We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect with just one exception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Colonial
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect with just one exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was a family vacation for us, we stayed there recently for 7 nights, March 27 through April 3rd. We have been to Mexico many times but for the first time at Barcelo Maya Colonial. Our last stay was at Grand Palladium Kantenah which is less than 10 minutes away from Barcelo Maya Colonial. We liked Barcelo more than Palladium, and will most likely be back there at some point. Location, beach, pools, room, service, food and night restaurants were good. Since we have a great level of prior experience we could tell the difference. However, we would never come there during the Spring Break. If you go there for a family vacation and especially have young kids under no circumstances go there during the Spring Break. When we booked this vacation this resort was specifically advertised, as was also printed on our intenary in capital letters, discourages spring breakers and does not allow any without an adult supervision. So we thought that would be great since we were going there during the spring break time. However, boy we were wrong. As a matter of fact this resort allowes as many young spring breakers as they can fit with disregard to their own policy and complete disrespect to families with kids. It was wild and in some cases totally unapropriate parties and behavior throughout the resort, it was everywhere, lots of very loud noise, overcrowded pool area bars, lots of swearing "the F" word in front of young kids, total disrespect to everyone else around. Moreover, the biggest problem was at night. It was almost impossible to get a decent sleep at night. Almost every night we, including kids, were awaken at 1:30 a.m., 3:00 a.m. and later by drunk and in some cases I suspect on some kind of drugs spring breakers running arround, loudly talking, swearing, doing other crazy stuff. When we finally had enough we approached the management and hotel security 3 times but, unfortunately, they were not trying hard to change the situation. With all due respect but it seemed to us the management was not really interested in doing much. To their credit they tried to explain to us that they were doing the best they could to maintain the security, especially at night. I disagree with that 1,000%. They also said that the spring breakers were there under an adult supervision. True, we saw some parents there but the ones we saw were either drunk themselves or did not really care to do anything. So any other time this resort will probably be on our list but for sure they will never see us there again during the Spring Break.

Room Tip: For families they have "Family Room" that consist of 2 rooms and some have 2 bathrooms, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Larry D:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed the hotel, and thank You again for considering return.
Regarding your comments is true this resort is not for spring breakers specifically, one of our rules is that they must be accompanied by adults and of course we make our supervisión more strict. Unfortunatelly the bad moments that happened and we appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again, please do not hesitate to contact me I take care of You personally.

Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    948
    622
    198
    99
    65
See reviews for
753
689
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a beautiful, clean, very large resort, with excellent and friendly staff. We stayed in the Colonial section of the Barcelo Maya in a prestige room, and never wandered to any of the other 4 sections within this resort. The food was excellent at the buffet, and we decided not to even bother with the a la carte restaurants. The rooms were clean and contained everything you might need, other than a face cloth. We stayed on the ground floor and had no issues with that level. There was no problem getting chairs at the beach itself, but was more difficult to find chairs around the pool area, if you didn't get there early in the morning. As others have mentioned, there is a lot of walking involved at this Barceló. They do have a shuttle service, but it only goes between the sections of this resort, and not within each section. Mattresses in the Caribbean resorts seem to be harder than some of us are used to, but neither my husband nor I had any issues with our mattress. This resort is about an hour's drive from the Cancun airport, but there was plenty to see along the route, so it didn't seem that long. We will highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a trip to the Riviera area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear BarbLH: First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We appreciate your preference and strive every day to provide the best service for our guest. We are pleased that You enjoy your vacation, enjoying the variety of food on our internacional buffets and our four a la carte resaturants.
We appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.

Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Greats;
Kids pools plenty of activities there
Food Service and variety
Clean
Large spread out property
Large beach compared to hotels in Cancun hotel district
Lots of food choices and eating time choices
Plenty of beach area or pool areas to find a chair and relax
Lots of pools and very large.
Pool bars quite large and well staffed
0 entry kid pools for smaller children
PLENTY of bottled water, some other all inclusives are stingee with the bottled water, not here, plenty to go around, and you can stop by the fitness room and grab cold waters out of the cooler there too.
Beautiful well maintained grounds.
Jokingly, I requested that they just leave the bottle of Tequila on our table. They did!!

