We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place,Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Tropical
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gatineau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place,Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I believe this is a good 41/2* resort! It is a large one but everything is close and not far away.

It has many positives like:

-excellent staff, we did encounter one problem but the manager and staff went over and above to correct it, bravo!!

-the pools are nice and clean with the white sand beach very close by with good snorkeling. Plus did not have to get up early to reserve chairs!

-the rooms nice size and clean with lots of hot water and water pressure.

- the food at the buffet good and a good selection, ala cartes ok nothing special, drinks good but no top self without extra cost.

- attractive grounds, lobby and so forth

- entertainment was actually some of best I've seen at a resort

Was surprised there was no Spanish coffee's to be had ?? and crepes with flambé fruits would have been a nice touch.

Oh yah, we did encounter a large group of high school March breakers who were loud at times but quite entertaining and very polite. Like I said earlier the resort is so large that if you did not care for this, it is so easy to move down to another area and pool. This is a big plus as we had so many choices to eat and relax and it never felt overcrowded.

Over all a nice vacation and I would defiantly recommend the Tropical and would visit again.

Room Tip: Thought the rooms were nice and did not find the upgrade worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your comments regarding your
past stay at Barcelo Maya Tropical, we want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously since they tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve.

We are glad to know you have encountered many positives at the Resort’s facilities and services, as well as thank you for sharing the good impression the entertainment had left. We deeply appreciate you recommendation to family and friends.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.

Best Regards


La Gerencia

Barceló Maya Tropical

gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    674
    231
    116
    64
See reviews for
872
673
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Three friends and I just returned from our 6 night stay at the Barcelo Maya Beach Tropical Resort and had a phenomenal time! I cannot say enough about the cleanliness, overall service and hospitality of this resort! I've been to several resorts between Cancun and Puerto Aventuras, and the Barcelo Maya Beach Tropical Resort is by far my favorite. The only negative, is that there were soooo many midwest high school spring breakers with their families who over indulged (more on that below).

Check-In: We flew into Cancun at 8:30 and were at Barcelo by 10:30. Check-in went smooth, and while we weren't able to get into our rooms until 3:00, the staff could not have been nicer. We immediately received our wristbands and walked over to the hospitality desk to make our restaurant reservations. After that the fun in the sun began!

Rooms: We reserved two rooms, and after finding out they weren't as close as we wanted, staff were very accomodating in changing one of our rooms the following morning. Our mini bar was stocked every day, including snacks if requested. The bathroom/rooms are very nice, but the beds not resort quality. That said, I slept like a baby every night from all the fresh air during the day!

Food: We ate at four restaurants, with Kyoto (Hibachi group table) being by far our favorite. Food there was awesome (beef tenderloin, lobster & chicken all great!) and the "Flaming Coffee" is a must have after dinner. The ribeye steak and Santa Fe Steak House was delicious, as was the Lobster at the seafood restaurant. Breakfast buffet was fine, as was the poolside grills, but the lunch buffet is really good!

Pool & Beach: Are AMAZING!!! We spent the majority of our time by the pool & in the pool, but also spent time swimming and snorkeling in the ocean. It was pretty rough when we were there, but the couple of times we snorkeled, we saw turtles, stingrays, and several large and colorful fish. It was definitely worth bringing our snorkeling gear with.

Tropical vs Colonial: We had read several reviews that the Tropical was the better place to stay, but really, there's little difference. The resort is so easy to navigate, so I would say that the deciding factor should really come down to the age of children one is traveling with. A family with younger kids will definitely want to stay on the Colonial side.

Excursions: We decided to take a cab (around $20.00 each way) to Play del Carmen one day for what used to be a city of great bargains; not so much anymore. There is very litle bargaining to be done anymore, and honestly, with the exception of things like alcohol, vanilla and suntan lotion, the shopping area at the hotel offers many of same goods at comperable prices. We also spent a day at Xel-Ha, which is always fun! If you book online, it's $80.00, but then you're locked into a specific day, so we took a cab ($35.00 there, $30.00 back) and paid $89.00 per person. It's $129.00 per person if you book as an excursion through the hotel. We wished we would have brought our own snorkel equipment, as we had to each pay a refundable $25.00 equipment deposit. Lockers are free. Don't miss the bike ride up to the lazy river, as you'll see lots of little racoon-like animals and iquanas on the way.

