We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here is why this resort gets so many return guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Corinth, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Here is why this resort gets so many return guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was our third time at the Cat. For reference, we’ve been to 10 other AIs ranging from budget to upscale and only one other resort ( Riu Palace Mexico) - has warranted a return trip.

For those wondering why so many people keep returning to the Cat, here’s the short answer: It’s an extremely compact, well laid out ocean front resort with decent rooms, decent drinks, decent food, friendly service, several pools, 2 swim up bars, just enough of a small beach and calm lagoon for swimming or snorkeling, and a great bang for the buck. Folks that return know exactly what to expect.

If you’re trying to make a decision if the Cat is the right property to spend your time and money, you need to know what it is IS and what it is NOT. And from this, I draw a comparison from my experience at other AI’s in the Riviera Maya including the RIU Palace, El Dorado Royale, and the Grand Palladium.

What the Cat is NOT:
If you are seeking a resort with a sugary sand, expansive beach perfect for long walks, look elsewhere as the small, rocky, horseshoe shaped beach at the Cat will be a source of disappointment. You can take a short walk on the beach past the adjacent Dreams but even their small beach dead ends into impassible coral rocks. The beach in front of the Cat ends at the lagoon. If you rank a great beach as a top priority, there are other resorts along the Yucatan that will more than meet your expectations.

What the Cat beach does have:
There is certainly enough of a beach to swim or snorkel (water shoes a necessity, trust me). The bonus is a large, CALM lagoon (no water shoes needed) really lovely for swimming and snorkeling even if the rest of beach has a red flag warning. Tons of tropical fish swim around by the bridge between the lagoon and open sea area. If you’re perfectly content to just veg under a palapa enjoying the view of the achingly blue sea, or content to wade into the ocean long enough to cool off or hand feed fish, you’ll be more than satisfied. As for the 3 resorts around this very rocky coastline– the CAT, Dreams, and Aventura Spa Palace- I think the CAT probably has the best beach area of the three.

Shade and the towel game: There are a fair amount of palapas on the beach spread from the Yucatan Beach side down to the lagoon on the Riviera Maya side. I was up and on the beach at 6:15am every morning because I’m insane. (Actually, I love sitting with a coffee to watch the sun rise however I need to limit my sun exposure so getting up early enough to stake out an all day shady spot is essential for me.) I can say that on most days a palapa could still be found on the Yucatan side as late as 8:00-8:30 am – on Sunday at 10:00am there were still 4 unclaimed palapas behind us. Perhaps that is because this is off season? It did seem that the palapas by the lagoon are nabbed pretty quickly and early by families with young children.

What it is NOT:
This is definitely NOT a luxury resort with spectacular grounds and a breathtaking opulent, marble lobby with artwork at every turn. This property is not situated in or next to a jungle. No fountains, (well, one small one), no decorative pools or koi ponds, no covered walkways, no peacocks, no monkeys, no crocodiles, no flamingos, or other exotic wildlife. The Cat does not have waterslides, lazy rivers, or waterfalls in their pools. Nor, should I add, do they have a designated adults only pool so be prepared for children to be splashing around the swim up bars. Even with the side by side sister properties, this is by no means a mega property where a tram is needed to get around.

What the CAT does have:
The relatively small grounds comprised of lawn and coconut palms among walkways are kept meticulously manicured and clean. On several occasions the groundskeeper trimmed the palm trees and graciously cut open coconuts with a machete for guests. After hours, we watched maintenance workers scrub down every lounger by the pool.

The very positive side to having no jungle is the absence of mosquitoes! We brought bug spray but never had to use it unlike at two other more exotic resorts where we were eaten alive if not hosed down with deet anytime we left our room. Wildlife, such that it is, seems to be limited to iguanas and stray cats,

Most villas and buildings are about a 5 minute walk to anywhere. The longest walk was from our room (Bldg 6- Yucatan Beach side) to the Mikado restaurant on the Riviera Maya side. That may have taken all of 6 minutes. At the time we booked our vacation, my husband was on crutches and we did not know if mobility would be an issue five months down the line. Although we looked at different properties for this trip, the primary reason we chose the Cat again was because of its compact layout.

