We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We just got home from a one week stay at this hotel. Our group included a 17 year old, 18 year old, 2 in their 20's and 3 over 50. We all had a good time. The resort is very clean and well maintained. Beautiful huge pools and great shady beach area. Plenty of chairs and hammocks wherever you want to be. We didn't use the small children's area, but it had a great pool and activities for them. The younger ones in our group, snorkeled, rode a catamaran, kayaked and swam with the dolphins all at the resort. The beds were hard as some others have said, but they brought us a mattress pad after the first night, at our request, and the bed was perfect. Rooms were a little warm, but we called and they fixed that too. Everyone was very friendly and worked hard to see that we had a good trip. The buffets are large and I agree that everyone should be able to find something they like. You can't go to the restaurants every night, you get a couple of coupons and need to make your reservations as soon as you arrive. The check in went smoothly. We had requested an adjoining room with our travel agent, and that's what we got. You can't get your room until after 3, so we went to eat and changed into our swim suits and went to the beach. Our rooms were ready at exactly 3. These are my only complaints- there are not many waiters at the beach and pool area and the drinks are really bad. There were not many people drinking alcoholic beverages. I think it was because all of the drinks taste so bad. We tried numerous frozen drinks, and rarely got one we could drink. That didn't keep us from having a good time and I recommend this resort, especially for families. It is about a 1 hour ride from Cancun airport. There is a great shopping center just outside, so you don't have to go to town to shop for souvenirs and the prices were comparable to the shops in Playa. I have stayed at numerous resorts in Mexico, I would say it is about average. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Guanajuato building. It was convenient to pools, lobby, and dining. Would also be con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We are very happy to know you enjoy the services and of course we will take your kindly recommendations to improve every day. Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    858
    260
    123
    86
See reviews for
1,070
1,040
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have been to several all incluse resorts previously. Here they say it's all inclusive but they keep trying to sell you stuff. The service seems friendly until it comes down to money. We had a few complaints which were pretty reasonable, they had a chainsaw going every morning and all day until 6 pm. our dinner on the beach which was $200 was rained out and we still had to pay. our ac had only 2 settings, on and off because the temperature control did not work. We asked for a blanket but it took 3 trips to the front desk to get one. They offered us for our trouble to cover half of our wifi bill that came to $20. That's nothing compared to how much we spent on this trip ($3,000 for two). Would I return again? No I would not.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We recently visited this hotel. It was beautiful and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The huge pools were amazing. I loved the temperature of the water. And the swim up bars were a plus! The room was nice although we wish we had a king size bed instead of two fulls. I loved the restaurants. The Japanese one over the Italian one. Every night there they had activities to watch and different meal themes. I would most def come back. The only downside was the lack of hot water after 5pm. I know everyone showered at the same time in preparation for dinner but the water was almost cold even at 9pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your last visit to Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel.

Your comments have been reviewed with the staff in order to improve the attention to every single guest that we have the pleasure to host.
We regret any inconvenience during your stay and it will be a pleasure to show you the real service on your next visit.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed February 2014. I got engaged here!!! We went with 2 other couples. I honestly can't believe ppl have any complaints about this place. We all absolutely LOVED it, granted this was a first for all of us to an all inclusive resort. The staff were all so friendly. Every time we passed they would say, Hola. Food was good. The buffet has many, many different types of food. If you can't find something to like, shame on you for being so picky. The service at the buffet/restaurants was great also. We absolutely loved the beach and actually spent most of our time there. The room was great also. TV was old, but hey we didn't care! We were there on vacation to enjoy the beach, not stay in our room and watch TV. Yes the rooms smell kind of wet/mildewy, but we are in the tropics people where it's humid!! I've heard of people bringing air fresheners, but it did not bother us one bit. Not sure how the night entertainment was. We'd stay on the beach until dusk and then go back to our room and get ready for our supper reservations, which were usually at 9PM. We'd be in bed at a decent time to get up and enjoy the beach the next morning! Great snorkeling also on the beach. I saw multiple different fish, sting ray, and a sea turtle we could reach out and touch! I would go back in a heart beat and do not have one bad thing to say about this place. Beautiful, well kept grounds also. It is a bit of a drive from Cancun airport, but I took it as an opportunity to see some of Mexico's countryside! 100% recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hola!
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We are very happy to know you enjoy the services and of course we will take your kindly recommendations to improve every day. In fact all the TV's are new :)
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say i expected to be treated like a king i mean for the price i paid. I read about a person comparing to other hotels but come on those are more expensive. The beach is great and if I do not like the food I go out to downtown and period. Great grounds.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We spent a week at the Colonial Maya and we picked it because it was farther away from the Cancun strip. It was a little bit of a drive from the airport, but it was a great trip. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived and hit up the buffet. The food was good and we quickly had favorites that we just had to have. Our room was a little walk from the restaurants and the pool, but that's where you want to be. If you have a room by the theater it will be noisy! The shows were unique, but they were loud. We loved the pools and since we were there in the off season it was like we had them all to ourselves. The beaches were great except for the rocky entrance into the water. Once you got out a ways it was sandy, but the beginning steps were tough if you didn't have aqua shoes. We tried 3 of the sit down restaurants and enjoyed the Japanese hibachi the best. We swam with the dolphins at the resort for an extra fee and we had a great time! Overall our trip was awesome and we have already talked about returning!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We are very happy to know you enjoy the services and of course we will take your kindly recommendations to improve every day. Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We just got back from this awesome vacation with eight family members. I booked this trip through AAA, and was thinking about canceling due to the reviews on tripadvisor and the news media in general about Mexico, I'm glad we didn't, this was the best vacation ever!!
We arrived with three other flights and was surprised how quickly we went through customs (45min total time). After getting through the Time Share worm hold, we waited for our transportation which was 15min which wasn't bad due to the arrival rate.
Hotel: after the 50min ride to Tropical (further south than the others) we made it. We were greeted quickly with cocktails for everyone and checked in, maybe 10min if that, our luggage came up right after. The staff was very friendly and helpful and worked hard to ensure that everyone was comfortable. The food was just amazing (even at the buffet). The rooms were great and cleaned nightly. The beaches and pools was also outstanding. I also recommend the spa, Amazing couple massage!!
In summary, after visiting other resorts in the US and abroad, this was the best, you can always find issues wherever you go, however; the staff at Barceló will fix any issue that you may have, We will be back

Room Tip: We found that the second and third floors had a better view of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.