We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Cochrane, Ont.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We travelled to Catalonia Yucatan Beach and Spa resort on Feb 9-16/10. We were a little worried about travelling to Mexico, but after this adventure, we would recommend it to anyone who was looking for a great vacation at a very low cost. We spend most of our time down by the ocean. We entertained ourselves with some snorkelling, some sun and some drinks.... The resort was immaculate and the staff was very pleasant at all times. The food was awesome in every restaurant. The evening shows were great, if you could stay up that long to watch them. We were minutes away from the marina and did a few tours. We would recommend the Rio Secreto tour, it was amazing and possibly a once in a lifetime adventure.

We enjoyed our vacation very much and would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    533
    179
    61
    39
See reviews for
364
590
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We travelled to the Mayan Riviera from Feb 13-20th. We are three girls in our late 20s. We had a great time at the Catalonia Yucatan Resort and Spa. Here is some info (which is a bit redundant from other reviews) and a few tips we picked up along the way.

TOUR COMPANY: We travelled with Nolitours. The staff at the hotel (Guillermo, Bianca) were great. The information session at the beginning of the week was actually useful (which is rare) and they were very helpful with information along the way. They are at the hotel from 8h to 18h every day. Little perks you get with them include a small tequilla bottle in your room, some chips and towels directly in your room which is nice. All three of us were staying in one room and we only had two towels but it was a complete non-issue to get the third in the morning and they appologized for not provided them in the first place.

RESORT: Very nice, small and easily accessible. Takes less than 5 minutes to walks anywhere which is nice (when bringing new shoes that hurt your feet). Grounds are immaculate. Not tons of flowers but nice greenery. The main areas are tremendously clean and well kept. The people at the reception were very friendly and spoke great english and french. They were very helpful when we needed some assistance.

ROOMS: We stayed in the standard rooms. Very basic but again, clean. We were on the last (4th) floor overlooking the pool. There are elevators for those who need them. The beds were hard but not unliveable. The bathroom was a bit small and not very sound proofed but not a huge deal. There is a safe in the room - you need to get the little magnetized element at the front desk to make it work and it's 3$/day. Would recommend getting it to store your passports and such. The basic rooms do not have a mini-fridge but they do give you two bottles of water which you can refill throughout your stay.

BEACH: Beautiful but rocky. Watershoes are nice but not necessary - there are some spots which are more sandy. There are tons of beach chairs and palapas but they are very close together - don't be shy to move some chairs arounds to accomodate. There is a waitress who comes around randomly and can bring your drinks directly to you (should you feel a bit lazy one day).

SERVICE: TOP NOTCH at this resort... from the wait staff to the reception to the cleaning staff, everyone was great. Mexico is traditionnally known for the 'dependance' on tips for service - although people are appreciative of tips here as anywhere else, you get great service regardless of whether you tip or not. I would like to leave a shout out to Luis, Francisco, Gloria, Keila and Alba at the Brisas buffet - they made many nights very interesting! It was my friend's bday and they entire restaurant staff came to sing and they made a special cake for her - it was great! TEQUILA!

FOOD: Very good. Lots of diversity. We tried the Mexican, Italian and Japanese speciality restaurant and all were great. The food at the Italian was my favorite but service was very slow. The Japanese was a great experience. The buffet has lots of variety every day. A little tip, the only place to get Guacamole is at the Grill during the day - it was yummy! We also went to the Creperie - dessert was very good, the actual dinner crepes were not bad. We didn't get to try to tapas bar (as we didn't realize where it was - it's on the same level as the Creperie - do try to go!).

DRINKS: Plentiful. The margaritas though were not great - best ones were at the lobby bar. Recommend the dirty monkeys and mojitos. Chill out bar on the beach was a nice spot. Don`t forget to bring your thermal mugs. The house red wine is horrendous - for those who like the vino!

THINGS TO DO AT RESORT: There is AMAZING snorkelling to be done directly off the beach (around the rocks). On the days were it was not too windy it was very easy to maneuver between the rocks and see tons of fish. Bring some bread or a banana and they will come eat from your hands. Saw some eels and spider crabs, and many many fish - it was great. We also played some tennis (two rooftop courts with actually decent equipement you can get at the Riviera Reception) and did some kayaking. There was some good beach volleyball to be had. Do take the 5 min walk to the Marina in Puerto Adventuras - we had a great morning there and were able to do a bit of shopping and see the manatees, sea lion (friend got a pic with Robbie the sea lion for 10 USD) and dolphins. The enclosures for the animals are quite small though so be warned for the animal lovers. The hotel does offer shuttles to Playa del Carmen for free (but need to book in advance) but we didn`t go as we all had previously gone before). There are two gift shops on the hotel grounds with fairly decent prices. There is no booze to be bought on the grounds so remember to keep some money for the duty free at the airport.

