We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about everything they said it was...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Tropical
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special autumn Offer
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just about everything they said it was...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This resort was just about everything they said it was. We arrived just after Christmas and left just after New Year's and apparently it is a very busy time. That could explain some of the problems, but not all. The first thing we noticed was that even though it was a very busy season, it didn't seem like there were a lot of people there. There were no lineups anywhere, the pools weren't over crowded and we could use just about all the facilities (except the specialty restaurants that were pretty much booked solid until like 8:30 - 9:00 - not too bad, I guess - we are on vacation after all...)
So, without having lineups anywhere, it did seem strange that I had to wait until the 3 gals at the front desk to stop chatting with each other before getting any attention. Then, any service I did get was (seemingly) always interrupted by a phone call. It was as if all phone calls get priority over anyone in person - odd...
Beyond the front desk (who provided ~ok~ internet service for a cost (actually turn out to be handy - the whole family could use the same password, just not at the same time)) everything else was pretty good!
The buffets (especially seafood night on New Year's eve) were great and the special restaurants were ok as well.
The theatres provided some sort of entertainment every night - nothing spectacular, but a nice place to hang out and have a few drinks...
Generally speaking, some things didn't make sense - like being able to eat poolside and no free wifi in the lobbies - but overall - it was a good experience. We were continually comparing it to the Palladium (which we visited a couple of years back and which we though was maybe a notch above the Barcello). That being said, I thing they did a great job of making a very busy time of year feel very relaxed - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear YYC-dad,
We have read your opinion and we would like to send you a sincere apology for lack of Front Desk service. You can be assured one of our goals is to provide service and facilities of great quality. We really appreciate your time. We would be grateful to have another opportunity to welcome you back.
Best Regards to Canada,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    587
    195
    104
    56
See reviews for
758
590
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical and had a wonderful time! We were greeted with a "welcoming cocktail" and everything went as promised for the 5 days we were there. The help at this Barcelo resort complex are great. They all seem to enjoy their jobs and are always helpful. The resort consists of 4 separate "properties" but you have access to everything at all of them. The white sand beach is beautiful and has more than enough lounge chairs. You don't have to run do to the beach in the morning to "claim" your loungers!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear dschwab_ 1,

Thank you very much for having choose Barceló Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation.

We look forward to see you!. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back.

Warmest Regards to New Brighton.

Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is my 7 time! Just a great hotel! Food as always fantastic! Beach the best! Pillows hard but rooms great! Stayed in the Veracruz building room 7680 -third floor -garden view /very quiet! Just time to relax , to take it easy, wi-fi $50 for the week-week worth it if the is your thing. I think if you want to get away from the real world for a eek or two , this is the place .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 13terry,

We appreciate your kind comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back.

We look forward to host you again in the future.

Warmest Regards to Calgary, Canadá.

Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We just stayed at the Barceló Tropical/Colonial Resort in the Riviera Maya, from Jan 20-30th. Our arrival and check in was easy. We were given a welcome drink while waiting. We were put in the Veracruz building on the third floor, which is a bit of a walk, but nice location, close to the pool area and bar and grill. There is an elevator in each building. Our room was very nice and spacious, the view wasn't anything spectacular, but the balcony was nice. We were given a welcome gift of some grapes and a bottle of some type of Mexican liquor, the mini fridge was always well stocked. Our clock in the room never worked, kept flashing the entire time, and we were told 4 times that someone would come fix it, but no one ever did, so we just turned it around so we couldn't see it. This resort is huge, consisting of 5 connecting resorts, so there is always somewhere to go and different eating places, several different theaters, so make sure you check it all out. We ate at the Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, and Japanese specialty restaurants...they were EXCELLENT! There is a little problem with trying to get reservations into the restaurants...but theres someone in the lobby all day and into the evening to help with that. You can pre book reservations when you get there, so make sure you book days in advance if you can. Especially the Japanese restaurant, there's regular tables and tables with the "show", so you can have your meal cooked right at your table, which was wonderful, so ask for a table with the show, and book early. And if you can't get into the specialty restaurants, the buffets are great. There's two large buffets right by the tropical/colonial, and another large buffet by the beach Caribe, and another over at the Beach resort--this one is a little more upscale, and very nice. We ate there our final night, and had outside seating, which was very romantic. The views are spectacular....water and fountains and greenery everywhere. Lots to do, mini golfing, bean bags, ping pong, and other games. We never had trouble finding a chair on the beach or by the pool. The beach is beautiful and you can walk for a long ways. We took lessons on the small catamarans and took that out sailing one day, for no charge...lots of water sports that don't cost extra. They have several beach grill restaurants which were good--never have to go without something to eat.
The pools were a little cool for me, I never did swim in them, although they were beautiful. We found a Jacuzzi that was tucked in behind the spa...wish we would have found it sooner, it also has a sauna. They have a dolphin attraction right in the resort too, so you can pay to swim with dolphins, etc., but you can watch it all for nothing, which was fun.
One thing I was disappointed in, when we booked, we were told,as most other people also ,that you get coupons worth $2000 resort credit. We did get the coupons, but never used any. Most are so much off a purchase of a large amount (for ex: $15 off a purchase of $250 at the gift shop), so I'd say they were pretty much useless.
The staff was very good and friendly, Everything is well kept up and they are constantly working to make it nice. There is a Mexican shopping center right in the resort, with many shops to go to. They have special events most nights at 6:30 in the shopping plaza and they give away prizes, and have entertainers and food....we went to the Mexican fiesta which wasn't much, but we went to the carnival and there was a bar set up and dancers dancing with everyone and a show and lots of interaction with all the guests-that was really lots of fun!
We took a local bus into playa del Carmen twice, which you can catch just outside the resort, only paid 60 pesos for the two of us each way, which is less than $3 a piece. You can take a taxi but was told that it would cost upwards of $20 each way. The bus drops you off at the bus area and you only have to walk a couple blocks to shops and the beach, etc, and then you just go back to the bus area when done, and tell them where you need to be dropped off, and get on and just enjoy the ride!
The resort also has many bars, one great thing is they have a fruit bar by every bar, which is stocked with fresh fruit, cookies, popcorn, peanuts, olives, etc..very nice idea. Only thing missing in bars is some music.
Like I said before, they have several theaters, with entertainment at 9:30 nightly for an hour and the shows are varied. They have so many talented dancers and singers, we enjoyed many shows.
I could go on and on, and will certainly answer any questions anyone would have, but I certainly recommend this resort. We had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to go back!
One other thing. we like to sleep with our sliding door to the balcony open at night, and we had neighbors with children that would go out on their balconies late and be loud and it sounded like they were in our room, so I had to close our door a few times. Noise in the hallways is also quite loud, but still all in all, wonderful

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool areas, and try for a free upgrade-we did but they didn't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear gkd624,

Thank you for your preference and all your comment, we hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as we would like the opportunity to keep providing you with the level of service you expect from the Barceló Maya Tropical.

Since our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, we want you know that your comments and suggestions are taken seriously.

Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back.

Warmest Regards to Westbrook, Minnesota.

Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just got back from barcelo tropical and had a great trip. The resort was amazing we had been to smaller resorts and were a little worried about how large this one was but we had no problems getting around it was really nice having all the choices! The beach and pools are amazing also the help was awesome of course tips do help!! It is very humid there so the bedding felt damp but that's not their fault so keep the air up a bit and that did help. Also a special thanks to Oscar at the pool bar and Isabella at the tequila bar they were amazing!! We would strongly suggest this resort to anyone looking for a nice getaway!

Room Tip: 7137 very quiet. Also this one is central located for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Karen M,
Thank you very much for your recommendation. Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction.
We look forward to host you.
Best Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were here Jan. 27 to Feb3,2014. The grounds are expertly maintained and the setting and views are akin to fantasy island. The food is just ok. I did get the stomach issue after only 3 days, which limited my enjoyment of the many wonderful activites that are included in the all inclusive package, given I had to keep close distance to any given restroom. If it weren't for this issue, I would certainly return, given the pure beauty of the resort and setting. The workers are wonderful, but be sure to tip them, they say all tips are included, but the workers are not paid much and are most deserving.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yucatan building, we could hear the ocean waves from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Deb3259,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barceló Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation and we deeply thank your comments regarding our Staff, gardens and food are always much appreciated.

Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!.

Warmest Regards to Lake Orion, Michigan.

Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our second holiday at Barcelo Maya. We really enjoyed our stay. Beach in front of the Beach and Caribe was the best for few rocks and calmer water. We took our 2.5 and 4 year old with us. They had a great holiday. The waterpark is nice, lots of water coming down the slides. The food and beverages were also good. Buffets are consistent, we always found food we like. The resort is large, but enjoyed the walks. There are lots of paths to get around so you can explore more areas of the resort. The beds are not the most comfortable, but I did sleep without much trouble. Queen size beds would be nice. We would like to see more areas to change little people. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. We were there at the Beach side as a couple in 2007 and enjoyed it, so we went back. Not a lot of difference that we remember between the Beach and Tropical. Lots of things to do and see at the resort. We had an educational swim with dolphins which we all enjoyed. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Family6877,
Thank you very much for your recommendation and for being our repetitive customer. Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction. We look forward to host you.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.