We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value 3* resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Warfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value 3* resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We came for the price, that's what got us to Mexico instead of Med as we had a specific budget this year. Hotel rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. I tv didn't work great but we hardly watched it so was not concerned. No kettle in standard room but we took are own. No fridge but again not concerned. This hotel has sister one next door and they kind of merge together. There are 4 free speciality restaurants, 1 chargeable and 2 buffet ones you can use. For us the Japanese and steak ones were the best. You get a go at each speciality one once/wk. each hotel has a pool bar that's also main outside bar. Plastic glasses all the time is annoying! Range of cocktails but all mainly syrup based but hey still good! Beer is fine and wine is better in main restaurants than buffet ones. The service is a bit slow in buffet ones as they have to get all but wine from the one bar! There's also a sports bar in evenings but its a bit echoey/sterile and a nightclub that we heard was great but never went in. The bar above buffet restaurants is nicest but small. There is also a crepe place that makes a change for lunch or dinner. The chill out bar on the beach is nice but you have to pay extra for. Should be for all in my opinion as hotel lacks such a bar! Pool is nice, all shallow and plenty of ledges to sit. Beach is full of sun beds and have to walk over coral to get into but a bit rough at times! Round by the other hotel there is a calm inlet that's nice. The marina is a short walk up the road and you can do sea excursions from such as fat cat...all good fun! This is a great value 3* and as such has clientele looking for cheaper hols. Many we're from other Latin American countries or groups from US/ Canada. A fair few families with little ones so don't come here for a total chill out. We did relax here though and that was the aim! Saw the sites and Xla Ha, there are lots of great trips you can do so bring credit card!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    528
    179
    60
    36
See reviews for
360
580
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just back after a 2 week stay with a family group ending the tenth of May. We stayed in a standard room with a lovely view overlooking the pool which had two double beds for myself and my wife. The room was large clean with big flat screen TV, good air conditioning and had all we wanted. The grounds and the pools are immaculate there is the odd Iguana, Agouti and I saw a Spider monkey in the trees at the back of the archery range. The restaurants are all well presented most with white tablecloths and napkins and have plenty of choice of menu. The a la carte favourite was the Japanese where the chef puts on a great show and the Steak house a close runner up. We had no problems with getting a table we would arrive in the evening about seven and usually be told a table would be ready for us in forty five minutes so we would go and have a couple of enjoyable drinks and return. It was so pleasant to sit in the warm open air in one of the bars enjoying a cocktail. The lobby bar next to the theatre often had a singer or musician entertaining. The theatre hosted the main show by the animation team or visiting act and was quite spectacular. The beach as has been said many times is stony to get into the water and there was a constant onshore wind which made the sea quite rough nearly all the time we were there but the lagoon is sheltered and had plenty of fish which people feed with bread. The catamarans have to be captained by one of the staff as they say it is too dangerous to take one out by yourself because of the rocky reefs and swimmers. I am a qualified scuba diver and went with the hotel company pro divers on the local dives the visibility was not as good as I expected about 15 metres and the sea a bit choppy saw nothing exceptional but did a trip to Cozumel with them where the sea is sheltered and was getting 30 metres visibility and seeing lots of lobsters big green moray eels and a nurse shark. The trip cost an extra 109 US dollars but you get a meal and soft drinks at the hotel Allegro they use on the island. A trip to Alkumal is a must to snorkel with the turtles in the beautiful bay we got a taxi from the hotel which cost 230 pesos each way best to go early as it gets quite busy with tourists. There are several cenotes just off the main road a couple of miles south which took a 15 minute taxi drive, cost 200 pesos and 100 pesos each to go in Christelino. We took our own mask and snorkel but you can rent them there. All in all a great holiday weather good 33 centigrade mostly sunny an odd shower a few afternoons but quite breezy with an on shore south east wind.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lovely pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Brian E.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oromocto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I have been leary about travelling to Mexico, due to all the bad press that it gets. However after spending a week at this resort we have changed our minds.
We upgraded to the Privileged through Nolitours, and it was worth every penny. We stayed in 3129 and it overlooked the Pure Chill out bar (Privileged) and the privileged section on the beach. Amazing ocean view. The rooms were bright and clean and it had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a resort. It was almost as good as ours at home (and that's saying a lot).
We are beach people and unfortunately that was one downfall of this resort. The beach is rocky and there is a shelf that runs all the way out to the buoys. Mind you this didn't deterr us, we were in the ocean most mornings by 0800. Water socks were our saving grace, made it so we could enjoy the ocean - which we did.
My husband is a much pickier eater than I am and there were no comlaints from him in the food department. We enjoyed the buffets very much. The Mexican restaurant left a lot to be desired, I would recommend being there right at 6 (they don't take reservations) if not you could be waiting up to 2 hours to be seated like we were. The Japanese restaurant was AMAZING!! The food was fantastic and the chefs were entertaining and engaging.
The staff at this resort was very friendly and welcoming. They are more reserved than in other countries I've visited, but we enjoyed our time there very much.
The only real complaints we had are the small amount of loungers around the pool, we were not able to get one most days, if we wanted to switch from the beach to the pool in the afternoon. However never had an issue getting a lounger in the privileged area on the beach. The second complaint is that the need more security in the privileged section on the beach, there were a lot of people using the area that hadn't paid for it. This may sound a little nit picky, but when you pay for that upgrade it bothers me when other people take advantage of it for free.
Although if you went to the Chill Out Bar and tried to get a drink they would not serve you if you weren't wearing the right bracelet.
All in all it was an amazing trip, with wonderful people. We truly enjoyed the resort and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Although most of our experience at this resort was very good, there are many reasons why I wouldn't recommend it! I will also add that I used this site to check out the reviews before booking at this location and most of the reviews were very good.

