electronic safe (you chose your own code) costs $3 per day in the standard rooms but is included at no charge in some of the upgraded room categories. Don't lose the activation pin for the safe! Charge for unreturned pins is $25. WiFi is available at no extra charge throughout the resort and worked well in our room. It's a bit slow but the price is right! Set up your account/password at the front desk. We had difficulty setting up our account initially as we are Linux users and the system is set up for Microsoft IE. Computer stations next to the front desk are charged at $7US for half hour of use.

Hats off to the Catalonia! They have implemented many environmental/ecology policies and practices which we fully support. These include reusing your towels and bedding for more than one day to cut down on laundry, saving water by turning off the tap when brushing your teeth, cutting back on using the air conditioner and turning off lights. What pleased us the most was the sign posted on the beach by the dive shop which reminded guests to respect the marine ecosystem and to not touch or stand on the reef. Unfortunately, too many people ignore this! The reef directly off shore is in very poor condition and guests are continuing to feed bread and bananas from the buffet to the fish. This has caused the fish to become habituated to handouts, has made them quite aggressive and most importantly, has distracted the reef fish from doing what nature intended them to do which is eat the detritus from the corals to keep the reef healthy. Please do not feed the fish! We hope that our discussions with management and the Nolitours rep. will yield the promised result of more signs being posted, especially near the lagoon. Further information on reef conservation can be found at www.reef.org

Nolitours offers the Yucatan Beach exclusively in Canada. There is a large Nolitours presence at the resort which includes 4 reps as well as a Cameleon concierge. They are all friendly, approachable, professional and very helpful! I highly recommend you attend the welcome briefing. Numerous tours are available to book through the Nolitours reps for all ages, interests and budgets.

Rooms:-
I had booked a Cameleon Club room (lowest & least expensive category) on the Yucatan side which is a basic/standard room. I am not in the habit of contacting the resort in advance to request a specific room or location. I did however make a notation in the comments box of my on-line booking for a quiet location with a king size bed. We were delighted to have been placed on the fourth floor of the CYB with a partial view of the ocean. I understand that some guests who had booked the Yucatan side were placed in the Riviera Maya section. Since I had also indicated that we were there to celebrate a birthday, we found the door to our room decorated with a birthday banner. Nice touch!

The Club rooms are basic and a bit dated but spotless! We use our room to shower and sleep and didn't feel we needed anything fancy. Doors open with a key card. Our king size bed had a newer pillow-top mattress which was very comfortable. The cotton chenille bedspread as well as the curtains appeared to be newer. Closet was of a generous size with mirrored doors. Several wire shelves inside for folded clothing and plenty of hangers as well as extra pillows and a blanket on the top rack. The resort offers a laundry service but no dry cleaning. A bag with prices is in the closet. There is an electronic safe which you programme with your own code. The safe is quite large so no problem accommodating our netbook, other electronics, camera equipment, money pouches and travel documents. The more expensive room categories offer the safe for free as well as a stocked mini-fridge, coffee maker and a few other perks.

TV with remote sits on the corner of the desk/ mirrored dressing table which has 3 generous sized side drawers. Several english channels available as well as DeutscheWelle (german) and BBC World. There is also a small table with two upholstered chairs in the corner. Plenty of lighting in the form of ceiling potlights and wall mounted bedside lamps above the bedside tables. There is no alarm clock so bring your own. Voltage in Mexico and at this resort is 110V with electrical plug configurations the same as Canada- two flat prongs, so no voltage converter is required.

Air conditioner worked great, however there was no ceiling fan which we prefer to use in lieu of A/C. Sliding door opens onto a small balcony with two plastic chairs and a matching table. There is no screen on the door. No problem with the door lock. The air conditioning does not cut out when the patio door is open.

Bathroom was pretty standard:-tub (non-slip) with regular shower head, vanity with one sink and no exhaust fan so the mirror fogs up and takes a couple of minutes to clear after showering. Water pressure was good and we never had a lack of hot water. There is a 1600 watt, two speed, wall mounted hair dryer which I found to be very adequate for my short but thick hair. Bath and hand towels as well as face clothes and a bath mat are provided. There is a handy retractable clothesline above the tub. Small basket on the counter contains small shampoo, lotion, shower cap and soaps. Facial tissues are provided. We prefer to bring our own toiletry supplies. Two large bottles of water are provided but they are not replenished so fill them at the bars or buffets. Tap water is safe for brushing teeth and showering. Others have complained about the lack of soundproofing between rooms and we found this to be true as well. Thankfully we always bring along some ear plugs and they were needed! A family with two young children next door to us provided wakeup service at about 5:45AM the morning after they arrived! Perhaps management might consider placing only adults on the upper floor? The elevator on our side of the resort was restricted to service use only so we always used the stairs. We did notice that the elevator on the other side of the resort had no such restriction. The bathroom door could have used a fresh coat of paint and some minor repair. Otherwise, no complaints about the room!

