We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach, poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
brazil
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“beautiful beach, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The beach is wonderful, and if you are looking for that, you should be happy enough.the room is good and well-kept, the swimming pools are beautiful. However, some things must be considered:
1. unlike most resorts, you can´t have nice dinners every night. for five nights in the hotel, we could eat in nice restaurants only TWO nights. that means that in the other nights we had to suffer through the buffet serving that same boring food all the time. We went to the japanese restaurant and the steak house and the food was very food.
2. cold water is a luxury. the mini bar in the room did not make drinks cold, only cool at best. I talked to other guests and they had the same complaint. in the pool bar, the water was given to you basically at room temperature. and considering that it was very hot, you can imagine how pleasant it was.
3. bars were understaffed. if you wanted to get a drink, you would not be waiting for less than 10 minutes. and drinks were barely drinkable. everything was pretty watery and boring. also, getting a smile from one of the bartenders would be a prize!!!
4. service in general is not very good, Im afraid.
5. the resort is huge so I imagine that would tire people with small kids (not our case)
6. the resort is far from evrything. for us, that was not a problem, as we had rented a car, but if you plan not to, you might spend all your vacations stuck inside the resort.
7 last but not least: 14 DOLLARS A DAY FOR INTERNET. what a joke!!!!!

all in all, I would say, if you get great rates, go for it. we paid about 200 dollars a night and thought it was just about the right price for what we got. if you have to pay more than that, look for a better option.

Room Tip: there is no ocean view anywhere. whatever room you get will be pretty much the same. try to avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. Your recommendations have been analyzed with our Food & Beverage Manager in order to imporve our services.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    701
    222
    106
    72
See reviews for
817
793
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Please don't come here! I suggest Moon Palace, Riu Palace, or Hard Rock if you need a great place to stay in Mexico!

Here are the reasons why:

When I first arrived, one of the staff member told my party that we are staying at Barcelo Maya Tropical instead of Colonial! No, we booked at Colonial and we intend to stay there. Then she told us there are no more rooms available here and that we would have to stay at Tropical. We told her we were going to complain to the place we booked and WHAT DO YOU KNOW?! SHE FOUND US ROOMS AT COLONIAL! Strike one for lying.

We arrived early so we couldn't go to our rooms until 3 so they told us to leave our luggage for the bellhop to bring it to our rooms. Guess what? They didn't do it. We had to bring or luggage to our rooms ourselves.

The room was old and practically everything was pretty close to broken. The resort needs an update ASAP! See my photos attached. The fridge in the room was so tiny that you can barely fit any drinks and it wasn't even cold! Another thing broken!

The towels and pillows are so disgusting! Every single one has some kind of stains! So gross! I was going to take pictures of it but decided not to because it is really gross! Now I know why they are proud to be "eco-friendly". They don't wash them well.

Resort credits are pretty useless. It's just another way to scam guests for more money! At Moon Palace, their resort credits can go so far! They give out so much free stuff but here it's a scam for you to spend money. Don't bother buying the Internet, it doesn't work in your room according to one of the staff members. Pretty pointless to pay $13 and not being able to use it.

We stayed there for a week and we were limited to only 3 dinners at a restaurant! At Moon Palace and Riu, you can dine at the restaurant as many times as you want! This place is so cheap, allowing only 3 times!

It's also a pretty boring resort. There is no entertainment at night like Riu Palace! There's practically nothing to do at night here.

The buffets are whatever. Same old food everyday. They have "dinner themes" every night which translates to changing a few items to the so call theme. For example, Oriental night they would have egg rolls and beef in oyster sauce. Yes, having two Oriental items makes it okay to call the dinner theme Oriental night.

Being already stingy that they are, they close the buffet really early and open really late! They don't open for lunch until 12:30pm and dinner at 6:30! At Moon Palace and Riu Palace, they are practically open the whole day! This resort doesn't care about their guests but all they think about is taking money from guests and how to save money on their part. Hence, useless resort credit and opening late and closing early the buffet. There is technically only one buffet to eat at. There is also one at the beach, but it looks really sad. It's just all the food leftovers from the day before.

Also, no food allow outside the buffet! Riu and Moon Palace lets you take whatever you want outside of the buffet! But not here. Stingy resort.

Checking in and out takes so long! I don't know what they do but it can take up to 30 minutes!

With all the cons, there is two pros.

The service at the buffets and restaurants were excellent! Except the steakhouse. The servers at the Steakhouse couldn't care less if you were there and besides the food is so salty so don't even bother trying the place! The Japanese place was amazing! Excellent service, great entertainment, and amazing food! The Seafood place wasn't too bad either. Every single server at the buffet were super friendly too!

