We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but not for beach lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice resort but not for beach lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to the Palace in May 2012... sorry for the late review :-)

On the good side, it is very clean, staff pleasant and happy to make our stay enjoyable. Food was mostly from good to succulent, Plenty of choices for the restaurants, French was the best!!! Carlo the Manager was sooo nice, Facundo and Filiberto were our waiters both nights we went. We could not have been more pleased with them and the food was amazing!! Seafood was our least favorite, service was extremely slow. Breakfast on the patio at the Hacienda buffet with a breathtaking view of the ocean while enjoying our cappucino was a great way to start the day. Room and resort are impecable.

The resort is huge and we stayed at the end of it, so a very long walk to anywhere but we did not mind.

On the beach, If you walk down to the pier you can go snorkeling and see fish, sea turtles and even stingrays!!!

The adult only pool saved the trip for us, we love kids, but not when you want a relaxing vacation. It was quiet with a bar with a great bartender right by it, it made up for the beach we could not enjoy as much as we would have liked to.

On the not so good side... We LOVE spending our days at the beach but this one was very hard, like 5 mm of sand on top of concrete... water was clean and blue but also plenty of rocks to make it unconfortable, so you always need to wear your flip-flops. It was very disappointing for us but... at least we had the adult pool.

Drinks were... inconsistent.

The bed... oh the bed... so hard!!! After 3 days we were waking up sore... How hard?!? Flinstone style!!!

It is more of a family oriented resort, so do not expect a great night life or parties by the pool too many children around.

In conclusion, we enjoyed our vacations thanks to the staff at the adult pool, the restaurants but we are definitely adult only resort customers. We would recommend this place for family vacations, this is a great place.

Any questions, do not hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    872
    355
    117
    101
See reviews for
1,677
864
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been in this hotel 2 times now. The general experience is very positive, rooms, food, drinks and overall service is very good. you can have access to premium alcohol beverages as part of the all-inclusive treat. Great a la carte restaurants for dinner. If you are traveling with kids, they have a great kids pool (wet playground) and entertainment shows every night. Quality iof the shows are remarkable.
Only black spot for us the 2 times we have stayed is the check in process. It can take up to an hour to check in. Not a good experience if you just came from a 5 hrs trip and all u want to do is have some rest.
Great alternative!

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the restaurant/lobby zone, specially if you are travelling with kids/chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I got married at this resort and the wedding was beautiful, the wedding staff does a great job! However, the rest of the resort staff needs some training. We had to wait in line for hours to make reservations at the resort restaurants and when we were finally able to make reservations there was nothing available until 9:30pm. We brought over 80 guests to the resort for our wedding and never once got a 'thank you for choosing our resort.' We upgraded ourselves at higher cost and never once saw any of the perks of the upgrade except for the better view from the room. Bartenders were expecting tips and only serving those who did gives tips, when it is an 'all-inclusive' resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Happy Holidays. Stayed at Barcelo Maya Palace from Dec 18th- Dec 26th with the fam for Xmas.
Husband, Self, 12 yo son, & 8 yo daughter. I would only return for # 1 beach (georgeous, no problem finding chairs, powder white sand, snorkeling, feeding fish, seeing turtles, building snow/ sandman) However, no beach service:(

This maybe the first trip to An AI that we came back the same weight or a couple Lbs. lighter. We had our exercise walking, that's for sure. Also, food options, and amenities are spread very far apart. In fact, it was difficult to just run in quickly and find a snack. The gift shop sold Chips, cookies, and other packaged food. We paid $27.00 for band aids, doritos, and regular Chips. Or you could order the really expensive food from room service. Also, you could have lunch ordered to the poolside bar for extra $. Being a sun worshiper, I did not want to pack up and go sit down for a lunch. Just wanted some fast quality food to eat at pool or beach. The pools did have waitresses that would bring drinks or bottled water. All and all the food was good. A little repetitive, the specialty restaurants were top notch. Most of the wait staff went above and beyond to help.

Pools were cold, but what should I expect at this time of year. My kids loved the pools, I loved the concrete sun chairs in the pool. My preteen loved all the games offered, however, you had to check equipment out. Can't comment on the kids club, or kids pools. Could not get my kids to go.