EXCURSIONS: We did the snorkelling excursion to Puerto Morales for 76 USD and the trip to Chitzen Itza for 99 USD. For Puerto Morales, the trip was worth of good quality (it`s from 8 AM to 2 PM) however we had picked a day where is was quite cold (just 18-20C, not typical, don`t worry) and it was truly freezing in the water. Over half the boat did not go back in at the second drop off point because of the cold. It was also very wavvy and not the best for average swimmers but again, you can`t plan for the weather. I do prefer smaller groups as you did tend to get fins in the face and the guide asks you to follow him so that he can point things out. I personally preferred going off on our own at the hotel and although you don`t see as much coral, there were just as many fish. We did not get to see a sea turtle sadly. For Chitzen Itza, well worth the money and the time it takes to get there (2.5h each way.) Our guide was great and taught us tons about the history of it all. I highly recommend the trip. You get to go to a Cenote which was beautiful and there is time to swim. Lunch was included and was very good. The only other we did was go to the Jewlery factory called LAPIS under the understanding that we got a tour of the factory then some shopping time. They provide free transportation to and from your hotel. Don`t go - there is no tour and the stuff is very very expensive. It is nice silver and stones but pressured sales and someone following you are constantly is not a pleasant experience. They advertise that they will write your name in Maya but it was much less expensive to do so on the Chitzen Itza trip for example. Also, they do give you a free pendant of your Maya Horoscope symbol but out of the three of us, only one actually got her true symbol. I don`t recommend you go.

SPA: They have a BEAUTIFUL spa at the hotel. We went for a half day on one of the cloudy days. For 38$ (Nolitours gets 15% off) we had access to the baths/saunas for the whole day (one sad thing was NO hottub), and what was called a 25 min treatment with head/neck/shoulder massage, foot exfoliation and therapeutic bath but this lasted much longer than 25 minutes and was SO great. I highly recommend it. If you just wanted to use the baths it was 15$ for the whole day. Great staff, tremendously clean, they give you nice robes and there is a little station for tea and such in there as well.

FINAL TIPS:Although I didn`t go to Tulum as my friend had already gone, this hotel is a nice spot to do it from as it is about 30 min away. Some people told us you could take a cab for about 20 USD each way if you didn`t want to do it with a tour. Also, you can pay for internet for 5 USD for 30 minutes and it is actually quite quick - the best internet connection we`ve had so far down south. There is free Wi-Fi on the hotel grounds but oh my was it slow and hit and miss - if you plan to have something important to check or write home about, pay for the internet. To call, you can get calling cards in the lobby for 10 USD and use at the pay phone - it is the most affordable way but it does not give you the advertised 20 minutes to Canada (it's really about 7-8 minutes).

I guess that is it! All and all, I would 100% recommend this hotel - it was very nice and again, way above par service. Great for all ages, lots of stuff to do and nice location! Email me if you have any other questions!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

At first, we went to this resort with low expectations (after all, it is Mexico), and the resort completely blew our minds.

This resort was AMAZING! It was cleaner than any resort I have ever stayed in. The staff focused on the little details that most people might not notice, but are very important, such as cleaning the concrete by the pool, wiping down all the beach chairs every day, cleaning the railings up the staircases, and raking up the sea junk that ends up on the shore. Our room was mopped every day, and linens were changed daily as well!

The food (for buffets) was awesome! There was a wonderful variety every day, and the food was always flavourful and fresh. The a la carte restaurants were pretty spectacular. Coming from Toronto (big city with fabulous restaurants), we did not expect the restaurants at the resort to come close. But they did! We ate at the steakhouse, the Japanese, and Mexican restaurants. All were great! Best part of all, neither of us got sick!

The location is great- very safe due to the fact that it is in a gated community. No one can come in or out without reporting to security guards. Also, it is only 20 minutes from Playa Del Carmen, and the hotel provides free shuttle!

The ocean was beautiful to look at, but a little rocky and chilly (time of year). Tolerable to walk on, but we didnt spend much time in the water so it didnt bother us at all.

The staff were all very friendly, especially at the bars and restaurants. The entertainment staff were always trying to get guests involved in games and activities which was great....but were always way too competitive which was kind of annoying.

