We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mothers Day weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Tropical
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mothers Day weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort everything is right at your door step you do not have to leave off the resort entertainment, Dolphins, Sauna, Steam room, Spa, Jet Ski everything the staff are very knowledgeable about making you feel welcome and the food was great. My only concern is the WIFI we had a minor disagreement when checking out as to whether we paid in advance or wanted to have WIFI billed to the room so my advise if you get the WIFI make sure they give you a receipt. However I have no real complaints and I am looking forward to staying there again if you are traveling with children they have an excellent children's water park. My Mothers day was the best. Oh the beds are a little hard but who slept.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Bronzed Lady W
We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence.
The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Respectfully,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    615
    211
    112
    62
See reviews for
805
615
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just got back from a ten day stay at the Tropical, overall it was pretty good.

The room was more than adequate, comfortable bed, good shower, cleaned every day.

The buffet was OK some days and not so good on others, it's a pity you only get 5 meals at the al a'carte restaurants in a 10 day stay, that wasn't made clear on the virgin holidays website. Having said that I'd not recommend the Santa Fe Steakhouse, the Japanese restaurant was great, go for a show table if you can where the chef cooks it in some style right in front of you. I did get a bit of a stomach upset the day after though, possibly too much sun and beer????

The bar in the tropical was fine, unfortunately there was a group of young Americans on a wedding party who decided it would be improved by bringing their own music along, fine if you liked their musical taste.

For the last four days of our stay there was no draught beer, cans were available though but not always cold and avoid the red wine! Unless you like it served in a chilled glass and very cold.

Overall though it was a pretty good holiday the beach was great, a real bonus to be able to stroll from beach to pool too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Steveh1960
We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.
We hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Best Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a great resort at a great price. We just returned from a 6 day stay and we thought the resort was beautiful, the service excellent, and the beach amazing. The resort was super clean, rooms were modern, and pool was huge. Food was ok - restaurants better than buffets. We had a snorkeling excursion to Akumal with Aventuras Mayas and it was totally worth it. The only suggestions I have are to have more pool activities and to have more comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your scores and preference to Barcelo Maya Tropical.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Sincerely
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is our second time back to this resort, for another wedding.
What can I say! Barcelo really knows how to do up a wedding. For a bride on her wedding day everything should be perfect and this is exactly what they do Perfect!!!!! The flowers are always fresh and never look wilted, in a hot climate you would think the flowers would be wilted and dying,they do a great job keeping them fresh all day.
The hair salon is great and the stylist do know how to do a fantastic updo or don style of curls.
If you have stayed at the Barcelo before you know that this a huge resort, the wedding organizers really utalize all locations so that your wedding ceromony is truly the best setting for your day.
Big groups or small groups this is the place for you!! Rooms are clean the food is fantastic and of course the beach and water is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Ground floors are great,,,, close to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Cheekytegs,
It’s a pleasure to host a Wedding Celebration; Thank you very much for sharing your experience and recommendations.
Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction.
I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as we would like the opportunity to provide you with the level of service you had received and expect from Barceló Maya Tropical.
Best Regards.
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We just returned from marrying our daughter at this resort. The wedding planner was well organized and professional. Watch out for extra costs even with a wedding package. The hotel was very clean and beautiful. Food was excellent. My only real complaint was the terribly hard beds...these need to be upgraded!!! Never slept through the night once, and we stayed 12 days.
The WiFi does not work all the time even though we were in the premium club room. The housekeeping staff can be a bit lazy, I drank from a badly cracked coffee cup for two days before it was exchanged after chasing her down. She cleaned the cup every day so there was no way she didn't see that is was leaking by the second day. Some days you got turn down service and some days not. Very inconsistent. The children's pool area was excellent and the Barcy kids club is awesome. We were there for the children's festival and had a wonderful time with our 4 year old grandson. Resort is very child friendly.

Room Tip: The premium club rooms are quieter and a little larger, but really not worth the extra cost. Beds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Ms Anne S,
It’s a pleasure to host a Wedding Celebration; Thank you very much for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical for your daughter’s wedding.
Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction.
We would like the opportunity to host you again in the future in order to provide you with the level of service you expect from Barceló Maya Tropical.
Best Regards.
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton,canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is our third time staying at the Barcelo. We had stayed at the Beach 6 years ago and loved it. We also stayed at the Palace 2 years ago and thought it was awesome. The tropical was a let down. The food was average and it was so busy that the buffet was a pushing match. The rooms were dirty and outdated. The resort is very large with lots of chairs by the pool and beach. The drinks were sugary and made with cheap booze Nothing great to say about this resort. Save your money and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear apexskishop
We appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, we will work on Housekeeping, Food & Beverages issues to improve them.
We would be grateful to host you. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.
Best Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just returned from a wedding at this resort. I was concerned about going in May due to the high temperatures this time of the year. After going I was pleasantly surprised that it was nice to go at this time of the year as long as you are spending most of your time in the pool in pool attire.

Onto the hotel part of our stay. We arrived on May 2, 2014 to Barcelo Maya Tropical for one week and to attend a wedding.

We checked in that seemed to go fine. There apparently is a charge if you want to upgrade to premium liquor, wifi and unlimited room service. We did not upgrade but did talk to people in our group that did. I did not locate anyone able to actually get the wifi password and have it work. As far as the room service I did see some people people make extensive use of it.

