We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ideal for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

After spending months reading the reviews that others have left regarding this property, I felt it was only fair to take to the time to share ours. Our family, along with another, traveled at the end of February. There were 3 four year olds a 4 month old in our group.

Transportation to and from airport: After reading the reviews here, I booked a private transfer with Cancun Valet. It was important to us that all the children had carseats. We did not want to bring them with us, so we reserved the seats with the van. They were on time, friendly, and drove safely. The direct ride to the hotel after a long day of traveling is such a treat. We paid $135 USD round trip and it took 1 hour to get from the airport to the hotel.

Check in was a breeze and we got rooms in the closest building to the pools and restaurants. I HIGHLY suggest you email the resort prior to arriving and ask them for a room that is close in proximoty to the pools/beach/restaurants. Like everyone has commented on Trip Advisor, this resort is MASSIVE...maybe too big?

Our room was clean, spacious, and the view of the palm trees & pool was gorgeous. We tipped our maid a few dollars each day. No bugs. No odors. The bed was soft...we didn't find it hard like others have complained about. BUT...the pillows were awful - slightly uncomfortable for our children's little heads. Rooms have pretty thin walls though...our neighbors woke us up multiple mornings with their moaning. TMI, but it's the truth.

The grounds were absolutely lovely, clean. The pools were so pretty. We checked out the adult pool and it was gorgeous. THE KIDS POOL ROCKS!!!! Our boys had such a good time here. And when they got bored, we packed our stuff and made a 10 minute walk to the Colonial to have fun in their kids pool! My biggest complaint about this resort is that you cannot have snacks or eat outside near the pool or beaches. Due to pest contrail measures, you have to go inside to the restaurants to eat. It became difficult at times when our kids wanted a snack in the afternoon. We had to go into the snack bar and steal crackers and fruit in a napkin.

Beaches were amazing. Rocky in places - but easy to walk around.

The buffet was good. We tried out the buffets at the Tropical and Colonial and all it was is a simplified version of the Palace. Stick to the Palace for the buffet food. The kids liked the choices of food, as did us adults as we started to get more creative and innovative with our dishes 7 days into the trip. We are wine lovers and to tell you the truth, the wine wasn't THAT bad. It was palatable.

As for the a-la carte restaurants, the Japanese was our favorite. The French restaurant had a beautiful decor, but they food was okay. We did not like the Brazilian restaurant. I ordered a filet-mignon and got two thin pieces of strip loin folded together?!? The salad bar was empty and was not replenished the entire time we were there.

Evening entertainment: the kids LOVED watching the shows, too bad it was on so late (9:30pm). We missed many of them because the kids were already in bed. One that show ends at 10:30pm, the resort is a ghost town, which is great for families so we didn't care.

We took a day trip to Xcaret. Only 20 minutes from the hotel. I highly recommend this and we would return there any day! so much fun for the adults and kids! Best food too.

All in all, we would recommend this resort to anyone with young ones! We will never forget it and the kids can't stop talking about it. I would not recommend this place to a couple seeking a quiet get-away though - there are lots of kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,209
    590
    253
    83
    74
See reviews for
1153
582
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here in February with the family and another family for a week. Have been to many hotels in both Cancun and Playacar area but this one is particularly nice. Barcelo has several resorts all side by side in the same area in Puero Aventuras. The Palace is their top of the line hotel and the newest. While Palace guests can visit any of the other Palace resorts (although there is no reason to), the other guests cannot visit the Palace. The hotel is very tropical and extremely clean but very spread out. All the restaurants are in one location on the far north side of the resort and its a fair walk every time to them from the rooms. Would not be a good hotel for the physically challenged or elderly. Rooms are large, nicely appointed and very clean. Resturants are excellent for an all-inclusive. Only negative is that the beach swim area is somewhat small due to a number of rocky areas and if you want to do any water sports you have to walk a ways down the beach into the other Barcelo resort area to get to the pier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IIL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our 6th time staying at the Barcelo Maya Beach resorts, which include 5 resorts located next to each other on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach. Based on which resort you stay at, you can use one or all of the resorts. The BARCELO MAYA PALACE DELUXE is considered the crown jewel of the 5 resorts. If you stay at this resort, you get to use ALL of the resorts restaurants and amenities. Before staying here, my husband and I had always stayed at the Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach which allows you to use all the resorts, except the Maya Palace.