There are five pools between the two properties. One pool on each property is permanently set up for water volleyball. The poolside games, music, and activities are kept to the Riviera Maya side leaving the Yucatan pool area quieter. The walk between the two pool areas is about a minute and a half so it’s no hardship to participate in a water aerobics class and then retreat to a quieter area. It seemed The Margaritas swim up bar on the Rivera Maya side tends to be more raucous than the Tequila swim up bar on the Yucatan side.

On our two previous visits to the Cat Riviera Maya we had standard rooms which were quite satisfactory although the amenities of the “privileged” rooms (in room mini-bar, coffee maker, free safe, upgraded bed and furnishings) definitely sparked our interest. Thanks to other TA reports, we learned that many upgraded rooms were in a newer building at the rear of the resort. We booked a standard room at the Riveria Maya through Cheap Caribbean and decided to wait and see the location of privileged rooms available upon check in. Prior to departing, both the travel agent and I emailed CAT’s customer service to tell them we were a third time return guest and respectfully asked for consideration to an ocean view room.

When we arrived (around 1:30pm) the front desk said they had a room for us on the Yucatan Beach side of the resort. We still asked to see what upgraded rooms with an ocean view were available. A privileged room, small but nice in villa 6 on the Riviera Maya side did not have enough of a view to warrant the additional cost. The clerk erroneously told us a 2nd floor oceanfront room was available (also on the Yucatan Beach side) but it was in the process of being renovated. When the bellhop finally took us to the basic room that had been selected for us, we were thrilled! Room 3124 had a great ocean view in building 6 – Yucatan Beach side -that was steps away from the pool, beach, and Chill Out Bar. The simple and large room had a king size bed that was firm but had a mattress topper, an abundance of pillows, small table, two chairs, TV. Balcony, with a north eastern exposure (heavenly shade in the afternoon) was large with 2 chairs. The front desk clerk said this was considered a basic upgrade for returning guests and I believe him! They even delivered a small plate of fruit with the week’s activity sheet listing our name and the names of other return guests, welcoming us “home”. Nice touch. Yes, you have to pay an extra $3.00 per day for the safe but so what. The room did not smell musty, the a/c worked well. Our bathroom had a large shower/tub combo with decent water pressure. We left maid service a small tip each day and we were treated to different towel animals on a daily basis.

Guests are given vouchers to use at the specialty restaurants- how many are determined by length of stay and type of room. (We had 3 vouchers.) It’s fairly effortless to book- the reservationist is at the Chill Out bar for several hours each day and restaurants can be booked in advance. During this off season when occupancy is low, the specialty restaurants operate on a rotating schedule. If there is a particular restaurant you want to try, you might want to stop by the Chill Out bar upon arrival to book it due to limited availability.

On previous visits we had been to the Italian, Mexican (which we found mediocre) and the steakhouse. New to us were Mikado (the Japanese) and The Terrace for tapas.

MIKADO: I can see why this is a favorite. Groups of 8 are seated around a hibachi station in a comfortably air conditioned room where the chef puts on a Benihana type cooking show. Sushi for appetizers- Chef’s fried rice was second course. Then meat, chicken, or shrimp with vegetables for the main course. The food was better than I expected – the beef was actually tender! We were moved to another room for dessert and fried ice cream was one of the specialties.

The Terrace. Upstairs with either ocean view patio seating or indoor, air conditioned seating. The presentation – and portions- are more nouvelle cuisine and menu selections have a Spanish influence. The appetizers are paired taster selections – no more than a bite or two of each offering. The entrees are also different and small. Desserts are, again, little bites of paired selections. Honestly, there was nothing particularly memorable about the meal but we would probably go back because it was different. And, should you still be hungry, see if either Le Creperie or the buffet is still open!