In addition, the pool is large and the beach is gorgeous. Not much to say about that.

This place has way too many cons. Please do reconsider choosing another resort to stay at!

Room Tip: Request a room that is no on the first floor. It's really loud on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network.
Allow us to comment that Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical are the same category Hotels including rates, type of rooms and services.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel has 3 hotels on the same property. Although it is separated by price as the most expensive, middle and cheaper, all are very nice. We stayed in the middle priced hotel. Food and entertainment and pool was awesome. You can go and see the other hotels and see their shows for free and you can eat and any hotels "lower" than the one you are in. The beach is beautiful throughout the whole resort and towards the Palace (the more expensive one) has a coral area and the fish are amazing. If you do anything there I would recommend the Segway tour that you get of the hotel. It takes you throughout the entire place and tells you interesting things about the entire property. I would not swim with the dolphins there, the pool is so small it seems inhuman to put dolphins in there and then ask them to do tricks.
The only bad thing I can honestly say about this hotel is that all liquor is INCLUDED. BUT they will try and give you the cheap stuff even after you ask. I understand why they would try and give the cheap alcohol, but not if you specifically asked for higher end alcohol. SEND IT BACK, they get the hint and then they remember not to try and sneak it in. They do not provide better service if you tip them, so hold on to you tips, its sad to say, but sooo true.
The hotel was doing renovation on the cheaper end and the kids clubs (for my aged kids) were closed and not relocated, so that was a shock because that is all our travel agent talked about was the kids clubs there.
Also everything pretty much closes down around 6pm, then there is NOTHING to do until 9:30pm, even the outside table tennis and basketball courts close, so it was hard to keep kids entertained during this long span of time

Room Tip: Don't stay by the theater, the shows start at 9:30pm and are so loud that if you room is near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical staff involved in your satisfaction. We are sure you will enjoy the new surprising services for all ages that Barceló Hotels is preparing for you! Also let us comment that during the afternoon at Plaza Mexicana we present a Mayan, a Carnaval and a Mexican Party including a new show for kids!
We are sure the next time you visit us, all your family will have a new adventure to tell!!
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I think Barcelo resort had everything we needed in our first family vacation in Mexico. They exceeded our expectations. The only extra stuff that we had to do outside the resort was visiting Tulum. Hotel Barcelo Colonial in my opinion has the best white sand beach on the 5 Barcelo hotels resort. We enjoyed the friendly staff and cleanliness of the restaurants. The Italian restaurant was the best. Although we loved the beach we spent few hours in the pool and enjoyed drinking by the pool bar. The pools are so large that you do not feel the crowd. Also, the staff were constantly working to keep it clean. The rooms are comfortable and the cleaning staff were excellent. What an organisation. I had never scene such energetic staff in all my hotel stays around the world. They were all friendly and constantly working to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We will definitely be back soon and if we ever decide on visiting other countries in the Caribbean we will start with Barcelo Hotels and resorts.

Room Tip: The room wasn't a beach front room and we didn't ask for one or cared to stay in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction. We are sure you will enjoy the new surprising restaurants that Barceló Hotels is preparing for you!
We are sure the next time you visit us, all your family will have a new adventure to tell!!
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leuparaleu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Overall a good vacation but ....small things make the difference. The room (6636) was excellent but the mattresses not as expected ; the bathroom excellent and clean but two soap dispensers were broken ( we complain three days in a row but without any success )
The restaurant and the food is excellent .I was impressed how the waiters are moving . They are working really hard.Do not hesitate to tip them .They deserve it.
But ... the Japanese one was a fiasco ( messed up the order ,the drinks and food) In order to avoid our experience make sure you ask for the table where the cook prepare the food right in front of you.There is different.
The pool is nice ,the bar v good. The beach would be excellent without those big rocks in the water. You could see all kind fishes as you jump in the water( even stingrays....!!!)
The entertainment on the beach or pool I would mark it 2 out of 5 or less
The shows are very good ( you can go to Palace where is A/C )
In order to have WiFi you have to pay ( a bit pricey : 50 bucks for a week for one device) I would include this one in the overall price.
The most stupid things are those $3000 coupons which you get at the check in but they are good for nothing.
The dolphin show is good to be seen.
We use Colectivo ( their public transportation) to visit Tulum) ,It is safe .There is A/C as well.
We use taxi one day to go to Akumal ( $40 one way for five people).The driver is willing to wait for you 3 or 4 hour ,at no extra charge, to ride you back.It Is safe
As a conclusion I would recommend this resort .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the new restaurant we are preparing for you!
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a beautiful resort in a beautiful area (Riviera Maya), but as beautiful as the property is, the level of service at this resort makes it impossible for me to recommend the resort. The level of service here just does not compare with any of the many other similar resorts (Iberostar, RUI, Catalonia, Dreams, BlueBay, Grand Palladium, Sandos, ....) in the area that offer much better service along with a beautiful property.

