We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great destination for a family vacation and destination wedding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Waterville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great destination for a family vacation and destination wedding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe, from 9-21 thru 9-28-2013. The hotel is beautiful and is very accommodating to families. We were there for a destination wedding/honeymoon, and it was fantastic. Andrea and Lillian made it completely hassle free, so that we could spend our time enjoying ourselves instead of worrying over the details.
We had 3 small children that were in our group and they were awestruck from day 1. The same goes for the adults in our group. Everything from the rooms, drinks, food, beach, activities, were all fantastic.
Large resort, which was nice for walking off the food from the restaurants. Very easy to get from one resort to another, either by the beach, walk ways, or the shuttle that runs non stop.
Disregard the negative reviews that you will see posted, I guess you can't satisfy everyone. There were a few small issues, with a couple of the rooms in our group of 16 people, but were handled immediately and to everyone's satisfaction.
The beach does have some rocky areas, but there are plenty of all sand areas too.
We were treated fantastic the entire time at the resort.
Thank you to the Barceló for some great and lasting memories for our family.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean, modern, spacious, what more do you want? Who is spending time in the rooms anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    801
    318
    111
    96
See reviews for
1,539
788
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (859)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Things that I liked:
1. When you stay at the Palace Deluxe you have access to all of the other hotels that are next to each other.
2. The room was great, big, spacious and the bathroom had two showers! I could't possibly ask for more in regards to the room facilities. Mini-bar in room, replenished every day.
3. The French specialty restaurant is absolutely amazing!
4. They have good quality alcohol such as Black Label included in your rate.
5. You don't hear a thing from outside when you are in your room. That's amazing, great sleep quality.

Things that I did not like:
1. The staff service, they are rude and unfriendly.
2. The hotel is enormous and unfortunately is lacking of enough golf carts so you end up walking a lot!
3. They charge for room service.
4. No Wi-Fi. I don't understand why the majority of the all inclusive hotels doesn't have internet. I perceive internet charge as if they would charge for cable tv too, which doesn't make any sense. Even low budget hotels provide free internet service.
5. The food of the buffet is very unhealthy, I got bored of eating fish because that was the only thing grilled that wasn't salty, breaded or with a lot of fat. They need to improve a lot the taste of the food. They do have a lot of variety and lot of food, but what's good about that if the majority are bad options? what's the good thing of having 100 dishes if 90 of them doesn't taste good? I would prefer to see a more narrowed menu but with more quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here second week of September, stayed in the Club premium deluxe ocv room.
Absolutely stunning room, decor was very pretty and fresh, double sinks,jacuzzi,full bath and seperate toilet. It includes a minibar which was replenish daily with snacks,soft drinks and water.
Rooms come with bathrobes and slippers as well as a safety deposit box. One king sz bed with two daybeds on both sides of the room. It included room service as well with a full menu.
The property itself is very large, lots of walking. Everything is far away from the rooms.
THere is also a waterpark for the kids, my son loved this amenity.
The food was great and lots of choices, when staying at the palace you are allowed to use the other sister hotel in the complex, there is a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. The central buffett has a nice patio that overlooks the ocean, you can eat there.
My only negative for this hotel is its far away from the airport and most places to visit.
I will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was here for a wedding a couple years ago and enjoyed every minute of my stay! Great property, rooms were gorgeous, mojitos were delicious, and the food was awesome! We really enjoyed the Thai a la carte. It was also nice to be able to explore the other Barcelo resorts when we wanted a change of scenery. I'd definitely recommend this resort to others! The only complaint I have is when we checked in (at night) we were left to fend for ourselves and find our way in the dark to our rooms. But that one little negative was no big deal...we had a blast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our group of 16 people had a great time at the Maya Palace. It's located on a private beach alongside three other Barcelo hotels. There are plenty of colorful fish to see while snorkeling through the reef right off the beach. We had four rooms, and all were large and clean. But very few rooms at the Maya Palace have ocean views. The food was good (nobody got sick) and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Few rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to the Barcelo. Our check-in was easy, although there was some confusion on Barcelo's side, so we were very glad to have packed all of our confirmations with us. We were also booked in a room with a single king-sized bed. Our bellman realized the mistake, made a call to the front desk from our originally assigned room and had a new room for us in a matter of minutes. It's important to note that the front desk personnel wanted us to come back to the lobby for a new room assignment, but the bellman told them that that was ridiculous and got them to make the switch right then. A quick trip to the building's closer concierge and we had new room keys and were set to go.