Bamboleo Steakhouse: We like the atmosphere of this outside dining venue. Don’t expect a Ruth Chris’ steak here. Set your expectations low and you’ll be satisfied. The t-bone steak is very thin with a decent flavor, the New York was also thin but tasty. The Bamboleo needs and doesn’t provide real steak knives. My husband could not stand the free house red wine and chose to pay an extra $22.00 for a bottle of something more palatable (Rosemount, I think.)

El Mercado:
The air conditioned buffet on the Yucatan side was only opened on Wednesdays for dinner –Mexican theme night. I think this must be seasonal. In years past this restaurant used to be open for the same hours as La Brisa.

La Brisa:
The open air buffet on the Riveria Maya side is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have hung netting over the windows to keep birds out. Many tables have an ocean view. They cater to American, European, and Mexican tastes for every meal.

Breakfast: You name it, they have it. Fresh fruits, juices, cereals, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, breads, cold cuts, cheeses, coffees, cappuccinos, pastries. There is an egg and omelet station. Enrique, a morning chef at that station, is particularly friendly and is happy to teach you some Spanish while your eggs are cooking.

Lunch: There is always a salad bar offering romaine lettuce, red leaf lettuce, spinach, sprouts, tomatoes, cucumbers, and other fresh veggies. There is an array of cold vegetable and seafood salads at this station along with cheeses and cold cuts with a panini grill. One station will grill meat, chicken or fish, another station is cooking Mexican specialties. There is always pizza, pasta, and burgers available. The hot buffet line offers a variety of meat, chicken, and fish selections as well as a variety of vegetable and grain side dishes. We like trying the local, Mexican dishes. There is a dessert station with a variety of cookies, flans, cakes, and ice cream. Frankly, my husband and I found all their baked goods (including morning pastries) to be very mediocre. We more than made up for this “disappointment” by visiting Le Creperie for milkshakes and dessert crepes every day it was opened.

Dinner: Pretty much the same set up as lunch. Entrees and side dishes were different for the dinner offering.

Bamboleo Snack Bar: Poolside burgers, hot dogs, fries, pizza, a hot entrée selection, chips, guacamole, small salad station. More than does the trick.

Le Creperie: An outdoor café setting open some evenings with milkshakes, sundaes, and dessert crepes. There were a few interesting entree crepes on the menu we had thought about trying instead of going to La Brisa for dinner but we never did.

Overall, the food at all the restaurants is decent and, unless you’re a vegan, even picky eaters should find something they will find edible. As stated earlier, if you want a resort with absolutely exquisite food, elegant dining rooms, and artistic presentations, spend more money and go to an upscale all inclusive.

Alegria Spa: Also new since we were here last. Nice gym, no extra charge to use. There is an indoor wet area ( whirlpool, steam, sauna, cold plunge) the use of which may be included with privileged rooms. (Don’t know about that.) Otherwise, unless you are booking a massage, there is a $40.00 fee for day use of those facilities. IMHO, the facility is very nice but definitely NOT worth paying a surcharge.

The list price for massages are on the outrageously high side…guess they have to pay somehow for that new spa facility. However, if you wait for the masseuses to walk the grounds to drum up business, you can get 30% off the list price making a 50 minute Swedish massage about $65.00. Yeah, still high but in all fairness, both my husband and I had really excellent massages in a most pleasant venue. And, on the day of the massage, you have complete access to the wet spa area if you so choose. You’re indirectly paying for it so you might as well use it.

The animation team is very good about inviting – not pressuring- guests to participate in activities ranging from exercise classes, volleyball games, or poolside antics. I did attend two evening shows – The Lion King and The Nightmare Show. I’m not expecting Las Vegas or even cruise ship level entertainers but I was impressed with the choreography and costumes. These young dancers try hard!!! Only wish the theatre was air conditioned. The ceiling fans just don’t quite cut it.

