We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average room, great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel in a great position. Staff excellent, food good considering the amount of people that were there. The holiday was let down by the quality of the rooms. When we checked in we were advised that we could upgrade to a premium room for an additional cost. This seemed strange, were they suggesting that their rooms were not good enough and we should upgrade to better our holiday experience?
The rooms could have done with a lick of paint and a re-tile which was a shame considering that it was a 4* hotel. Apart from that we had a great time...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    585
    200
    70
    41
See reviews for
407
658
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from the cat, we were travelling with nolitours. Many people on this site have mentioned they were pushed to upgrade rooms. this was not even mentioned to us on check in. We were in the basic room and it was basic but very clean and I found the bed comfortable. As mentioned there was no fridge or coffee maker or alarm clock. We were prepared for this and brought our own clock. We had requested a room second floor or above we did not get this but felt it was a problem with Sears not forwarding the info to the hotel. Our location being on the ground floor was noisey as we had many people walkin by our door. there was an incident one evening when we had to call security as a women was being beat u by her husband outside our door, Security was very quick to repond. We had 2 small maintenance issues that were dealt with within an hour of reporting them.
The location in Puerto Venturas was very nice we took several walks to the marina to see the dolphins, manatee etc.felt very safe walking around the gated community.
The beach was dissapointing as it was very difficult to walk into the water very rocky.It would be
a good idea to build a few piers out into the water that would allow you to enter the water on the other side of the rocks,
The buffets were pretty ordinary and boring after the first coupls of days. the ala cartes were very good and enjoyed the craperie.The grounds were kept very well and we noticed people with both wheel chairs and walkers getting around no problem. We noticed the dynamic of the resort changed on the Friday alot of spring breakers and things got much nosier. We also noticed locals
on the weekend but other than the man beating his wife this was not a problem.
All and All a solid 3 star maybe low 4 resort. Probably would not go back but enjoyed the vacation.
The strong point was the staff all were so friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor if possible especially on the corners they are pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I and our three teenaged children stayed here from March 4th to 11th 2013, through Nolly Tours...we were in rooms 8305 and 06. First and foremost, their staff is amazing. The rooms were beautiful and very clean....we had a private tub on our deck that was fantastic. The staff made the place so great! They told us about taking bicycles down to a marina to watch the dolphins play and train...and recommended several activities "off the beaten path". Lots of entertainment choices and the food was great too! Loved the beach....it's like 3 different beaches in one...we saw an octopus and a moray eel right in our bay. We will be going back most definitely and are also recommending the Catalonia Yucatan to all our family and friends! Special thanks to Jorge, Javd, Rebecca, Pablo, Alphonso Petra and so many of the other resort employees for making it such a wonderful, enjoyable, relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Loved our king-size privileged suite...the huge tub on the patio is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a brilliant time, Mar 1st 2013 for one week. The resort was perfect for young children. The beach is right in front of the pool so no long treks back and forth. The rooms are all around the pool so easy to pop back to the room if needed. The buffet restaurants were good, same as other good resorts we had been to. The al a cartes were very good, no booking so you just turned up, this was ok some nights but some nights they had a long wait so you had to put your name down.
Loved the beach and water it was great for snorkelling and beautiful. The pool was a bit too cold for me but the kids didnt mind it at all. Would go back again, but tend to go to new places each time we go away.

Room Tip: We got an excellent room over looking the pool. Some rooms looked like they were in very strange loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Catalonia was very nice - food was great and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms as with many places, are tired but clean. The Beach is not the best for swimming and body surfing but it is outstanding for snorkeling for kids. It is a busy spot and often difficult to find chairs by the pool. This is a central location for area attractions. I would recommend Dolphinaris over the Puerto Adventuras Dolphin encounter but a nice perk to this resort is being able to stroll down to the little town within the gated community. There was a very safe feeling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed March 4-11 2013 with my husband and our friends with their 10 year old son. The staff work very hard to keep this a very clean & well maintained resort. Stayed in a suite, which was just beautiful, & our friends has a premium room which was also lovely. Note: beds were very comfortable! Did not see a standard room, so unable to comment on that. Always something to do if you wish to be active around the resort, entertainment crew are very good & will keep you busy if you choose, if not then you can just relax as you wish. We did some snorkling in the bay, beach is rocky, not too big but lots of fish to see & very pretty. Food: we had great meals at the Grill-Bamboleo, Tapas and Mikado, always something you can find at the buffets, some bland food but always lots of other options.
Overall we had a very relaxing, much needed break and were very happy with our first stay at this resort, we have travelled to Mexico many times and always stay at a 4 or 5 star.
Special thanks to: Love & the entertainment crew for keeping us laughing, Aryana for keeping us hydrated and Pablo for the great service in the Bamboleo :)

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful, spacious & very quiet - well worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at this resort with my boyfriend and another couple from Feb 28 - Mar 7. Upon arriving I was a little skeptical but after the first day we all loved it!!!
Important facts to know before going..... standard rooms are very standard. The rooms were very clean, but could use a little paint in the bathroom. Our room was on the bottom floor and the balcony looked at the kids club. If you want a view, ask for one or upgrade your room. We weren't in our room enough to worry about the view. There aren't alarm clocks, coffee makers or safe included in standard rooms. You can rent them for the week or just upgrade your room. There is one large bottle of water in your room. They do not give you another one, but you can refill it at the bar or purchase more water in the gift shop. They are trying to cut down on the amount of plastic bottles which I think is a great idea!!
When we booked we asked for side by side rooms and got them.
Al a Carte restaurants are great!! But you cannot make reservations ahead of time. You show up and hope the wait isn't too long. This part annoyed me a little. I'd rather book the days and times so you can plan your day/evening around it. However there was only one night we had to wait 2 hours for the Italian. It didn't feel like a 2 hour wait though. There is a great lounge bar outside of the Italian and Mexican. (Tip the bartender with the spiky hair, he will keep bringing drinks to your table). Also the Japanese is awesome. They do an excellent show of it. The doors open up at 6, but start lining up at 5pm. There is a bar in the lobby upstairs so we kept sending someone to grab drinks to pass the time. If you wait and go later you may not get or expect a long wait. I highly recommend going at 5.
Staff are great. From the bartenders to the maids, the activities staff and waiters. Everyone works very hard and tries to make everyone happy. We never met anyone that was unfriendly or if they didn't understand english they would find someone to help you.
A walk to the marina is a must. It is only 5 min away and you don't have to pay to see the dolphins and manatees. It felt like a free excursion!! Nice shops and restaurants there too.
Beach is ok. Sand is nice on shore, but very rocky getting into the water, plus you cant walk very far. If you enjoy long walks on the beach.... this isn't a good place for you. I didn't use water shoes but it would be a good idea to bring if you havee them. This place is great for snorkelling. I spent hours swimming around and there are tons of fish to see.
The shows at night aren't the greatest and the theatre is inside. The Lion King is worth seeing, the rest can be missed. Go to the Creperie when the shows are on and you wont have to wait in line. Sports bar is also fun at night. Pool tables, ping pong (beer pong) and tv's. Bartender Juan is great!!
Overall this resort is great for everyone. It is within a gated community so the beach is private, no vendors selling you stuff on the beach and NO TIMESHARE!!!! Families with young children will like the small pools and shallow areas, and seniors or people with mobility issues will find everything very close and accessible.
I recommend this resort........ but do caution you to make sure the room is to your "standard".

Room Tip: If you book standard make sure you understand what is and isn't included!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.