We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Binghamton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was an outstanding property, the beach, the pool, the restaurants, were all great. The best thing was how we were treated by the staff. Very friendly and helpful. This is a All-inclusive resort and they mean it. Even the wet bar in the rooms were included. They paid considerable attention to conserving the environment. For instance to save energy the room balcony door was interlocked to the air conditioning, in that when the door was open the air-conditioner would not run. The pool was huge!!! plenty of room to throw footballs, soccer balls etc. The food was great, they have two buffets, just in case you don't want to bother making reservations for dinner. Everything was fresh, they very good breads and pastries, they were fresh every day.

Dave Pepin
Binghamton, NY

Room Tip: Beware some of the rooms are quite a walking distance from the pools, and more so from the lobby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,216
    597
    256
    84
    75
See reviews for
1168
586
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this facility Dec 18-23th.From the beginning to the end of our stay the staff and management were excellent. The facility is first class and superbly well maintained. This hotel went all out to make our stay pleasant from accommodating our dietary requirements to filling up the mini bar twice in one day, they took care of everything. I would recommend this place anytime.
The pools are huge and if you stay at the Palace you can have access to the other Four adjoining Barceló hotels, which is a bonus. Even though the hotel was full, because of the size of the facility you don’t feel it, and there were always chairs available on the beach.
The beach is a bit rocky for a few feet and then it just gets soft. Lots of things to do for the kids and the night entertainment was fair. The assistant manager Ricardo Reyna made himself personally known and was a great guy and accommodated all our needs personally. This was a first for a huge Resort but really appreciated. Travel with confidence this is a great place to have a wonderful family vacation and the staff and facility are the best. Kudus to Barceló Maya Palace Deluxe- Riviera Maya and the Staff.

Room Tip: The place is huge so try and get a room near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I guess my first review "disappeared"...maybe it was too truthful! I will make this one without all the bad details. Anyways, long story short: rude staff (especially pool bartenders), food at a la cartes was not good, rooms decent & clean, watered down drinks, no taking food out of restaurants (no snacks at pool or beach), service was just ok in buffet & restaurants. They tried to charge us phantom charges that weren't ours at check out. Argued profusely with no bill to back up the charges....couldn't find it! Bottom line, never been treated so poorly at a hotel ANYWHERE! This is no 5 star resort! We will never return, nor recommend it. But if you just want sun, ok food & spend your time drunk, go ahead & waste your money. It's a shame because the property is breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to this hotel because the beach was beautiful, and it was. However the rooms needed to be updated and service was poor. Food was the same old stuff everyday towards the end of the trip I didn't even want to eat anymore. Its not all inclusive you had to pay for room service which I thought was ridicous, plus you cannot take food out of the resturant. Housekeepers were morons we asked for face towels and they brought us bath towels. Had to constantly call for more towels since they never gave us any. No one waited on you either always having to get our own drinks. They also "lost" our dining reservations so we were stuck eating off the buffet. Had more complains too but I wll never stay here or at any Barcelo resort again. Not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to Barcelo for New Year's and it was great. I've stayed at the Colonial so was excited to see how this compared. The rooms are great. Lots of room and the bathrooms are beautiful. The service is great and they just can't do enough for you. The food at the buffet was good. Lots of selection and even great stations for kids. We ate at the French restaurant, which was great, but the other restaurants were just ok. The steak restaurant was not good at all. The meat all tasted like it was steamed and seemed under cooked. The service was very slow. The beach at the Colonial is much better as the Palace has a pretty rocky beach. The pools are beautiful if you prefer that over the beach. It was really busy though and all chairs were reserved first thing in the morning. Overall a great experience but I think I'd stick with the Colonial next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The resort is not bad at all but have been to better. The food was very good at the a la cartes, enjoyed the french the most. I see some complaints about the length of walk to the beach and pool, personally the walk did me good. I think my biggest concern is the amount of children there, dont get me wrong, I am a grandparent and love children dearly but I have a real problem going for a Pre dinner drink in a bar and find myself doging strollers and toddlers to get to the bar or sitting at an a la carte dinner only to have children doing a sword fight with balloons at the next table.. ....There is a beautiful childs pool on the property for the kids. I think next trip will be adults only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed here in Nov for our wedding with 65 people and can not say enough about this resort, just feel bad we didn't take the time to review it until now...

Beach: very long beach since it is shared with 4 other barcelo resorts so its perfect for long walks. very nice sand but be careful of some rockier spots right in front of the resort.

Pools: amazing!!! they were so clean and huge, they even had a really nice one for kids.

Food: sooooo good! the buffet always had a variety, even sushi! the a la cartes were all really good, no complaints at all. Also, the drinks were all premium so you could get anything you wanted, including some nice cognac that the older folks really enjoyed.

Rooms: they were spacious, clean, updated and the bathroom had a nice jacuzzi tub as well as a shower 'area' with 2 shower heads, really nice!

Disco: the jaguar club was really big! it's over by the colonial section since its shared by all 5 resorts. It was one of the best discos i've been to at a resort, really fun time.

Wedding: they made it so easy to plan from a distance, they really are good at what they do, especially since they have at least 1 wedding each day. The day of our wedding unfortunately rained but they were so quick to have a backup plan and change the location from beach to gazebo and it turned out beautifully. We had the grill by the beach for the reception with our own waiter staff and they were all so amazing, they even had one of them going around turning us into 'mexicans' by pouring tequila down our throats, tying something on our head and shaking us around. it was so much fun

would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a bit of everything, even on rainy days they had things to do like painting clay pots, etc. and it was only 15 min to playa del carmen or tulum. we will definitely be going back there again, loved everything about it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.