We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt go back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldnt go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here the week of February 21-28th 2013. Beach is rocky and sand is more like crushed up coral than sand. Staff was hit and miss. Bartenders were nice because we tipped them but the servers payed no attention to us because we did not have the "privileged rooms." Unless you were in a privileged room, you were treated like dirt and had to pay for everything - room safe, alarm clock, extra pillows, etc. Our friends we met at the hotel had $350 stolen from their room by the house keepers!! They were on their honeymoon and the hotel did nothing for them to compensate. Resort itself was nice but the buffet food was very average at best. We ate out most of the time because the food was so bad. I will say there was a great selection for vegetarians. The Japanese a la carte was very good as well. I did like the fact the resort was smaller than most resorts Ive been too - didnt have to walk very far to get to the beach, pools or buffets. All in all we made the best of it and had a good trip, but I would not recommend this destination for anything over $900 all in.

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    532
    179
    61
    39
See reviews for
363
589
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort. Both times we booked at Catolonia Yucatan but our rooms were on the Mayan Riviera side - maybe because we booked the Privilege Plus section- no matter the two are so intertwined, it really doesn't matter.
The rooms, walkways and all areas of this hotel were completely spotless - you can tell there is a lot of work put into the upkeep.
The hotel may be getting a bit old, well, that happens, but if everything is clean and the staff friendly - then it doesn't matter. Pretty much every staff member we passed gave us a greeting and a smile - very nice!
Wifi- I think it is free for everyone in the hotel now - nice feature. Sometimes you have to go to a different place to get a better signal - mine worked perfectly in our room, but hubby had to go to the internet cafe and we have the same phone.
Food - We had breakfast and lunch at the buffets - lots of choices and good service - no complaints at all. Hubby loves the beer here - always icy cold. Also - Tanqueray gin!
We had 5 a la cartes, so we never had supper at the buffet. the Steakhouse was very good - beef filet was delish. Also the Mexican was very good. We enjoyed the tapas as well. We did not try Japanese on this trip. Not too fussy on the Italian, but that's me.
Twice we went to eat in town. It is a quick 10 minute walk to the centre of town. We love the atmosphere and that is why we like to return to this area.
Very very safe - jogging in the morning or walking home at night- it is all good. The town itself is extremely well kept up too with lots of gardens. Really lovely.
Any questions - just ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had to stay here for one night since the Catalonia Royal Tulum Hotel, which we had booked, claimed they were over booked. I managed to get a Junior Suite as part of the compensation and the room was very nice and spacious. It was close to the sea and the restaurants as well. The only problem with the room was some kind of constant noise which was quite irritating during the night.

Only tried the lunch buffet at the pool and the Italian restaurant - neither of them a big experience though but OK.

The hotel has about 700 rooms so the place is pretty crowded. I stayed three nights at Catalonia Royal Tulum Hotel and would recommend this instead as it is less crowded and set more beautifully in the djungle with a superb beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We deeply apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.

I hear all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean, cheap and on a beautiful section of the beach!
It is close to Playa Del Carmen, we took the local bus located outside the complex (20 min ride), it is also just down the way from the Puerto Aventuras community with Dolphins, cafes and restaurants.
The money we saved by not staying in a snooty 5 star resort where the people are not as friendly, we spent on tours to Chitzenitcha, Dolphin swimming, trips to Playa Del Carmen, Snorkelling and other trips.

We loved it and enjoyed our time spent in the resort as well! They really go out of their way to make your stay here a pleasant one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are use to staying at 5* resorts but this 4* resort had better reviews then most 5*'s. SO we tried it and were not disappointed. We stayed on the Nolitour side of the resort in building 3. The room was clean and plenty of closet space. Most rooms are designed for two people so we had to ask for addition towels, a chair for the balancy and glass to drink out of. But everything was deliveried and everything was good. If people complain about this resort they should stay home because the staff is great, the food is adequate and the drinks never stop coming.
I would reconmend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't expect a good view from your balcony. But how long to do spend in the room. Stay on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener,ON
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a great stay at this resort Feb 17-24, 2013

This was my first visit to Mexico and first time at an all-inclusive. Trip was booked through NoliTours, via AirTransat.

When you arrive at Cancun airport there are vendors trying to sell you cold beers for $6,50 each outside in the waiting area (for your bus to the resort) try and restrain yourself from buying those. Once you are on the bus and the bus leaves the airport property it stops and the guide grabs a cooler and brings it on board and will sell you Corona's for $3.00 each.

The bus to the resort took a while as it stopped at 2 resorts then finally the Catolina Yucatan. We boarded the bus at 10:40am and arrived at the hotel at 12:15pm so be prepared for this.