The resort was nice, clean and most of the staff were VERY friendly and helpful so here comes the BUT....

Upon check in we were told that our room wasn't ready yet so they suggested we go have a snack and come back. We did that. When we came back we were told it still wasn't ready. We sat and waited. While we waited we noticed many others were also waiting. They told a different story, the hotel was full. It took a while still before Management came to tell us that indeed the hotel was full and that we would be relocated to another hotel for the evening and that we would all be upgraded to a privileged guest. Privileged services but not an upgraded room. We all had to sign a paper that we agreed to the terms before we could be transported to the other hotel. I must add that we had traveled over 3 hours to catch our flight to Cancun, a 4 1/2 hour flight and over an hour drive to the resort made for a very long day. We arrived at the resort at approximately 8 pm Mexican time but was 3 hours later where we had traveled from and midnight in Mexico before we were told this information. At this point we were so exhausted we probably would have signed anything at that time. We signed the letter and asked about having late checkout for the day we left and we were told we would have to check with him on the day before check out. We were then relocated to the other resort. The other resort was beautiful and the bonus was that we were able to experience two resorts on the same trip. I try to be positive. The downside of this is we had to check out of one hotel at noon and could only check into the Catalonia at 3 p.m. So all this time we couldn't relax and enjoy ourselves because we had to carry around our passport and other valuables until then. We relayed our displeasure to our tour rep and we were told that this happens all the time. NOT ACCEPTABLE! BTW...we did not receive late checkout, so had to be out of our room at noon and our pick up to go to the airport wasn't until 5:30 pm. We also spoke to another couple that was on our flight that we had met on check in (behind us in the line to check in) and they got their room and were not bumped to another hotel. If the hotel was full for us, why were they able to get a room??? For these reasons alone I would not recommend this resort. Too bad Management here wasn't as good as the other Employees!! We also missed our meeting with our Tour rep as we were at another hotel, so we basically had to find things for ourselves and I feel we missed a lot. Only really found the theatre on our last night there.

I was traveling with my mother and we received a king bed instead of two doubles, yet a couple that checked in the same time as we did got two doubles so we happily traded (our idea, not theirs).

There was yellow tape up all over the resort railings (good to know they weren't safe). The elevator was kind of scary and was missing buttons. We stuck to the stairs.

