We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a great time at the Barceló Maya Colonial. The resort is huge, and we loved taking our morning walk on the different paths throughout the property.

The rooms were basic, but had everything we needed. In the room, there was shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, hand soap, etc. They even provided slippers and bathrobes to wear. I was a little disappointed that free wifi and room service are not included.

The pools are huge and amazing, but a little chilly. Plenty of chairs so there's really no need to get up early to reserve a spot. The resort was nearly full during our stay, and we never had trouble finding seats. There's also a kids pool with waterslides, and all the kids appeared to be having a great time.

The beach is gorgeous, but very rocky. The beach in front of the Beach/Caribe is best for swimming, but there were still a lot of rocks. There is great snorkeling right off the dock. We saw tons of fish, stingrays, etc.

The food is great! The buffet is quite large with tons of choices, and the service was quick and efficient. We mostly ate at the buffet, but if you're interested in the specialty restaurants, book them right away unless you prefer to eat early. The later times get taken pretty quickly.

The entertainment was poor. We went to a few of the shows and couldn't even stay for the entire time. They were just boring!

Overall, we had an amazing trip, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate the time you took for letting us your experience at Barcelo Maya Colonial.
Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    873
    271
    125
    92
See reviews for
1,096
1,050
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Having stayed at the Barcelo in Puerto Vallerta and now 3 times at the Riviera Maya complex, I think I'm done with the Barcelo experience. The overall complex is nice, but the standards have dropped over my other stays.
I had to ask housekeeping almost everyday for something or another. Water, wash cloths, towels, something that use to be standard.
The reservation system for the restaurants sux worse than it ever has, overbooked constantly and now want to charge $25 per reservation for restaurants not in the same hotel you are staying at. Wait staff is non exsistant in the pool area. I wanted to book the big suite, but it wouldn't allow for 4 adults. You can't even book 4 adults in the family suite and i had 5 adults in the family suite when I stayed at Maya Beach. So I had to settle for 2 regular rooms, not what I wanted.

Room Tip: Club premium corner suites are the best but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we want to thank you and let you know that we really appreciate your loyalty to Barcelo. It is very important to us to know your comments and to show you that you can live a new experience every time you visit us. Please let us know your next date for travelling at gteoperaciones.colonial@barcelomaya.com and I can assure you that we will surprise you!
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have been to this resort 2 times before. It was a fabulous time. I just had a few complaints. When we checked in our group of 22 people were disappointed to find out that we had 2 double beds in each room. We were told by our travel agent that we each had a king sized bed in our rooms. The food was great, even the buffet. The restaurants were fabulous! The only other thing that we were a little dissatisfied with was the nightly entertainment. There was too many performances of just dancing, even though the dancers were good at what they did. The evening that they had karaoke was so funny and entertaining! I would recommend more nights of that, or something like a hypnotist, comedian etc... To break it up some! Otherwise, the addition of the dolphins was great and we were very happy once again with the resort!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Colonial. It is more centrally located within their entire resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Colonial - Tropical staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Absolutely fantastic! This was our first trip to Mexico and after reading the good and bad reviews we had no idea what to expect. I was a little worried we didn't opt for a couples only resort since we were traveling without our kids but their are so many areas designated just for kids that it wasn't even a factor. We have traveled to various states and I think people are way too picky...first of all you are on vacation so just relax and go with the flow! Your vacation is what you make it.

Staff - Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. Always said Hola!
Beds - We did not find the beds hard....after a day of laying in the sun and enjoying the cerveza any bed will feel good.
Food - Japanese and Steak house were delicious. Make reservations when you arrive and request show table at Japanese restaurant if available. Buffets offer same food so we alternated ala cart, buffet, ala cart, buffet, ala cart, buffet to change things up. Grill restaurants during day were good too and if you like guacamole and salsa you will be in heaven...yummy!! Everyone has different taste so just pick the restaurants you want to try and decide for yourself. Our friends didn't like the steakhouse last year but we did this year.
Club Premium and tipping - didn't upgrade and didn't notice any less service. Tipped occasionally at restaurants and our favorite bartenders : )
Drinks - corona light and dark, modelo, tequila, and pretty much anything else you can think of. I enjoyed the Bahama mamas and mud slides but thought the other blended drinks were too sweet. Once again though this is personal preference.