Restaurants:-
All of the restaurants are no smoking areas!
There are 2 buffets available, one on each side. Hours are the same for both:- breakfast 7-11am, lunch 12:30-3:30pm and dinner 6:30-10:30pm. A hostess will take you to an available table and seat you. This efficient system is great as it gives the staff a chance to clear and reset the table before you sit down! Never more than a 5 minute wait.

El Mercado on the Yucatan side is enclosed, air conditioned, smaller, quieter and with slightly fewer offerings however we found more than enough choices to tempt us and to be honest, we enjoyed this venue more than the other buffet. Hot food seemed to be kept hotter here as well. La Brisa buffet on the Riviera Maya side is open air, with netting to keep the birds out, but it was dark and seemed far less inviting despite the bigger selection of food items. Being louder and noisier, it also had a cafeteria atmosphere to it.

Service was so-so to very good at either buffet depending on how busy it was. With the resort at full capacity, the staff were always hustling. Neither the white or red wine served in the buffets appealed to us. We always found more than enough choices available and enjoyed the meals. What was lacking in selection was more than made up for in the quality of the food- tasty & well prepared, especially the salad bar, dessert selection and always freshly baked breads/rolls. The pastry chef/baker at this resort is top notch! For those who have recently complained, you'll be pleased to know that bacon was indeed available at El Mercado every morning for breakfast.

There are 5 a la carte restaurants to chose from, located on the Riviera Maya side of the resort and open from 6pm onward. Each restaurant is closed one night per week, so check for this. Our room category entitled us to 3 reservations. First come, first served policy for the a la cartes and how long you'll have to wait depends somewhat on the popularity of the restaurant and at what time you like to eat. The new policy seems to be the source of many complaints! The later you eat, the better your chances of getting in more quickly.

We waited over an hour for the Japanese (Mikado) and ate at 8pm. The quality of your experience here will depend greatly on the other 12 people you will be seated with! The first time we tried to get into the Italian (Bellavista) the wait was well over an hour so we decided to hit the buffet and try again the next day. Lined up at 5:15 to get in at 6:20pm. Same deal to get into the Mexican (Alebrijes) but got in right at 6pm because we were at the front of the line and it's not as popular. We didn't eat at the Terrace Tapas Food but did manage an extra meal at the steakhouse (Bamboleo Grill) due to a special, private dinner set up by “Pablo” as a travel forum meet & greet event which included management as well. This dinner coincided with my husband's birthday and was topped off with an amazing cake! It was a pleasure to put some faces to forum names/handles and despite his reluctance, my husband very much enjoyed the evening. Thanks again to Pablo who organized this event! During the day, the Bamboleo Grill does double duty as a poolside snack bar. On offer are hamburgers, hot dogs, pizza, fries, nachos and all the fixings along with a limited selection of desserts and coffee. Food at the a la cartes was very good to excellent! Presentation of food was top notch, classy and of 5 star quality.
Personally, we prefer the reservation system, but then we always showed up or cancelled in advance if we knew we couldn't make it. Too many people didn't show this courtesy which is why they changed the policy to first come, first served. At least now all of the tables are full and everyone has an equal chance! We are beach people and tend to stay at the beach until sunset so to be honest, it was a pain to leave the beach early, get ready and then line up. With the cooler, cloudy weather for several days of our one week vacation, making the effort to eat a la carte wasn't too much of a sacrifice. They do have a bar available at the a la carte venues, so you can have some pre-dinner drinks while you wait. Dress code for the restaurants is officially "Casual elegance". This seemed open to wide interpretation! Did see a few men in beach shorts and flip flops.
The Creperie (5-10:30pm) does not require reservations, has limited seating and seems to be very popular. It's located on an open terrace above the El Mercado buffet and because it can get a bit breezy, bringing along a cardigan is recommended. There was often a wait to get a table and given the overall space available at this venue, more tables could easily be accommodated although this could well affect the efficiency of the staff. Both savoury & sweet crepes are available as well as ice cream treats such as banana splits, milkshakes and sodas. Definitely worthwhile!