Puerto Aventuras: This entire gated community only exists for the tourist trade so illusion or not, it seems incredibly safe to walk around. The small center of town, not even a ten minute walk from the CAT is literally built around an outdoor dolphin encounter place surrounded by a few gift shops, restaurants, real estate offices, tour companies, and condos galore. It is also a marina from where many of the deep sea fishing and snorkeling excursions leave. I’ve taken early morning walks by myself into town and felt completely safe.

Pesos vrs.US Dollars: Prior to coming I read several reports saying the shops and the CAT would not take American dollars. We brought about $500 worth of pesos to be on the safe side and for our needs I don’t think it was necessary or worth the exchange fees. In Puerto Aventuras, nearly every shop took US dollars. At the CAT, tips in US dollars were gratefully accepted. Didn’t buy anything from the CAT gift shops but all prices were in dollars and pesos. Only thing you cannot do is pay for extra charges to your room (massage, wine, upgrades) with US dollars in cash. You can use a debit or credit card. Another TA reviewer erroneously reported the CAT assessed a 5% fee for using a credit card. The CAT does not tack on a credit card surcharge. The reviewer must have mistaken that for the standard foreign transaction fee that most banks charge for converting dollars to pesos. The rate charge will vary depending on what fees your bank charges. Should you discover you need pesos for something (maybe taxis or the collective), there is a currency exchange on the premises of the CAT and the exchange rate was fairly comparable to what we paid in the States.

To Tip or not to Tip:
Yeah, technically tips are included but this is our experience. Once we park ourselves near a bar for a day, we give the bartender a tip early on. (maybe 20 or 50 pesos). When we asked for top shelf liquor we got it. The gentleman sitting under the palapa next to us gave the bartender a $10.00 tip the first day he arrived. For the next week my neighbor and his lady were treated like royalty…fresh, specialty drinks continually brought to their palapa! (yes, the neighbor still tipped daily but smaller amounts.). With the exception of one particularly incompetent server, we did tip the waiters at the specialty restaurants, a very conscientious server at the buffet, the bellhops, the maids, and, of course, the masseuses. Was all the tipping necessary? Probably not but it felt right to us.

Last but not least…..

Weekend Passes: From my conversation with the front desk, the Cat’s off season begins in May and their occupancy rate is fairly low. Don’t know if other resorts do this but the CAT apparently offers some pretty sweet weekend family specials to local residents. On off season weekdays the resort was sparsely populated and quiet however by Friday and Saturday there was a huge influx of families with hoards of kids. Did I say kids? This sudden surge didn’t seem to affect the beach area however every pool, including swim up bar areas, was packed with babies and kids La Brisa, the buffet, was jam packed and resembled a 2 for 1 happy hour at the Golden Corral- (I recommend booking your specialty restaurants on Friday and Saturday night to avoid a crowded buffet.) And expect a long wait at Le Creperie on those nights. On those two days I almost wished I had booked an adults only resort. But, by Sunday afternoon, most of the weekend guests had returned home and the CAT returned to low occupancy once again.

