We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard bed tip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Tropical

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Tropical
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hard bed tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Under the mattress there is a pillow top mattress cover. Pull it out and put it on top of the mattress and remake the bed. I don't know why they keep it under the mattress, but that's where it is if you want to have a softer bed. No other issues at this resort. Great vacation and great food. Bring your own steak knife at the steak restaurant if you want to be able to cut your steak..they give you something close to a butter knife. Don't get the fillet..it's not the same thing as you get in the U.S. It's only 1/2 inch thick. Japanese restaurant was the best..good food and so entertaining by the chef.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    574
    194
    102
    55
See reviews for
749
570
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This review short and to the point. Stayed Nov 30 - Dec 5 2012. The place and surroundings are immaculate. The pool was well maintained and the beach was nice not great (Bring swim shoes).The staff was very friendly and dedicated. The nightly shows were pretty good. On the negative side is why it gets only 3 stars
1. Food at the Buffets were terrible the only above average meal was at the seafood specialty restaurant. The steakhouse was a joke and did not even have a steak knife to try to cut thru the meats.
2.Drinks were low quality and in my opinion the bar staff may need to brush up on their skills. 2 bucks a drink for top shelf. Bought our own alcohol to the beach (No beach service)
3. Rooms were nice but the beds and pillows were like rocks
All in all three main criteria food,drink and bedding were subpar. I would advise to spend a little more for better quality (Palace Iberostar or Riu Resorts)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at at Barcalo Maya beach resort for 2 weeks in November with my husband and kids 7 and 4.we had a great time.There was so much for kids to do , water park ,kids club,kids disco,movie night and the Mexican pinata night. Simona at the kids club was amazing with dancing,cookie decorating ,face painting.my kids wanted to cry when they said good buy to her. we have done a lot of travelling to different tropical destinations ,this was the first time I felt totally comfortable leaving the kids at the kids club .The food was awesome the lobster at the seafood rest was a favorite .wait staff was helpful every where we went to eat. the beach was beautiful we did alot of swimming in the pools as well.we got to see sea-turtles make there was to the ocean and there lots of lizards and birds around the hotel.the kids liked the mini golf (bring bug spray) and my daughter went to the kids spa (so cute) .we are already planning our trip back. you will have a super time here,great drinks .one thing i would change ,when I was at the pool I would want a bottle of water and would some times need to wait 15min to get a drink ,I think the bars outside could use some more staff to cut back on wait times.I did find the beds hard but nothing I could not deal with and the TV's in the rooms where small and older.If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October for 10 days with my Mother for a family Reunion. Our family was getting together to celebrate a birthday !!
From the moment of arrival I got an instant headache. I had booked our rooms 5 months in advance and the hotel put us in the Barcelo Colonial because they had no more rooms left in the Barcelo Tropical.
We did not fight with them on this as we had just come all the way from Australia !!!
As their was 22 of us when we booked the restaurants for dinner they were not very helpful with seating us together. However while staying at the hotel their were 2 conventions for over 2000 people. The hotel closed down half the beach for them and allocated certain pools for them. One night they had a show on in the theatre for them which went on until 1am in the morning and they called this a family/children friendly hotel…. The noise was so loud we complained 3 times.
By the way this hotel has NO FREE WIFI, not even in the lobby!!!
The food was very much the same day in day out and for lunch and for dinner.
One last thing…. customer service at this hotel is crap they only take notice of you if you have money! But don’t get me wrong we met some nice waiters here, who were very good!!
Over all i would not rate this a 4 star hotel , its not even close!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

There are 5 resorts here; we stayed at the Tropical which is close to the Colonial sharing a buffet etc. The Palace is a step up and set apart. Overall an excellent resort, clean with friendly, hard working staff. Some of our favourites: Christy, Larissa, Anselmo, Marcy, Paula. The clock in our room didn't work and it was replaced quickly (after we figured out which department to tell...not the bell man, chambermaid or front desk). We knew to just keep telling everyone until we got it right (the concierge). Decent a la carte restaurants, especially the Italian. Beautiful beach, its own small reef so great for snorkeling (we took our own gear and used it every day we weren't on an excursion), good pools and activities. Lots of excursions and things to do in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Recently had a 10 day stay at the Tropical. This was our 2nd time there and as before, it was wonderful. Except for the fact that we had several in our group. 3 couples were upgraded to the Palace, the rest of us left at the Tropical. It was fine with me since I was told there wasn't that much difference in rooms. I think our beach was better. I was just a little disappointed we were separated and not upgraded as a group since we traveled together. I do think they need to do some updating at the Tropical. We had some issues with things in our room. Overall we had a great time. The bar staff at the Barcelo are wonderful! Gilberto in the theater bar is GREAT!! Martin in the disco is SUPER!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor this time instead of 1st floor. It seemed to help with dampness from humidit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second time to Barcelo Riviera Maya Tropical! It was just as good as the first! The beach is awesome! Snorkeling was awesome also! Restaurants were really good, buffets were okay. Gilberto and Martin our bartenders at the theatre were as good as we remember! We went with a group of 18!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Tropical

Address: Ctra. Federal Chetumal - Puerto Juarez, Km 266,3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Tropical 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Maya Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Tropical Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Tropical Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.