Now, to the only negative part of the trip: High school drinkers and their inattentive parents. We were told by some of the parents/kids that the resort is known to be friendly to high school spring breakers, and while I don't really care one way or other, it was clearly a problem for many, many kids. There were kids literally passed out in pool chairs, or lying down getting sick while in pool chairs. Some kids even had to be taken away from the pool area in wheelchairs, too drunk to walk and with no parents to be found. That's unfortunate and unsafe, to say the least. I really felt for the families with younger children, though again, they were most likely happier at the pool area on the Colonial side anyway. I should also note that there was a noticeable difference on our third day there, when it seemed like the crowd of kids wasn't quite so large, there was an increase of security staff in the pool area and the pool bar staff started serving the adults before the kids; that was refreshing and probably helped to cut back on some of the over imbibing. Finally, it should be noted that for the most part, both the high school and college kids seemed to be overall nice kids, just a case of "High School Spring Break Gone Wild"!

So, in ending on a positive note, the amazing positives far outweighed the one negative, and I look forward to returning to Barcelo Maya Beach Tropical & Colonial :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, which are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs, we really appreciate you are sharing the phenomenal time you expend at Barceló Maya Tropical.

Our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again, we are glad to know the Front Desk staff gave you a good impression, thank you for considering Kyoto as your favorite restaurant as well as Santa Fe Steak House, we are passing your kind comments to the Front Desk Manager and the Chef. When we read letters like yours make us work harder to honor your recommendation.

As you observed we have implemented appropriate measures to ensure that the students’ behavior does not disturb the rest of our guest, as we are a family resort and the majority of our guests are adults, couples or families, we really want to reach our mail goal.

Once again thank you very much for notice the amazing positives on your review, we would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you and your friends in the future.

Sincerely


La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We just returned from Barcelo - after we spent 1 week at the end of March.

The resort is huge - basically there are 5 hotels in 1 - to simply explain :
Beach and Caribe at level 1, Tropical and Colonial are level 2 and Palace is level 3.
Palace is the luxury hotel and the most expensive. You have access to your level and the level below. You can use the beach and the pools everywhere but you cannot eat&drink at a higher lever unless you pay extra.
They have a trolley that goes around the resort and stops every 10min.
We stayed at the Tropical in the Yucatan Building. Our room was ground floor - 7111 - the first regular room after the Club Premium. Really close to the poos!
Rooms - are clean, with a bit of a musty smell on the 1st day but then it dissapears. The bed is a bit too hard and they could do better with the quality of the bed sheets. We stayed at other premium hotels and felt that others were better.
Beach - is really long and nice! there is a great portion with no rocks right in front of the tropical. that's where we were all the time. There are a lot of chairs on the beach - it's impossible not to find one at any time of day. The pool is a different story - mostly all of them are taken by 10am. The chairs at the beach are pretty old and some damaged (you cannot really nap on them), but the pool ones look new and are really comfy! when we didnt find pool chairs, we would use the hammocks!
The grounds are really nice and well-maintained! Just Beautiful!
Shopping - the stores in the hotel are crazy-priced! sunlotion for $40???? go to Playa del Carmen for souvenir shopping!
Restaurants - the buffets were good - pretty much everything you want and need! loved the flambed fruit station at night for dessert! We were given 4 cards for 7 nights to book restaurants. TIP : book when you arrive! we found all available but scattered throughtout the week. Italian and Japanese were delicious, steakhouse was also good and the Seafood - get the lobster! it's the best thing in their menu that everybody gets! There are other 2 mexican restaurants at Beach and Caribe - we didnt try them, and Palace has a French and Brazillian - $25 if you want to eat there.
Entertainment - there is not a lot honestly. There is some area at the pool where they have a schedule - every 2 hours they have an activity. but it seemed to be the same stuff every day.
They have a huge theater - the shows were pretty good at night! There is also an area for games - pool, bowling, ping-pong, chess. you can have a lot of fun!
They do have a great kid schedule and kid pool areas that look like a lot of fun! The dolphin area is really nice - they do look a bit crowded in there! we swam with the dolphins at Isla Mujeres and didnt do it here again.
Unfortunately the week we were there was very windy so a lot of high waves - which we loved, but couldnt use the water sport section much! they did have a great one!
Trips - we took a cab - $23 to Playa del Carmen - one way and spend the day shopping and walking on their great beach! we also took the ferry to Cozumel - rented a car and toured the island! there are some great but weird looking restaurants on the east coast of the island - but the food is delicious! best fried fish ever! We didnt take any other trips as we mostly came to relax and charge our batteries. There are a lot of things to do around - book the trips with your vacation rep in the resort and don't talk to timeshare people in airports as they will offer you cheap trips but with hidden agendas.