Not so Greats;
Many of the drinks are "premium"
Lots of distances to walk if you mind that, we did not and like to walk, but some people who have mobility constraints, might find it is a lot of walking.
Our room was pretty far from the beaches and pools, about 1/4 mile

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach. Buildings are arrange east to west and beach is north and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Brett64: First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our beautiful beach, really is amazing for all kinds water activities, also our four a la carte restaurants Sea Food, Italian, Steak House and Japaneese and our buffet with a variety of food and different cuisines every night.
Thank You very much for your preference and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.

Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I traveled to the Barcelo Maya Colonial for one week with my mom. This is my third time in the Mexico and her first but we have stayed at resorts in Cuba, Dominican and Panama. This was a last minute trip booked at a very good price! I should note that are Hispanic and speak Spanish fluently, which I found helped a lot in getting correct information and sometimes getting better service.

Airport:
I found the airport to very very hectic this time around. There must have been several flights that came in at the same time as ours. We also noted that some luggage was taken off the belt once it reached the end. No bags were allowed to remain on the belt after one go around. This confused a lot of people who realized their bags had already been taken off the belt and were sitting in a pile at the far end of the belt. So beware!

Transfer to hotel:
Easy and fast since we were the first hotel to be dropped off. Note that they sell Coronas and water on the bus for $3 and $2, respectively. Which is way (!) cheaper than the little stand outside the airport exit so save your money for the bus beer.

Check in:
There were 3 people doing check in for a group of about 25 people, so we waited about 25 minutes. Not bad. Our assigned room was on the first floor and when we came back at 3pm, we were able to change it to a third floor room without a problem. I hope that Barcelo implements a faster check in system like some other resorts have where you get your keys once you get on the bus at the airport.
Complex:
The Barcelo is made up of 5 hotels – Palace, Tropical, Colonial, Caribe and Beach. We only visited the Beach hotel as this is where the Mexican restaurant was located. One night we did take the trolley to travel through the whole complex. All hotels looked are very nice and distinct from each other. Even though the complex is rather large, I never felt like it was crowded.
Room:
Our room was adequate and like what the pictures on tripadvisor show. We liked the mini bar, snacks and robes provided. Our room was cleaned well everyday and we had no issues with towels provided. We did find that the beds were hard and we both had a hard time sleeping soundly the whole night. We also found that the rooms were super humid unless you kept the AC on. Both issues were not huge deals for us and wouldn't deter us from coming back to the Barcelo. But wanted to give an honest opinion to those who may place more importance on the room.
Room location: Our room was in the Guanajuato block, which was super convenient in terms of proximity to both the lobby, buffet and beach. We were facing the theater, which we thought would be an issue, but it wasn't. A few nights we were in our room during the show and couldn't hear much. I liked that fact that the lobby was not that far from the beach unlike some other resorts in the Mayan Rivera. There are also covered thatched walkways through the resort in case of rain or too much sun.

Food:
We loved most of the food. The buffet had a lot of selection at all three meals. Make sure to sit in Martin's section at the Tropical buffet for breakfast and lunch. He was excellent! The lunch selection at the Mariachi beach bar got a little repetitive and I wish we had tried other beach bars. We booked the a la carte restaurants as soon as we got there. We were able to do all our bookings through the concierge in the lobby of the Guanajuato block. This proved to be much faster and we got all the restaurants we wanted at 8:30 each night. We especially loved the Japanese and our chef (Agusto) and waitress (Martina). The Mexican and Steakhouse were also good. The Seafood restaurant was a big miss for us. We ended up arriving just before a big group of 21 and our waiter was too busy with them to even refill our water. We did feel bad for him though as it was clearly a staffing issue and not a competence issue. My mom (a seafood fan) found that the seafood at the buffet and beach bar were better than that of the seafood restaurant.

Service:
I tend to like resorts where you can establish some sort of connection with the staff you see every day. It's a great way to learn a bit about the culture and get tips on what to see and do. I found this a bit difficult at this resort because of its size. Other than Martin at breakfast we didn't really get to know any of the staff. I firmly believe that the staff work hard and do their best. You will often see managers in the restaurants supervising the staff. However, I'm not sure if the staffing is adequate for the number of guests. There always seemed to be a least one more person needed to help keep the lines moving and to make the staff less stressed. However this is not a reflection of the staff at all. I however didn't see a big co-relation between tips and level of service. Some staff would be great right off the bat, whereas others (mostly the pool bartenders) wouldn't crack a smile even after being tipped all day. Again, I think they're overworked.