Despite being the off season, the service level was still wonderful. The big pool is fun, but our favorite is the adult pool. We even had the pool to ourselves for a few hours one day. No matter where we were, we had no trouble getting a lounger.

The bartenders were great. While normally at the adult pool, Ulissis has moved to the big pool bar (Coco Bar) during the off season. While the adult pool bar (El Cielo) was slow, our bartender set up a mini tequila tasting for us. (We didn't waste any of the tequila and we tipped for his trouble.) We've never been fans of the lobby bar (Carey Bar), but found a real gem in the bar outside the French, Brazilian, and seafood restaurants.

The palace restaurants were all great, and we were even offered multiple entrees or seconds in addition to our original orders. We even asked for coconut ice cream for dessert and each of our waiters were able to hunt it down for us. (Seriously, try the coconut ice cream. It's great.)

The only bad dining experiences we had were when we went to the Japanese and Italian restaurants at the other hotels. Everything at the Italian restaurant was bad: noisy guests, bad music that cut in and out, below average food. We even had to ask a manager to ask a large rowdy group to be quiet. We shouldn't have had to ask as they were disrupting the entire place, not just us. The Japanese restaurant was better, but the hibachi table show is a bit juvenile and loud and our food was not cooked to each individual's done-ness preference.

The buffets were good and offered a nice selection. Our new favorite from this trip was the watermelon juice.

Our room was always cleaned well and the minibar was stocked each day. We even had a coati show up at our back porch most mornings. The staff really is so very friendly and accommodating.

One tip we've learned is to bring snacks with you. Yes, it's an all-inclusive, but it's also a hike to the buffets and restaurants. It's nice to have something to tide you over in the room or by the pool during the times when you just don't want to move. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There is a mattress topper under your bed's dust ruffle that you can request to be made up with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Family holiday for 2 adults and 2 kids, 12 and 14. Upon arrival, fairly quick check in (no welcome drink offered!!) and off with trepidation to our room. Having read numerous negative comments about the distance to the rooms, we were a little worried. The room was as far as it could have been from everything..!! We were in the last room in the last block, a whole 5 minutes from the pool. How would we survive (sarcasm!!) The upside was that we were in the quietest rooms as no-one was walking past our room, and given the number of "spring breakers" here, we were grateful for the peace and quiet. The rooms are amazing, really good size, great bathrooms and immaculately clean. The hotel was at 100% occupancy for the first week, mainly Americans, most of them loud and brash, (not all, I am generalising slightly). Even at 100%, we could still find beds if we got to the pool at a sensible time. Still get the morons putting down towels at 06.00, then not turning up til after lunch, if at all, to claim their beds. The pool was just amazing, immaculately clean and meticulously maintained, the biggest pool I have ever seen, incredible.

Got to book all the restaurants we wanted, without any drama at all, tried everyone and they were all great. The buffets were incredible, fantastic choice at any meal time, great views and really friendly staff. Second week was very different as the American and Mexican school terms kicked in so the occupancy levels dropped dramatically. Everything was still open and in full swing, they didn't cut back the service at all.

Took a visit to all the other hotels in the complex and glad we were in the Palace Deluxe, although all had great pools, the others just seemed a bit tired, (the furthest one away was literally in the process of being knocked down).

The only negative worth mentioning was the scope and level of entertainment. Don't get me wrong, the kids were never bored, but we have stayed at other all inclusives where the kids had far more laid on for them to do, if they chose. The kids made loads of friends and were always busy, but some families may find it a bit of a let down.

The resort is immaculate, cleaners everywhere, all the time. All the staff are so friendly, like most people, be nice to them and they will be nice to you. You don't have to throw your dollars around to get great service, if you're genuine, the staff see it and they will look after you, any tip after that is greatly appreciated.

Overall, amazing hotel, amazing location, amazing beach, well, you get it. Don't worry about the negative reviews, some people just go out of their way to look for reasons to moan. If you go on holiday to look for faults, stay at home!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra to be pool side, then go for it. Fantastic setting and really convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.