We had a room that was located on the ground floor, probably the furthest away from everything. Was expecting bug problems, (located in jungle), so I brought bug spray with. Was not a issue for us. Did not need the bug spray. The room itself was clean, cleaning staff did a good job. Only one day we had to call and get mini fridge stocked, and room cleaned. Small confusion with the "please tidy up" sign. Other AI stock wine and ETOH in your room. This was pretty limited on what was supplied.

Staff Did not seem as helpful as other resorts. However, I know they work their butts off. Sometimes I think the language barriers interfered, but I don't expect them to know And understand English, it is not their native language, and I was a visitor in their country. There were visitors from all over the globe with many different languages and dialect. We were greeted with an arrival drink, that was nice. We were also able to check into our room right away. The biggest part that we did not get, was a general orientation, on what's what, and how things work. We were expected to either figure things out, or just know.

Our family celebrates Christmas. I was Just as excited if not more excited on how well Christmas was set up. The decor, Santa, dinner was awesome...Ice sculptures, chocolate nativity scenes.. Wil post pics later. I only give it 3/5 stars, simply because it lacks amenities that are suppose to be AI. Also, have had top notch service from other resorts. This is 7th trip to The Riviara Maya. I have been spoiled by the Iberostar Grand Parisio Honeymoon Villas. Nothing Compares..

Written by TargetDudes Wife...

Room Tip: Have travel agent ask for something pool side. Maybe worth extra$ to upgrade to poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went Dec 21-Dec 28 and there were 9 of us. It was amazing!!! Food, staff, rooms, grounds are all first class. The beach is gorgeous. You don't need to go on any excursions if you don't want to, there is so much to do at all 5 resorts. Snorkeling was the highlight. You can see tropical fish, sea turtles, sting rays and coral reefs. Suggestion: bring your own snorkel gear, it's worth it, then you don't have to worry about renting it for an hour at a time. Drinks are plentiful and strong at the palace, weaker as you go further down in the line of results which is to be expected. We never encountered rude service, the staff works extremely hard to please you and appreciates when you try to speak Spanish. The Barcelo bus runs every 15 minutest between all 5 resorts so go explore what the others offer. It's a nice walk as well. Be sure to go to the pier and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Staying in the Michochan building is closer to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first stay at an all inclusive hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I'm not sure I got complete value for money but it was great being able to wander around and not worry about money for the week I was there.

We went the week before Christmas and the first few days the hotel was very quiet, except for a couple of other wedding parties. However this changed for the second half when bus loads of Americans arrived. The atmosphere of the place changed a bit due to this as the restaurants went from being generally empty to being completely full.

Otherwise the place was great - the service was generally really good, as long as you were understanding about walking in and insisting on a table for 20. A couple of times we had to chase staff for drinks but otherwise there weren't any problems.

The food was nice but not amazing. The buffet was a bit hit & miss and when we ate in some of the restaurants in the rest of the campus (i.e. not in the Deluxe hotel) things were generally of much poorer quality, so we stuck in our hotel as much as possible.

The beach sand wasn't the best but it was still good and the kids pool was great for them. I didn't try the adults pool but it look significantly quieter and more relaxing!

One downside was the non-buffet restaurants. Because I went with a group I didn't book meals up front which turned out to be a bit of mistake as they filled up. Nevertheless I tried the French (disappointing) and the steak (great!) restaurants.

All in all was a great location and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying we've stayed at the Caribe part of this resort in the past and had an awesome experience. When I had a chance to stay at the Palace, I jumped on it. When we arrived, our booking was incorrect. We had 2 rooms, and a total of 5 people. They showed only 2 people, and it created a problem because they issue out the braclets. Our first night was ok, but the rooms smelled like mildew. We stayed at the resort for part of our trip, and our rooms were not cleaned until after 5:00, after we had to complain. One of the supervisors Euribiel, was very rude to my family , of course when I was not around. I did let him have it the next day, but he didn't seem to understand that the guest should always be accommodated.
I will never stay at this part again. I would rather go back to the Caribe section.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#5 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#7 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,869 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#10 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.