We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vaca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Colonial
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Vaca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I religiously use these reviews to assist in planning my trips so I thought it was about time I contribute!
I stayed at the Colonial with family from Nov.4-11.
We had a direct flight from Edmonton to Cancun, but once we got our luggage and took the looong bus ride to the hotel we were pretty exhausted. Check-in took longer than we would have liked, but it seemed like the staff were doing the best they could given the fact a bus load of people had just arrived.
Our rooms were fine, ours did face the theater and as other mentioned it is pretty loud at night, but that didn't bother us because we were at the theater every night enjoying the show. The shows were beyond expectations, with so many impressive dance routines and dozens of costume changes!
The buffet was like an other all inclusive, some good and some not so good. There is something to accommodate everyone's taste's though.
We had 4 a la cartes. We paid the extra $15 per person for the French as others had suggested and it was 100% worth it. The restaurant was absolutely stunning, the service amazing and food divine!
My second favorite was the steak house with seafood and Japanese tied for third. The service at them all is fantastic.
The pools were great (yes, a little chilly). We spent most of our time at the Tropical pool. This is where all of the music and activities happen. Even if you don't like to participate it is fun to watch while soaking up the sun.
The beach is incredible and there are plenty of loungers for everyone. Careful getting in the water, it is pretty rocky in some places.
We rented ATV's right from the resort. It was about $35 for the hour. This was a great little afternoon adventure and it was great having them right at the resort so there weren't any long bus rides involved.
We also spent one morning at Tulum. Very interesting to see and the beach there is a lot of fun. (They sell you bug spray on the bus making it seem like you can't live with out it...we bought...it was NOT necessary)
We also went on Catamaya for a day. This was great! Snorkeling, food, music and dancing! The staff go above and beyond to ensure everyone is having a great time. We also saw dolphins on our way back!
Overall this was a fantastic trip! I would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    836
    257
    122
    83
See reviews for
1,029
997
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have shared our wonderful experience with Barcelo with friends and they agree that this is the best vacation experience to be found. The food was excellent. the beach is beautiful, the service is always friendly and efficient. We have to thank David Nelson and Luis Garcia for their hospitality and kind attention. Of all of the Barcelo properties we have been to the Colonial at the Riviara Maya is far superior. The only problem we encountered is having to listen to CNN for the entire time, however newpapers were available for some connection to the world. FOX news was sorely missed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed at this resort three times now and every time we were treated so well. The rooms are clean , staff friendly, property kept very well. Food was good .
The beaches are so nice. A place to snorkel and play in the beautiful Riviera. I really love this Resort..

Room Tip: Ask for Junior suite,, garden level ocean view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Instead of freaking out on the employees there I decided to voice my concerns by writing a non-exagerated list of reasons why I found the hotel less than up to par. Some of the reasons are not good enough for me too not want to return, and other factors made me want to leave had it not been for a wedding we were there for I would have checked out.
But first the good things I can say about the hotel:
1. bartenders can make half decent drinks :)
2. the wedding ceremony it self was flawless and beautiful, however our make up reservations were no where to be found the morning of the wedding, and the day of the wedding was our wedding planners day off....
3. the beach is moi bonita (very beautiful)


