We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed at two other resorts on the Mayan Riviera in previous years. We just stayed at a week at the Barcelo Mayan Colonial - and it is our new favorite.

Rooms - The rooms are not large but are well appointed. The mini bar & snacks were replenished every day. The bed was great. The room was nice and clean and was in good shape. The air conditioning was wonderful. We were on the 3rd floor and enjoyed the view of the lush tree tops and birds. The wireless was a little expensive but worked well.

Food - The buffets were quite good. There was lots of choice and everything was well presented and clean. The staff in the buffets were excellent. We ate at the Japanese, Steakhouse, and Italian restaurants. They were all very good. The lamb at the Italian restaurant was memorable.

Pools & Beach - The pools were large, clean and a nice temperature. There was no problem getting 4 lounge chairs (sometimes with a little organizing) together at any time of day. The pool bar was great and we never waited for drinks. The beach (particularly the south end) is absolutely beautiful! The sand is good & there are tons of beach chairs. The snorkeling was only ok, but I think would have been quite good after a couple of calm days to clear the water. The beach staff were attentive and pleasant. If you want to use a Hobie cat you must book in advance - it's best to be there at 8am to make sure you get a booking that day.

Grounds - the grounds are lush and very well kept. They were a pleasure to walk through. It is a large property so bring a good pair of shoes. The tennis courts, gym, and spa are all in good shape.

Lovely resort, great staff, we hope to back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear JMF44:

First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our Resort with our great variety of food, drinks & fun our beaches are the most beautiful in the Riviera Maya.
Your comments make us improve every day to provide the service you deserve and that You return to this Your Hotel Barcelo Maya Colonial.
We appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.
Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    702
    222
    107
    72
See reviews for
818
796
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Another perfect vacation at the Barcelo Maya. Our family of four including 2 boys aged 6 & 4 stayed in the Colonial section although the Tropical and Colonial are simply mirror images of eachother so it doesn't matter. We payed extra for the Club Premium room this trip which I am not sure I would do again. The room was a bit bigger and it was a prime location but I don't think the extra cost was worth it. Here is a summary of PROS and CONS of the property:

PROS: Gorgeous and impeccably clean grounds, staff is extremely warm and accommodating, large number of options at buffets - even a vegetarian or a picky toddler would be kept happy, LOVED Kyoto restaurant, never felt crowded even though we were there over Spring Break, water park keeps kids happy for hours, pool has a gradual entry section which is great for little kids, lots of trees around pool and at beach so shade is always available, the staff loves kids and always goes out of their way for families, the mojitos are fresh and delicious :), hand made cappuccinos at breakfast are great, fresh fruit smoothies to order at breakfast are healthy and yummy, kids club (ages 4+) has activities all day long and the staff there does an amazing job

CONS: Sometimes getting a drink at the bar takes a while especially during peak times, if you want to get a good spot at the pool you should reserve a spot with your towel by 9:00 AM, the bathroom in our room showed a few small signs of wear and dirt (this is nitpicking because overall the room was very nice and clean), you cannot always get a reservation at the restaurant of your choice (fine by us because as a family we preferred the buffet anyway), dining at the restaurants can be a bit long and drawn out for small kids, the mini bar was not always stocked fully or on time, it was pretty hot while we were there and the room wasn't as cool as we would have liked, bed is not the most comfy but you can request softer pillows at the front desk, an hour drive from airport (a private transfer is worth the extra money)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best - allows kids to run around on the grass, the view is better and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear lilcracker:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our beautiful Resort and thank You very much for your comments, we will pay more attention to these details and of course please let me know your next visit and I take care of You personally.

Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were there from April 11-April 18 and had an absolutely incredible time! My oldest daughter is a senior in high school and we went there to celebrate spring break with her and many of her classmates. In fact, there were over 120 high schoolers, their families, and extended family and friends. Just in our group, there were 9 which included friends, as well as aunts and uncles. All of us have said we would definitely return to the Barceló (and bring additional family members with us). Yes, we were there during spring break, and yes there were A LOT of teenagers but from what I saw, (I spent many hours at the "party pool" watching the kids) they were having a lot of good clean fun! Yes, many of them were drinking and probably more than their parents would have liked but I never once saw a fight, someone throwing up, or anyone causing trouble. It may have happened in other areas of the resort, however, most of the kids did hang out at the pool. Which by the way, everyone pretty much left the pool area by 7:00 p.m.
I am not sure where some of the complaints of other reviews come from....my only guess is that they are individuals that would not be happy anywhere. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are absolute perfection!! I could spend hours just walking around and looking at the different plant life and animals. The pools, also immaculate!! The beach....well I am speechless about the beach! Breathtaking is all I can think of!
The staff is incredibly friendly and very very helpful. Is there a language barrier? Of course there is....hello....it's a different country! All the staff try very hard to understand what you are saying and are very willing to repeat themselves if necessary. The only thing I would suggest is that you bring along a little patience.....it is as hard for them to understand you as it is for you to understand them....they are HUMAN!!
The room was beautiful! Yes the beds and pillows are hard but not everyone can afford a tempurpedic mattress. Spend the day having fun at the beach and trust me, you will sleep!
The food was delicious! Sometimes the buffet did get a little repetitive but then you can just go to a different section of the buffet and pick something new. There was always so much to try that you could easily eat the buffet at every meal and not have to have the same thing twice!
The a la carte restaurants were good....I think the Italian may have been the best but we also tried the Mexican, the steakhouse, and the Japanese....all delicious! The beach grills also have a wonderful selection of food! The lamb chops are fantastic by the way!
When we arrived, check in went fast...less that 10 minutes (I was actually checking in for 2 rooms and it was still only 10 minutes). We did decide to upgrade to premium junior suite for both rooms....$400 extra for the week (we used a coupon in the discount packet they gave us) and it was definitely worth it! I would absolutely upgrade again! It included free wifi for the week (we had 2 devices going at once for each room) as well as premium liquor, a nicer room with incredible pool view, premium lobby bar where you could get snacks as well as make your own drinks and get premium beer if you wanted. We also would've been able to eat at the a la carte restaurants every night with premium but we were there with others that did not upgrade so we chose to eat at the buffet the other nights.
I had a massage the first night and Sylvia at the spa did a wonderful job!!!
Bottom line, if you want to stay at a beautiful resort, relax, and have fun...I highly recommend Barceló. If you want to be waited on hand and foot and have your drinks, food, and entertainment delivered at every moment to your beach chair...then choose someplace else....to be honest I don't think those individuals would even be happy with that!
Also, if you don't want to be there during any schools spring break time whether it be college or high school, then don't go in March or April. If you can get beyond the fact that 18- 20 year olds are given some freedom at the resort and accept the fact that they will be drinking, then go during spring break times....you may actually enjoy them entertaining you.
I will definitely be going back to Barceló!!

Room Tip: We had the Jalisco building in a premium Junior suite....well worth the money and away from the thea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Chrissy C.

We truly appreciate your comments and your understanding. This is a family hotel and not exclusively for spring break, so we appreciate people like you choose our hotel to interact with adolescents who are in a safe place. We understand they are young so we maintain strict supervision to avoid problems with other guests. The resort is so large that there is always a place for everyone.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoy this wonderful resort, the cuisine, pools, and fun.

Everyone works very hard to give the best service to our customers, we appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.


Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

April 9-16
My wife and I had a wonderful trip to Barcelo Colonial . Access to the nearby resorts was great.Lots to see and do.Food was great. More selection at the Colonial Buffet ( meats- chicken,beef and pork ) is needed. Overall no complaints about the food and service. Staff took good care of us. I enjoyed the beach and available water sports. Rooms were well appointed and kept up.
Some people complained about the spring break crowd at the Tropical Resort. Oh well, kids will be kids. They seemed to stay over there and our resort was fairly quiet.
Being close to the beach and restaurants was another bonus. The resorts are well laid out and connected to each other. I discovered a new sport in "Padel" during the week.There are 2 new courts and new equipment to use. The Maya Beach resort was awesome looking after the renovations. I would definitely look at going there next time.The Caribe will soon be renovated as well.
I will definitely keep this complex on my list of places to visit again in the future.

Peter Veinot
Alberta

Room Tip: Choose the G building for best location access to all the resort has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Peter V:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our resort with all our variety of cuisines, beautiful beach, awsome Shows and entertainment, big pools and more and of course our new padel courts that is incredible.

We appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.
Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very nice and clean resort. Unfortunately most of the staff were not very friendly or helpfull (even after much tipping, repeatly). Since this is an important feature for our family, we were a little disapointed. The food was excellent! Great variety. A lot of fresh fruits and salads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Michelle D:

First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
regarding your comments, We regret the bad impression you had the staff, we strive every day to provide the best service to all our customers and are attended equally.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our resort and our exeptional cuisine with a lot of variety of fruits and salads in all the restaurants buffet and a la carte.
We appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.

Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I have travelled to five different all inclusive resorts in the Mayan Riviera. 4 of the 5 priced lower than Barceló Maya Colonial. We have had nothing to complain about at any of the other places we visited. I always said," give me sun, sand, food and drink and if I complain after that I have too much in life". Blessed to be able to travel, lots cant. We visited trip advisor and read many glowing reviews (some not so great but they must be the people expecting too much) we could not wait to get there and show the boys the paradise that is Mexico. We booked two rooms together one for us and another for our three boys. We arrived late at night March 20th and were looking forward to checking in and start unwinding from a long trip. We immediately were met with confusion as they had one room for the five of us. No big deal please just get us another room now or in the morning the only thing is they need to be really close together so momma bear could look over the boys (all the while thinking nothing will get us down we are in Mexico). The lady checking us in replied were are booked solid and proceeded to put the boys in a completely different area of the resort. Still no problem the oldest boy will stay with me and she will go with youngest boys until resolved. Then miracously a room opened up, still a distance from ours but closer. The receptionist then said we could check back daily for new rooms and they would see if anything changed and added if that was not good enough we needed to call our travel agent (chalked the comment up to language barrier) took more then a hour to check in. Perfect, bring on the beer! until we got to the room and it was dirty and looked as though they had been working on it not long ago. No Problem who spends any time in the rooms anyway. The next morning the boys called me to say the light is on and a ton of water was running through the light fixture, now it has turned into a safety concern. They came stopped the leak promptly. We then went to the desk and said we need a new room. Nothing could be done hotel is booked. Again check back daily. To sum it up lines for everything were long bars and buffet included. We tried making reservation for a few restaurants the first day and they were completely booked for the entire week. We had made many friends and know the people in the Mayan are very hospitable, beautiful, warm and welcoming and the people at this resort are no exception it just seemed like they were dealing with too much i.e non stop long lines of people which created a much different experience for us. The bottom line for us is this resort was way overbooked and it made the normal care free vacation a chore with what seemed like way too many small inconveniences in my opinion the more people the merrier just have the staff to support the crowds. This beach and resort are beautiful and the beer is cold. Just wasn't the week we had in mind.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Colin F:

First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We appreciate your feedback and so friendly way to see the problems that you had.
Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and as you have understood in a high occupancy there are always inconveniences that we try to solve as soon as we can .
Unfortunately demand for the specialty restaurants is too much, that is why our resort is in remodelation to give our customers more and better options, next year we will have two more a la carte restaurants, plus terraces in the buffets.
Once again thank You very much for your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You , please let me know when You return to your this Hotel Barceló Maya Colonial and I will take care of You personally.

Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Was not expecting 250 high school students coming in every few days, was really worried they were going to get alcohol poisoning or someone was going to get hurt, or be sick in the many pools. People seemed very miserable that worked there, tried to tip, didn't matter when we two older ladies went to the bar, had to wait until everyone else was served each time. Many chiefs supervising the workers, could be a management problem because the workers looked like they had the weight of the world on their shoulders. Really said faces. Spent 2 half days of a 7 day trip trying to get the wireless internet to work, really frustrating. The business centre had no empathy at all, had to wait three times to discuss and they really didn't get that my code just didn't work. The wine was terrible, they did try and push buying decent wine but we felt that it should have been included with a 5 star and the price we paid. That said, the food was good and the grounds were kept spotless. I don't know how they kept up with all the students around but they did a great job at ensuring there was no garbage etc. Our room was also very nice and the Maya Colonial did not seem to have any of the students staying there so we did not hear the all night parties. The resort has so much to offer, just not a festive feeling that one looks for on a well needed vacation.

Room Tip: Try for the Colonial on the third floor. it was nice and well located to navigate through this huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear 442 Judy:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
This hotel is not particularly for spring break, teens all who visit us are accompanied by their parents or elderly relatives, however, are young you have another way to have fun, we increase security to prevent accidents or disturbances.
We regret any inconvenience you had, the resort is very big and there are places for all tastes, with large pools, many bars, restaurants buffet and a la carte.
Please let us the oportunity to serve You again personally I will take care of You, do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit I´m sure it wil be totally different.

Best regards
Management
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Barcelo, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.