We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Baby!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Colonial

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Colonial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Colonial
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Oh Baby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Honest review (Canadian) - returned April 17th after 7 days of pure joy - hour ride from airport, watch out for sales people leaving airport, carry luggage yourself, (say no Gracias to the tip hungry.... ) not far to bus, look for travel agency sign (Air Transat) they'll direct you to your bus - plenty of time to change into summer clothes @ airport - $3 beers on bus - Lobby is impressive, check was a breeze, emailed room request a month in advance and mentioned it again @ the desk along with a por favor and received our preferences - room was great - bed wasn't hard, pillows fine, no bugs - beach, pool, and grounds are awesome - we played the towel game for the primo spots while we were @ the beach @ 6:20 for those sunrise pics - entrance to water rocky in some places, easy to see unless water wavy - water clear and blue, lots of fish @ pier, great snorkeling, waves were small @ first then big by the end of our stay - few topless women around, should have designated area for these thoughtless Euro women, sure it's fine in their own country but..... what about our young teens! It's not encouraged in Mexico, Canada, U.S... Look for the adults only resorts people! Took cab into Playa one night for some good shopping & entertainment ($23 there $20 back) also booked excursion to Akumel (20 minutes) to snorkel with the turtles, see the coral reef and fish, and snorkel in a Cenote (underground fresh water cave) $72 per person, pretty cool - buffet was great for breakfast, endless variety, beach buffet (grill) was good for lunch, dinner was ok @ buffet - did Steakhouse and Italian restaurants - could only get @ 9 but worked out good after day @ beach - pass on Steakhouse ( 1/4" rib-eye), Italian was great - drinks were good, service was slow @ times, self serve Corona on tap, tipping got their attention - all said and done eh! would recommend this resort for families, couples, and friends. Will go back in the future, maybe stay @ the Beach section for the better beach (no rocks in water)

Room Tip: Jalisco 3rd. floor, close to beach, 6311- 6320, quiet and central,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    655
    211
    105
    68
See reviews for
781
725
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorsby AB Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just got back from two weeks in the Rivera Mayan, spent one week at the Barcelo Colonial and one week at the Grand Sirenis, At the Barcelo the room was missed two days in a row and we complained (this was like 7:00 at night),towels were missed one day,bar fridge was missed another,service was bad and we had to spend about 2-3 hours outside our room until the hotel could figure out why the door would not open, (dead batterys).Once at the Grand Sirenis it was like night and day,500 % better service, better food and hotel staff this will be our last trip to Barcelo anywhere

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I, her sister and brother in law and their two children stayed here two nights Apr 11 and 12, it passed by way too fast. We had booked at the caribe, but were upgraded to the colonial.
Check in went quickly, the jungle like setting was great, the place was at 80 percent full, but due to the fact that the place is so large, it did not feel crowded.
One thing to note, I would not have payed extra for the upgrade unless it was complimentry for as far as I can tell, you can still use the pools at the colonial tropical along with the caribe beach, and the only other difference is the colonial tropical you get two more buffet restaurants, but they all 4 serve the same menu each night, (although it changes nightly)and they are air conditioned where as the caribe beach are open air which is why we used the caribe beach ones as we dont like sitting in air conditioned places in a tropical resort. That said, the food was fantastic and was far too much variety to choose from making it impossible to try even a little bit of everything and we loved capitan morgans snack bar at the caribe for a mid day lunch.
The rooms were nice, out your glass door you have a nice jungle like view and were nice and quiet as we turn off the ac and leave the glass door open at night.
The grounds are kept spotless and the staff are friendly and helpfull.
My opinion is if you pass this resort due to a few negative reviews , you are missing out on a fantastic time as anyone who could not have a great time here all I can say is God help you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our first all inclusive but we've travelled quite a bit. At first we were reluctant, likely because of me reading too many negative reviews. We also didn't do much of anything on this trip so I'm not able to offer advice on excursions and events. This resort was terrific, clean, friendly and fun. My husband and I love a good meal but this wasn't part of our expectation so we were pleasantly surprised to find the food to be decent and not horrid like some other reviews state. No one tried to rip us off, no one made us feel less special if we did or didn't tip, no one was stingy on the alcohol and if you want something you just have to ask. They even allow air rafts/rings in the pool - the pool is enormous. Loungers are at ocean or pool, you can go back and forth to either in seconds. The ocean is incredibly sandy with some rocks as you walk in, but mostly sand - you don't need water shoes. We brought some but didn't need them - maybe if we rented snorkel gear we would have used them as it gets rocky there.