1. Room has stained white bed sheets & pillows. Stained blood on one of ours & a tare in another one.
2. The towel in the bathroom when we arrived had orange stains on it.
3. When the maid cleaned the room she left the bed sheets and the orange spotted towel as is.
4. The maid took the gross looking random 80’s pillow off the floor and put it back on my bed.
5. Washroom does not have a fan, or a drawer, and looks poorly made and dirty.
6. Balcony door doesn’t lock but the directory books insists we lock it before we leave the room.
7. All outlets in room are used by the appliances & the TV is hard to view from anywhere in the room.
8. Only 2 room keys can be issued max! However, occupancy goes to 4 persons per room.
9. It costs $5.00 to replace a room card but they don’t have an explanation as to why that is.
10. Website lied about a fold out couch which also does not come with bedding. ( no rooms have a fold out)
11 Found that it is NOT all inclusive.
12. No pen anywhere in the room & the complimentary envelopes are already sealed shut.
13. There is a random slipper under the bed with hair on it & I never received the complimentary slippers we were promised.
14. No shower caps available, but plenty of shoe polish.
15. Maids do not always re-stock the fridge, which means no bottled water.
16. Sun screen costs $30.00 at the resort so make sure to bring your own!!! LOTS of it.
17. Found a cock roach in our room under the A/C vent. Tons outside on the balcony even during the day!
18. You don’t control the balcony light, its on a timer. So it turns off and a hoard of cockroaches come out.
19. Concierge/ bell boy left ALL of the bride & groom’s luggage including her wedding dress at the front of the hotel for three hours. The grooms father is the one that noticed and mentioned it when he walked past the lobby on the way to dinner. So even if they insist, you may want to bring your own luggage to your room.
20. Food at night is rather gross & food during the day is rather mediocre.
21. Every concern brought up with the hotel was either dismissed, took days to fix, or they couldn’t help us.
22. Took 30 minutes to check in, over an hour to check out, and they tried to over charge us & claim we bought movies on the TV which we didn’t. After checking out with our party we found that many of us were overcharged for something.
23. Employees are un helpful, rude, often ignore you, and seem un happy.

Room Tip: Takes 10 minutes to walk from the lobby to any room. No elevators, and cobble stone walk ways everyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Traveled there with my wife and two boys ages 9 & 12. We had a great time. This was our second year in a row to this resort. There is plenty to do on the resort and day trips to ruins are fun too. Book your restaurants as soon as you get there or you may be left out of one you wanted to try. Food was OK overall with plenty of variety.
Snorkeled everyday right off the beach....fantastic. Great trip. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We traveled to the Barcelo Maya Colonial first week of May 2012 and had a great time. Family of 4, kids ages 6 and 9. Had a basic room, first floor near pool. Great location. Would prefer to upgrade next time to a separate bedroom for adults for more space.
KIDS: They absolutely loved the water park and beaches, snorkeling and we saw the turtles right in front of the hotel. Walked down to Barcelo Maya Palace to snorkel and see all the fish. There are fish off pier in front of Colonial but we liked shallow waters by the Palace. The kids club had great activities and was safe at the Colonial. The teachers were wonderful. Our 6 year old loved it and it was a nice break out of the sun in the afternoons. Lots of food for kids at poolside restaurants. Loved their ice cream stations too.
ADULTS: we loved all the a la carte dinners. As a family the Japanese restaurant was a hit! Kids loved it and so did we. Also liked the steak house. We only ate one time at the regular restaurant at night and did the a la cartes other nights. First week of May no problems with waiting at restaurants or problems getting reservations like I read in so many reviews. However, we were there during a non peak time which I would recommend if you can get away then.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Let me start this review off by saying that this is the 3rd time in 4 years we have stayed at The Barcelo Colonial. The first 2 years were great. This time not so much. We went with friends who had never been to Mexico before and I wanted them to experience something different then Cancun. There were 7 of us. 2 couples and 3 singles.

Cons:
1. We booked our trip last April. We all wanted king size beds. Not one of us recieved one. We know we are not garanteed a king size bed but booking last April. Really?
2. The electricity in our room was turned off 3 times while we were there for 5 days. We would leave our room in the morning and return late afternoon and the circut breaker would be flipped. The first time I called the front desk and someone came to fix it very fast. The next 2 days I would just flip the breaker on myself. (and before you say it, yes I was leaving tips in my room for housekeeping). None of the other people in our group had this problem.
3. Its time for new beds. The ones there are worn out.
4. All 3 times we stayed at the resort the drinks were just "ok". No bartender on the whole resort makes a drink the same.
5. The last night we were there, housekeeping didn't leave us any towels. Had to call to get some.

Pros:
1. Beautiful place. Very well maintained.
2. Awesome beach. The one reason why we have went there 3 times.
3. Great food. Always a great selection at the buffet and beachside grills.
4. Great shopping if you didnt want to leave the resort.

This is going to be my last time going to this resort. I know this sounds childish but paying $2400 for 5 nights and not getting to sleep next to my wife because we had double beds kind of upset me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.