Bars:-
Given the size and layout of this resort, there sure were a lot of bars to chose from! We counted at least 9. We aren't heavy drinkers nor vacationers who make it their mission to drink their all-inclusive money's worth so it took us all week to discover where all of the watering holes were located and even then, we probably missed some.

The Tequila (YBR side) & Margaritas (RM side) bars with the swim up areas appeared to be especially popular! Since we spent most of our time at the beach on the Yucatan side, we prefered the Pure Chill Out bar which played more subdued music throughout the day. Drink service directly to your lounger at the beach was available for those who wanted it. The El Abuelo bar just outside of the theatre was very crowded and with slow service but this was to be expected as people waited for the evening show to start. The snack bar and buffets also had bar service available.

For those undecided or unsure of what to order, an extensive cocktail menu is available at all of the bars. We always bring along our own 16 ounce stainless steel thermal drink container but for those who don't, reusable, 8 ounce plastic tumblers are used for drinks at the beach. My husband enjoyed the dark beer (cervesa obscura) available on tap at most of the bars although they did run out of it on one occasion.

As is always the case, some bar staff are better at making certain cocktails than others depending on what you order. Didn't take long to find our favourite bartenders. Overall the service was friendly, efficient and good to very good at all of the bars. Tips were appreciated but in no way affected the overall service.

The Pure Chill Out and Tequila bars are open from 10 am until midnight, however the Pure is often used for private/closed events such as wedding receptions. Lovely venue for a wedding reception!

Only complaint about the Tequila bar would be the level of noise from very happy/intoxicated guests coming from this area very late in the evening. This is beyond the resort's control. Given the U-shape configuration of the resort and the echoing effect, we found it impossible to sleep with our patio door open in lieu of using the A/C and using ear plugs became a necessity. We appreciated not having a room allocation any closer to the bar!

Beach:-
I specifically chose this resort for the direct, off the beach snorkeling opportunities. We are beach people! Although I had viewed some photos of the beach area in advance of booking, I quickly came to appreciate the very crowded feel once we actually arrived and found the resort at full capacity. Finding a quiet, more private spot with a bit of shade was a challenge! We spent most of our time near the Pure Chill Out bar area close to the water and further away from the very active beach volleyball area. Heads up!

The protected, cove like beach is shared with the Dreams resort but the CAT has the longer, nicer section and a very protected lagoon area on the Riviera Maya side which is perfect for young children and to use on windy days when there is a bit of surf. This is not an ideal swimmer's beach due to the rocky entry in most areas, so water shoes are highly recommended. We didn't find walking along the water's edge over to the lagoon to be a problem. The beach was cleaned regularly. We observed no topless sunbathing.

On the Yucatan side, the palapas & loungers are placed four or so rows deep and directly on gently sloping sand whereas the Riviera Maya had a large portion of their loungers (several rows deep as well) on an upper level, man-made sand area with a high retaining wall and boardwalk in front. The water's edge in this area was accessible from the stairs off the boardwalk. The stairs are slippery, especially at high tide, so be very careful! The beach flattens out and is very nice by the lagoon. Perfect area for young children! Due to erosion, a low berm of sandbags has been constructed.

Signs are clearly posted asking guests to refrain from “reserving” palapas/loungers but as is usually the case, the signs were ignored. There was no shortage of loungers and we did see staff bringing more when they noticed people sitting on their towels directly on the sand.

Despite some less than ideal weather conditions, we managed to snorkel at least once every day. We were determined to check out all of the reef/rocky areas up to and slightly beyond the buoys which marked off the safe swimming area, as well as the entire lagoon. Under low tide conditions, many parts of the reef stick out of the water making it dangerous to negotiate the area in a meaningful way so we waited until high tide. Most days the water was quite murky.

Sadly, the reef is pretty much dead with the exception of a few, still healthy brain coral and the odd sponge. Given the high traffic of novice snorkelers and so many people standing on the formations, I doubt this reef will ever recover. Despite this, we did find a remarkable number of diverse fish species. The more common ones were Blue Tangs, Permit Jacks, Sergeant Majors, Grunts, various Wrasses especially Blueheaded, some Damselfish including a Yellowtail, Parrotfish, Halfbeaks and the odd Butterflyfish. The highlights for us were a very large Queen Angelfish, 4 Spotted Trunkfish of varying sizes, a Smooth Trunkfish, a group of 8 Reef Squid, the largest Stoplight Parrotfish we've ever seen, a Puffcheek Blenny and a Fairy Basslet. There is nothing more relaxing than just quietly hovering over the reef and observing. Small reef fish such as Wrasses, Blenny and Damsels tend to be timid!