ROOM:
We got to our room that had two double beds and a couch that had a single mattress for our 5 year old to sleep on. We sat on the beds that were extremely hard. We hoped that they wouldn't be as bad when we spent the night on them. This was not the case. I woke up in the morning feeling like someone used me for a punching bad all night. Unfortunately this was not isolated to our room. I talked to two other couples in our group and they said the same thing. I did consider changing beds with our 5 year old but never did change beds. This was my biggest complain of the whole resort. I like to have fun in the day but I am here to relax and with the hard bed I went home more tired than I arrived. The room was fairly typical of a Mexico resort. It was tiled floor and a good size. The bathroom was totally tiled. The air conditioning worked well in our room except the last night it stayed about 23 degrees Celsius and most people reported the same problem so possibly the air could not keep up. One couple next to us had the breaker flip in the middle of the night one night and had it remedied in the morning by staff coming and resetting the breaker. One couple had persistent problems with the air and their room being 26 degrees and maintenance not able to fix it. We had an alarm clock that seemed to be possessed and would go off every hour. This was fix the next day when we complained and never happened again. The linens were all white which probably wasn't' the best choice on their part. There some stains on the linens even though they were clean. This is the negative. The good was the shower was hot or cold with no issues, safe worked fine, there was a stocked fridge with 4 kinds of pop and two cans of corona beer. We weren't lacking for anything in the room it was typical.

Restaurants:
We had a main buffet and some restaurants you had to make reservations for. The buffet had everything you needed. We enjoyed the breakfast with omelet station and lots of bacon, ham, sausage, fresh fruit, donuts and pastries. They were making fresh churios each morning. The supper had some different things but a lot of the same. It was nice that not every night was exactly the same but had enough variety to usually make everyone happy. We ate most of our lunches at the snack bar close to the pools and beach. Called a snack bar but it was a smaller buffet. It offered everyday burgers, bacon wrapped hot dogs, ice milk and fruit. They had tacos, salad, soup each day and a variety of other things for desert etc. Quite a selection. Hard to call it a snack bar. You were waited on for drinks of all kinds. You were required to wear a shirt and dry shorts and ladies had to have their upper legs covered. So you could go in your swim gear as long as you had a shirt or though over for ladies that covered your upper legs and shoes. This was sort of annoying for my wife but we go used to it. We went to the Steak house one night and were surprised how good our steak was. It was cooked how I ordered it and was thicker than what I had expected. You are required to wear pants and close towed shoes for the guys. Ladies could have open toed shoes.

Beach:
Beach in our area was pretty good but not as good as the sister resort beside. Some rock at the first 5 feet and then sand. Very pretty but I did not spend much time at the beach. Beach is nicer to east and you can use if you walk there as all one resort but a long walk.

Kids club:
You can put your kids in the kids club in the afternoon for some activities if they are up for it. They have different things going on and my child liked it. You sign them up and it went well for a break in the afternoon for us.

Pool:
There is a kids type water park for younger kids. It was perfect for my 5 year old and younger. They had 4 water slides and then 4 plain water slides that are like a playground with water on them. Parents can't go down them but can catch kids at the bottom or go to the top and help get them going. Parents just can't go on the slides because they will hurt themselves as my sister in law found out. They do have life guards walking around sporadically. I wouldn't rely solely on them but it is nice to have another set of eyes on the situation. The adult pools are fine and fairly close to the kid pool but not close enough to watch your kids and be in the pool unless your kids are older and you are good with them running free at the water park. Unfortunately we went night swimming the night before we left but this is a great thing to do. They have area lit up enough to not drown but not too much to wreck atmosphere. It was warm when you got out so the long walk back to our room was fine. You will likely see the odd iguana on your walk to and from the pool in the grass areas. There was also what looked to be a leemer that was in the grass we saw twice. There were gecko lizards here and there as well.

Entertainment:
my wife went one night and found it to be better than previous entertainment at different resorts. The size of the theatre is quite big and serves 4 resorts. We had a 5 year old so were not out much as we had a 5 year old that we kept up too late a few nights. There is a 24 piano bar that is air conditioned and some people spend a lot of time there as they had the hockey game on for playoffs. There is another open air bar but can be hot as weather dictates. They have 5 dolphins in a pool that they train and charge you $100 to train with the trainers. You can for free watch the 15minute show throughout the day.

Walking:
There is quite a bit of walking. It is a good ten minutes from the pool to our room which was about middle distance. If you have no problem walking it is not too big of a deal.

Likes:
The view to the ocean was nice. The pools didnt feel crowded. The swim up bars seemed well staffed. The staff would take your plates quickly not leaving them on your table. They were almost too quick. I liked have a kids water park that they enjoyed. I did enjoy the food a little too much as I gained 11lbs. I have had better food and I have had worse. The food was above average. Staff clean the hallways often and keep things clean. They did have a kids club where you could get an hour or two break from your kids. You can walk to the 2 adjoining resorts and use their beach and snack bar.

Dislikes or bad things:
Staff will hang up phone on you if you need something and they can't figure it out or don't want to deal with it. Several people in our group ordered room service and it wouldn't come or they would have to order it several times. We needed an extra blanket and we had to call twice. If you would call front desk to complain about something not working it was common to just get hung up on. A couple times friends would go to front desk to get wifi password and the worker would go to the back and never return. Lights in bathroom are motion sensing so if you have to go number two the lights will turn off unless someone else comes into the bathroom. Beds were rock hard. Air conditioning can be problematic at times. linens have stains on them. It is an 1:20minutes to resort from airport.

Tips: Bring a oversize insulated cup for the swim up bars etc. Floaty toys are good as well. Go snorkel you will see some nice coloured fish and you can borrow the equipment from the resort for a deposit you get back. bring more sunscreen than you think you need as expensive at the resort. A water shirt works well as the sun burns so easy in May.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have better beds and shorter walks to pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jcweber,
We really appreciate your visit and the time taken to write your impression about your stay, Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities, we are working daily in order to improve.
Barceló Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities; we thank you very much for the kind explanation of the Resort.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Best Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.