We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Tropical
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Sioux Center, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just got back from barcelo tropical and had a great trip. The resort was amazing we had been to smaller resorts and were a little worried about how large this one was but we had no problems getting around it was really nice having all the choices! The beach and pools are amazing also the help was awesome of course tips do help!! It is very humid there so the bedding felt damp but that's not their fault so keep the air up a bit and that did help. Also a special thanks to Oscar at the pool bar and Isabella at the tequila bar they were amazing!! We would strongly suggest this resort to anyone looking for a nice getaway!

Room Tip: 7137 very quiet. Also this one is central located for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Karen M,
Thank you very much for your recommendation. Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction.
We look forward to host you.
Best Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    592
    197
    106
    58
See reviews for
761
600
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were here Jan. 27 to Feb3,2014. The grounds are expertly maintained and the setting and views are akin to fantasy island. The food is just ok. I did get the stomach issue after only 3 days, which limited my enjoyment of the many wonderful activites that are included in the all inclusive package, given I had to keep close distance to any given restroom. If it weren't for this issue, I would certainly return, given the pure beauty of the resort and setting. The workers are wonderful, but be sure to tip them, they say all tips are included, but the workers are not paid much and are most deserving.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yucatan building, we could hear the ocean waves from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Deb3259,

We are pleased to know your comments, since they help us to constantly improve, thank you very much for having choose Barceló Maya Tropical for your vacation as well of your kind recommendation and we deeply thank your comments regarding our Staff, gardens and food are always much appreciated.

Once again thank you very much; we look forward to see you!.

Warmest Regards to Lake Orion, Michigan.

Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our second holiday at Barcelo Maya. We really enjoyed our stay. Beach in front of the Beach and Caribe was the best for few rocks and calmer water. We took our 2.5 and 4 year old with us. They had a great holiday. The waterpark is nice, lots of water coming down the slides. The food and beverages were also good. Buffets are consistent, we always found food we like. The resort is large, but enjoyed the walks. There are lots of paths to get around so you can explore more areas of the resort. The beds are not the most comfortable, but I did sleep without much trouble. Queen size beds would be nice. We would like to see more areas to change little people. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. We were there at the Beach side as a couple in 2007 and enjoyed it, so we went back. Not a lot of difference that we remember between the Beach and Tropical. Lots of things to do and see at the resort. We had an educational swim with dolphins which we all enjoyed. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Family6877,
Thank you very much for your recommendation and for being our repetitive customer. Feedback from our guests, both past and present, helps us improve our services and achieve our main goal, which is complete customer satisfaction. We look forward to host you.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The resort, itself is beautiful. Large open air areas. Dining was great. The rooms, themselves are average but nice. The entertainment was less than average, but I may be spoiled on cruise ship entertainment. The staff were all very nice and friendly. Make your reservations at the specialty restaurants for the whole week when you get there, as they fill up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Indianafamily0f5,
We appreciate your kind comments and the time you took to share them on Trip Advisor, it is very important for us to thank our guests’ confidence. Thank you very much for the score you gave us.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Warmest Regards
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just returned from the Barcelo Maya Tropical. This was my second visit to the property, having stayed at the Beach/Caribe resort the last time I visited.

Check-in was a breeze. We immediately got our keys, instructions on pool towel cards and a map to the property. Best of all, there was no seeing any "representatives" for a timeshare pitch! We got to go right to our room without any hassles whatsoever.

The room was a basic room with a king-size bed, a good-sized balcony and a lovely bathroom. There was plenty of closet space and a free-to-use safe. Although comfortable, the rooms can be quite noisy when people are out in the hallway--particularly in the afternoon, when the maids are cleaning. The doors must be slammed to shut properly, so anytime anyone leaves their room, you'll hear it loud and clear in your own. If you're interested in afternoon naps, your best bet is to nap on the beach and let the sound of the ocean lull you to sleep!

The beaches and pools at this resort are amazing. There is never a shortage of places to sit or shade if you desire either. The pools are not heated, and those used to warmer climates will likely find them chilly, but being from the Midwest, we found them to be pleasant after the initial shock wore off. There is a lot of great snorkeling right off the beach, particularly in front of the Palace resort and near the on-site pier, where there are tons of fish and other wildlife. We saw stingrays, urchins and other interesting critters. There are stinging ants on the beach though, so watch where you stand. I came with itchy welts after getting bitten by a swarm that had overtaken my flip flops while I wasn't paying attention.

Service was hit or miss. We received extremely slow service in the Italian restaurant, but found the waiters in the seafood restaurant to be extremely accommodating and quick to respond. Bars were also inconsistent. At busy times, you could wait for quite some time while people holding out tips would get service first. I have tipped at all-inclusives before (at the end of the week, when service has consistently gone above and beyond), but tipping as an incentive only seems to encourage poor service overall.