In the lagoon, we spotted a barracuda about 2 feet long, but nothing else of particular interest. It was annoying to be swarmed by schools of Permit Jacks, Grunts and Sergeant Majors when we swam through the opening of the lagoon. The fish are especially habituated and tend to hang out in this area expecting handouts rather than spending their time feeding on the reef.

Overall, and in our opinion, the snorkeling in front of the resorts was just barely so-so, however for novices, seeing any marine fish in its natural habit would be a huge thrill.

Pools:-
We are not pool people and didn't use any of the pools during our stay. Both resorts have large free form pools with swim-up bars, a shallow kiddie area as well as other depth levels and areas for pool volleyball etc. There are plenty of loungers and some sun umbrellas although we did notice many loungers being “reserved” early with orphaned towels sunning themselves for hours. Outdoor showers are available near the beach end of the pools. The pools are cleaned early in the morning and sometimes throughout the day. They are closed in the early evening and chemically treated at this time. Signs are posted when this is done.

The pool on the Yucatan side was much quieter. The Riviera Maya side is used for most of the animation staff's afternoon activities (games, dance lessons, kareoke, etc) and louder music is also played throughout the day.

Activities:-
There is so much to chose from that I can't imagine anyone getting bored! Beach volleyball was very popular! An activities listings board, with days/times, is set up at both resorts near the buffets. The animation staff never seemed to sit still! All were very friendly and professional yet never overbearing. While we personally did not participate, it was a hoot watching some of the pool side activites in the late afternoon from our vantage point at the snack bar.

Bicycles are available for free use at the hut on the outside roadway between the two lobbies. Hobie Cat rides with staff at the helm are offered weather permitting and guests may also use the kayaks. Lifejackets in varying sizes are available, however if I were traveling with a young child, I would bring along my own to be sure of a proper fit.

A Kid's Club for ages 4-12 is available during the day with further activities such as a mini-disco in the early evening. The pinata party was fun to observe and the children's participation in the Lion King evening show was exceptional. Nice playground for the kids on the Yucatan side.

At 7pm in the theatre, a family friendly movie is featured and the evening shows begin at 9:30pm. To be honest, we usually don't bother with resort evening shows as drinking contests and audience participation shenanigans are not our cup of tea. We're glad that we did check out a couple of shows (Prehistorica & Lion King) because they were very well done with professional presentation. A beach party was also featured one evening.

Disco La Pinata, located on the Yucatan side, gets going after the evening show (11pm-2 am). From our location in area #4 of the YBR, we never heard any noise from the disco.

The resort also offers a well equipped gym, a sports bar which is open from 4-11pm and a spa which offers a wide variety of massages, body treatments such as facials and a beauty parlour for manicures/pedicures and hair braiding. We did not use any of these facilities/services but I do have a spa price list for those who might be interested.

Shops are available for purchasing sundry and souvenir items. There is also a boutique as well as a medical centre on the RM side.

A dive shop is located next to the towel hut near the bocce ball area adjacent to the beach volleyball court. Beginner scuba lessons were given daily in the Yucatan pool.

Off Resort:-
The resort is beachfront within the gated community of Puerto Aventuras. We felt very safe at all times! It's a short 5 minute walk into town and well worth the effort. Lots of shops, cafes, restaurants to explore as well as a marina and dolphinarium where they also feature manatees, a shark, rays and seals in very small, inadequate pens (our humble opinion!). Many guests go to swim with the “trained” dolphins which is an activity we are vehemently opposed to for personal and philosophical reasons.

Puerto Aventuras is exceptionally clean and well kept and features a golf course, racquet ball, tennis courts as well as numerous condo complexes and other expensive properties available for sale or rent. Just outside the main gates (about a 15 minute pleasant & shaded walk from the resort), and across the highway (accessible by a pedestrian overpass) is a newly opened grocery/general merchandise store called Chendraui. Next to the Pemex gas station is an HSBC ATM machine although there are private ATMs available elsewhere including directly on the resort (below the CRM lobby area).

Collectivo stops are also just outside the gates and this is by far the most economical way to get to Tulum or Playa del Carmen. The resort no longer offers the free shuttle service into Playa del Carmen.

