We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon to be 8th trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soon to be 8th trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I will be back to barcelo colonial in aug. We have stayed at beach/caribe side and tropical before may times. We enjoy the colonial side for its location. We have been going club premium and love it! Every time we go we bring more people with us and our group gets bigger every time. This year we are going again in august. We find that to be an ideal time , not crowded, always availability and staff not overworked, as many people and families are going back to school at home. This time we will be celebrating 2 honeymoons , a 25th wedding anniversary and most of all celebrating the end of my cancer treatments!!!! Such a great resort with such happy memories!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    811
    249
    120
    80
See reviews for
994
963
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 2 weeks at Barceló Maya Colonial. This is my 5th time at this complex and my first visit at Colonial.

When I arrived at the reception desk, my requests had not been given. Took awhile, but finally got straightened out. After that glitch it was smooth sailing.

The al a carte's were superb, especially Kyoto, Santa Fe and best of all, Mare Nostrum.

There is a "very special THANK YOU" I have to mention.

The manager of Mare Nostrum, EDEN. I have never been treated by anyone, anywhere, as wonderful as he was. People everywhere could take lessons from this gentleman. He not only goes the extra mile, he goes above and beyond. Eden made my trip extra special.
Thank you EDEN!!!! (and your staff)

I keep coming back to this complex because it is very well run, grounds are immaculate, and I love the beach and pools. Also, I feel very safe!!!!

It was also a great pleasure meeting the General Manager, Gregorio. Thank you Gregorio for my pictures.

Looking forward to next year. Wish it was sooner.

Thank you Barceló Maya Colonial for my wonderful vacation.

Juanita S.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Canada

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hi! We just spent 9 days at the barcelo Maya tropical and loved it! This was our second trip there in 6 months! We decided we want to get married there and spoke to the wedding office prior to leaving. We were told to email a wedding planner which we did but it's been over a week and had no response. Anyone know how long it takes to have a return email from the wedding planners? Not a good start to planning a wedding.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

spotless, efficient staff, good food, friendly people
when you arrive you are a little lost due to the huge site plus the four hotels are connected
you need a guide sort to speak, but when you get used to it, it's much simpler
the rooms are big, clean. the grounds are kept in perfect shape
you can see iguanas, lizards everywhere
entertainment shows every night
good foor and good drinks
one sour note, we had booked one room with one large bed but were given a two bed room, when we requested a room as booked they said they did not have any available, however, other people who arrived at the same time as us, without their asking, they were
upgraded

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a wonderful experience... the room was a bit musty and small but that is my only complaint. The service was wonderful and it was very clean everywhere. Loved it!
Bring lots of singles and fives for tipping. oh and definitely try the coffee at a kiosk in the mall.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed Early April...Clean Clean Clean and very beautiful grounds! Good Food all around! Lots to do! Especially for Families. Beautiful Beach. Helpful staff. Room average...few small issues but fixed quickly and loved that the day bed was very comfortable and big enough for our 11 yr old to sleep on. Tropical drinks not good! Towel Game in Effect...Grrrr. Nickel and Dime you at every turn WIFI should be free. Spring Breakers but they did try to keep them in one pool area so was not too bad. Overall enjoyed our stay. If they have overbooked themselves they will start early in the afternoon checkins trying to move you to another resort.....if you stay firm and have your reservation documents with you they will accommodate you. The later you arrive the more of a chance they will try to move you to another barcelo complex within the resort. Colonial most central but Nicer Rooms and beach at the complex next to the Colonial after I looked at it I probably would have booked that area anyway. So your choice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Barcelo maya resort is very big. There is a mall with bowling..and mini golfs, discotheque, waterpark etc.. For families with baby, it is a good resort... there are kids water park, spa and day care activities....food was not that great... also, in a single stay, you can reserve just 2 restaurants... for more you have to pay extra...we booked colonial because we wanted to be around center so that it is easy to commute with the baby.. but they gave us tropical... they say they treat all resorts as one atleast that's not how they advertise... there is a dolphinaris in the resort... the location is great... next to the resort there are cojple of cenotes and kantunchi cenote park... buffet food in the barcelo maya caribe is better than other buffets in colonial/tropical.. rooms were mediocre... we had booked three rooms and we needed to call each other often.. phones didn't work properly half of the time... my bro in laws room had times were they didn't get water in the bath for sometime... mini fridge didnt work properly...concierge and helpdesk are slow but overall the staff is friendly... overall, it is good value for the money paid... however if available i would prefer to stay in cancun at rius resorts.. the beach is also better in cancun with no sea weeds..

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayacolonial, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Jayeshvpatil,

Please accept our apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations; We can assure you Barcelo Maya Colonial is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities therefore we thank you very much for your comments.

We would be grateful to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely

La Gerencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.