If you have any questions, just send a message!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms should be booked in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed here last October. We didn't bother to upgrade as we don't spend a lot of time in our room. Standard room was basic, a little dated but extremely clean. We had a problem with our safe, called the front desk and they had someone come to fix it within 5 minutes. Wake up calls were also in time. Food was excellent at buffet and la carte. Beach was ok, lots of rocks but as you go farther into the water it was fine. We never had trouble finding lounge chairs. Location was ok, it was nice to be in a gated community but the cost of taxi was 50 pesos just to get to the bus stop as we like to take the bus into PDC and Tallum. We didn't care too much tough because we got an amazing deal. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Before we booked this vacation I had my doubts because of the negative reviews. Oh my god this place is very clean and nearly everyone that works there are friendly.
Pros: Basic room was very clean, bathroom spotless and the beds were comfortable. Our first opinion about the beds was they were hard but let me say that we all had the best sleep in a long time. The staff at the buffets are so friendly and wait on you constantly. I seen the staff scrubbing the floors on his hands and knees with a scrubber and it was really hot out. Food was really good. We really enjoyed the Japanesse, Italian and Steak house restaurants. I would definitely go back. You always felt safe walking around. The beac was rocky but we bought water shoes before going and had no problem getting in the water. It was so beautiful. Daughter loved the snorkelling.
Cons: The receptionist at the front desk on May 11,12 13 during the day needs a little help in smiling and being more friendly.
This really bothers me that very few people leave tips. We did because we appreciated them in making our vacation a memorable one. I want to thank all the employees there as it is you guys that work so hard to make our stay comfortable. My hat goes off to you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel from May 1-15, coming for our wedding. We booked the honeymoon suite and package and the room was wonderful! Having the fridge, large bathroom with rain showerhead, the comfy bed and spacious patio was so worth it.
With this room you get the privledged status which allowed us to have access to the hut with free internet and they also have cold beverages which we stocked up on a couple times when leaving the hotel. The privledged area is on the Riviera Maya side, same hotel only drawback is that we were a little farther away from everyone, but we kind of like that when we wanted our space. This area was also nice and quiet.

We also got honeymoon extras. A massage at the spa, very nice! The spa is beautiful, must check it out! Breakfast in bed after the wedding, was very nice. Small breakfast but still nice. Campagne, chocolate strawberries, decorated bed and a just married tag on our door the night of the wedding. Such a nice surpirse. Loved it!
We paid extra for the dinner on the beach. It was beautifull but in my opinion so not worth the amount we paid. Pilar booked all our stuff for us and she was so nice and helpful!

The front desk staff is good, I found more helpful at the Riviera Maya desk as there are more of them. We liked that his hotel is smaller so you can walk around everywhere and feel like you wasted the whole day trying to get around. We were with 42 people so it was nice to always be able to find everyone or run into them. Perfect for a group.

The wedding was perfect. We met with Gabriela before the wedding to clear up all the details of the wedding day, I was a little overwhelmed but had confidence that they would have everything ready for the day. Gave her our decorations for the day, quickly explained everything and they executed the decorations better than I could have expected. The wedding was on time, beautiful and stress free. They took care of everything. The food and service at our private reception in the pure chill out bar was outstanding! Perfect location for a reception, right off the beach! The one draw back is that we could only have this location until 11 as it is very close to rooms and they need to shut off noise. I would have loved to stay there all night.

I was very upset that they said they would keep our cake as we had a lot leftover and when we went back to the buffet to get it they couldn't find it. I didn't even get to have any. We paid extra money for it so to learn that they just threw it out upset me quite a bit.
We also had some feedback that that Catalonia should provide the wedding staff with more dressier clothes for the wedding ceremony. Someone performing a ceremony should have wedding attire not everyday business attire.

The staff at this hotel are amazing, they work very hard. The buffet staff were a little on the slower side but its understandable its the busiest restaurant. The bar staff are great. We met Karina a few days before we left she was a waitress at the tequila bar and she was so awesome, poolside service so many of us!

Be aware that on the weekends they give out weekend passes so they occupancy doubles to triples on the weekends! Lots of families, we left the resort a couple times so we didn't notice the business as much but the buffet in the morning was super busy with a line up to get in as they only had the one open our entire stay. Other than the weekends, this resort doesn't really look like a "family" resort as it was mostly young people.

The food is average in the buffet after the first week it got quite old and we booked the a la cartes a lot as the food quality was better or left the resort to eat. The snack bar is only open until 2 am and this was one of the biggest draw backs. After drinking a lot you want to have a snack so we would have to race there from the disco before they closed and they close at 2 am on the dot no exceptions! A 24 hr snack bar would have been so nice.

Pools are awesome, lagoon is amazing such warm gentle water, snorkeling is really great, beach is good, I have been to much nicer but I knew that going there and just found a pth to get in and once you are in the rocks are not bad and the swimming is nice. Plenty of beach chairs no need to get up early to get one but maybe to get an umbrella or hut thing.