Conclusions:-
We very much enjoyed our first vacation at the Yucatan Beach Resort and will definitely return to this family friendly, something for all age groups, exceptionally well managed resort. It's a solid 4 star resort with many 5 star features. We were impressed with the well keep grounds and the very visible on going maintenance in every corner of the property. It's easy to understand why so many people return to the CAT! The food was the best we have experienced at any of the many other 4 star all-inclusive resorts we have visited. Next time, we will however go during shoulder season as we found it a bit too crowded for our liking. Highly recommended!!

Thanks for reading!
Cristal

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    547
    185
    62
    39
See reviews for
373
609
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights arriving mid-afternoon on a Saturday. Upon arrival we recieved a welcome cocktail, I requested an upgrade to a Privileged Suite (duplex bathtub on terrace) but were already full, immediately offering to take us to the CatalonIa Playa Maroma ~in Playa Del Carmen free of charge to upgrade to a Priv suite. I declined the offer and decided to just upgrade to the Privileged Deluxe Room which gave us a minifridge stocked daily (if you don't upgrade and have a regular room you don't get water every day, you get a big bottle upon arrival which you must refill yourself), pillow menu, 10% discount at the spa, beach towels in room, unlimited Tapas and four tickets to the a la cartes. Originally assigned room 226 (which would have overlooked one of the pool section Tower A) but moved to 6131 in the Maya section Tower C. Our view was overlooking one of the streets of Puerto Aventuras rather then a gardenview but its a bonus as it was very quiet, day and night!

I was happy we didn't get an upgrade as the Priv suites, as other reviewers pointed out, although there is a small wall with bushes giving some privacy, all of the Priv suites are located on the main level and each one is facing a moderately busy walkway. Taking into consideration the closer to Mikado you get the louder it is ~people waiting in line, dishes and live music from the lobby.

Room - modern, spacious with lots of closet space and already hanging up two housecoats which were so nice to throw on and sit in the morning sun on the deck! The slippers were appreciated not having to walk barefoot on the cool floor. Minifridge was restocked daily with Pepsi (this is a Pepsi resort!), 7-up, beer (Sol) and every other day Orange pop! Also included were coffee maker, iron and alarm clock. The bathroom was big with a vanity mirror and chair, although you can't really sit at the chair and use the mirror, installed for standing! Duplex shower and water was warm all the time! The king size bed I found comfortable, on the harder side a bit but I still slept amazingly every night! A big selection of pillows was already on the bed so didn't bother with the pillow menu. Our maid was fantastic our room was squeeky clean with a touch of fresh art everyday!

Bamboleo - snack bar during day was great for lunch! A selection of pizza, burgers, hot dogs, fries, cheese sauce, chirizo, rice, tortilla chips, salsa, make your own salad and fruit was always fresh!
La Brisa - Maya side buffet was great, every night there was variety of something new and always the old favorites to choose like pizza or a freshly grilled skirt steak. The biggest thing missing was cheese sauce was never served at supper time. I loved the freshly made omellete (am) and pasta (pm) as it was quickly prepared for you with an assortment of items to make your own creation! The staff were all fantastic always quickly seated, promptly served drinks and dirty plates removed quickly!
El Marcado (Yucatan side buffet) we tried one night having a bit of raw rice was unappealing so we never returned.
Terrace Tapas Bar - had the best view in the entire hotel! The menu looked delicious but no one came to serve us so we moved on to La Brisa.
La Creperie - was amazing! One of best features of this hotel. The milkshakes were delicious (our fav was the Mocha) and the crepes which you can watch be prepared were very scrumptious! Sometimes there was a line but if you can get the attention of a server you can get a milkshake to go.
El Abuelo - the lounge was not very big but had very comfortable seating! The hotel definitely lacked live music, bands were only there three nights. The servers are very friendly and drinks were served quickly!

Beach was amazing, clean, big with a calm lagoon and near the south end of the hotel past the beach bar is a quieter area if you are looking for less people. The lagoon is more kid friendly so busier! The beach as some describe as rocky it's the coral that is in spots that you have to watch out for as it can be sharp and remember creatures live on this so please don't step on it! There is alot of sand to walk along but I still would highly recommend water shoes as there are little crabs that could pinch you and if you happen to step down on a piece of coral you don't run the risk of getting hurt. The boardwalk which runs along the Maya side which for obvious reasons prevents corrosion well the tide is out in the day so you can still grab a beach chair in front of the boardwalk or there is still plenty of open beach area to the sea on the north and south side of the boardwalk.