Recommendations :
- they really should get a beach bar service! with a beach this big - it's hard to walk to the pool bars all the time! we were at other resorts that had beach bars or people serving drinks on the beach. Nothing here - a bit dissapointed!
- also, if you're not at the Palace or Club Premium, you dont get premium alcohol in your cocktails! this is the first AI resort i've seen like this. i asked for something with Bailey's and they said it's extra $.
- stay away from spring breakers! they were a lot at this resport. it was dissapointing to see a lot of drunk kids during the day with their parents close by! one girl passed out at the pool and their whole medical team was there. seriously? we'll probably go adult only again in the future!
- also, because of the spring breakers, we weren't allowed to get more drinks for our friends - they had a 1 drink per person policy at the pool bar - so we all had to go together to get drinks, you couldn't get a drink for your wife or husband if they weren't with you.
- for an all you can eat resort - room service should be free!

Overall - the resort is really nice! We had a great time! Not sure if i'll return here as there are so many other places to see and stay at! but we relaxed and enjoyed it fully!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Tropical in the Yucatan Building. Our room was ground floor - 7111 - the first regu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Roxana,

First of all thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience on trip advisor as you know a hotel is defined by the quality of service it provides to its guests. Since our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you know that your comments and suggestions are taken seriously.
Your kind explanation of Barcelo Maya Tropical is much appreciated; we are pleased to know you liked the rooms, beach, pools, kids area and other facilities. We will work on the issues you have mentioned as we truly want you to come back.
We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you in the future. We send you warmest regards to Pensilvania.

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Arriving at Barcelo Maya, you are immediately intransed by the beautiful lobby. Check in was a bit different. We got there @ 11pm. We were given our wrist bands that gave us access to everything except our room. The rooms are not ready until 3pm. There is a place to change into your swimwear. And lunch starts @ 10:30 at the Grills by the pool, and 12:30 at the big buffets. (breakfast starts 7am and dinner at 18:30)It takes a bit to learn the schedule but you will NOT go hungry here !!! The food is very good and we never saw a need to go to one of the fancier restaurants during our 7 day visit. The grounds here are immaculate. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. You can be as busy or lazy as you want be. There are many options. We chose to go to the ruins of Tulum and Coba. Climbing to the top of the 130 foot Nohuch Mul was well worth the effort as you are rewarded with a very breath-taking view of the jungle below.( tip: rent a bike) We also went to "Explor" for ziplines, cave river rafting, and swimming, and amphibious vehicals. Great fun is to be had (tip : buy tickets online and take a taxi you will save $$$) Back to Barcelo the beach is always inviting and clean, swimming in the ocean is very fun with few rocks in the main section. ( tip: wear water shoes or vibram five fingers) The pools are just as pristine as the grounds and drinks are always a short swim away.
( tip: take plenty of your own sunscreen $35 to $45 per can here) And lastly, souvenirs are everywhere there are loads of shops in every section of the resort. I was very surprised at how low the prices were, they could have easily charged double what we were paying. This was an AMAZING vacation with my family. Even the teenaged daughter who at home is an online/in room hermit, had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your review on trip advisor and for your kind comments regarding our friendly staff and facilities. We are pleased to know the work made by the Chef and his team has counted with your approval, as you mention we have extensive buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner where guests can enjoy a great variety of food at an air-conditioned environment, as you says if you want to continue your days near the pool area, then we count with Snack Bars which provide a wide variety of food as well from 10:30 a.m. until 6:30 pm. We really do not want our guests to go hungry here!
We appreciate your comments about this gorgeous destination: Riviera Maya; indeed you can enjoy beautiful days and nights with a wide sort of activities and places for everyone.
Once again thank you for having chose Barcelo Maya Tropical for your recent stay and really hope to have your preference for your next holidays
Sincerely

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very nice staff, always smiling and polite. Check in took very long and I can't see a reason for that ( took more than 30 minutes). Very clean room, poor pillows and bed is not very comfortable. Our bad....we were there in march with way too many very loud,obnoxious, disrespectful march breakers. Recommend the place but not at that period! Food is fine in buffet...excellent in restaurants..wine is mediocre. Beautiful beach.