Pool:
The pools are huge, with good temperature and never felt crowded. We did find that people reserve chairs as early as 5 am! But we never had an issue finding two chairs if we looked long enough. There were hammocks all around the pool, which were nice for reading or taking a nap. There is one pool that is nosier and one that is quieter. It's nice that the pool was so close to the beach that we could pop into either one fairly quickly.

Beach:
The beach was lovely as it was long and you could walk for a while before reaching either end. The Colonial is nice in that it’s in the middle of the whole Barcelo complex. There are some parts that are rocky but others that are not at all. We didn't take water shoes and never had an issue going in. It was quite windy for a few days and the beach had red flags up. However there were great waves to play in so a lot of people still went in. There are tons of chairs at the beach so we never had an issue finding a spot in the shade.

Entertainment:
We found the nightly shows to be lacking. For the size of the Barcelo, we would have expected better produced shows. For 3 of the 7 nights we were there the shows were audience participation ones (Ideal Couple, Men vs. Women and Karaoke), which I am not a fan of.The other nights were great though, especially the Mexican Party night. Excellent dancers.
There were also events held at the shopping centre (Plaza Mexican) on Monday (Mayan night), Wednesday (Carnival) and Friday (Mexican Fiesta). Those were great fun!
The lobby bar also had nightly entertainment including a violin/piano duet and a Mariachi band. The Mariachi band (Los Gobernantes) were awesome musicians and entertainers!!

Excursions:
We did the Coba Mayan Village excursion and a half-day Catamaran tour. The Coba trip was great since we had a small group (7 people) and an excellent guide (Federico). The catamaran trip was also a lot of fun. The ocean was rough that day so they had to cancel snorkeling, but we were able to dock in a small bay for a few hours where we swam to a sandy bank and had Coronas thrown to us to keep us refreshed. I will be posting a full review on the Catamaya page.

We also went in to Playa del Carmen on the local bus ($3USD per person, each way). We never felt unsafe or had to wait too long to catch a bus. It was much cheaper than taking a taxi ($23USD each way). I found Playa to be too commercial with vendors yelling (sometimes rudely) to get your attention and prices not being too economical. The tequila was cheaper at the airport.

Spa:
We wanted to book a spa treatment but found that the prices were even higher than here in Toronto. In the end we booked a couples massage and used one of the $100 off coupons that were given to us at check-in. The spa is lovely and the service was excellent. The relaxation massage was perfect and my only regret is that I didn't book a longer session. I do wish the spa has more facilities to relax in after my massage.

Check-out:
We paid our bill the night before leaving as we had an early pick up. The only issue we had was that we took a final walk to the beach the morning of our departure and when we got back to our room the key didn't work. Apparently this was because it was our check-out day, however technically check out isn't until noon (it was 6:30 am at this point). Small inconvenience of having to go to the lobby to get our key reactivated to get our luggage from our room.

Overall impression:
I really really liked the Barcelo due to the food, mostly friendly service, large resort never feeling crowded and long awesome beach. There were minor issues but not enough to deter me from returning to the Barcelo (we are planning a family vacation in December to the Barcelo) or recommending it to other travelers. It really is all a matter of perspective when it comes to the minor issues though. I take my vacation in stride, and am thankful that I'm on a beach in Mexico and not behind a desk in cold cold Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear cj_whistle: First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are placed that You enjoyed your vacation with your mom, we appreciatte all your comments and recomendations and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again. It will be a pleasure to serve again.

Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GODERICH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Took us a day or two to find our way around, lots of walking.
The room we thought we had booked, a king size bed/no smoking was not avavilable.
Spent 2 nights in 2 double bed, smoking room before we could move.
The rooms need a freshen up, matteress not that comfy.
Turn down service with chocs: on bed each night but no need for clean towels..again!
The Dolphin Pool looked regualtion size/depth but no shade for the dolphins.
But those are just a few negs: The resort has everything you could wish for.
Excellent service, armies of staff, cleanaing, gardening, serving etc., continual as well as discreet managers asking you how everything is. A+ for trying and service.
All very polite and friendly, The resort itself is very well kept. The food in general is excellent
at the Buffet and 4 a la carte rests: No problem to book these.
The beach a little rocky, OK in a calm day but when wavy, watch how you wade in. All amenties
you would need in a resort and beach water craft. Enjoyed some of the shows on a large stage each night, musical entertainment in the Lobby bar early evening and
the delightful, clean and pretty Mexican Shopping Plaza next door. No need to go shopping any where else. Open long hours, can haggle but not harrased in any way. 3 nights a week from 6.30 to 7.30 they put on wonderful Fiesta's; many hot snacks served and a open bar, colourful costumes, dancers, music, draws for prizes and games for the children.
3 other properies near by to wander to and enjoy some of their facilities. Safe, clean, very large pool area, all in all an enjoyable 2 week stay.

