We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Tropical
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend am I stayed here dec 31-jan 1. We had no problems with the resort. Food was good, expecially Kyoto. The hotel was always kept clean and plants taken care of. We liked all the water near the lobby. The Mexican shopping plaza was nice and the beach infront of the tropical/colonial was great. If you like snorkeling the waters great. Lots of fish. However if you jut want to swim there are a lot of large rocks and reefs to watch out for. We went to the other Barcelo resorts as well to check them out. It's worth the money to upgrade from the lower Barcelo resorts. We walked to the maya beach and inwas very unimpressed. Did not feel like I was at a nice relaxing resort and overall there was much less care taken with decorating, up keep and cleanlyness in this portion. The tropical and colonial were nice. The rooms are pretty plane but for as much as your in there who really cares. The palace has nicer rooms and a better pool. If you want something a bit fancier and over the top stay at the palace ( but use the tropical beach). I would highly recommend the tropical, colonial or palace.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    592
    197
    106
    57
See reviews for
761
598
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estherville, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Tropical from Jan 2 - 9. Made the trip for our wedding and traveled with a group of 26 people. Wedding was amazingly perfect - even better then we had expected. Our wedding coordinator (Xhail Flores) was great! Every single person on the staff that anyone in our group dealt with was more than helpful and always friendly! Food on buffets was much better than other all-inclusives we have gone to, so we couldn't complain in that area. Ala carte restaurants were great - lost of good things to say about Kyoto and the Mariachi Grill! Maid service was excellent - mini bar always stocked - towels always new - never any sand after cleaning (pet peeve of mine)! Bartenders were almost always easy to deal with - Janet was our favorite at the pool bar and Sharon was one of the night waitresses at the Tequila Lobby Bar. Jaguars was always a blast for us, but its what you make of it! Only bad thing was the drive in to Playa to 5th Ave - not a deal breaker by any means, just a slight negative. Beach here is breathtaking!! We had a blast and we will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Tropical....wow!!!! This resort is awesome!!! Staff very courteous....resort is immaculate!!! Beach is pristine--a little rocky in front of the hotel but wear water shoes and it's not bad. Had seen other posts that drinks were weak--not ours!!! Theater bartenders Alberto and Salavador were excellent!!! Would most definitely go back to this resort again!!! :) We had a couple of picky eaters with us, but they never went hungry!! Pillows were flat and hard, but after a day in the outdoors, it really didn't matter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Pros:
Lobby:Wonderful Staff, Check In was easy and fast (5 stars)
Lobby Bar: Great for drinks, quick service and never over crowded (4 stars)
Breakfast Buffet: Fresh fruits, excellent coffee or capuccino, grill custom omelette(5 stars)
Lunch beach grill: Large selection for vegeterians or meat lovers, chef cooking fajitas, cheeseburgers, porlk chop depending on days.(4.5 stars)
Dinner buffet: Menu alternate every second day but would also have new items daily(5 stars)
Pool bar: Excellent staff, quick service or self serve on tap corona (4.5 stars)
Beach: Very clean, lots of chairs(4 stars)
Ground: Spectacular!!!!! clean, well kept...flowers, grass, exterior decorations....(5 stars)
Towel service: Quick and efficient
A La Carte restaurants: Wow, really felt like they were independent restaurants(5 stars)
Day animation: 3 times everyday by pool.... not for me but was great and not too lenghtyso quiet for the most part of the day
Evening shows: No main event every night but had what I was looking for i.e. Dance shows accompanied by mexican music and very good dancers and great costumes.
Internet service: Worked perfectly when I used it( 3 times)

A la Carte: Tried Kyoto(Japanese), Santa Fe(steak house), Seafood and Mexican.....all were excellent but the best for me was Japanese.

Pools: Very very clean and water temperature was perfect.

Shopping: Mexican plaza within the Barcelo complexe, gift shop in all of the four lobby areas

In most gift shop they don't take cash, you either pay with credit card or change to your room. If you're going to buy goods I strongly recommend charging to your room, keep your receipts and make a one time payment at time of checkout.

Staff was very helpful, courteous and most of them(95%) spoke spanish and english. I was served in french( my main language) many times.....wow!!!!!

Being a guest at the tropical, I was also served drinks at other Barcelo's hotels on site.

Great for families or romantic getaways!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Veracruze block.... Ask for the third floor Enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved Barcelo Tropical so mutch in 2012 that we're going back in Feb.2013!!! The food service cleaness Staff (Samuel)everything was as perfect to my expectation . Me my wife and two kids 13 and 15 years old loved it and can't wait to go back to this wonderful Hôtel !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went here 3 summers in a row with our son and brother & sister in law with their 2 boys. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. If you want to go to bed early make sure you ask for a room away from the theatre or you'll hear it.

A ton of on site activities. The play area and club for kids is a ton of fun! Free snorkeling is good off the beach; saw a sea turtle, huge angel fish, large brain coral, etc. Food was pretty good. Grounds clean, loved the wildlife. Beach chairs are numerous. No worries to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a chair, there are more than enough for everyone. Mini golf alot of fun but take your bug spray when you go inland. Pool activities galore. Several huge pools.

Last summer took the Dolphin excursion off site. Great experience but I wish I had worn sleeves and leggings, lol. The microscopic jelly fish stung the tar out of me. Stung our 9 year old son a few times but he wasn't concerned and didn't mention it. But it wasn't enough for me to get out but was uncomfortable.

Spa was nice. Even got my mid back hair cut shoulder length while there and they did a great job. Loved the exercise facilities. Both outdoor and indoor.

If you don't have a great time here, then there is something wrong with you.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the theatre are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERMERE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Rooms are very clean. Coffee maker. Small fridge. Nice balcony. Lots of walking. Huge resort. Good kids club. opens at 9. Closes from 6-7 and then reopens 7-8. Didn't like that it closed and then only opened for an hour. Waterpark for kids is great. Max age is 11. Beach was very nice. Pier you could walk on and feed large fish. Lap pool. Archery. Tennis courts. ping pong. pool table. Lots to do. Spa was very expensive. Resort credits were a joke. 13 bucks a day for wifi. Check out is noon. They take american money. No need for pesos. Service was great. Buffet was good. A la carte restaurants were very good. Went to the italian, steak, mexican and japanese - all fabulous. Shows were okay. Some nights better than others. Didn't check out the other resorts as we were happy at the tropical. Took a 20 dollar cab ride to Akuman beach and swam with turtles. Cheap excursion and my 4 and 6 year old loved it. Went to Xel-Ha as well.

Room Tip: There is lots of walking so ask to be where you want to be - as in near kids club, buffet, beach bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.