We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Spencerville, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and have no real complaints. We asked to upgrade right away and were offered privileged at half price. Even though the room was nice, we decided to upgrade again to a suite. It was less than $300 and the room was amazing! Even with the two upgrades, we paid less $1300! it was a great deal! There was some inconvenience with having to wait in line for the a la carte restaurants but honestly the buffets were very good so if you didn't get in, no big deal! The food selection was great and no issues with sickness at all. Staff were friendly and helpful. The best part of this resort is that it's so close to the marina. We walked down almost everyday to see the dolphins and browse the shops and just gawk at the huge yachts! It was so much fun and very safe. It's nice to not be confined to the resort. The one downside of this resort is that the beach is rocky but if you read reviews in advance (which we did) you knew to pack water shoes! Plus the snorkelling right off the resort was fantastic so that made up for the beach. But if you're looking for miles of beach, this wouldn't be your
kind of resort. This was our third trip to the Mayan so we only did one excursion to Tulum and Jungle Maya. It was okay but I could see how some people would find it boring. Overall we had a great experience. I would recommend this resort for those who want to do a little more than just sit by the pool or beach. Take advantage of the marina and snorkelling!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear AnmSmith123

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Sincerely
Hotel Manager
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    595
    204
    71
    41
See reviews for
409
675
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg Beach, Canada
1 review
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My daughter, two year old granddaughter and I (gramma) travelled to this resort for a wedding. We were given a room overlooking the wait line for the Japanese restaurant and next to the stage where the nightly shows occurred. After two nights listening to every word of the entertainment, with a two year old not able to sleep till the show was over we asked to be moved. The front desk said the only room available was a suite for $$$. Thinking the suite would be more secure (i.e.: no people right outside our patio every night) we paid the extra $$$ even tho we had previous paid $$ for the upgrade to privileged room. The combination of the original booking and upgrades should have put us in a five star resort royal suite, which this place is definitely not!

We were given a room on the street side on the main floor. The first night a man came by twice and spoke to us thru the fence while we were on the patio, each time we had to go inside. The second night, a man while it was dark stood by the fence staring at us, we yelled and threatened to call security and the fellow ran off. The front desk said they would send someone. No one came. Upon opening the patio door, we noticed the man was again peeping thru the fence and did not run off till we yelled again for five minutes. We again called security. No one came. We changed rooms again. Other than the bellboy, no one from security showed.
After speaking with the tour operator, security met with us two days later, we wanted to ensure that no other guests had the same experience. After the meeting, we received an email the night before we left indicating it was not their fault that as the incident occurred outside the resort (we were on the patio, peeping tome was on the other side of the fence ) they were not responsible and maybe we were like to have a free massage and some wine which was silly as we were leaving the next morning.. Needless to say we declined.

The service staff was wonderful, the food not too bad if you don't mind waiting in the one hour lineup every night, the beach was nice to lounge on.

I definitely would not return nor recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have travelled a number of times and have stayed at numerous all inclusive resorts. This is the first time I feel compelled to write a review about a resort.
The Catalonia Yucatan/Riviera Maya is a resort I would definitely not be going back to, and would definitely not recommend.
We checked in and they promptly tried to upgrade us to a “privileged” room. The upgrade would have upped our vacation budget by about $1000. For that we would have chosen a different resort. I didn’t like the segregation aspect of the privileged and non-privileged areas. You should treat every guest the same way.
We were given an adequate room situated in the middle of the resort. The downside of this was that their delivery / work area is also situated in the middle of the resort. At all hours, trucks beeping as they are backing up or angle grinders whining away, didn’t make for a relaxing stay.
As far as the staff was concerned, there were a few that were genuinely nice. Other times, I felt like I was an inconvenience just by asking for a drink from a bartender.
The ala carte reservation system has been mentioned in previous reviews. A lot of standing in line just to get a reservation. Other resorts we have been to employ the concierge system of booking everything once at your leisure, which works very well.
We managed to make the most of our vacation. The sun was still a lot warmer there than back home. What it boils down to, is that if you have not been on an all inclusive vacation before, this resort is probably for you. If you have experienced other resorts, you will know that this one is lacking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got home to a lot of snow !! This resort is smaller which I love we went with our 2 kids 6 and 9 year old boys they had a great time lots of snorkeling and great gated community which we felt really safe walking around. We took bikes (free) down by the marina saw some dolphins and cute shops and you don't even need to leave the resort. I have no clue why people complain I realize you cant please everyone but I have been to 9 different resorts in different places and this was the best food anywhere my older son is sooooo picky and he eat a ton no one got sick. Lots of choice meats and great variety for everyone don't listen to the haters we met a ton of people who loved the resort also everyone we spoke to had the same opinion. The staff were awesome Alfonso, Valerio , and many more were all very kind great with my boys and made the trip that much better so thank you! It can be cool in the morning and at night in jan and feb so make sure to bring more than one sweater as we did but the days were perfect weather. This resort is actually 2 resorts in one but you share all pools and bars really still felt like one resort but not to big just perfect to walk around and you can find everything really easy. The beach is very rocky but so much to look at great area to snorkel but if you are a beach lover and just want to run in and out may not be the place for you as it can be a bit tricky getting in and out we loved it. We have not one complaint about the resort the only thing that should be looked at as many others have spoke about is the dinner a la cart no reservation thing with kids and all it is hard to wait till 9 for dinner and you can wait in line and still not get in kinda crappy but buffet was just fine for us also.
All in all we would for sure go back to this resort I am not a fan of huge resorts! I don't like to have to take a train around which lots of resorts do. This resort is quaint and personable we met so many great people because it was a bit smaller.
ROOM we did not upgrade did not feel the need as we really only sleep in it but our room was awesome with the best view #4127 many of the rooms on the Maya Riviera upgraded side face trees and bushes but on the Catalonia side most face the ocean and the pools which you can sit on the balcony and still enjoy some entertainment.

