We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Vacation - wish we had two weeks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Yucatan Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalonia Yucatan Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Perfect Vacation - wish we had two weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We booked the Privilege Honeymoon Package at the Catalonia Yucatan for March 10 - 17.

If you have read my live posts on the Puerto Adventuras Forum, you know we had a great trip.  

We are in our 40's and not novice travelers, but not really experienced yet either.

We were looking for something special this year when we found the Catalonia Yucatan Beach.  We booked the Privilege Honeymoon Room.  Upon arrival, and to our great delight, we were directed to a suite on the Riviera Maya side.

The room was amazing.  Separate living area, king sized bed, beautiful bathroom with rain shower head, and a balcony with tub overlooking the condos.  The room was quiet, clean and kept well stocked.  I never did get our maids name but she did a fantastic job.  I looked forward to the daily towel art.  The room was about a minute walk from the snack bar and another 30 seconds to the beach.  It was perfect.  Absolutely no complaints about the room or the services for the room.

We have previously been to a 5 and a 4.5 star in Akumal.  I can honestly say we enjoyed the food here better.  The snack bar was the best we have been to along with the service.  We were very impressed at how fresh the trays of food were and with selection.  The same is true for both buffets.  We watched Gabriella in the La Brisas buffet, she keeps things moving!  She does an exceptional job.  The only comment I would have on the buffets is that the desert selection is limited. There is plenty just not a lot of variety.

We did the Steakhouse, Mexican, and the Japanese.  All excellent.  Deserts were fabulous!  While you do you prebook these, not rushing on Sunday morning makes it much easier.  We just laid out in the sun until the line went down and got exactly what we wanted.  We have been to resorts that do it both ways - reservation versus no reservation.  Can't say we prefer one over the other.   

The ground are pretty and very clean.  It is easy to navigate anywhere you want to go.

There are several bars, our favorite being Pure Chill Out.  They will make anything you like.  Service is quick, friendly and consistent.

The level of service everywhere seemed the exact same whether you tipped or didn't.  Of course good service deserves to be recognized no matter where you are in the world, and I am sure the tips are appreciated.

The pools were warmer than any others we have been in while visiting the Riviera Maya.  They are clean and this was the first time we have ever seen pools used so much.  It was nice to see.

The second reason we chose this resort was the beach, specifically because my husband loves to snorkel and I love the sun.  And while the other two resorts we have been to also had snorkeling from the beach we wanted something where I could also get into the water to see the fish without snorkeling.  The beach is not miles long and there is coral when you enter in certain places.  However, we found lots of sandy pathways and once you were in it was lovely.  Sandy bottom, warm and so many different fish.  We walked the beach everyday and loved the lagoon area.  Never once did we use our water shoes.  The beach exceed what we had expected.  Wish we had have been able to go to the beach party.

After two days we still hadn't received any information with respect to the Honeymoon Package.  So I sent a message asking if we needed to do anything.  Within hours a note was slipped under our door to see Cynthia at Guest Services.  We did and she fixed us up quickly.  Everything that was listed on our documentation was provided with only one hiccup.  

Our package included Late Check Out.  We asked three times throughout the week about it and were told to come back on check out day.  We did and were told no, so we checked out at noon.  We then went over and spoke to Cynthia about it, as there were no conditions around it and they had a sign on the lobby counter that also advertised this.  She advised she would mention it to management.  Nothing else could be done.  We were disappointed as we had horrible flights and this was the third factor in our choosing this package at this resort.  We then went over to the Yucatan Lobby to let our Nolit Tours rep know that we would be using a private transfer and just happened to mention the lack of late check out to him.  Well, he was up and over to the desk and had our room back for us in no time.  We were able to keep the room until 4:00.  He was excellent and we so appreciated his handling this for us.   

This resort met or exceeded our expectations in every way.  After only having travelled to 'mega' resorts in this past, this was a welcome change and I think we have found we prefer the smaller resort.  You just feel like you belong there.  It is such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere without ever feeling snobbish.  I would pick the 4 star Catalonia over the other two we have been to any day.  It was better than the 5 stars in so many ways.  

This is a very family friendly resort for kids of all ages.  We would most definitely bring our son here.  The size and activities allow for teens to go off on their own without worry.

We visited the marina, Cozumel and Akumal Beach as well.  All wonderful.

We had a great vacation and look forward to a return visit!  We also plan to try the other Catalonia resorts in the area now as well! Thanks Catalonia for making this the special trip we had been looking for!  We will never forget it!

I also would like to give kudos to the staff who monitor emails and other places on the Internet.  Never have I had such quick and thorough responses.  It was so nice not to get 'standard' replies to everything.  This service was excellent.

Do your homework, go with the right attitude and you will love this! 

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    527
    178
    60
    36
See reviews for
360
578
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We just returned and could not have asked for a better holiday. The hotel was spotless, the grounds immaculate, and our room was beautiful (Priveledged Superior room category - definitely worth it for us). Loved the walk in shower and mini fridge offered in the upgraded rooms.

The service was phenomenal, we had requested a King bed with a crib (16 month old son) and a cot (daughter turning 3). When we were checking in the gentleman at the desk phoned housekeeping to confirm we had the extra beds we'd requested. By the time we got to our room (maybe a 5 min walk) the crib was at our door with the maid ready to set it up. Within another maybe 5 mins the gentleman called our room to see if both beds had arrived, we told him we had the crib, not yet the cot. Were getting changed to head for dinner (had checked in around 6:30 pm) when two housekeeping staff arrived with our cot. I have never had such prompt and friendly service. A couple of times during our stay we were in the room (kids napping) when housekeeping came by, we asked for a couple cervasa and they would litteraly run to get them. There is nothing they wouldn't do for us. After not having a full clean on our room for a couple days (due to our naptime conflicting with housekeeping) we decided to put the "Please make up room" sign out to see if they could come by sooner. I came back to the room around 10 am to get something and they were nearly done in our room. Just can't say enough about the service here. Wait staff/bartenders/housekeeping/front desk, everyone was just phenomenal.

I would say the buffet food was the best we've had, the a la cartes were good, didn't blow my mind but never any complaints either. The reservations system worked fine for us, maybe a 10 min wait, 2 girls working at the desk seemed to be getting the booking done efficiently. Went to the Lion King Show and the Broadway show and both were very well done, my 3 year old enjoyed them both and I thought the dancing was very professional.

We've been to the DR, Jamaica, Cuba, and Nuevo Vallarta, always staying at 4 star or higher and overall this was by far the best resort we've stayed at. Loved the small, friendly feel. The lagoon was fantastic with the little kids, snorkelling not as good as I'd hoped/heard but the water was really rough our entire stay so I didn't venture out that far so that may account for some of my dissapointment on that front. The marina was a nice little outing, nice to get off the resort with the little ones as most excursions are too much for them yet. Also really loved the spa, what a wonderful relaxing afternoon. My ONLY complaint (if you can call it that) was the scale in our bathroom, really don't need to see one of those on holidays :-)

Happy Travels everyone, and any questions feel free to ask!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for such nice comments about our facilities. We all are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us. That makes us feel we are complying with our main goal about having happy clients always.

We will be expecting for you in the near future so you can give us the chance to pamper you again just like you deserve it.

Best regards!

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Ok first off were pretty easy people to please and dont really complain about much. We can make the best of a bad situation, but there are a couple things i need to share:

1. They give you 3 A'la carte tickets for the week (You cannot sign up ahead of time in the lobby for what restaurant you want, you must go stand in line an hour before they open to reserve your seat for the night or miss out. ie: the Mikado had a line up starting about 1.5 hours before they even opened. This is not what i want to spend my time vacationing doing standing in line for a restaurant to reserve my time to eat)

2. The safe is extra $$. ( When we got there the guy at the front desk said that the safe would cost 3$us a day, we said meh ok.. well end of week came our checkout was 6 am and we were checking out and i gave the guy $21 us and he told us that he doesnt accept american money for the safe it would have to be Pesos or a credit card. This pissed me off because i had no pesos and my credit card was packed up. I feel that when we checked in we should have been told if they didnt accept american currency) I think its a bs way to get our credit card on file.

3. The creperie was the best thing about this place, milkshakes and crepes everyday mmmm (customize them Cajeta with ice cream :)

4. The beach was small but nice, lots of snorkelling and plenty of fish to see, not so great for watersports ie: catamaran etc.. to many coral

5. Chichen Izza was beautiful but it is a 6 hour bus ride to and from.

6. Getting into town is easy theres cabs everywhere and just make sure you preset a price before getting in.. 5th Avenue had everything we needed prolbably the best shopping there

7. Bring your own watershoes (6$ at walmart or 25$ anywhere in PDC)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your critics as they help us to see our weakness and improve them as much as needed.

Due to the time our clients spend doing a line for reserving dinner, we are working on it in order to find out a better way to reserve a la carte restaurants reservations.

Overall, we can say that you spent a good time with us and we hope you can return so we can have the chance to surprise you positevely.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Definitely worth spending the little extra to get a Priviledged Room. Doesn't get you closer to the beach, but the upgrade is worth it. Beautiful room with great amenities.
Buffets offer good quality, good variety and the wait stuff are energetic, pleasant and always wanting to please.
The a la carte restaurants were good. The creperie was a nice touch.
The staff in general were all fantastic. From the front desk to the entertainment staff, they were all trying to make sure people had a good time.
For the best drinks during the day, be sure to go to the Pure Chill Out bar on the beach when Francisco is working. Consistantly great drinks. Try the Blue Lagoon, my personal favourite and he also makes a really good Mojito.
Great snorkelling right out in front of the main part of the beach, you won't be disappointed. If you are just going to wade in be sure to wear water shoes.
While you are there be sure to check out the Rio Secreto (Cave Tour), not part of the package but worth the time and money.
Took bikes and rode around the marina to see the dolphins and unless you wan to swim with them it was all free.
Overall had a fantastic time and we didn't want to leave!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you spent such a great time with us! That makes us feel so proud of being part of this chain hotel.

It will be a real pleasure for us to have you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011 via mobile

We spent the extra money. T get the privileged suite, and it was well worth it. I spoke to other couples who also had the privileged suite but did not have the same amenities that we did. For example, one couple did not have a sitting area, and another didn't have a jacuzzi, but we had both! Other than only having one tv instead of two ( not that we need two tv's anyway! ) it was exactly as advertised.
The food was the worst thing at the resort.. But still, it wasn't that bad. The buffet always had something good. I wouldn't recommend the steak house (although we heard that the New York steak is good), nor would i recommend the Italian, our friends got veal that was still raw, and my pasta was quite bland. But the Japanese and the Tapas were both quite delicious. The creperie was the best? We went the almost every day. Definitely try the mocha milkshake! Oh.. And if you are used to Starbucks or Tim Hortons, I wouldn't recommend the coffee at the buffet, or in the rooms for that matter. It tastes pretty horrible. However, we discovered that you can order cappuccino - definitely the way to go!!
Overall we had a great time at the resort and we would recommend it to others as well. We are in our 20's and there seemed to be a good mix of age groups - we made friends easily.
Overall we had a

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We truly appreciate your feedback. Let me comment that we will take your opinion so seriously in order to improve our weaknesses due to the coffe and the food in general.

On the other side, we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and your overall impression was good.

It will be a pleasure for we all to receive you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The standard room is just a room no coffee maker or alarm clock! You have to keep phoning the front desk for the time tried to up grade but no rooms. The front end staff is VERY VERY unhelpfull!!! The rest of the staff is excellent. You have to pay for internet at a rate of 6.50 for half an hour. The grounds are nice beach excellent but you have to put a towel first thing in the morning if you want around the main pool or under a beach umbrella. The food is okay but with only one buffett the choices got boring but the staff in there work hard. Our room was very tired looking with peeling paint on the bathroom door the shower sprays all over the floor the phone worked only if you wiggled the phone cord Room # 2024 I would go back only for the kids but travelling with aldults NO WAY!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments.We take our clients opinio so seriously as they help us to improve our service everyday.

Let me confirm that we will work on the issues you comment so you can be positively surprise on your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicamous, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I need help from guests who were at Catalonia Yucatan/Catalonia Riviera Maya on March 9, 2011. We were there to attend a wedding at Dreams resort next door. On Wednesday March 9, 2011 I know I had my camera in my room before we left the room. We were staying in room 6126. I sat right outside our room in the sitting area waiting for my husband. We left our room went straight to the buffet for breakfast, used the washroom outside the buffet before meeting our friends at Dreams resort to take a cab into Playa Del Carmen. In Playa Del Carmen I realized I didn't have my camera. I didn't worry thinking it will be in my room and I must have forgotten to put it in the camera case which I had hanging around my neck. I don't remember taking my camera out in the cab, we were squished in the back and there was room to barely breathe. The places it may have been left is my room (staff says there was no camera in the room, I don't like to accuse the staff of taking it but it is the last place I remember having it out of it's case), the sitting area on the 2nd floor outside room 6126, the buffet where we had breakfast (If we left it on our table I think the staff would have picked it up quickly because they are very attentive and quick to clean and serve guests. I also used the washroom outside the buffet. I am very upset about loosing the camera but more important is the pictures of our 2nd ever vacation and the pictures of the wedding. If anyone can be of any help please contact me at csutherland55@hotmail.com. I will write a review for the hotel in the next day or 2. We did enjoy out stay at Catalonia in spite of some misadventures, losing my camera, falling on a sidewalk, cutting my knee open on the rocks. : )

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniarivieramaya, General Manager at Catalonia Yucatan Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you lost your camera and the pictures of this trip as well.

We will forward this email to the lost & found Department and really hope it comes out.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Yucatan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Yucatan Beach

Address: Av. Xcacel Lote 1 Plano 2 MZ, Puerto Aventuras 77783, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Yucatan Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Catalonia Yucatan Beach Resort & Spa is located in the heart of the Riviera Maya, on the private estate of Puerto Aventuras. Located on the beautiful Mexican Caribbean coast, this resort is directly on the beach and offers a comfortable and peaceful atmosphere, perfect for a relaxing break. This mystical area boasts many Mayan archaeological ruins that include Chichen Itza, Tulum and Tikal as well as the natural attractions of Xel-Ha, Cozumel and Xcaret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Catalonia Yucatan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Puerto Aventuras
Catalonia Yucatan Beach Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Yucatan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.