Here are our thoughts about the Maya Palace. If you want an ocean front resort with views from everywhere you stand, this is your resort. It is exquisitely beautiful and literally on top of the Caribbean Sea. It is built like a Spanish Palace with beautiful courtyards and landscaping that will take your breath away. The food is excellent, and you have a choice of 3 buffets or 4 restaurants. All of the buffets and restaurants have ocean views. We always tried to sit in the outside areas of the buffets so we could eat facing the ocean views. The food is excellent, and if one buffet does not have something you like, just walk your plate over to the next buffet because they serve different food. We highly recommend the French restaurant and ask for Oscar, the Manager. The food here is great and so is the house wine. We did not want to pay extra for a bottle of wine, so the house wine was very good.

This time we made our reservation directly with Barcelo, and I feel we got better service. We stayed in a spacious Junior Suite near the pool, and the suite had a wonderful King size bed. The suites are spacious and very clean. We always made a pot of coffee in the morning, and sat on the balcony listening to the sounds of nature and different bird calls. Thereafter, we would take our morning walk before heading out to the buffets for breakfast. One suggestion is that before breakfast, take your beach towels and reserve your chairs on the beach. We would always do that and placed a book on the chairs as well. Beach chairs go quickly and if you don't reserve yours, you may end up walking around looking for some chairs and it's no fun doing that. Also, if you make your reservation thru Barcelo, you can make special requests. We wanted a room near the pool, and we got it.

We highly recommend the Barcelo Maya Palace, but we have some suggestions for Barcelo management which would enhance the vacation experience for the guests.

SUGGESTIONS: Although the lobby is beautiful, it has the most uncomfortable seating of any resort we have visited in the past. The furniture is very modern and looks like what you would probably find in Barcelona, Spain, but in terms of comfort it gets a failing grade. The furniture is so over-sized that when you sit, your feet dangle. My husband is 6'1" and his feet would not reach the ground. We love a good lobby, so we can sit and have a cocktail and people watch, but the lobby at the Barcelo Maya Palace is NOT good for this. They have one cocktail lounge with big screen televisions which make you feel as if you're back home in the states. They sometimes have a Mariachi group that goes around and sings, but other than that the bar is very boring. Why not have a little live combo where you might be able to dance a little. We once stayed at the Fiesta Americana and they have this. It really gives you that "vacationy" feeling. Let me also mention, that this resort has a theater with shows at night. The shows are good, and our favorite is "Cubanismo." Our least favorite was the Disney show. There is a disco located nearby, but it's not good. Now keep in mind, my husband and I are somewhat older, but we love to dance. This disco is not like the discos in Acapulco where you walk in and there's great disco ambiance. This is usually filed with young kids and would not appeal to someone a bit older.

I think in making the Palace the crown jewel, they've made it a little stiff and boring at night. Now, if you don't mind this, this resort is beautiful, but if you like just a little ambiance in the evening, this is not the resort for you. In that case, the Barcelo Maya Beach (3 resorts down) or the Colonial Beach (2 resorts down) are a better fit for you. You can always take the shuttle and go to the other resorts at night, such as the 2 I have mentioned. The shuttle service was a bit slow this time, and one night we had to wait 1/2 hour before it came.

Overall, I give the Barcelo Maya Palace an "A" grade for beauty, cleanliness, and service. I give them a "C" grade for night-time ambiance. Let me also mention that it's great for families.

Room Tip: If you request a Junior Suite and you don't want it to be too far from the lobby or beach, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed March 2-9 with best friends, ages 16-21,48,50.
I hope my summary helps you, please contact me for specific or more questions.

