We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Grand Cayman
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Destination wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were invited to a wedding at the Barcelo Maya Palace and it was an amazing opportunity to visit the Riviera Maya for the first time. This hotel is huge. The beach is expansive and it's easy to snorkel right off the beach. We saw fish in about 3 feet of water. The rooms are all suites and very large and well appointed. The property is extremely clean and has multiple restaurants, shops and entertainment. There is a spa nearby, as well as a nightclub, however there were plenty of great places to hang out to eat and drink in the main building. The pool was fabulous, with a kid's section, swim up bar and the best seats at the pool were in the water. Check out the pics!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    694
    281
    94
    84
See reviews for
1,326
681
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this vacation last minute and weren't disappointed. Having stayed in the "hotel zone" in March I was apprehensive about returning to the Yucatan Peninsula but this all-inclusive resort was a lovely place. All of the staff were welcoming and worked hard for us to enjoy our stay. I can completely see how people come to these all-inclusive resorts and just stay put. We chose to rent a van and travelled to Chichen Itza for a day. A fantastic trip for our three kids (14, 14 & 11) and much better than Tulum ruins (apart from the beautiful beach).
We had two rooms a fairly long way away from the Lobby and main building, so there was a fair amount of walking and planning to avoid multiple trips to the room during the day. If you have younger children or walking difficulties you may ask how close you will be to the main Palace. The rooms were comfortable, but a word of warning, they are VERY eco-friendly in this resort and the rooms have sensors to turn AC off when they don't detect motion. If you open your patio door, AC turns off, it's difficult to charge phones, etc if you aren't in the room as the outlets power down. It wasn't a big deal. The mattresses aren't the most comfortable, but we worked on the assumption that they needed to be a material impervious to mold since it's a humid climate. Housekeeping was busy and efficient.
Food in the buffet was great, plenty of variety with many local foods to try prepared fresh for you. The three onsite restaurants were ok. The Brasserie was, by far, the best. The other two were a huge disappointment leading us to choose the buffet on our fourth and final night. One of our sons was actually ill in the Caribbean themed restaurant...we were relieved it was an instant reaction rather than a lingering one (we think it was mussels). All drinking water on site is purified, but bottles of water are plentiful. DO NOT BRUSH teeth with tap water! The staff in all restaurants were friendly, helpful and gracious.
The pools were beautiful, with a pool for every age group. An energetic group of young people were responsible for planning activities for people of all ages to participate in during the days.
The beaches were beautiful, meticulously cleaned and maintained. No shortage of lounge chairs under the shade of the palms. Pretty good snorkeling right off the beach, kayaks, sailboats, etc. available on site.
I could go on and on, but this was truly a wonderful experience and we would certainly return.

BTW - Avis car rental was far superior to Hertz. We still think we paid for a rental we didn't actually get from Hertz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had to do it twice...once in July with the kids just before their legal age...then again the following January to celebrate my husbands birthday...This is the best family fun we could have imagined...the food variety is so vast that unless you are a compulsive complainer, you won't find fault...and it's available any time of day or night...fruit baskets decorate the lobby counters and friendly staff are always available to serve the guests. The bar is loaded with premium drinks for those who like the bar...desserts galore including chocolate fountains and a buffet specifically for the children with a lot of their favorite foods...The rooms were kept immaculate and fresh towels were always available...The hotel, bars, pools, entertainment day and night were awesome and the weather, beach and ocean were exceptional...My daughter and her friend went a month ago knowing they would get 'the best that money can buy'...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Palace in August for eight days. The weather was perfect and the area is beautiful. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the pool and grounds of the hotel are pretty and well maintained. There is a dive shop on property and the scuba diving is excellent. If you pay for the premium package at the Palace, you have access to all five of the properties in the resort - meaning you can eat at the buffets, restaurants, use the pools and sample the bars. Some of the reviews mention the quality of the food as being sub-par but it is as good as any all inclusive resort we have stayed at. It can be a problem if you don't make reservations at the restaurants early on but there are quite a few so it wasn't a problem for us. The beaches do have some rocky areas but the beach as a whole is well maintained and as clean and pretty as one would expect. I never had any complaints about the service or staff on our trip as I considered it to be what I expected. The only complaint that I would have is that you feel as though you are contained, much like being on a cruise ship though they do offer tours and excursions off the property at an added price but we did not take advantage of any of them. It's not the best but it's definitely not the worst either.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed 3 days at this hotel second week in October for a destination wedding and was initially impressed by the beauty and size of this hotel. The rooms were clean, gorgeous and the view of the ocean was spectacular.The pool and waterpark were absolutely breathtaking.

Unfortunately those were the only positives of this hotel. Right from check in at the club premium which I paid extra for that, we were met by the rudest concierge I have ever met. She didn't crack a smile once nor did she explain any of the features of the resort such as shows, activities or restaurants.Not to mention that I booked a king sized bed and got two doubles instead. She didn't even apologize and just said we are full.

We actually tried to book some of the restaurants as soon as we arrived only to be told that it was completely booked up except for the seafood restaurant which was horrible and had the worst service. The wine list was ridiculously expensive and unjustified. The buffets which you were essentially forced to eat, were packed with low to mid grade fare with very little vegetables.Did I mention that I paid for the Premium Package? It was like eating tacos ten different ways. The fajitas were by far the best thing to eat and the breakfast omelettes were the best for the breakfast time slot. No higher end food like lobsters, crabs,high quality fish or shrimp. The food served at the wedding included rice that smelled like an old rag and some kind of fish.

The beach as I mentioned looks pretty but the rocks,coral, broken shells and odd piece of glass made it a very painful experience to walk on it. The beds sagged and had some kind of bed protector that made lots of noise when you moved and left you feeling clammy.They should have provided a daily list of activities every morning so that people can plan their day.

I paid for premium and got mediocre at best. I do not recommend this place. Go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As a Famly of 5. 2 Adults 3 Kids 5,10,12 it can be very difficult to find an accommodating all inclusive that will take us all in 1 room. The Barcelo does a great job with this. The room is very spacious 2 Large Double Beds and 2 Day Bed/Couches in the back of the room near the patio doors that slept our 5 & 10 Year olds. Big bathroom and plenty of space for the bags and clothing.
Things you want to know.
Food:Fantastic!
Restos: Fun, Little Fancy but great for the whole family. No issues bringing the kids. Always something to eat. The French and Brazillian were the best.
Dress Codes: Enforced bring pants for the men. Not so inforced with the kids.
Beach: The best I have ever seen. Great if you want to soak the sun. Even better if you want to explore. We swam with Sea Turtles, Tropical Fish it's amazing for any age.
Rooms: Perfect. Ask for a room close to the pool or it can be a long walk.
Location: Puerto Adventuras It's a bit far from the Airport appox 1:20. Well worth the extra drive.
Resort Size: Huge but if you stay just in the Palace area you will find it makes it a little smaller.
Pools. Huge clean and fun.
Beach Area: Basket Ball on the Beach, Vollyball, Beach Bowling, Shuffle Board Great fun.
Kids Water Park. Lots of fun for Kids Under 10.
My only knock against it and maybe they can change this is they charge for Room Service. As a large family it really helps to order in sometimes. They could also have better drink service around the pools.

I highly recommend this resort. Go and have fun!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great food in all the different restaurants and even in the buffets. Great service everywhere. Wonderful place for a destination wedding! Get married on the beach or around the worlds largest pool or even in it!


Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.