We just returned from a week at this resort, and while I won't say the staff ruined our vacation (I wouldn't let myself not enjoy it!), the staff (especially the front desk) certainly did everything they could to make things less than enjoyable. They clearly didn't care one bit about their customers’ concerns. If you're interested in the full details, here goes...

- When we got to the resort we were told there was no reservation for us. After several minutes talking with the people a Barcelo Maya Tropical, we found out that our reservation had been switched to another BM resort (Colonial) without our knowledge or approval, and no, this was not an upgrade. Thankfully our transfer company (USA Transfers) had stuck around until everything was fully taken care of, and they repacked the van (6 of us) and took us to the other resort. (Thanks also to the transfer company on taking the initiative to assure our pickup at the end of the week was from the right resort. Thankfully the transfer company's service was significantly better than the hotel's.) Just a minor irritation so far…

- We'd booked three rooms for ourselves and our teenage children, and specifically asked in the reservation that the rooms be adjoining. Not only were they not adjoining, they were not even in the same building. (Would anyone feel safe going to a foreign country and having their 13 and 14 year old sleeping in a separate building?!!!) After another half hour of checkin delays (in addition to being sent to a separate Barcelo resort) they finally agreed to put us all in at least the same building, though spread across various floors. Throughout the week we asked numerous times to have this fixed (have rooms at least on the same floor of the same building) and were continually told that they were at capacity so no changes could be made.

- On the first night we were there, people suddenly walked into our room right as we were in the middle of getting dressed for dinner. My wife was not fully dressed at the time and was incredibly embarrassed. I immediately called the front desk and was told "We'll take care of it". I asked several times what "We'll take care of it" meant, but could get no further explanation nor clarification. Calling our kids rooms, we found out that our sons had had a similar issue, though at least not while changing clothes.

- Once we returned from dinner that evening we found out what "We'll take care of it" meant. The front desk had erased all keys for the room (including ours), and we could no longer get into our own room. After a long walk to the front desk (this place is giant), we were told that their computer system was down, and that they could not reissue any key cards until the next morning. If we'd go back to our room and stand outside for a while someone would come by with a master key and let us in. We asked how we could get back in later in the evening if we went out to the show or anything else, and were told we'd need to come up to the front desk each time we wanted in and ask for someone to meet us at the room.

- They then explained that a short power glitch (all lights in the resort had gone out) had wiped out all reservation info on the computers for that day, so they didn't know what rooms had been assigned to people and which were still open. Apparently, following the glitch they had then just handed out room keys for any rooms that had been empty earlier in the day, hoping the rooms were still open. I asked why they hadn’t at least sent a staff member to first to verify that rooms were empty before giving out keys to new people and they said they didn't have staff for that. Seriously?!?! They were giving out rooms to second sets of people and then just waiting to see who came back to complain, and having someone walk in on my wife and I was considered acceptable to them!!! I'm not generally spiteful, but hopefully someone lost their job over this asinine decision. Clearly the person behind this not someone suited to be in any kind of decision making position.

- At this point we were frustrated enough that we asked for our money back for the rest of the week, hoping to find an acceptably run resort nearby, but were told that once a reservation was booked it could not be refunded. We asked if we could at least get one night's credit following all of the issues of this first day, and were told no. We asked if we could at least have a manager contact us in the morning, and were told one would. No one ever did. The next morning, when we were finally able to get new key cards made, we again asked to speak to a manager and again were told none was available.

Through all of these changes we were never able to speak to a manager. Although we asked numerous times to speak to a manager we were told every time that none was available, and we never did get a follow up call from one. The front desk's only concern seemed to be to get people to go away as quickly as possible and to get to the next person waiting in line, never to actually resolve issues. At no point did they make any significant effort to resolve any of our issues, nor to even offer something as a way of making up for the issues they'd caused. (Something as simple as a bottle of champagne, even at an all-inclusive, sent to the room as an apologetic symbol could have made a big difference!) I'm a pretty mellow guy so maybe being a bit more boisterous and pushy to the staff would have given better results, but would you really want to have to fight battles every day on vacation? I'd reached my max level of frustration and finally just accepted that this place sucked and that it was up to me to make the best of it for the week.


