We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a gem. Good food, nice place to just chill and relax. Not a huge resort which I like. rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly. A-la-cartes were good, did not go to Mexican. The crepiere is awesome at night to have a crepe and cappuccino. Premium rooms are really nice but the standard room does the trick if you aren't concerned and do not spend a lot of time in the room. I have been at this resort a few times and would gladly go back again. It is one of those hotels people keep going back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Huésped,

Antes que nada quisiéramos agradecerles sus comentarios sobre su estancia en nuestro Hotel, siendo la opinión de nuestros huéspedes de suma importancia para nosotros.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que llevaran un agradable recuerdo de México y nuestro Hotel.

Esperamos decidan volver a visitarnos en un futuro próximo para poder tener la oportunidad no sólo de cumplir, sino de sobrepasar sus más altas expectativas.

Cordiales saludos

Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    595
    203
    71
    41
See reviews for
409
673
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoubridge uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

hotel is a bit dated, they have tried with the one side but you have to pay a premium, they class it as an upgrade, we were 2 couples and we were on the 4th floor (but this is only 2 floors above reception) the other couple were on the 2nd floor (reception level). we had a fridge,iron and ironing board, but the other couple had nothing. the lift only worked 2 out of the 10 days we stayed, when we asked about the lift we were told it had not been working correctly for the last 2 years. food was basic and we tried the steak bar once and once was enough and the italian twice,which was the best meal we had by far. we would have liked to try the mexican but that was only opened the 1 night and the wait time was one and a half hours. drinks at the bars were in plastic cups, the only bar you could get a glass was the sports bar.

Room Tip: if you buy from the shop by reception it is charged to your room, the shop on the other side however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Huésped,

Antes que nada quisiéramos agradecerles sus comentarios sobre su estancia en nuestro Hotel, siendo la opinión de nuestros huéspedes de suma importancia para nosotros.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que llevaran un agradable recuerdo de México y nuestro Hotel.

Estamos trabajando día a día para perfeccionar el hotel y que este termine siendo de su completo agrado.

Esperamos decidan volver a visitarnos en un futuro próximo para poder tener la oportunidad no sólo de cumplir, sino de sobrepasar sus más altas expectativas.

Cordiales saludos

Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Returned last week from 2 great weeks at the catalonia. Amazing food, 4 visits per week to a la carte restaurants. Our favourite the japanese. 2 Buffet restaurants also excellent.One is air conditioned, the other a nice sea breeze cools you.
Rooms very big. Had 2 double beds, very comfortable soft tops, so no longer hard beds ( see previous reviews ) No fridge, which we are not used to. You have to upgrade to priviledged to get fridge, coffee maker, safe, and sea view. $15 a night. We managed ok without, just paid $3 per night for safe. Took my travel kettle, and got water and u.h.t.milk from bar for my morning tea!
Beach- I chose this hotel because it has a lovely lagoon with calm sea and lots of colourful fish. Beach has 3 sections, lagoon, sandy beach with rough sea, and boardwalk area, which is nice area for sunbathing. Good snorkelling in lagoon area-few rocks so take beach shoes if you want, but i didn't wear mine much.
Lovely staff. Live music in bar great, though only 5 days a week. Theatre Show excellent, though not every night. Good activities-archery, dancing, stretching, pool zumba- fun!
Good thing was the pretty puerto Aventuras with boats, manatees, and dolphins to see (and swim with if you want) Saw stingrays in harbour!
Also you can escape and get the bus to Playa del Carmen for shopping for £1.25. Who needs taxis? 20 minute walk to road though.
Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool good, top floor (lifts not in use so not if walking difficulties)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Huésped,

Antes que nada quisiéramos agradecerles sus comentarios sobre su estancia en nuestro Hotel, siendo la opinión de nuestros huéspedes de suma importancia para nosotros.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que llevaran un agradable recuerdo de México y nuestro Hotel.


Esperamos decidan volver a visitarnos en un futuro próximo para poder tener la oportunidad no sólo de cumplir, sino de sobrepasar sus más altas expectativas.