Things to know for first timers - bring a bubba keg..can buy at walmart for $10 and bring lots of sunscreen. 2 items are expensive at resort. Also bring smaller bills and take private transfer from airport to resort.

Lastly, just relax and have fun! We will be back soon......that's a promise!

Room Tip: Jalisco bldg. 2nd or 3rd floor are quieter and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Tropical to expend this family vacation.

The main goal of Barceló Maya Tropical is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure of serving, since we want you to return home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

We look forward to host your family again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us any time before you coming back as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Barceló Maya Tropical
gteoperaciones.tropical@barcelomaya.com
*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Let me start like this i have stayed at many all inclusives in Jaimiaca - Mexico -DR
This Hotel is by the far the worst of all of them. Iberostar - Riu - Paradises all are 10 times better then this resort
So from the begining- Check in was fine but as usual they immediatly put you into a room as far a way from the beach as possible , so you complain and they say we dont have any space then you speak to a manager and after 20 min miraculously a room appears closer to the beach and they give it you . I am not to upset about this becasue it happens everywhere
The rooms are awefull!!!!!! broken items everywhere TV out of the 60's Beds have dirty sheets and are hard as a rock, bathroom broken showers and dispensers just a mess

The hotel is huge so it takes a mile to get around everywhere
beach is not great colonial and tropical rocks at the begining of beach and no shade the beach resort is shallow for like a mile out 1/2 the beach loungers were broken it was just really really poor

Buffets were horrible basically no good food accept for beers and pasta
The bars had lines 20 people deep becasue there was only 1 bartender at the pool bar

Worst service i got was when i ordered a bloddy mary and they ran out of cups i got served in a coffee cup

entertainment at pool and beach was ok nothing special the worst was the girl and boy running the trampoline refused to let one of my kids go on because it was 5:01 and it closes at 5:00 just poor service it take literally 30 seconds to let the kid use the trampoline
also the trampoline broke on day 1 of my trip and they never repaired it so my 10 year old was unable to use it all week

The shows and restaurants at night were good but basically becasue the lunch and breakfast was so bad that i had such low expectations.
There are so many other bad things i want to write but i cant even remmmeber them all
Oh wait here is one
At the hibachi restaurant the waitress asks for my order so i say i want the shrimp and steak . She says i can only have 1 so i say but this is all inclusive right . So she goes fine i will give you both but then no soup and salade for you
I flipped out and asked for the manager and finally got it but the experience was unreal.
I really didnt even complain becasue so many things were bad
basically if you are going to riveria maya and this is your cheapest option i would strongly and i mean strongly recommend not staying here and paying up a little to stay at any of the other places liek iberostar riu or paradises. It was reall that bad

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years in 2013. We have two children aged 7&9.

The property is very large. There are multiple beaches, some of which we're good for snorkeling. The food at the buffets was very good. All in all a nice resort, but....

We had many challenges:
There are 5 separate facilities and they could not figure out which property we were at. The third wrong hotel, they suggested we walk with all of our bags about 1/2 mike to the correct property.
The lights go out on the deck at 10, so no sitting on the deck and reading after that time.
As for the restaurants, we could not get in but for one night. It was not really that good anyway.

All in all, good for kids but we won't be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Barcelo Maya Colonial & Tropical Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay.
We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The resort is gorgeous but no bar on the beach.The buffet is not bad, but a la carte restaurants are not worth it. I also believe there should at least be a 24 hr snack bar with food. We arrived there late afternoon and there was nothing opened to eat. A 5 star hotel should have free wi fi. Internet , instead it cost $50. I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMAYATROPICAL-GS, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear guest,

We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. Following our guests suggestions the Hotel has a 24 hours open bar with food options for breakfast, dinner and aperitives during all day and also have included another options for Internet service.
We hope to see you soon in our establishment and to offer the real service of Barcelo.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#5 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#9 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#8 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.