Room Tip: Only a few facing pool or ocean junior suites, others 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor with elevators. So book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Gerar P:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our beautiful beach, really is amazing for all kinds water activities, also our four a la carte restaurants Sea Food, Italian, Steak House and Japaneese and our buffet with a variety of food and different cuisines every night and of course our Mexican Shoping Center is awesome.
Thank You for choosing us and we appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.

Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My sixth trip to Mexico but the first for my kids (18 year old girl & 15 year old boy). We took the red eye out of Calgary and landed in Cancun at 6:30 am. It actually was a great decision. We were the only plane landing at that time so customs was a breeze. I had booked Canada Transfers online in advance and it could not have gone any smoother. The driver was right outside the exit with a sign with my name on it. He quickly guided us to the van, loaded our luggage, gave us the nice and cool towels, and we were on our way.

Another nice benefit of an early morning arrival is that when we got at the resort, we were the only ones there checking in. I had requested a room in the Jalisco building, third floor. We were given ground floor instead (6142). But, it turned out fine so I never bothered to ask to be moved.

The room was satisfactory. Water pressure was always good. The only negative was that we went 3 days without it being cleaned so I had to go to the front desk and complain. It was cleaned that day.

The resort is amazing! Clean and beautiful. Yes, it is big, but I find you tend to hang around the same area for the most part so the walking was not that bad. Besides, it doesn't hurt to walk a little. We hung out around the Tropical pool and beach for the mostly just because it was a little more lively and I didn't want to really be around all the young kids at the Barcy club.

Probably the best beach I have been to! No vendors and always places to park yourself. I heard many people complaining about rocky areas but the answer to that is just avoid those areas! There is really not many of them. Snorkeling is great. Lots of fish everywhere. My morning routine was to get up around 7, get a coffee and Bailey's from the lobby bar, and then walk the beach. So peaceful and relaxing. I miss it so much already!

Spent equal amount of time at the pools as well. As far as I'm concerned, I don't know what else you could ask for in a pool. Huge! Very clean. Fun. Perfect temperature. And the pool bars were awesome.

Food was above average. Buffets were very good. Lots of choices and the service was always at least an 8 out of 10. We also ate at the seafood, Japanese, and steak house. By far we all felt the Japanese was the best. I had the surf n turf and was really impressed.

I was concerned about going in March because of spring break. No reason to be. Never saw any spring breakers. In fact, one of the nicest advantages of a larger resort is that it never really felt busy anywhere. We were in the Mariachi grill one day for lunch and there was a total of 5 guests there.

The Plaza is a nice part of the resort. It was bigger than I thought it would be. Prices are basically the same as in Playa Del Carmen. And then they have the special nights with Mariachi bands, dancing, etc. which are fun.

All the debates and personal opinions aside, my kids did do the dolphin swim on the resort. They absolutely loved it and was something they have always wanted to do. I took my own pictures from the fence with a good zoom. Glad I did because what they want to charge you for pictures is criminal!

We also walked down the highway to Cenote Azul. I highly recommend this. You simply cross the highway (very carefully) and then walk south 500 metres (800 feet). You will see the sign and then just pay your 70 pesos per person and walk in. It is a great experience and very beautiful.

We took the collectivo into Playa one day as well. Again, very easy and safe. It's the same high pressure salesmen, but you just have to keep walking. Again, political opinions aside, we got pictures with a lion and jaguar cub. They were so cute and playful. My kids were in heaven. Cost me about $90 US, but we got lots of pictures and it is a once in a lifetime experience.

Took the Catamaya cruise and loved it. Endless drinks, great food, and lots of energy. Staff were exciting and it is very well run. Saw a HUGE sea turtle while we were cruising back home. So cool! It's head was the size of three footballs.