Activities were always available from aquatic sports in the pool, beach volleyball, bouchy ball and even bikes to take at out at your leisure (be careful of the grease from the chains getting on your clothing). There are many bike paths in the community although there isn't much traffic a few vehicles, taxi's and the odd bus to ride safely on the road. Also plenty of kayaks to use and a calm area to paddle in! I also highly recommend you bring your own snorkel and mask as the lagoon and reef area have a variety of very friendly fish and coral to admire!

Lacking was a place to watch the sunrise, we found that walking up to the tennis courts you can get a nice view overlooking Puerto Aventuras! Remember when you are headed back to your room at night, look up at the ceilings in the common areas as many little lizards hang out up there!! Vendors were there every other night!

The community of Puerto Aventuras is gated with many things to check out a museum, dolphine discovery, marina, many places to shops and even a little Canadian owned store that serves paninis and ice cream.

Playa Del Carmen is 20 minutes from Aventuras taxi costing exactly 160 pesos, no more need to negotiate with the drivers! Tulum was only 28 km away and a half day tour provided from Nolitours (pick up 7:50 am done at 1:30 pm), Chichen Itza was about 3.5 hours away (pick up 7:50 am done at 7:30 pm, remember time spent picking up from other hotels).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We were booked for the Yucatan in a privilege room but this is really on the Mayan side of the resort - not a big deal, and the nicer side in my opinion. Travelled with our 2 children ages 3 and 5 from Jan 19 to 26.
Lagoon - great for young kids
Snorkelling - super easy snorkelling in lagoon and along stone walkway between lagoon and ocean + heard great snorkelling off main beach
Kids pools - really impressed that we found 3 kiddie pool areas - 1 quite large, others small but nice they were there + most pools had wide shallow ledges that are handy with kids
Pools - in general not a lot of seating
Bathrooms - sufficient supply of these and kept clean (for those frequent trips with the kids :) )
Entertainment staff - there were a couple of girls from England on staff - which I loved for aerobics, general communication, the Mexican staff were great too, but if I do an activity I like to be able to follow the instructions easily
Food - we thought it was great - a huge selection at the buffets (standard stuff but lots of options), a la carte food isn't amazing, but acceptable and we enjoyed having them as an option, and they offered a childrens menu + we took small white boards, stickers to keep our kids busy. We only experienced a line up at the Japanese restaurant - my husband stood in line at 5, we joined him at 6 and got in right away, saw others go stand in line in their beach gear and make reservations for later, creperie often had line ups
Dolphins - worthwhile to make the walk
Kids club - we didn't take part in the programs but visited the playground a few times - it was small and not always that clean - often broken balloons scattered in the sand - kids looked like they were having fun in the club and they did a have a unique calendar of activities for each day
TV - there was a kids channel with cartoons
Resort Size - to me the resort seemed claustrophobic at times - lots of people and everything jammed together - on the positive it was super easy to drop by the room to change or drop stuff off, on the negative you don't get that spacious feeling. Grounds are very nicely kept and we didn't have any problems with late night noise.

The definite negatives...
Overbooking & crowding - it seemed very busy by the end of the stay and it seems they purposely overbook this resort and then offer guests the opportunity to move to a sister resort such as Playa Maroma - this was announced as an option one day by the entertainment staff + we heard this from another guest at the resort. When the resort is smaller, when things get busy it is much more noticeable.
King Beds - As a family of four one king bed doesn't cut it and apparently most of the privilege rooms and all of the suites offer this. We stayed privilege and got a cot which worked ok but not great. In the suites they have a pull out couch. Seems strange that their pricing encourages family with children but yet they don't have more double options - perhaps just an issue for privilege and suites though.
Cancun Airport - holy stressful - it's under construction, the shopping areas are right beside the waiting areas, on arrival you walk through the shopping to get to customs, with 2 young children we survived but missed the small airport atmosphere we had on our trip last year - and we flew Wed to Wed! We didn't use them but it looked like there were bathrooms out by the bus area and both ways our bus had a bathroom. Also the resort was about 1 hr 20 minutes from the airport.

We would go to this resort again if we got a deal, but with 2 AI trips under our belt with our children we will look more closely at flying to a smaller airport, with a short distance to the resort, and a nice kids club where we can feel really comfortable leaving our children for at least a couple of hours each day. (After a few days of escorting little ones to the bathroom on a regular basis, back and forth to the buffet etc we will look to get some adult time next year for sure - especially as they grow older and are more independent.)

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions - especially regarding travelling with children.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I really only have two complaints about our stay at the Catalonia Yucatan that are directly related to the hotel itself.