The food is good, drinks are good, and the property is beautiful. A few cons: no free wifi. As you'll notice in my previous reviews, any hotel charging for wifi automatically will not receive 5* from me. When a Motel 6 can provide free wifi, it is unthinkable that a 5* "all-inclusive" hotel is unable to do the same. Room service is also not included. You must pay to have anything brought to your room. I've stayed at much less expensive resorts that include this in the cost of their rate, and find it a bit appalling that if you're willing to pay to "upgrade" to their "premium" room ($400 a week to upgrade), you can receive free wifi, room service, and "premium" liquor. Our vacation wasn't cheap to begin with, and it's sad that this kind of cruise line nickel and diming has started at all-inclusive resorts as well.

Also, this resort has some beautiful theaters. They're gorgeous, with lots of seating. However, the shows are horrible. They are not engaging or entertaining. We are in our early thirties and were nearly put to sleep by the shows. It's a pity that with such beautiful theaters the shows aren't better.

Overall, we had a great time and would be happy to return. The resort is lovely, and with a few minor improvements, the almost paradise could be a total paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear chollinger,
We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical for second time to expend your last vacation. Thank you very much for being our repetitive customer. We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. One of our goals is to provide service and facilities of great quality. We thank you very much for the kind description of the resort.
We would like the opportunity to host you again in the future in order to provide you with the level of service you expect from Barceló Maya Tropical.
Sincerely,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

So we went down for a big group wedding, and half the guests had stuff stolen from there rooms, we paid $400 to upgrade to premium when we got there, and still had to pay for room service, no service at the bars if you didn't have a wad of ones in your hand.... All in all a horrible experience!! Only reason I gave it a 2 is cause the beach was nice, even though they don't serve drinks at it