Definitely going to make it an annual trip, and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This was our third visit to the Cat and it was fabulous as always. We stayed from Feb 7-14, 2010. We were married at this report 2 years ago and wanted to go back with our 14 month daughter to "show" her where we got married. We had a blast and were surprised at all the additions to the resort in only 2 years (Spa, Tapas Lounge, Japanese restaurant). The staff, food, rooms, beach, pool, spa, buffet, a la carte's, drinks, kids club are amazing. We love this place and consider it our family spot to go. We are planning a five year wedding reunion trip in 2013 and can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you have any concerns about this place, DON'T! It will provide you with a great vaca!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Travelbug1028

First of all we would like to thank you for writing and choosing our Hotel and I would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the most importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.

We hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Ablerta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

My wife and I and another couple were here from Jan 30th-Feb 7th 2010
We've never been to an all in hotel. We loved it.
The more you try to speak Spanish the more fun you'll have.
Water shoes are a good idea but not a must.
Great staff! Beautiful grounds and Hotel! Close to other stuff to do outside the Resort.
Google 'The Jungle Place' if you love monkeys and you want something different and special!
The first thing would do is find out what the hotel has to offer for things to do.
The Animation team work their tail off! Starting with morning stretching, busy all day then even start the dancing in the disco.
The Disco has a great DJ that will pay it if he's got it. young or old it's a party in there!
The nightly shows in the Theater that we saw were fantastic. If your late go in anyway.
The Cat has different booze at each bar, if your looking for the higher end.
You could skip the Mexican restaurant. Rice was mushy.
For sure Check out the Japanese restaurant, the dessert spot - upstairs patio.
La Brisa Buffet - Find Victor in the evening. He's the crazy guy moving really fast bringing you more drinks than you'll need! Hard working and happy to cater!
For a quit breakfast and special coffee go to the other buffet, it opens at 7am, most of the day this side is quit.
So much more could be said, contact me if you have any questions.
Tip if you care. Bring Pesos or American money. The rate isn't that great on site.
We gave away some clothes to staff that we got to know. You have to write a dated note with your name, who its going to and what your giving. It makes room for things you may buy and it's a nice way to say thanks.

Great place for any kind of person, unless you expect perfection!
Go ahead, Book it!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at this resort from Feb 5 to Feb 12 with our 10-year old son and 11-month old baby girl. This resort met and exceeded our expectations. We have stayed before at 2 Iberostar resorts in Cuba and the Moon Palace Resort in Mexico. The Catalonia Yucanan beach delivered, in our opinion, the best combination of friendly service, attention to details, good food and beach. Above all, the staff was really doing their best to make our visit an enjoyable one and they definitely succeeded. Our 10-year old had lots of kids of his age to play with. Even though the resort is relatively big (if you combine both the Yucatan and Riviera Maya sides), it felt very well organized, safe and cozy.

We went to 4 a-la-carte restaurants: 1) Japanese; 2) Italian; 3) Mexican and 4) Spanish ("Tapas"). We really liked the idea of selecting different small appetizers at the Spanish restaurant - the food was delicious and service was really nice. We liked the Japanese and Italian restaurants too.

The standard room we were in was basic, but really clean. However, we checked the rooms available for upgrade and they were really nice, so the options are available.

We really liked the staff at this hotel - always ready to help with a smile on their face.

To sum it up, we are seriously considering going back to this place, so this is probably the best recommendation that we can give.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Catalonia from February 4 - 11, 2010. It is about an hour south of Cancun which may not appeal to some people. We were initially put into the Riviera side and requested to move to the Yucatan as that is the resort we had paid for and this was accomodated the next morning. Drawbacks with the room (which we didn't pay heed to) were that it was back-to-back with the loading dock and directly above the Tequila Bar. The loading dock was annoying as they do have trucks attending through the early morning hours. The Tequila Bar was a bit of an annoyance due to the noise level however the hotel does shut the bar down around midnight thankfully...lol.

The staff throughout the hotel are incredibly friendly and accomodating (didn't seem to matter if you tipped or not, just that you were respectful to them). The food was perfectly fine, however we had hoped to see more seafood. The Chill Out Bar was very relaxing day or night and again, service there was excellent.

There is not much bad to say, other than our room placement and we really didn't want to request a move again so we 'sucked it up'. They appear in the process of replacing the beds with pillow top however we were not lucky enough to get them....another bonus would be to have many more rooms with just a king size bed as we requested this and could not get it which was disappointing as we received two double beds instead.

The shoreline does have a lot of rocks but I do not think the hotel itself can change environmental issues like that and you need only walk a short distance to the Riviera and it is much easier to walk into as there are less rocks!

Remember that you receive one of each during your stay - snorkelling, kayaking, and catamaran ride...we somehow missed this and caught it at the tail end of our stay...just a tip to remember!

We met some awesome people and had a blast while there and are happy and hope to return next year! The price for the resort also made it a great value for what you get in the Mayan!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.