1. When we arrived, although we had requested rooms together when we booked, we were informed that we would be placed at opposite ends of the resort. “We” are my wife, two children my elderly mother-in-law and myself. As you can imagine this was not an option. We were offered two solutions; 1. Move to another Catalonia Resort a mere 40 minutes further down the beach or pay for an upgrade to the tune of $680.00 us. I felt backed into a corner and reluctantly agreed to the upgrade.

2. Our two rooms regularly had the smell of gases emanating from the bathroom. It was not very pleasant to say the least.

All other aspects of our holiday were great.

A couple of tips;
1. There are NOT any guarantees that you will have a reservation in any of the restaurants in spite of what they advertise. We literally waited in line for up to 1.5 hours before the restaurant's opening to ensure a seat for that evening.

2. DO NOT take the word of the Tour reps with regards to which attraction is better than the other. We were told "The Dolphin experience at Puerto Advernturas was really bad, the water is brown and you can't see anything."

We were told and were even privileged to have a presentation by another attraction about a half hour away. We went and it was great, but the next day we walked to Puerto Adventuras and looked around to our surprise the experience there was as good or better. They offered more choices in pricing experiences etc. which would have saved us nearly $200.00. Buyer bewares and do your own homework.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My wife and I and our 1 year-old spent a week down here to celebrate New Years. Neither of us had been to many all-inclusive resorts but we selected this place based on some advice from our contact at Air Transat. Overall, we enjoyed the vacation but there are a few things we would like to mention.

Airport on Arrival: Not sure what was happening but it was complete chaos at the airport when we arrived. The line to get through customs was chock full and the line to exit the airport snaked all around the baggage carousels. Took about 1.5 hours just to clear customs, get our bags and get on the bus. Tons of people trying to get you to sign up for timeshare stuff...just ignore them and look for your tour operator.

Transfer: Bus ride was a little longer than expected. Not a real exciting ride but the tour guy handing out Carona's for $3 made it a little easier.

Check-In: They put us in one of the smaller buildings to start with but it had two double beds (we asked for one King). They managed to find us a room in Building A with one King. Our little guy was almost two at the time so we asked for a crib mattress for the floor. They were all puzzled by this but at the end of the day, they sent a foam mattress over and made up his bed. It was perfect for him.

Buffet Food: We both enjoy food and thought that the main buffet was pretty good. It seems to be popular with families so at times we had to wait for a high chair but not a real big deal. One time we decided to try the other buffet and we were quickly seated but then they never brought a high chair (even though it wasn't very busy). They kept coming back and we kept asking for the high chair but it never came. We decided to stick to the main buffet. Breakfast is my favourite meal and enjoyed the omelettes and fresh fruit. Yogurt seemed more like a yogurt drink but perhaps that is just Mexico. My son seemed to take a liking to Froot Loops but we were often skunked if we didn't get there before 8am. Overall...lots of decent food - not super quality but decent variety.

Room: clean and decent. We were on the 4th floor and enjoyed the view. Wifi was definitely spotty in the room as others have posted but we did have success fairly often. TV wasn't great when it was working. Towel art was nice and our son's bed was made up nicely every day.

A-la-Carte Food: We ate at the Japanese, Mexican and Steakhouse. I think we enjoyed the Japanese the best. We were disappointed with the food at the Steakhouse. Mexican was pretty good but our son had a melt-down during the meal so my wife and I tag-teamed so our experience wasn't so great.

Snack-Food: We didn't eat much at the Snack place other than a few orders of fries. We weren't really into the hot dogs and hamburgers. We did enjoy the Crepes place above the main buffet. Food was delicious here and we got hooked on cappacinos on this trip. Service was sketchy here though. Once we placed an order and they came back with my wife's order but kept me waiting a long time for my strawberry banana milkshake. We kept watching other people sit down and get served but not my milkshake. Finally, I stopped the waitress and told her that we were still waiting for the milkshake (pointed to the menu). Finally she came by and after I took a sip, realized she brought over a chocolate shake!! Anyways, the food is good if you speak spanish.

Beach: Red Flag for most of the week. With a young one, we spent most of our time at the lagoon on the side which was great. Lots of little fish to look at. For the first 4 days, we never bothered to reserve a chair but then we caught on to the tricks and layed one towel down before breakfast (we weren't greedy but needed at least one shady chair). Snorkeling was okay but not many larger fish to see.

