We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for FAMILY vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good place for FAMILY vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have to say we are very picky and travel ALOT. There are good and bad points about this all inclusive hotel. Mostly good. However...if you are looking for true 4 or 5 star dining, the fact is you are rarely going to find that at any all inclusive resort. My honey and I stayed at la blanc in cancun and that was pretty close I must say. If you are the average every other year traveler you may even be impressed at the palace. We were sick of the food after 24 hours. While there is plenty of it...it's bland and greasy. We ended up leaving the resort 3 times for meals. The rooms and resort is very clean. We were club premium level and would totally recommend if you are impatient and dislike lines like us. We ended up at this resort as it was chosen by another family that asked us to join. All in all we were 5 families, 19 people ages 9 to 50. We brought an 18 year old and 2 19 year olds with us. Our "kids" had plenty to do, see, eat and drink. They loved it. It was really the 6 13 to 17 year olds that the resort lacks in entertainment for. Once the pool games are over, there is NOTHING for the kids to do! No teen club, no arcade, no beach party dance, no family dance NADA!! There is a huge empty dance club (jaguars) on site that you would think had something for this age group.

For those of you familiar with the towel game at the pool...warm up...game on! 6:30 in the morning the chairs poolside at the palace are gone....we had to go to the lowere next door pool 5 of 7 days. The good news was their pool was more fun than palace which had minimum entertainment. No water aerobics at palace. Other resorts we have been to have full constant pool entertainment....tequila volleyball, sexy legs competition, yoga, stupid races. The pool entertainment at the Barcelo is a 1 compared to other resorts unfortunately. Also, the palace is the only resort of the 5 with poolside service if you like drinks delivered.

We rented a golf cart which was fun. Went to spa. Parasailed. All pretty good

I would recommend to families with young kids or older. Not in between. Adults only...go else where such as an adults only place. Don't expect outstanding food and you won't be disappointed. Very school lunch or cruise ship like.

Hope that helps .... Writing this on plane as we just left resort...sorry for typos

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,859
    903
    377
    121
    111
See reviews for
1,742
890
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boca raton, fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went to the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, Paradisus Esmeralda and this Barcelo on a recent trip. Barcelo wins for us. However, and it's a big however, they screwed up our reservation. When you arrive at the resort, a bellman looks up your name on a list to see what room category you are in. We reserved a club premium. After waiting half an hour on the check in line at 2pm, it took another 10-15 min to be given our key. I asked if it was club premium, and he said it was not. After a while of searching, they realized that they had made a mistake. Now I was told that I need to check in at the club premium desk. That check in desk is in a lounge area reserved solely for club premium. There's no wait! The lady tells us that our room is not ready (it's 3pm) and to come back in a half hour. At 4pm our room is still not ready, so I just headed to the room to wait while housekeeping cleans. Get to the room, and it's a king bed...we wanted two doubles--traveling with children. I call front desk and they tell me to wait. At 4:30 they call and say that all double rooms are full.
Even after waiting 2 and a 1/2 hrs for the wrong room, we appreciate that the room was wonderful. Clean, contemporary yet Mexican, beautiful bathroom, great shower, and big. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, lush, colorful flowers everywhere. Gorgeous. The beach is enormous and has lots of chairs with lots or space. We saw turtles and schools of fish in the clear water. Down the beach a bit, there are water toys--jetskis.... The pool is amazing, huge, water sprays, water falls, seats in the pool and a pool bar. Next to the main pool is an activity pool for basketball or volleyball. There are hammocks everywhere on property, and activity guys playing games or dancing.
Food was okay. Chicken at the steak restaurant was delish and the breakfast buffet was over the top. Lunch buffet was not that good, but decent enough. Picky kids might not be too happy. And there's no food by the beach of pool.
Transportation to the other bldgs for dinners was a small school bus--cute and easy. There are stores in the Palace (snack items, souvenirs, clothing) and every other lobby--that are open late.
Some other things to know--the beds are hard and it's a little over an hour drive from the airport, almost half hour to 5th ave at Playa.
We loved Barcelo and would definitely recommend, as long as you don't care about what bed you get. We met others who wanted a king and were put in doubles! In retrospect, I think club premium is worth it--other than not waiting to check in, you get an air conditioned lounge with snacks and drinks, a hang out area w/TV, computers and private concierge...but the big plus is that you get as many towels as you need and no towel card.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Have just returned from the Barcelo Maya Palace and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The front desk was the only sub-par event we had at the resort, with confusion and not being prepared for guests arriving. The beaches were incredible and snorkling with the sea turtles, rays and barracudas was an experience like none before. The restaurants were unbelievable, truly one of the best parts of being at the Palace. The Brazilian and French restaurants were outstanding with fantastic food. The service by all waiters, bartenders and room cleaning staff at the Palace was great, always in a great mood and very helpful to all. The pools at the Palace were crystal clear and some of the best pools we've ever swam in, just beautiful, including the adult only pool, again beautiful.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the Riviera area. Our private driver from Cancun Shuttle Service told us the Barcelo resort area was one of the nicest in this area which was nice to hear.