Cordiales saludos

Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

this was our honeymoon and first visit to the hotel, I must say when we got there and saw the room I was VERY disappointed as basic isn't the word, there was no kettle or fridge in the room, I know we stayed in a standard room but I would of thought seeing as we are going to the Caribbean in such a hot place that would be basic??? but NO you have to upgrade for that, anyway seeing as the honeymoon costs a lot to begin with we weren't going to upgrade and pay more just to have the basic things needed, but after getting over the shock of this we then went on and had a lovely time, as a room is just somewhere to lay your head, there is plenty to do around the resort so no need to worry about the room, the staff were excellent and cleaning was a big thing there, cleaners around the place night and day, food was excellent also, although we were ill for about 8 days out of 12,rep said it was nothing to do with food but we will never know, one tip I would give though, if you are ill DO NOT go to the chemist at the harbour as we got ripped off there buying meds for our upset stomachs, we did take our own but it did not work for us. We ended up paying £30 for 2 small boxes of pills, we were unsure of the money at the beginning but soon wised up after this.lol. The beach was small but had lots of lounges around the place, but you would have to put your towel out early despite it saying you cant do this as everyone does. Pools were excellent also.
Would we go here again, now that is a question...... I am afraid I would have to say No on this as I don't like the idea of being separated from others who have upgraded and have special privileged areas, it does make you feel like second glass citizens when we are all the same. Paying £2000 for a honeymoon in my opinion is enough to have the basics I think. Also where we stayed there was a lot of noise, it was a ground floor room and kitchens weren't far away, lorries coming and going all hours, and the noise from the bar went on til about mid night most nights. so try and stay away from ground floor rooms around the restaurants and pool areas if possible.
Tracy And Tony Appleby.

Room Tip: well despite being against upgrading if a room is important to you I would definitely say upgrade or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at this resort in April/May of 2013, and April/May 2012. I am very late in writing this review, but when I wrote my review for this years resort I thought I woul put in my two cents worth for my last two years at this resort.

I usually stay in the Akumal area, and after this years trip I have been to the Mayan Riviera 7 times now.

The Catalonia was a good resort for the price we paid each year we went. Last year when we went back for the 2nd time, we ended up being upgraded because we were return visitors, which was a nice perk on arrival.

I will break down a few areas for review:

The beach - not the best I have been too in the MR, and actually probably one of the worst. Very rocky and not much of a beach area compared to other places I have stayed in the same area.

The pools - always found them clean and refreshing.

The food - EXCELLENT...at the buffets and at the ala cartes (Mexican, Italian, Japanese). Loved the roof top crepe place in the evenings also. The bartenders were also excellent at making drinks, as I cannot recal a drink that was made and not liked.

The staff - 95% were very friendly and helpful, the cleaning staff were very thorough with our room every day, and the towel art was a nice bonus as well. We especially loved Pita on the entertainment staff. Our group of 8 (all women and our teenage daughters) formed a fun bond with Pita during our week stay the second time we went.

The grounds - beautifully kept and clean.

We also enjoyed being able to walk down to the marina to visit the shops there.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves both times we stayed at this resort. Would we recommend it...YES.., however if you are going for a full beach experience this is not the place for you. Everything else though was great!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Huésped,

Antes que nada quisiéramos agradecerles sus comentarios sobre su estancia en nuestro Hotel, siendo la opinión de nuestros huéspedes de suma importancia para nosotros.

Es un placer saber que su estancia ha sido de su agrado y que llevaran un agradable recuerdo de México y nuestro Hotel.

Tomaremos en cuenta su observacion sobre nuestra playa.

Esperamos decidan volver a visitarnos en un futuro próximo para poder tener la oportunidad no sólo de cumplir, sino de sobrepasar sus más altas expectativas.

Cordiales saludos

Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Mexico, we travelled there eight years ago, but this was the first visit to this resort. After reading the reviews on here we were expecting the worst, however we were very pleasantly surprised. We had decided to upgrade before we got there as so many reviewers had advised this, and we wanted a room with a fridge. We got a good deal and had already printed off a 30% discount voucher so we let them give us their lowest price before we presented the voucher and got another 30% off of that.We were in block 1 room 1033 on the Riviera side. We found the room to be comfortable with a nice little balcony that got the sun in the afternoons. The shower was hot and powerful and the rooms, like all of the resort was kept immaculately. In fact the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. there were several pools, some with activities or bars and some quieter. We tended to sit on the beach which was also beautiful. Yes there are rocks as you enter the sea, the hotel can't really do anything about that and it does make it difficult to get into the water but if you go round to the left there is a lovely lagoon which does not have the rocks and it is calm and sheltered. You can also get to the main part of the sea from there and avoid the rocks.
There is always plenty to do with Kayaks, a Catamaran, bikes, the animation team, who work hard but are not pushy, and of course the Marina where the dolphins are is just a ten minute walk away. All this is in the price you pay and we never got bored at all.
I read that the staff were not good but honestly we could not fault them. They always had a smile and worked constantly to keep the resort clean and the customers happy. The reception staff were polite and helpful, the restaurant staff were brilliant, and the barmen were all great fun and added to the enjoyment of our stay.
We really enjoyed the food, there was always something good to eat in the buffet with lots of choices as well as pasta, pizza, steaks, chicken, kebabs, fish, Mexican food, lovely desserts, cheeses etc. as well as the choice of the a la carte.
If you like huge resorts then this is not the place for you but we found because it wasn't too big, you tended to meet people and talk to them and it was very friendly, in fact probably the friendliest place we have ever stayed.
All in all a great holiday and although we don't usually go to the same hotel twice I think we will probably make an exception and go back again as it was such a lovely place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear LordJeavons

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our first stay at the Catalonia Yucutan ( April 16- 23 2014 )
First off , We booked an ocean view room ....when we checked in ... we did indeed get an ocean view room , but were informed that our room had double beds instead of the King size bed ..... I didn't complain , but rather asked very nicely if he could give us a better room .
He said he had a very nice room available in two days . After the two days we went back to the desk as instructed and we were given a new room which was way nicer with a beautiful view ...the slight inconvenience was well worth the move.

Nobody tried to up-sell us into priveleged ..... and to be honest .... we felt that we pretty much had the run of the hotel except for the one bar on the beach....... ( didn't miss it ) lol .

During our stay it was my intention to propose to my lady .... the concierge was very helpful with booking a romantic dinner on the beach...as I had informed her what my plan was for that evening...the dinner was awesome , Gorje was our server and was very attentive ....after dinner we went up to the bar by the theater for a few drinks and when we got back to our room , it was decorated very nicely with rose petals , bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries
and a banner across the door which read " Just Married "...lol Guess they didn't quite understand engagement .............. ( BTW she said yes )

WE found the food to be pretty good with a good selection ...remember ..in a buffet... YOU put the food on your plate...so choose what YOU like...we found the ala cartes no problem to get into ( it's all about timing I guess )..there was about an hour wait to get into the Japanese resaurant ....but a nice waiting area complete with a bar is provided to help you pass the time....and BTW.....the food was amazing and well worth the wait !!

During our stay we also celibrated my ladys birthday .. we went to Playa Del Carmen that day and when we returned ...we were greeted with yet another door banner ( Happy Birthday ).....bottle of sparkling wine, chocolate covered strawberries and a cake !....If the hotel is informed ..they will go out of thier way to make things special

I found this hotel to be very well located between Tulum and Playa Del Carmen ( if you're planning to explore )........there is a very nice marina with-in walking distance with bars , restaurants , shops , dolphins , manatees ....keep an eye on the blue waters of the marina for sea life


We're not the types to lay around in the sun for too long...but if you are....there are five pools with plenty of lounge chairs and a beautiful beach with ample lounge
chairs and palapas

The hotel was very nice ....very clean and the staff , very friendly and attentive .

Before our trip , I had read many reviews on here , most were good but the bad reviews made me a little apprehensive ....we are not rich and want to get the best experience for our money as possible .
I can honestly say , that I have no idea how anyone can have a bad experience at this hotel ........if there is something you need .... just ask....and please ask nicely....remember they are people too , and they do want to make your vacation as nice as possible .... ( they want you back ! )

In closing.....I would , and I have recommended this hotel to friends and family.....I hope this was a useful review for all and any that took the time to read it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Chubbs59

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.