We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for resting or for young children - A fiesta destination” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for resting or for young children - A fiesta destination”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Our family, two parents and a 18 months old child went to this resort for a wedding. Everything on the web site suggests that this is appropriate for a family and for vacationers who are not looking for a Daytona Beach Spring Break like experience - wrong. The more expensive rooms facing the ocean are exposed to what they call "greater movement," which means blasting bar music from 11 am until just about sunset, at which point, during most evenings, there is a night show until 9h00 or 9h30 pm which blast through even the closed doors of our room. Quite a challenge for children (or adults for that matter) to get any sense of peace and rest even in the afternoon when the beach is treated as a discotheque. The staff are friendly and kind but there is so much that they can do. In the middle of the night, guest yell by the pool and ocean side, and when they stop, you have the pleasure to hear them as they yell their way through their corridors, drunken on their way to their rooms. The food is bland and there is a good selection of Mexican fare but nothing to suggest one is actually by the sea (such as a real fish, grilled whole). The internet is not included and at 60$ a week, it is quite steep for a week and inconsistent signal. The rooms are beautiful and clean but you can't help but feel that they should invest their money in creating a play space away from the beach and the bedrooms to allow for choice of experience. As it is, it is really Fiesta Puerto Aventuras

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    858
    330
    133
    88
See reviews for
1,209
945
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

It's our first time in an all-inclusive resort. Got the Preferred Club Room which is very nice and spacious, always clean and offers a great view from the balcony. The problem we had was that this was not a relaxing vacation at all. At times, it seemed to us that we were back in Spring Break with Girl Gone Wild! Music on the beach, drunk people all over the place (by the way, there is an adult section, but to our dismay, the adults all hang out on the beach which is in the family section). People eating, drinking and smoking in the pools which get pretty dirty with Mojitos and Corona in them, not to mention food...
Our fridge was stocked only once. Maybe we didn't tip the employees enough? I thought it was an all-inclusive resort! Shouldn't you get to choose who you tip for good service?
All in all, great place for singles and adults looking to drink all day and have good al-american fun. Not so great if you have young kids.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodfield, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Dreams was an excellent choice for a 95 person destination wedding location. The wedding was beachside with a cocktail reception in the wedding gazebo and a private reception in El Patio. The resort was intimate and the food excellent. We especially like Gohan and Oceana.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed with this resort for 7 days..our room was ok but we all slept together in one room(6 of us) cause the resort could not quarantee us adjoining rooms..this was a little crowded.. ..the view was awesome..we had ocean view,a must!the cleaning room service was great..we tipped them good every morning for cleaning and we got extra towels,chocolate covered strawberries,extra wine...no complaints there..the food..ok but nothing great.after a while you were done with eating there....the waiters were awesome..tip them good and they will treat you right!Especially Elvin,speedy...they really bothered to get to know us...entertainment was ok but was quite similar after awhile...however,now the dissapointments..first of all,dreams is trying to sell a vacation plan(prefered club)..they will tell you its only to promote a resort in their chain but be warned..its a timeshare!..it wasted 3 and a half hours of our time and the sellers got really nasty when we declined..talked to another couple at resort..they got quated 33000..us 19000 for this card..its a scam!stay away from this ..we complained up front and lo and behold that nite we received extra wine cause i think they felt bad yet i am sure this was just an act..this i felt throughout the whole stay...as long as you give money..its ok..for example,cab ride..they charged us 95 dollars for shopping in playa(half an hour away roundtrip)..in Playa,we asked a taxi..he said 60..both ways so yes,the resort is making extra money!Once we confronted the bell man about this,he got a little upset....I have no problem spending some money but this was not right..also,another couple who stayed further away at a resort..only 30 to playa!Go figure!...overal resort ok....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Just returned from a trip to this resort. Travelled with some friends and my wife.

World Cafe --- the buffet was better than most resorts, but sometimes the food the not even warm. The choices were plentiful. Service was good too.
El Patio --- VERY GOOD and nice selection to choose from
Portofino --- EXCELLENT food, service was slow and it took a long time between courses. Really enjoyed the food in this restaurant
Oceana --- EXCELLENT food and service. Had to wait about 20 minutes for a table for 4.
Seaside Grill --- ate lunch here about 1/2 of the time. VERY GOOD food and service

Bars --- agree with comments that the more you tipped, the stronger and quicker your drinks arrived. This did not always feel like an all-inclusive for tipping bartenders.

Beach --- very nice with plenty of chairs. Sand is white and soft. Beach is well maintained.

Pools --- water was COLD. The family hot tub was warm with too many people. Adult hot tub changed temperature daily. Somedays it was barely warm and the next day scalded your skin.