Room Tip: Front desk said at first all they had were 2 double beds when I had reserved a room with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Maya Palace in February with two other couples, and just had a blast! The pools are HUGE and never over-crowded. However, it's wise to have someone in your group get up early and reserve lounge chairs with towels, t-shirts, etc. The pool itself isn't crowded (in the water), but the chairs fill up quickly. The adult pool is quiet and has 10 private cabanas that can be rented for only $10 per day - not a bad deal at all! The entire grounds are just beautiful!

Be sure to make your dinner reservations for the week early, or even call ahead before you arrive at the resort. We stayed for five nights and made all of our reservations on the first day right after we checked in. Our dinner time every night was either 9:00 or 9:30 depending on which restaurant we ate at because there was no earlier availability. Our favorite restaurants were the Mexican and the French. Our least favorite was the Brazillian since the meat was well over-done. Don't count on the salad bars if you're looking for a traditional salad. They have lettuce, but then a ton of creamy cold salads (think cold seafood salad, cauliflower and cheese, green beans and corn, etc.).

The room (Junior Suite) was spacious, with a nice bathroom. There is a rain shower as well as a shower in the bathtub. There are two sinks, which is handy as well! The only bad thing about the room is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. It felt like a piece of plywood with a few cotton balls scattered across the top. I didn't sleep through the night once, and was often awake every hour because of how uncomfortable the bed was. However, that was really the only downside to our stay.

The fitness center is tiny. There are three tredmills, two stationary bikes, two of the type of bikes where you sit in a seat low to the ground, and a few elliptical machines, in addition to a small weight training area. If you are working out on your trip, plan to wait in (a short) line for a machine, or take your workout outside along the beach and go for a nice run! No need to pack a water bottle since the fitness center has a fridge stocked with (free) bottled water for you!

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. If I went back to Riviera Maya again, I may try something different just to see what else is out there, but I would not turn down another opportunity to return to the Maya Palace!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you can go to a resort and not have to deal with staff, this resort is great - the pool is great, the bars are great, the food is good at the buffets and great at the restaurants. Our room was good too, we had a junior suite, very nice. Beach was good, bring your snorkel, lots of fish to see.

OK, so not so bad right, well not so much.

Here's the deal, when you spend your hard earned money and pay for a nice resort, you expect some level of service.

It started at check-in, we traveled with friends, we reserved 6 months ago, why couldn't we have our rooms next to each other? That was the first "no". Others were asking and being refused too.

Our rooms were nice, but they couldn't be much further from the restaurants without being the neighboring resort. We got our exercise this week. I'm not really upset with this, but I thought it strange since we reserved so long ago.

Second "no" was when we asked for a second room key "can't do it right now, too busy". The next day we stopped by the desk and asked for the key - it took 20 seconds to do.

Now for the really bad part. Guest services is terrible and this is the place that you need to go to make restaurant reservations. Not a good thing. We tried calling, we got "disconnected". We tried stopping by to find a line that was not moving. One person with one computer helping a couple make reservations for more than 20 minutes??? You have got to be kidding me, but no. And guess what folks, we weren't the only one with this problem. We saw numerous frustrated guests with the same problem; and the worst part is that they don't even need a person to do this - a kiosk would do the job much better and faster!! How about a service on the room's TV set? Anything but making guests wait for an indefinite period of time with no comment. At one point, he picked up the phone and took someone else's call while working with us, we couldn't get his attention even sitting right in front of him.

I told the resort the problems in their survey. Don't know if it will do any good, but needless to say, we are not returning to this resort. There are much better places to stay in the area. People that treat their guests with respect and don't tell them "no". (There are other ways)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a lovely 5 days in the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. It is a beautiful resort with friendly staff, comfortable and plush rooms, gorgeous pool area great for the whole family with kids pool and play areas and a swim up bar for adults. The beach here was gorgeous, you can snorkel right off of it and there's a good chance you will see some sea turtles. I even had a rare sighting of an octopus. The food in the buffets was surprisingly good but in the restaurants was even better. Make sure to try the French restaurant but you need to make a reservation.

All the various activities of the Mayan Riviera were close by such as Xplor Park and Xcaret, only about 15 mins away by car. All in all the resort was great of you are into all-inclusives. The one downfall was that it was really big so it took a long time to get anywhere. Saying that, the grounds were beautiful so we didn't mind walking everywhere. The only problem was that if you forgot something in your room and you were not close to the beach or pool, it was quite the trek to go back. If you can, book one of the rooms that are above the pool or close to the beach and you won't have this problem. We were near the back which was quite a distance.

All in all this was a nice resort. We don't typically do all inclusive holidays but we did like it here and we felt safe despite some of the bad stories you hear coming out of Mexico lately.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Deluxe for the second time this February. We enjoyed the resort so much we will be returning again this June with our children. Both times we stayed in the junior suites, which are beautiful, spacious and perfect for a family of 4. The resort is extremely clean, well maintained, and safe. Staff is friendly and helpful; the overall service is wonderful. Be sure to book your restaurant reservations shortly after arriving and checking in. We waited until the second day of our trip to make reservations and early dinner reservation times, between the hours of 6 and 8, were impossible to make. The beach and snorkeling was one of the best parts of this hotel. Nothing but great things to say about the resort...surpassed our expectations, twice. Highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#5 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#7 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 3,062 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#11 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3 | Carretera a Chetumal, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.