Staying in Puerto Adventuras was great, we felt 100% safe. No one was allowed in so no sales people harrassing you on the beach (except coco bongo, so annyoing). The restuarants are great, gringos catina was nice. Shops are not as big playa so didn't buy much here. The walk to long to the road to get on the collectivo most of time we paid the extra to get a cab because it was worht the hot, hot, sweaty walk to the road.

Overall I would recomend this hotel to anyone as for what you get its a really great deal, the grounds are gorgeous, and location! I would stay here again but like to change it up so who knows. I would definitley recommend this hotel for a wedding, it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We deeply thank you such nice comments! We all are really happy to know that you spent a great time specially on your wedding day. I have passed your comments onto the Weddings staff and the restaurant staff as well.

We will take your opinion into consideration in order to improve our service as much as possible so you can be possitively surprised in your next visit.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

As a travel consultant I have checked out many 4 and 5 star hotels in Mexico and the Carribean and this one rates up there as a favorite especially for the rate we paid.
Check in was organized and quick. I was booked into a standard room so the safe was $3.00 extra per night. No fridge but found i didn't really miss it just brought back a glass of ice and water at night.

Pools were amazing, lots of different ones to pick from 2 with swim up bars

Beach is rocky at the start but was able the find a path out to the sand. My favorite was the private lagoon buy the Grill. Didn't need water shoes there. Water was amazingly warm in the ocean and pools. We met a local who showed us where to swim for the best snorkeling it was really good.

I was there for a family wedding, Ceremony was on the beach. Hotel did an awsome job!! Put up a tent to shade us from the sun. The back ground was the lagoon and ocean very beautiful. Ceremony was very nice. We also had a private dinner and party in the Chill bar. Meal was outstanding .Everyone had a great time!! Most moved onto the disco at 11pm to keep the party going.

We had no issues booking the ala carte restaurants as their hours were really long. 8 to 4pm each day. Not sure why people rushed to get there at 8 am and then had to wait.

As far as the towel situation, I loved not having to worry about the towels and towel card.
Yes it was a nuisance when you sit in a chair and notice the ones next to you have towels and no one ever comes. But there were plenty of places to sit so didn't really find this a problem.

Food was good in the Las Brisas Buffet, Loved the Mexican Meal we had in the Mercado, and all our favorite was the Japanese Restarant. Italian Restaurant food was good but in out case took a bit too loong. After 2 hours we still hadn't been served the main course!Enjoyed the Creperie a couple of times. And ate at the Grill - good quick snacks.
Would have like to see more seafood included

Did not see a show, it is too bad the theatre is out of the way. Most resorts I have visited the theatre is little more central and outside.

Loved the location of the hotel in Pto Adventuris which is a gated community. Walked the 3 blocks to the Marina and did a little shopping and watched people swimming with the dolphins.

We also did a Zipline and dune buggy tour with Selavatica tours. Ziplines, Swimming in the Cenote and lunch were great. Wasn't that fond of the dune buggy tour, we just drove up and down a very dusty road. I guess I invisioned going through the jungle on a path.

All in all, this was a great trip!! Would definately keep recomending this hotel and would return again myself.

Your holiday is what you make of it!! Yes we had a few issues along the way, but in my expierence that is part of traveling. If you want everything perfect all the time stay home.