Room Tip: 4127 was the best view we face the ocean and the pools. Was perfect i think in that block any on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, Director General at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Terraoberra

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay with us and for such nice comments.
It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We feel very proud of the impression you had from the hotel and our lovely country.
We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!
Sincerely

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

As the Title indicates. 5th time at the resort and it will be our Last.
To start with we had close to a 3 hour check in line up upon arrival. They only had 2 people working the desk with each going through their 5 minute upgrade speech.
Our room was on the 4th floor in front of the disco "that you could hear till 330-400am". Elevator worked 1 day of the 7. I found the lounge chairs at the beach way more comfortable than our bed. For some reason no hot water between 10am and noon, and 130pm to 330pm,
The after hours eatery well it served 3 things. Mystery meat hotdogs, Donkey burgers and a close relative might have been pizza. Gone was the salad, salsa / chips that we always used to enjoy.
Al-a-Carts: What a joke of a system. OK so you stand in line at an eatery(i hour +) to put your name on a list, and then crowd around the entrance till someone comes and finds you to seat you. If you are new to this forget about figuring this one out. (WHY CANT YOU JUST CALL FOR A RESERVATION) too simple maybe and your so darn hungry you wont complain about the food.
Half the people we were with got sick from their (So Called bottled water). We purchased sealed bottled water half way through the trip which cleared things up.
There is more but I want to give mention to some things that were done well .
(Anitaira) at the pure chill out lounge , Manuel at the El Mercado. Anna at the El Creperie.These people made our stays.
I thought the lunches at both Buffets were good. The suppers seemed to be left overs from lunch but still edible. The coral and fish off the beach were fantastic. The resort was clean and well maintained.
We will visit the Riveria Maya again but not the Catalonia Yucatan.

Room Tip: Elevators did not work so maybe stay away from 4 th floors. Disco Blared till 4am so maybe stay away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Hotel gardens were lovely,our room over looked the swimming pool an you could see the sea as we'll.
Rooms were cleaned every day fresh towels.
Swimming pools were great .the beach is very lovely but very rocky an need swim shoes on to go swimming
That's was our only fault with the beach.food was ok but very the same every night.most staff helpfull but staff in restaurant not helpfull always seemed to keep us waiting for a table even thro they knew we were a party of 10.also check disc when buying photos as when we got home we only had one photo on ours an should have been more,so we paid nearly £420peso for One photo so we was ripped off. Overall had a lovely time but wouldn't go back to this
Hotel

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hola!! ;)

Just got back from this vacation less than a week ago. Missing it already! Overall a good resort and vacation, with a few minor hiccups. Here goes:

Smaller resort (which I liked) everything is compact and easy to find and locate. I recommend the upgrading option. We had a lovely ocean view room with champagne, tequila and a little cake as a nice welcome. The upgrading "privileged" option also gives an extra a lacarte dinner access to the tapas restaurant which we took advantage of and loved.

The food overall I found to be perfectly fine, mind you I'm not a picky eater, but even the pickiest could find something for breakfast lunch and dinner. Fresh omelettes and fruit every morning and very good coffee! We tried the Mexican, Italian, Japanese and tapas a la cartes and as many reviewers write, the Japanese is by far the best. We throughly enjoyed every meal though, and weren't ill whatsoever.

Its true what others have said, the beach is extremely rocky! So enter with caution! Once you are in the ocean be sure to try some snorkelling as there are many beautiful colourful fish to see 20 feet off the beach! One of the highlights of the trip for sure.

We swam with dolphins at the dolphinaris which is a truly amazing experience, although the photos are a ripoff! We also went to Cozumel for a day and rented mop heads which was awesome. The Thursday evening of our trip we tried out coco bongos in playa del carmen for the night. I highly recommend coco bongos as it was the most fascinating show/disco I've ever seen!

This resort is located in Puerto Adventures which is a gated community. I had no idea it would be in this gated community until arriving and absolutely loved that we were. Not only did it make me feel safer, you could leave the resort and rent bikes, or take a quick walk down to the marina which features beautiful yachts and boats to look at, people watching and great shops and restaurants. the marina also has a dolphin discovery (this is not where we did our dolphin swim) where you can freely watch them swim and shows they have going on.

The only downfalls (and they are minor) about this trip was the weather was iffy at times. Night time cooled right down, where a sweater or coat was needed a couple of nights. Some overcast and rainy days as well but thats the risk you take travelling in January I suppose! It was annoying that one had to be up at 6 am to reserve a beach lounger at both the pool and beach, but thats with any resort. Lastly, the a la carte dinner reservation issue is misleading and unclear. They tell you at the beginning of the trip that no restaurant takes reservations and it is first come serve. So, when you go to dinner at 6 or 7, you may expect to wait a bit but not get turned away! (Which happened one night) the best advice is to either eat very early every night (5pm) or, go at 5pm sharp and book a reservation for later in the evening (even though, they apparently don't take reservations.) lastly, if there is any weddings going on, the tapas places closes for the reception.

Overall though, a fabulous vacation and a good resort. Well worth the money. :) thanks for the great memories and good times I will never forget!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.