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear SchoolyD58,
Please accept our apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations; We can assure you Barcelo Maya Tropical is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities.
We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.
Warmest Regards,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We travelled to this resort in a group of 10 people - 2 grandparents, 4 parents and 4 grandkids the last week in January. The kids ages ranged from 14months to 8 years old. The best thing about this resort are the beautiful pools - including the water park for kids. The adult pools were beautiful and plentiful (not too crowded) with swim-up bars. In addition there was a children's water park with at least 7 big-kid slides and 2 little-kid slides and fountains that sprayed water around. It was entertaining for all of the little ones in our group. The 8 year old made friends and ran around for hours entertained. The 14 month old kept doing "loops" on the baby slides - go down, then walk around to climb back up, then go down and around again! The 3 year old in the group even went on some of the larger slides (by choice - in addition to some we put him on to be caught by an adult). It was awesome. We didn't use the "Barcy club" which is the child-care of kids ages 4+ since it was indoors and the kids ages 4+ were having too much fun playing outside.
The food was pretty good for an all-inclusive - definitely in the top one or two of all the all-inclusives I've been to (which has probably been ~ 7 for me). The drinks were pretty bad but I'm pretty picky. The frozen drinks were just way too sweet. They must use some "cheap" mixer in them and they tasted like flavored sugar. We started asking for special made concoctions over time and that partially helped. The wine wasn't good but for another ~$60 you could get a decent bottle (Rosemount). The outside bars had poorer quality and usually slower service. The restaurants had breakfast at 7am-10:30am, then lunch from 12:30-3 and then dinner 6:30-10pm. For us the later lunch and dinner starts were a pain as the kids were hungry by then (and getting tired by the time dinner finished). We didn't like that you had to eat-in to eat. There was NO food by the pools and food couldn't be carried out. This was a pain since you couldn't be wet, had to have shoes and be covered to enter *every* eating venue. Also a pain since you couldn't grab a snack for the kid and bring it to them - instead you had to change them, sit indoors to eat and then head back out. At all the restaurants most of the drinks are brought to you by waiters and you can wait up to 15-20 minutes for them to get to you and bring you a drink (but other times it could be faster). The buffet service was much worse than the more-outdoor grills. All restaurants had high-chairs for the babies. Also the reservation menu-based restaurants were booked until late in the week. The service was pretty bad at them - we waited probably 15-20 minutes for our first course to arrive at one - with the kids getting their meal 10 minutes before the adults (which we asked them not to do since then what do the kids do while we eat?). Then the next course we also waited for and sometimes they got part of the group's drink orders but then didn't come back for the rest for another 10 minutes - very weird. These menu restaurants also book up quickly. On Sunday the earliest we could make a reservation for 8 people was for Thursday night. Also the various available timing was not very flexible (ie later or earlier than we would prefer). But there was reasonable variety for the food and the food quality was pretty good. Our full group could always find something to eat that we truly enjoyed.
The night-time shows started at 9:30pm - a bit late for my taste (please see above that we were traveling with little kids that started their days at 6am) but perhaps for some the start time might be okay. We saw a couple of shows for the first 15-30 minutes. The Mexican show was pretty good, the circus was interesting gymnastics display. Nothing (IMHO) worthy to stay up too late for given that we had non-programmable alarms (those kids). Also the store area (has maybe 15 stores/booths) has "shows" 3 times per week (Mon, Wed and Fri). It can be more interesting to visit the stores then since food, a bar and entertainment occur on those nights.
The rooms were fine. I think all rooms (at least the 3 in our group) smelled a bit musty/moldy. The rooms had king or two double beds. They also had a stocked fridge with beer, soda, juices and water (no extra charge). The towels and linens were definitely high quality. And the rooms had a sofa-bed for those that need the extra space or you can "order" a crib for the little ones (nice!). This place is large so the walking distance between rooms can be time-consuming. In our party they put two of our rooms closer together but the 3rd was in a different building and maybe a 5 minute walk away. Kind of a bummer if you just want to see if someone is in their room or not. (We asked to have them together but only 2 of us were.) The rooms also have a safe that you can program with your own special code to keep your valuables safe and we were surprised (in a good way I suppose) to find a note one day in our room advising us to use it since my husband left his new iphone out.
We made use of the free catamaran sailing and the free 1 hour (daily) snorkeling (right off the resort beach where we saw sting ray, coral, lots of colorful fish). Both were a blast! They also have windsurfers (that others used), ocean bikes (that no one used in the whole time we were there - even the staff said they just weren't fun) and kayaks that others used. Quite fun.
On-site they also have a dolphinarium where if you pay or not you can see the dolphins, watch mini-shows with the dolphins, watch them eat, swim, etc. And if you want to pay - then you can swim with them. This is right on-site not far from the sailboat check-out hut. Also there was free mini-golf which people in our group also enjoyed (plus many more family-friendly activities).
The beach as you walk closer to the Caribe side (another hotel on the same grounds) is softer white sand, the beach as you walk closer to the Palace side (another hotel in the same group on the same grounds) is more rocky but has better snorkeling. The beach at the tropical was soft white sand, with few shells, with some coral "pebbles". We were fine going in/out without beach shoes. The Tropical and Colonial are really the same resort (everything shared) except the lobby you check in/out is different. The restaurants are all the same. The Colonial side has a better, enclosed bar that serves coffee and snacks even at 5am! Just walk over! There were always plenty of beach chairs at both the beach and the pool - the best selections started to disappear ~ 9am. The gardens were awesome! We saw many iguanas (daily we saw 5-7 in a walkway in front of the Veracruz and Yucatan hotel areas near the Palmaras grill).
Even after a week there we still didn't learn how to figure out what was going on when/where. I wish they provided a week schedule at check-in so we knew what shows were happening, what activities, etc. We just happened to have to stumble upon most of it. (Also perhaps the info booth will provide the info if you know to ask them.)
One word of caution - the lights that illuminate the facility are easily reachable by infants/toddlers (this is Mexico - not the US where everything must be "dummy-proof"). Our 14mo was standing on the walk-way while it was still daylight (~ 5pm) and touched very briefly a halogen lamp adjacent to the walkway in the grass area (lighting up a sign). He burnt to blisters 3 of his fingers. Ouch! A lifeguard nearby trained in first aid helped guide us on what to do and also mentioned that there is a medic on-site (for additional cost). We didn't need/use the medic, but nice to know that one is there!
The reasons that I would gladly return to this resort are the family-friendly activities on-site and the reasonable food. I really disliked the drink selection although I started to partially accept it or acclimate to it as time went on (water just doesn't cut it at dinner!). I would hope for better timing of shows, better food-hours and the option of pool/beach side food selections (oh and reasonably priced or included decent wine). But really - their pools/beaches/activities are THAT good. I'll just bring my own wine next time! ;-)

Room Tip: This place is huge so ask for a room closer to the lobby and/or beach depending on what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Szut,
We would like to thank you for choosing Barcelo Maya Tropical to expend your family vacation. We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. One of our goals is to provide service and facilities of great quality. We thank you very much for the kind description of the resort.
We would like the opportunity to host you again in the future in order to provide you with the level of service you expect from Barceló Maya Tropical.
Sincerely,
La Gerencia
Barcelo Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Barcelo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.