Room Tip: Book a superior room if you want a fridge and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault St Marie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We were very fortunate and actually won the trip to the Catelonia Yucatan beach resort. So here is the story of our stay.
We travelled with our 15 month old daughter and both of our mothers (seemed like a good idea at the time). We requested a crib and a fridge in our room with our travel agent and we got confirmation that we would get them. Upon arriving at the hotel we were welcomed with a very short check in, a welcome drink and very friendly and courteous staff. Our issue was that although our travel agent confirmed the crib and fridge they said it was to their availability.
As the standard rooms do not come with mini fridges, and there were many families already staying there, the front desk informed us we would have neither. I got upset, and well rude after being up since 2:30am and it being 11:30 local time. I made a small scene then left for some food to calm down. (as we could not get our rooms until 3 pm!)
After eating and enjoying the sun for the 3.5 hours we got our key cards and went to the room, low and behold a crib and a mini fridge.
The rooms are great ( a little noisey on weekends as they are all right by the pool). they are spacious with a great balcony and a good sized bathroom with a tub. We attempted to upgrade our room (for a stocked mini fridge and more room) but it turns out that the "PRIVILEGED" rooms although quieter, were smaller closer together, no elevators for a stroller and no bathtub. so we skipped that so called upgrade.

the food is great, we never had a bad night. I especially loved the creperie! The smaller airconditioned restaurant on our side of the resort was best but not open during the week. if you wanted good milk in your cereal in the open air restaurant you had to get there when it opened. as the weather was 42 degrees everyday our daughters milk went bad within 10 minutes out of direct sunlight. also they use shelf stable milk with means not refrigerated before first bring opened.
You were provided with one water bottle, which you have to refill by yourself, sometimes with scorching hot water.

Beach pools

no complaints, always a place to swim and the pools are kept very clean throughout the day. No problems finding a chair or shade. the pools on the other resort provided a better breeze from the ocean ( so not so stuffy hot). beach is rocky but there are lots of clear spots.

always friendly and accommodating. they were all very helpful and playful with my daughter. tips go a long way with the bartender but we weren't big drinkers.

Kids club
great staff doing all sorts of activities, they even have their own park in the shade! you could go borrow buckets and shovels!

Minor Draw backs
The restaurant that was closest to us was closed all week long.
the shot glasses are $7-9 each and the booze is close to what it costs canadian! on site
during the weekend there is a lot of local guests they can get quite rowdy in the pools and quite late at night.
we had 2 bottles of suncreen stolen over $25- 42 to replace a small bottle (bring lots!!!)
t6he hotel would only take peso or canadian money ...no american! but nowhere else would take canadian.
the small market is every to every other night ( way over priced compared to in town). the best guy we dealt with was cheapo phillipo willing to make a good deal (cheapy cheapy...lol)
My advice is get the free transit to the Lapis jewelery place...get your free mayan name plate and pendant...then walk over to the grocery store they have a bunch of souveniers and cheap booze to bring back. and get the free ride back.

we took the half day mayan tour. beauitful but...no shade, no breeze, no water for sale, no bathrooms. not for kids or people who have trouble getting around. there is a market 400m or so away but seems forever to get there.

The airport
a hamburger milkshake and fries $18 us...pack something from the hotel its so expensive. Also the cancun airport has a duty free, so they check the amount of alcohol you are buying and you need your ticket and passport to buy ( again grocery store was 1/3 the price)

all in all
all in all a great family resort, kid oriented, great staff and rooms, beautiful resort, delicious food. alittle to expensive for my taste. I would go back to manzenillo instead especially if you are looking for silver jewlery, pottery and cheap souveniers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

It was a very good price on this hotel. I was worried , first time my bf had been anywhere outside Canada/U.S.A. This hotel is not luxurious, but had a very welcome relaxed feel to it. Perfect for those wanting to kick and back and just enjoy them selves ! I found the staff very kind and most often then not greet you with a smile. My bf even said he would go back to the very same hotel if we do the Maya Riviera again.
Just a side note, we did tip our servers and maids (just how the bf is) and one day we left to go on an excursion and had accidentally left our safe open. Was about 800 U.S dollars and a cpl Canadian, and it was there when we returned, and yes room had been cleaned!! Now just for that I would go back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
12.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#12 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,215 reviews
23.0 mi away
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Catalonia Playa Maroma
#5 of 6 in Playa Maroma
4.0 of 5 stars 4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
11.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#107 of 199 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing