We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort - avoid spring-breakers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Nanaimo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort - avoid spring-breakers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday with our adult children and their infants. Physically the resort is huge, and you can walk miles each day in pursuit of food, drinks, or activities. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The award for the biggest smile must go to the omelette lady who could not stop smiling - unbelievably cheerful. Please smile and thank the staff for doing such a great job.
The beach is long with a mix of sandy and corally areas. In chest-deep water you can see a turtle often, and sometimes a stingray, plus many fish and coral specimens.
The food in the buffet for breakfast and lunch was excellent, very fresh, and lots of variety. In the ala cartes, the food was excellent, but did vary some evenings as far as being freshly prepared. House white wine was palatable when cold: the house red was not, cold or warm. The wines could surely be improved with minimal cost, but perhaps the hotel is pushing us to purchase wines from the costly menu - we didn't.
Nice to have the discotheque available, but it could be more fun with a better mix of music, rather than perpetual thumping jungle beat. We could only jump up and down so many times!

Room Tip: Insist on a room far away from sping break partiers. The boombox clutching few spoil the reputation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Romet,

Thank you very much for your review; your comments are shared with our staff in order to encourage them to be better every day, the same way we will consider your ponit of view.

Hope to assist you in the future.

Sincerely.

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    850
    342
    115
    98
See reviews for
1,631
848
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherburn, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice motel , but watch out they want to charge for everything , No free internet ( Maybe someday they will move to the 21st century ) , Must book your nightly meals right away or you won't get in . Beach is nice . Can snorkel right out front of the motel , sea turtles most days . Must get your own drinks at the beach . There are a lot of kids !!!! ., Beds need to replace soon , very hard to sleep on .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Renee A,

First of all receive our greetings; your opinion is very important and we will consider it to improve.

Regarding your comment about the internet service, it has an additional cost as published in our advertising.

Have a good day!

Best regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
73 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

thats wonderful beach nice palace love the beach a like go wallking the nice resturant very friendly people very nice the suites very great love drink wine like go to see the show . i want go to see nice town .

Room Tip: the suites love
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ms. Carmen409,

Is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed you stay!!!

Best regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe in Feb of 2013.
We had a great time there - friendly staff and great service, very clean resort that met all our expectations, The pools were clean and never felt crowded. The beach was fantastic with always enough shade in the trees for me.. and a sunny spot for my wife. We snorkeled off the beach every day - seeing lots of turtles, often in waist deep water, and other fish (visibility was better out towards the buoys).

My only complaints (for a 5* resort) was the food - there were LOTS of selection, something for everyone, but due to the size of the buffets and sitting it was often luke warm and not very fresh. If you were quick when a new plate of something came out it was great. The two al la carte restaurants we tried were great.

Room Tip: It was also a long walk back to our room due to the size of the resort - I would recommend asking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear DavidnEwa,

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe appreciates the time that you have taken to send us your feedback through Tripadvisor. Hope to host you in the future.

Best regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent a week in March 2014 at the Barcelo Maya Palace. It was our second time in Riviera Maya - In 2012 we stayed at the Iberostar Maya.

The Palace is a great hotel and the staff was really friendly and helpful. I really liked the beach and we almost spent all our times sitting there, which is unusual for us. We liked the fact that it was not crowded and that the palm trees always offered shadow somewhere - a must for me.

The greatest part was definitely the snorkeling right in front of us. We saw lots of fishes, a few stingrays and several sea turtles!

We also visited the other hotel at the Barcelo, mainly the Beach. We found it really nice and are wondering if our next trip would not be there, since it is cheaper.

The only thing we did not like: The mattresses. They were bad, which is a disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

Also, it is about 90 minutes from the airport.

If we go back to Riviera Maya, I would hesitate between the Iberostar & the Barcelo. We preferred the food and activities at the Iberostar, but the beach & snorkeling was way better at the Barcelo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Mr. MarcSanfacon,

Thank you very much for your preference, the fact that our guests become repetitive, it is very important to us as it indicates we are doing things right. Regarding the mattresses, we have softeners to place in the beds, which are requested to the Concierges.

Have a good day and hope you visit us soon!

Sincerely,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Barcelo' Maya Palace was an amazing all-inclusive resort! There were 13 members of my family ranging from the ages of 5 to 65. We were there for a week and had a wonderful time at this resort.
The staff was friendly and always making sure we had what we needed. The pools were sparkling clean and never felt crowded. The daily activities were fun and entertaining. The swim up bar was wonderful for the adults as well as the children. The rooms were kept very clean daily. The grounds were immaculate. The buffet food was amazing! The fruits and vegetables were constantly kept fresh and delicious! All of the food was delicious and always fresh. The staff was organized and very efficient as well as friendly and made sure we had anything we needed.
If we had any problems with anything at all regarding our rooms or anything else, which we had just a couple of small issues, we informed the concierge and the problem was taken care of immediately. I found that the concierge had more time to deal with any issues vs. the front desk.
We made reservations at three different restaurants and the food there was also excellent.
We had to walk a lot to arrive to our destinations which was good since we ate and drank and relaxed so much. So, comfortable walking shoes are a must.
We had such a fabulous time at this resort that we hated leaving there. We were truly spoiled being there for a week. Couldn't say enough about this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oaxaca on the first floor and it was great! We basically used our rooms for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ms. Sally0102,

Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe appreciates your comments.

Best regards,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been to many all inclusive resorts, and the Barcelo Palace was one of my favorites! It was immaculate. The grounds were well kept, the room was awesome. The food was impressive and the service was awesome.. It was a GREAT vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBarcelo-Maya-Palace, Director General at Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Daear Ms. Jodi M.

Thank you for your comments ! We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Armando Becerra M.
General Manager
Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Barcelo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.