The pools closed at 6 p.m. every night. I felt this was too early as it's always nice to have a swim after dinner.

There is not much of a beach here, but the lagoon area more than makes up for it. This area was beautiful and my favourite spot on the whole resort.

The restaurants and food were good. Cleaning staff did an amazing job and everything was very clean and tidy. The wait staff at the restaurants were amazing and some were super friendly!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here 19th april till 3rd may,fantastic resort, spotlessly clean,amazing staff,best holiday weve ever had,we upgraded to a priveledge suite and it was superb,lovely sunken bath on the patio area,the maids were very precise in their cleaning and had a different decoration on our bed every day,most nights they did a turn down of our sheets, which was a nice touch, buffet restaurant was good,lots of choice , we did every a la carte except the japanese as it was mainly fish but not what we eat,the tapas was my least favourite,cold n not to my liking but each to their own,the Mexican was our favourite,and Sam the waiter was the best,people were winging about the queuing but there are so many choices your on holiday just go to another a la carte,we waited half an hour and just sat and had a drink in the bar area,there are no long queues anywere , even the main buffet you are seated within minutes at the most,the staff at the chill out bar were lovely,and Carmen in the lobby bar waited on us every night she was lovely,tipping goes a long way and the staff appreciate it we tipped 100 pesos a night which is 5 english pounds but you dont have 2 , we had nothing else to spend our money on and them staff work all day and night and we appreciated being waited on,we never went the bar not even on the beach we weree served all day n night so people who moan need 2 get a grip,the beach was lovely,the sea was rocky but we took beach shoes and were fine we found it funny falling in the sea and there is a lagoon if you didnt wanna walk on rocks,best of both worlds,activity pool was loud n full on if you like that and the quiter pool so again its your choice,juice bar was gorgeous,fresh fruit smoothies every day,creperie was delicious and both waitresses was lovely I could go on and on,would we return? hell yes,in a shot, people need to stop moaning, it is a fantastic resort with everything for every1 so book it and enjoy.

Room Tip: Suites are amazing,you pay for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Janeil5

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having never been to an all-inclusive before, this was the best introduction I could have had. The food was excellent (but still felt like I should have my wallet with me). The staff, everywhere, were great! Very accommodating, gracious, and friendly. Jahmell, one of the dining room supervisors really made the dining experience a pleasure. Always helping and eager to please. Stayed from April 15 to 22nd, 2014 and now wish we could have stayed much longer. The folded towels, swan one day, mermaid & elephant were awesome. The room was average, but we weren't there to stay in the room, so it served it's purpose. The mattress could be upgraded to a little softer...
We had the pleasure of dining at the Mexican, Italian, Japanese and Steak restaurants and the food was delicious...loved the Japanese chef cooking our food right in front of us.

All around, it was a fantastic trip and would not hesitate, for a moment, to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First thing I would like to say is the management never reply to people who criticise but only praise so here goes. My wife and I have just returned from a two week break at the yucatan. We had a lovely time while we were there but there are some basic things that need putting right. We stayed in room 3148 which is in between the loading bay for the kitchen and the pool bar. Noise from the vehicles reversing at all times of the day and night and noise from the pool bar until midnight every night. Not a good place when you are both light sleepers. We are in the Caribbean and no fridge in the room!. It was so hot the ice in your drinks melted straight away. We could have paid extra for a fridge but why should we. The words UPGRADE and PRIVILEGE are every where and it makes you feel second class. Not nice. The non booking system for the Japanese , steakhouse ,Italian and Mexican are a joke with people jostling to get there names on the waiting list. A lot of unpleasantries could be avoided with a simple pre booked table. Moaning over. The grounds are spotless with very hard working staff everywhere. The food was above average in quality and choice. The daytime and evening entertainment was very good. Lots to do if you wanted to join in . We swam in all five pools during our stay. The lagoon was a nice safe place to swim . The sea was clear and warm and lots of people enjoyed feeding the fish. Sun-beds were plentiful with the usual towels in place at Dawn. The weather was very good while we were there.

Room Tip: Read the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.