Room Tip: If you want quiet......request a room far from the theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Francine,
Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction.
We thank you very much your comments and we will work to improve every day. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Sincerely,

La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Suffield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a family vacation with a 7 & 5 year old. Overall, we had a great trip! I could offer many recommendations, but the most important one is to pack plenty of sunscreen. Should you need to purchase a standard sized bottle down there, it will cost you $45! Also, buy your own blow up tubes at home and pack them with you. They will blow them up for you.

I thought the food was good. I'm not a big fan of buffets, but it's just easier with kids. The buffets were clean. In fact, the whole resort was clean. The worst thing that I saw was not from the staff at all, but from a woman who I saw in the bathroom - who didn't wash her hands! - then saw her moments later in the buffet line. This is why I don't like buffets. My suggestion would be to swap out the serving utensils regularly and provide hand sanitizing stations near each buffet entrance.

If you are going to make reservations at the Japanese restaurant, make sure you specify that you'd like to sit at the hibachi. The do have regular tables in there. The chefs really do a good job entertaining you while they cook your food.

My kids loved the kids club - the 5 year old loved it more. The staff there were great and I felt safe leaving her with them.

We went to Xel Ha one day. Took a taxi. It was such a beautiful place. Lots of snorkeling to be done, but we didn't do much of it at all and still had a great time. We tubed down the river, husband and 7 year old jumped off a small cliff. Your entrance fee included food and drinks. You should ask the taxi driver how much he wants to getyou there before you get in. The ride back was about $5 cheaper. Great day and glad we went!

We had an issue at check in with our room. They tried to put us in a room with no balcony or patio. No thank you! This is Mexico - bring on the heat, humidity, and sleeping with the sliding doors open! After speaking with the manager about our room being unacceptable, he moved us into a suite. The suite was great with king bed, couch, 2 bathrooms, 2 sliding glass patio doors, but for what we paid, we thought it was well deserved!

I would come back here. Cleanliness is very important to me while vacationing and this place was clean. I would probably try the Colonial though (because it is more centrally located and the kids club is right in front - as long as my kids were still interested in going to the kids club.) We stayed at Iberostar, which is approximately half hour closer to the airport, about 5 years ago. My husband said he'd rather go back to Iberostar because they have the winding pools, lazy river, and wave pool - basically more to do with the kids.

It's true what they say about the wash clothes here - they are scarce! You really have to keep on them about that!

Overall, I think anyone would be happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach/pool would be my preference. There will be a lot of walking wherever you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear LovesTheSun1976,
Let us start by thanking you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor regarding your family vacation as well as your kind evaluation of our Service, Staff, Facilities and Cleanliness.
We really appreciate your kind recommendation to all your friends and hope to host you again in the future.
Best Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I first want to start out by saying that the resort was absolutely beautiful. But the service was alot to be desired. Took atleast 30 minutes to stand in line to check in since they only had 2 people at the front desk at all times. Upon arrival we were changed from 3 different rooms, when we finally got into the last room the sheets had stains all over them, toilet had remnants of someone else having used it. Did not realize at this time that I would be awoken twice a night by the laundry truck at 2am and 4 am that backed up outside our room with the loud muffler and ice maker outside our room that ran constantly. Had to make 7 calls to the front desk for restock of soda to the mini bar. No consistency when it came to the housekeeping of the room. By the 3rd day we had bugs in our room. (which I know is common in the islands) but still skeeves me out. Our trip included 3 ala carte dinners in which we were only able to use 2 since they did not have any reservations until 9:30/10 at night (We had our 8 year old son with us and that was just too late for us to eat). I do realize that the week we were there it was the start of spring break which is more reason to have additional staff. In my opinion for as busy as the resort was they did not have enough staff. With speaking to other people that were vacationing there that had stayed there in the past, this was their worst trip also and they would never returnto this resort. I would have to say for the money that we paid I am very disappointed and I definitely would not return to this resort. :(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Tara P,
We appreciate very much your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor; we apologize because you a bad memory of your vacations, you can be assured we will continue working to improve. Barcelo Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities.
We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.