We had already pre-booked Privileged rooms with our booking agent (having read reviews about standard rooms) however once at the hotel we booked up to a suite having seen the Privileged room. It was very nice, but for an extra $140.00 for the 7 nights it was very nice to have the additional room in the suite. We had unit 8116, which had a huge tiled tub on the balcony which was very private. The outdoor tub and full marbled indoor washroom were the easy selling points to book the suite. With the privileged rooms and suite you get a few extra perks, free use of the in-room safe and a stocked mini-bar, along with robes and slippers. I have attached a number of pictures of the room. Oh and you also get 1 extra (dinner for 2) coupon for the on-resort restaurants. More on those below.. The front desk experience was excellent, check was a breeze and our room was ready early. NoliTours mentions that there is exclusive check-in for those who booked with them, but that person was not at the desk when we arrived.

The hotel grounds are immaculate, try and find garbage or an empty glass on the main hotel grounds, you won't find it. You trip over staff who are either tending to the landscape or housekeeping staff. It's very well maintained. There is a full activities board near the Margarita swim-up bar that lists the entire week of things to do, and there is no lack of activities to take part in on the resort grounds. We did the bike riding tour on Wednesday, it was about an hour event and made several stops in the immediate area, it was well worth it, and free! The activities staff will canvass the guests at pool-side to take part in afternoon events, though we didn't do any, they really want you to participate.

All the on-resort restaurants are excellent, varied menu's and themes, and for those liking crepes, milkshakes and banana-splits there is The Crepiere located above La Brisa's. They close on Sunday but between 5pm and 11pm the rest of the week they are dishing up delicious desserts. Say hi to Marcellino, he is amazing.

The Mikado seems to be the most popular of the a la carte restaurants, they open at 6pm, but you want to be there about 5;20pm and wait inside, the door is open. Since they only take 12 people per section your wait can be 2 hours if you don't arrive early, they do not take reservations. None of the eateries do, btw.

We did not experience a bad meal the entire week, each restaurant was well staffed, the menu's are easy to read, follow and order from, and if you do have to wait, so what.... have a few drinks.

For breakfast I would recommend being ready to eat about 8;30am each day, and I would also recommend El Mercado. It seemed that the majority of the guests went to La Brisa's, which is equally as good, but the line up is huge. Walk around to El Mercado and walk right in, the breakfast items are generally the same, but you won't have to wait. If you do go to breakfast after 9am it seemed they didn't replenish the supply of items that ran low. We found out a couple times that this was the case, items were totally gone and weren't replenished. But you can't beat the selection of items and juices, and vodka too, if you so desire.

About the lounge chairs, chaises around the pool, beach and palapa's, the towel game is in full force. You will want to place the blue towels across the chaise you want early in the morning. I was out each day around 7:45am and was able to have pretty much any chaise I wanted. If you are later than that you may not get the spot you want. We were there for 7 days, each day I chose a different area to experience the full use of the resort.

If you want a quieter area to read or snooze you will not want to place your towel around the pool area by Bambeleo Snack Bar, that is the area that most of the pool events take place. The staff use loud music and microphone/speaker to run the events, so it's noisy. Any other area and the beach are much quieter.

There is a nice cove area where they rent the sea-doo's just down from Bambeleo it gets full sun and the beach area is less rocky. Generally the beach areas are somewhat rocky, you will find sand and the water is crystal clear. The weather can be anything, we had a couple cloudy days, and 5-6 rain showers, otherwise it's sun all the way.

We took in a theatre show on Thursday night, it was entertaining and something different to do on the resort. It's not Vegas, but it was entertaining.

If you want souvenirs you are in luck, 5 of the nights we were there they had street vendors selling wares in the walk-ways. Various items are for sale and they hang out till 10pm on the nights they are there. Barter with them, do not pay asking, on everything we bought we talked them down, mention your price and walk away, they will stop you and barter.

All in all it was a great trip, the housekeeping staff, in fact all the staff have permanent smiles and are extremely friendly. You will enjoy the towel designs each morning after housekeeping cleans your room. Tips in our case were included, but I tipped additionally, they are very appreciative.

Enjoy your trip there, I wish I was back there and I only left yesterday!

Hola!

Room Tip: Book up to privileged at the very least, you will enjoy the perks and better room. The standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a good location near the marina, lots of great places to eat and drink at marina. Plus dolphins etc were swimming around all day and evening it was great.

Rooms they were small, basic, old fashioned and bed was terrible didn't sleep very well it was terrible. It was cleaned every day which was good.

Staff were mainly nice especially alfonso in tequilla bar and Lucia who worked in tequila bar or sports bar in the evenings. Restaurant Mgrs seemed rude not helpful and didn't seem to work themselves much!

Beach and pools were great, they were very busy but ok and kept very clean.

Food was good but basic except in 4 special restaurants on complex, you could not book table you had to wait for ages to get tables.

Would we go back I'm not sure!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catrivieramaya1, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time with us and you will keep a good memory of Mexico and our Hotel.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.