Area: We enjoyed taking bikes (with a bike seat) to the Marina to watch the dolphins and shop around. I usually took advantage of the convenience store to buy a Corona Lime to have while we walked around. I also bought a bottle of wine for the room to help offset the stuff they say is wine at the resort (more on alcohol later). We also rode our bikes out the gate and back along the trail next to the golf course which was pleasant.

Staff: Overall, we were pretty happy with the staff there. Most said "Ola" in the resort and tried to help when we needed it. English was lacking and a lot of them just nodded when we asked for something but we knew they didn't have a clue what we were asking for.

Fitness: I liked going to the gym here. It had all the basics and was kept clean.

Booze: We both enjoy wine and I like beer but these are not the kind of drinks you should order here (unless you pay for the premium wines at the restaurants). The beer wasn't that great although if you ask for the dark beer, it seems better. If you really enjoy beer, bring a collapsable cooler with you and grab a six-pack from the Marina. The other drinks were pretty good. My son enjoyed a few virgin Banana-Mamas.

Tours: My wife and I took separate trips to Xelha. On my day, I had a quick breakfast at the resort and walked out to the Highway (15-20 min or so). If you go left out the gates and under the highway, you can jump on Collectivo for $2.50 USD. It's pretty easy and it takes you close to the entrance. I got there around 9:15 and had the place to myself for a while which was nice. We both enjoyed Xelha and would go back again.

Overall - we enjoyed our stay here and I think kids would also like it. We paid $1600 each from Calgary but it was over New Years so prices everywhere were pretty high. Even at $1,600 we felt we got good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just got back from a week at the "Cat" and as usual, the trip was great, with a few minor exceptions. We requested an upgrade to superior for our room but the hotel couldn't do it as they were overbooked so we had to settle for a standard room. The only thing wrong with the room was the bed was hard as a rock to sleep on and there was no coffee maker in the room, We had a great view of the pool and ocean though, so that kind of made up for it.
As usual, Gregorio at the margarita pool bar was his wonderfel self. He continues to be the best bartender in the Caribbean in my mind. His margaritas are certainly the best I've tasted down there and they always come with his wonderful smile. His partner Nazario was just as good and always made a point of saying hello to us and was always upbeat and smiling. Service as it should be when on a vacation. The rtemainder of the hotel staff were just as friendly, always greeting you with a smile and "Hola", whenever they saw you.
The food in the " a la carte" restaurants was very good but didn't like the wait in line for a table method they are now using - bcak to reservations please. One more thing - bring back the shuttle bus to Playa Del Carmen please.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan via Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We definitely got what we paid for at the Catalonia. So no major deal-breakers. HOWEVER, had we paid what most others had paid, which was almost double in some cases, there are a few mentionables...

1. Firstly and foremost, was the fact that our room on the south side of building ‘A’ (in the Riviera Maya side (even tho we booked for the Yucatan Beach) faced a service drive and unfortunately the glass recycling bin. Apparently between 4 and 5am is the optimum time for recycling because for week straight we were woken EVERY night and stayed that way for the half hour they were smashing and crashing bottles. Numerous complaints got us a warm bottle of ‘sparkling (Mexican) wine’ sent to the room, sans glasses. So BEWARE building A.
2. Next is the free WiFi, or NoFi as we took to calling it. The only place we could get it working was in the lobby.
3. They refer to your in-room safe as a ‘safety deposit box’ and charge you 3$/day for it.
4. We also did not get out 6:40 wakeup call on departure day. Perhaps they thought we may still have been up from ‘recycling hour’. Fortunately I woke by chance.
5. Lastly is a bit of a given; the booze is gross. I drink gin, my friend vodka; our drinks were poured from the same mystery blue bottle. No matter, the grocery store is just on the other side of the highway.

On the plus side... food was pretty good for an all inclusive. I think even picky eaters would be able to find something. Also, staff is pretty friendly, rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The small marina/restaurant/shop area is nice. Its built around this dolphin enclosure which is neat, but you really end up feeling bad for the dolphins seeing as they share their water with the marina. DEFINITELY go to Gringo Dave’s and get the Nachos. OH, and the hotel has cancelled the free shuttle service into Playa del Carmen (which had we known before hand may have influenced our decision in another direction), and the cab is $160 pesos. HOWEVER, what they don’t tell you is that you can catch a collective van/cab back for 20 pesos!!! They are all lined up and waiting 2 blocks up from 5th Avenue at 2nd and 15th. Lastly, the blue polo-shirted Nolitour ‘representatives’ are a little shady and not wholly informed so take everything they say with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.