Our room was very nice with plenty of space and a balcony. Room was well stocked and comfortable. In room wireless was slow, but worked. Had the best reception at the adult pool.

The marina is a 7 minute walk from the resort. Went there often to shop and see the dolphins (part of Dolphin Discovery).

Dreams is starting a Vacation Club. It felt like a Time Share without maintenance fees. There is a buy-in fee, yearly service fees (that goes up with inflation). Felt pressure to take this tour at Dreams Tulum. It took about 3.5 hours of our time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1travelnut Newport News VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Had a great time at Dreams Nov 2-9th. This is our third stay at a Dreams resort, and we were not disappointed. Twelve of us went, family and friends. Everything went well. We loved the small resort where everything was close by, and thought the beach was beautiful. Also, the beds are the best we've ever slept on. I even had concierge give me the mattress info, so if I buy another one, this is the one I'll get. Just to clear up the shower situation, if you have a room with a bathtub, your floor will get wet when you shower. The rooms with full showers, no tub, will not get wet. We were in room 344. Amazing room and full view of pool and ocean.

Here are some tips:

Take a Damp rid bag to hang in your room (available at Home Depot or Lowes). That will help with the humidity and mold smell.
Pick up some extra toast at breakfast and feed the fish in the natural pool. We quite enjoyed that. Also, you must try the oatmeal. Top it with coconut and almonds...yum!
The spring rolls at Seaside for lunch are sooo good. My hubbie doesn't like mushrooms, but loved these spring rolls.
Don't miss walking over to the marina to see the dolphins, sea otters, and manatees. If you go around 9a, you can see the trainers working with the dolphins. We enjoyed doing this many mornings, and helps to work off the calories.
The bikes are free to borrow. We rode all around the marina resort.
Enjoy a good burger - $5, at Gringo Daves in the marina, although the sliders at the beach are very good too.
Go climb Coba. We were told it’s the last year that it’s open to climb. It’s an adventure and amazing! You can do a full day tour with zipline, rappeling and snorkeling in a cenote. Covers all the bases of a full adventure tour. You’ll also have lunch Mayan style. You can book it in the hotel lobby or with your travel agent.
Get a massage with Maria! We had an 80 min couples massage and it was a wonderful experience!! Go early to use the sauna and jacuzzi. Undoubtedly the best resort massage I ever had.
VERY IMPORTANT - when you pass through security at the Cancun airport to come back to the states, and wait for your flight, do not buy any bottle of water/juices sold at the snack stand unless you can drink it all at one shot. Friend spent $12 on bottle water and juice, and airline confiscated it all when we went to board the plane. There are no signs telling you this. Usually when you pass security, you’re free to buy water and take on flight. Not so in Cancun.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We got to the resort on Nov 4. If you just stay in the resort and don't go anywhere it is great. The bartenders and servers were very nice (if you give tips). My kids pretty much stayed in the pool all day long. We are not the kind of people to stay in the resort all week so we went on some tours. The first tour the catamaya boat tour was great. People were nice and we had a great time. Second tour Xcaret was a disaster. We booked at the hotel and told us our 4 year old was free. We got to the park (where people weren't friendly at all) we had to pay another 50.00 usd. Then we went snokeling (there werent any fish to see or anything). We returned our things and then they told us we lost one of our flippers. (which we didn't) They wanted to charge us another 15.00 usd. (which I didn't want to pay) Then we had lunch. Servers were grumpy, nobody smiled. If you do a tour I would recommend the x-ha which is much better. Anyway then we decided to go to Playa to go shopping. Asked the bell man to order a van for us. (We thought if we get a van through the resort we wouldnt overpay) It cost 95.00 usd. (found out later it only should of been 60.00) Then we went swimming with the dolphins. We went to Cancun because they have a water park as well so we could stay there all day which was cheaper than going to the marina. There it was 159. usd and no waterpark. Cancun 109.00 and you can stay all day at the waterpark as well and it includes luch. People were friendly there. You have to book this one with the best day travel since the resort (amstar) doesnt have this one available. Anyway then it was time to go home. We had our suit cases ready to go. Check out is at 12 and we werent leaving till 3.30 so left my suitcases at the front. I went there 20 min before and told them I was taking 1 suitcase to change. He told me well you will have to go to the washroom. (witch was fine) Anyway got changed went back to the lobby and the guy said SORRY YOUR TRANSPORTATION LEFT!!! i didnt have any money left so I went downstairs to use the machine and it would cost me another 60 usd to use the machine!!! SUCH A RIPP OFF!!! I didnt use it of course . We ended up paying another 65.00 to get to the airport. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE FOR US!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.