Weather: no control over this, the first few nights were chilly due to a cold front. The pools are not heated, but we were still able to go in. The ocean was warmer and lots to see. There are fishes as soon as you go in the water. You can buy fish food at the hotel and feed the fish. Bring your snorkel gear or buy it at the hotel store and you will enjoy swimming with the fishes and turtles right by the beach.

Sports and activities: Two volleyball courts on the beach for the 5 barcelo. Always people playing. Go to the nautical centre by the Maya Beach hotel for 9am to reserve your water activity for the day. It is first come first serve. One person kayayks, two person kayaks, water bicycle, snorkel gear, catamaran. The animacian team has a schedule of the activities by the activity pool in front of the beach. Everything is well plannned and on time.You can do laps in the activity pool in the morning. Afterwards there is water volleyball, basketball or water polo. Just next to it, there is a wonderful water park for the little ones. Parents can lounge right in front while watching their kids. You can rent seadoos, segways too.

Grounds and rooms: The grounds are always clean. You will always see someone cleaning the floor, pool, showers, beach. The rooms are very clean, spacious and luxurious. Each bed has an added foam padding to add confort. The maids are always eager to comply with your requests. Just speak slowly in english and they will help you. Our friends changed rooms the next day as they wanted to get closer to the beach. They forgot their Iphone 5 charger in the room. The next morning they went to see the head maid and she had it in a plastic bag with a note in spanish that the customer forgot it in his room with the room number. We were so delighted that they are very honest and the lost and found does exist!!!

Buildings for rooms: There are two buildings. Michoacan non smoking and Oaxan smoking. Each building is separated in two with a luscious garden with water fountains and statues, bridges and birds. Enjoy your stroll. There are four sections in each building. The first section closest to the lobby, beach,restaurants is the premium class which you can upgrade for $400 more. Your view is on the pools and the beach. I. There are 3 floors each room has a balcony with two chairs, a table and a really neat stand that pulls out from the wall to hang wet bathing suits etc. Mini fridge holds Corona beer, Coke, Fanta,Sprite, Water. They replenish as soon as you use the drinks. They provide small bags of chips, nuts and two bags of coffee(includes coffee mate, sugar, splenda, napkin, stir sticks with coffee maker. Toiletries given as you use them, razor with cream, shoe polish,comb,cap,loofa glove,tooth paste and brush,dental floss, qtips,hand soap. There are two showers with lots of pressure and hot water. They have their own water filtration plant on site away from the guests. A rain head shower with dispenser of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The other is a large bad with hand held shower head with another dispenser. Blow dryer in bathroom.Lots of storage space in the two sliding closets, one with safe. And lots of drawer space with bathrobes, slippers, iron, board and weight scale. Room is very well decorated and clean with flat screen tv.

Food: There are two buffets. Hacienda more mexican and Mirador international. Both are open for breakfast, lunch and supper.The choices are extensive, Breakfast stations per buffet: Bread ,salad ,egg (2),pancake, waffle,donut , sweets , fruit ,fresh juice ,cold cuts ,cereal, hot cereal, yogurt kiddie section at their level easily accessible.etc. Lunch stations:fajitas chicken or beef, chili with tacos and cheese mmmmmmmm, steak, fish(filet,muscles,small petoncles, shrimps),salad, fruit, cheese,hamburgers,hotdogs,soups,salmon , bread, sweets,ice cream machine with toppings mmmmmm and kiddie section etc. Supper: Steak, hamburgers, fish,salad, soups, cheese, fruit, special dish of the night,bread,sweets,ice cream machine with toppings, kiddie section, etc. There is also a Coral grill just before the buffets that stay open longer with most of the same things, this is considered their snack bar. You are always greeted at the door and seated where you would like. You can also sit outdoors which gets full fast and may find smokers. The service is impeccable. Food is replenished constantly. Always someone clearing your plate, filling your glass of water(filtered water jug which they pour into a glass jug), say hello and thank you, Hola and Gracias with a smile. They work very hard at pleasing you and making you happy. If you can learn a little spanish they will be delighted. I always treat people they way I would want to be treated and almost always it reciprocates.