We asked for third floor room from reviews I read it seemed like a good choice.
When you arrive they'll ask if you want to upgrade to premium - we did and were happy as we received Wi Fi in room, better quality alcohol eg. Don Julio rather than Sauzo tequilla, room closer to pool - but the garden views are fine too. Before we upgraded we couldn't get a room on third floor where we wanted only on first floor and it wasn't ready yet. We asked again, they said no, when we upgraded to premium we got a third floor room and it was ready for us right away. There were other perks to premium that I guess weren't important enough to recall. If we came again I would try it without the upgrade to premium, but if you have to stay in touch then having Wifi alone is worth it. One day very soon, all hotels will be/should be offering this for free. If you're going to upgrade to premium do it upon check in and ask for much lower than their first offer.
Bring a bar of soap from home as they refill a dispenser that either doesn't work or doesn't work well and the one circle of soap they give you at the sink isn't replaced (maybe if I took my own advice and simply asked it would've been) The shampoo and conditioner is also refilled in the dispenser but you can just lean over and use the one in bathtub if the shower one isn't dispensing.
Tipping is not necessary however everyone works hard so a dollar or two here and there is just a nice thing to do.
Bring a bubba keg (found mine at Canadian Tire). It saves you alot of trips back and forth plus it keeps your beverage nice and cold. Fill it with ice to keep your can of beer in it.
Book your dinners as soon as you arrive otherwise you'll be getting really early seatings or really late. A popular time therefore hard to get is 7:30 - 8:30 pm.
We loved the Kyoto Japanese restaurant and the seafood. We didn't enjoy the steakhouse as much. We tried pasta at a buffet that was made to order for us - it was so bland that we were glad we didn't try the italian restaurant, but then again - we've never experienced italian food anywhere close to as good as it is in Windsor where we live.
The morning and lunch buffets were great - dinner buffet not so much.
They had a circus show that had some incredible talent as far as acrobatics, strength and balance. Kinda sexy too - saw a mother jokingly cover up her son's eyes.
All the staff seemed to simply want us to have fun and were friendly and chatty if we were chatty. Greeting us in English or Spanish and smiling.
There is plenty of shopping on site, nice silver jewellery, stones, etc and since we didn't have a great need to shop we saved a bit not having to pay for transportation to nearby Playa Del Carmen. We bought mostly silver jewellery. Naturally you don't go for the first offer - you'll be surprised how low you can go from where they started - after they say "let me get out my mexican calculator" you can still go lower.
Go there, you won't be disappointed with this resort.

Room Tip: Third floor closer to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were originally booked to stay a week at the Grand Palladium Kantenah which I had already been to in March 2010 and for some reason there was an issue and our trip was cancelled by mistake 2 weeks prior ro departure. Palladium no longer available, the next best thing was the Barcelo Maya Colonial.

The good: The hotel is great, the grounds are very well kept. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Pools are huge and amazing. Best snorkling ever right on the beach.

The bad: Food is average, drinks way too concentrated, a-la-carte restaurant not treating people equal (if you have a black bracelet you can wear short, if you don't have a black bracelet you have to wear long pants - a dress code is a dress code), beach is not the best - lots of rocks and coral

Lots of people playing ball in all the pools - including Barcelo Beach and Caribe Beach and Tropical. so there was no were to just relax and enjoy a drink on the side of at the pool bar.
Also a lot of young kids in the main pool when there is a huge water park right beside.

Overall It was a great vacation but as a couple looking to relax, I would not recommend this resort as there was way too many kids for me and in the end it was not what I was looking for.
I have NEVER travelled in adults only resort and I have never had an issue with kids but this was a bit too much for me.
But as a familly looking for a great place to spend quality time, this is your place.

Room Tip: Jalisco building is further from the night show area and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just got back a week ago from the Barcelo, and was good but felt that it was not as great as some of the recent reviews. Food was okay, buffet so so and a la carte somewhat decent. Had some issues booking reservations a la carte and was not able to get some of the restaurant that we wanted to try. We actually booked a table at the french restaurant at the Palace and that was fabulous. Definitely worth the extra money! Colonial definitely quieter that the other sister resorts which were all kids on their high school senior trip. Our 5 year old daughter really enjoyed the Barcy Kid's club. Scuba dived and the staff at Dressel was fantastic. Overall, the staff was very friendly and always helpful.

Booking a vacation resort becomes what price point you pay and what you get for it. Would not over pay for this resort. You pay for what you get!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our stay at the Colonial was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were nice, the food was amazing and the beach and pool areas were beautiful. The selection of food pleased even my pickiest eaters. Wonderful staff, everyone very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back here with our kids and maybe even just the adults. Next time we go, we will be taking our floating chairs for the pool and ocean, and a big drink thermos to save on trips to the bar.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor which was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Colonial

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Maya Colonial 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Maya Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Caribe & Beach Resort
Barcelo Maya Tropical & Colonial Beach
Barcelo Maya Colonial Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.