We took the tractor tram to other areas of the resort a few times. Went and checked out the renovated Beach Resort. It is very nice and I would stay there for sure.

So, to sum up. No disappointments at all. Super resort. Lots of choices. Great staff. Good food and drinks. And the most beautiful beach I have been to yet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Dean:
Thank You for choosing us and that You enjoyed our beautiful pools with 3000 m3 of water, also our four a la carte restaurants, overhanging Japaneese Restaurante for his Cooking Show.
Is true You find all kinds of fun at our Mexican Shooping Center with three parties a week on Monday Fiesta Maya, Tuesday Carnaval and Friday Fiesta Mexicana with live dancers, live music, raffles and surprises, plus find many kinds of souvenirs, clothing and crafts at affordable prices.
Regarding cleanliness we appreciate your coments, we are working on it inmediately.
Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

stayed here March 12-20
here's the Good:'
Awesome beach!
took the mini catamaran sail boats out with my hubby- was awesome!
Clean hotel, they work very hard at maintaining the grounds,
FOOD:buffett- good quality. great omlette station, LOTS of Variety! lots of fruit- try the tangerines YUmmay!
beach buffet- same everyday, not bad overall. but gets a bit boring. salad and fruit were my mainstays.
A la cartes- Excellent-seafood, good Italian, good Japanese.
Rooms- clean, AC was broke but after 2 nights of waking up freezing at 17 degrees, someone came to fix it and did a good job! (we figured it must be broken- and it was)
many staff are happy to help and when they are investing in their service they are great.

The NOT SO GOOD:
WAY too big! Not my cup of tea, but maybe it is for you.

Due to the size of hotel, staff work incredibly hard and my observations led me to see why after 8 visits to Mexico, why this staff at this hotel was hard to connect with- because they are so dang busy and the turnover is abundant- they serve massive amounts of people, they may not even see you again that week. so they don't invest the time for kind chit chat and most of the time- nether do the patrons.
This is not my style... I like a more personal experience.

OK so walking way back to the lobby every morning for breakfast- also not my thing.
I like to eat breakfast while watching the ocean and feeling the sun. again- another reason why a big resort is not for me. The massive double buffet at the front of the hotel- well away from the water was giving me an institutional feeling.
you can not bring food out of any restaurant to your room or the beach. again, not cool with me.

beach bar- hard hard working boys in there!! Martine and Manual- awesome! but there are so many patrons, even when they run their butts off people need to wait quite a while for a drink- and its not for the lack of service- its the lack of management putting another staff or 2 on at busy times.

you can not call to book your A la Cartes- you must treck back to the front of your hotel to speak in person, and of course when you arrive- there is a line up.
then you head off to the beach and pool for the day.

You must then treck to the front of the hotel again for dinner.
I actually like the walking but would rather do that on the beach, not through buildings.
I was starting to feel like I was spending half of my vacation walking though corridors and buildings.

they were spraying chemical for bugs- I get why, but who knows what they are spraying???

You have to Pay for wifi- 13$/day- ridiculous!!!!! or 50$ for the week.
seriously- we pay a lot for this vacay- just throw it in!!!




no warm pool for evenings when its a bit chilly. I love when resorts have a warm pool.(hot tub-jacizzi) the wind can be chilly and we had a few cold days where there were no diving or boat tours, those were good days for a warm pool.

overall-
hotel is good quality- many people like it here.

way too big for me like I said. and I would only go back if I had no other choice- but of course we do have MANY other choices so there fore, this Barcello is not for me!

Room Tip: Good luck, if you are close to the beach then you are far from the buffets &lobby and if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear vacationseeker42:
First of all receive our greetings, feedback from our guest is essential to improve our services and achieve our goal to fulfill your expectations.
We are pleased that You enjoyed our beautiful beach, really is amazing for all kinds water activities, also our four a la carte restaurants Sea Food, Italian, Steak House and Japaneese and our buffet with a variety of food and different cuisines every night.
Regarding your comments is true this resort is very large and everyone works very hard to give the best service to our customers, we appreciate your time and we look forward to the opotunity to serve You again.
Best regards
La Gerencia
gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 15 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,207 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#8 of 15 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#7 of 15 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 4,560 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#5 of 15 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Spa, Mid-range...
Show More
10.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.