- As for staff beyond the front desk, the bar staff seems to have a similar "who cares" attitude toward customer service. On the first day we were there we were shocked to hear a bartender loudly snap "We're closed" at a customer. We assumed the customer was probably drinking too much and being obnoxious (we've probably all seen the obnoxious drunk that won't accept closing time), but to hear the bartender snapping at a customer at a resort was a bit of a surprise. Ten minutes later though I looked at the time and realized even then it was not yet closing time. The pool bars have a sign saying that they are open till 7:00, and even at that point it was still not yet 7:00. The next day I remembered what I'd seen the day before, so walked up to the bar around 6:45 to assure we could get a last round of drinks before closing, but was told the bar was already closed. When I looked at my watch and mentioned it was actually just 6:42 the bartender checked the time on his cellphone (you'll see them often on their phones instead of serving customers), and smiled and offered to pour a beer, though said that other drinks were all done for the day. Of all the customer service nightmares I saw at this resort, to me this was the weirdest. They could post on their sign that closing time was whatever time they want (6:30, 6:00, 5:00, whatever). By closing earlier than the sign says all they do is piss customers off. Why not just change the sign to say 6:30, or 6:00 and then exceed expectations when you actually close at 6:35? This made absolutely no since to me as I watched it happen every day for a week. And then to be rude to patrons on top of it???

- Minor item of note – unlike many other resorts in the area there is no beach bar. If you’re on the beach you’ll need to walk up to the pool bar any time you want anything. And be ready for a significant wait in line.

- Another minor beach nuisance to be aware of - on multiple days BM booted people from large sections of the beach as they set up for other events (weddings/receptions, romantic dinners, etc.). I understand that they want to make some extra bucks on these activities, but it could certainly be handled in a more respectful manner for paying guests. Having a set area that they always do this in (on different days they booted people from different areas), or simply posting a sign in an area (ex: at 2:00PM today this section will close) would be nice. At the very least having a customer service focused person handling it would be nice. Instead it was maintenance people (not multi-lingual) trying to make people move, with people completely unclear as to why they were even getting booted. And then trying to find a new set of chairs for a group of people somewhere else along the beach at mid day is a real headache. This is especially a headache if you have teens in the water and/or other places during the day and they all then come back hoping to meet up in an area that is now emptied out.

- One last beach thing to be aware of is that you need to be very careful when swimming/snorkeling. They have swimming areas well marked with buoys and ropes, but I was amazed at one point to have a jet ski wiz past me as I was in the water. Thinking it was at least an inexperienced person renting a jet ski I was surprised to see it was actually two staff members, one with a lifeguard shirt, that had just cut through the swimming area on a jet ski. Later in the week we did see someone being taken out of the water by lifeguard staff. I'm not sure if it was due to a similar jet ski incident our some other issue, but if they keep this up they will certainly have injuries/fatalities at some point.

- Lastly, be aware that security staffing here appears much lower than at any of the other hotels we've stayed at. One night we saw a group of very loud, degenerate teens throwing lounge chairs into the swimming pool for several minutes, but even in this most public area at a reasonable (11:00ish) time of night, no security appeared. The only place the entire week where I recall seeing anyone in attire marked as security was at the Disco.


All in all we still managed to have a fun vacation. You're in Riviera Maya, so if you can't find a way to enjoy the week, regardless of the service, that's your own problem. That said, as a person who's stayed at many of the other nearby resorts in recent years, unless this resort is hundreds of dollars cheaper per person than any of the other resorts in the area you'll definitely want to spend your hard earned money at one of the many other similarly priced, yet much more customer focused, resorts in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we apologize for not having success with your expectations. It is very important to us to take care of every single detail, every request and service is very important so I regret you have had problems during your stay.
Let me comment that Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical are the same category Hotels; including rates, type of rooms and services. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.

We really hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.

Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in mid-July. We had a perfectly nice time. The beach and ocean along the Mayan Riviera are pretty much Eden. And the resort itself was fine, but a bit little rough around the edges. For instance, the paint on our room’s walls was faded with age, the ceiling fan squeaked, and in the bathroom the toilet paper holder was broken and the little pedal trashcan was rusted shut. The night we arrived our room had been prepared but our pillows were missing their pillowcases and it took a huge multi-hour effort for this small problem to be solved. The staff was civil, but indifferent in a way that indicated that they would rather be working at the resort down the road.

Renovations were under way in a fenced off-quester of the resort, so perhaps the place is getting an upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network.
Your recommendations have been analyzed with our departments of maintenance and housekeeping in order to improve every day our rooms.
We hope to see you soon at Barceló Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel!
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.