Specialty restaurants: All incredible service and food choices. French, Brazilian,Sea food,Japanese on site. You must reserve. You can try to go without reservtions and ask if there is place. We also tried the Italian at the colonial and it was excellent as well.

Wine: I am not a wine connaisseur but our best friend is. Yes the wine they serve is a spanish wine in a bottle, red or white. Of course it is not a high quality wine but it is drinkable. For a 5 star I would say this is quite disappointing. If you want better wines you must purchase them, the price and country varies. We bought Kendal Jackson at $70us. If you are at the Brazilian restaurant ask for the Mayan Coffee it is quite a show and delight to drink at your table.
There is a 24 hour snack and bar Carey by the lobby with fruit, nuts, popcorn machine and sometimes sandwiches and drinks. You can always ask for water and you will get the same water bottles that are in your room here or at the bars by the pool. The drinks are amazing and the waiters will be delighted to explain or make you try other drinks. They definitely do not hold back adn the quality is very good with international brands.

Theater shows at night.Each night there is a different show indoors in a very luxurious theatre with bar adn very comfortable chairs and tables. The shows are at 9:30pm. Unfortunately the Fantasia show which is geared more for children should be much earlier. There is always a chair to be found and you can leave whenever you like. The waiter comes to your table for drinks.

There are two shuttles that run at 15 minutes apart. One is closed long minivan and the other is a tractor pulled train with Mexican music playing. These shuttles bring you to all the other Barcelo. Or you can walk on the beach or the walk way.

Weddings: We saw 6 weddings very nice some on the beach.
Coupons: You get over $2000 of coupons per room to be used on the resort for wine, spa,etc.


We travel a lot around the world and of all the all inclusive resorts we have stayed at this is by far an excellent choice. When a hotel allows you to visit their kitchen their is much to be said there.

Relax, smile, participate or not participate, meet people from all over, enjoy........Life is for the living. God bless.

Room Tip: non smoking rooms Michoacan building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from Mexico, Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. What a nice place! We were there first week of March, 2013. Clean, Clean, Clean! The only downfall, was our luggage was supposed to go to our room, but it was sent to the wrong one, this was not a good start to a vacation...however,
you always see someone tidying up, fixing, cleaning. Staff is kind and friendly, the restaurants are good... I was expecting more authentic Mexican food, but we did eat like kings. We had our 6 yr old daughter and 15 yr old son... They had anything the needed. Kids clubs, teens clubs, movie theater etc...
I would go back to this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The place is super swanky! The decor is modern yet still true to the Mexican culture. The restaurants are ok (buffet not so much) and the adult pool areas are a great escape away from those that travel with their children. The service was also great--maybe because we did the special check-in that allowed us free access to the culb room with free internet and food. This resort literally has EVERYTHING within their gates, shopping, clubs, golf, tennis, spa etc. I would stay here again only if I were to travel with children or friends and family with children. Otherwise, an all-adult resort closer into Cancun or Playa del Carmen is better. Oh the beach was a little rocky (meaning LOTS of rocks) but beautiful and you would have to wake up at the crack of dawn to get a cabana or chair on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went recently for a girls getaway weekend. Have never been to Mexico or a Barcelo resort and was pleasantely surprised by both!
The resort was beautiful and the staff was amazing. The buffets were never crowded and always something different to eat. There was always staff cleaning the grounds. We had no trouble making reservations. Our least favorite restaurant was the seafood one. Would pass on it.
Beach- was long and plenty of chairs. Water was clear as could be and there were people snoorkling plenty of fish and turtles to see.
Rooms- big and beautiful. Cleaned everyday.
Grounds- huge resort, but easy to get around.
Shopping mall area on grounds & night club
Golf - chip and putt for kids
Pools - huge and clean. Plenty of chairs.
Great kids waterpark.
Can't say enough great resort wouldlove to go back with my family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.