We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip and a Great Resort for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Trip and a Great Resort for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Having never been to an all inclusive resort or to Mexico for that matter, we didn't really have a whole lot of expectations. We just wanted a nice family resort where we could all enjoy some fun in the sun. The property is very intimate. If you're looking for a resort with miles of beach front and 7 pools and 27 restaurants this one is not for you. If you're looking for a wild time with crazy nightlife, then we don't recommend this resort. If you're looking for a family focused resort with a great staff and very reasonable food we would absolutely recommend this property. Our 8 and 12 year old had the time of their lives. There were plenty of activities for all concerned - from beach volleyball to spanish lessons to cooking lessons and towel art, there was always an activity to take part in if you want a break from the sun and the surf.

The staff was exceptional. These folks work very hard. Most make about $5 a day so we strongly urge you to tip. They really appreciate the gesture and they certainly remember you the next time you come in for a meal or order room service.

As mentioned, the property isn't huge but in our view it was plenty big enough and it was really convienient if you had to run back to your room if you forgot something. The beach was beautiful. Yes, it was a little rocky but it was great to swim in because they had breakers out in the water which minimized some of the surf. The pool was great but if you want a chair you had better get there early to mark your spot as they get quickly gobbled up. Same applies for the beach.

The food: Porto Fino - FANTASTIC! It's Italian food and it was exceptional. We're "foodies" and we know good quality food when we taste it. We would recommend the filet, the veal and any of the pastas. The atmosphere at Porto Fino is wonderful and you can sit outside watching the Carribbean Sea lapping at the shore.
Seaside Grill - Very Good. T-bone steak, flank steak and ribs and grilled barbecue chicken ranch salad were all very well prepared.
Buffet - great for breakfast; dinner it was just average. They don't have a huge selection but enough to keep most people satisfied. Here's a tip: if you're by the beach or the pool, you can order food from the wait staff and they'll bring it right to you. You can also order from the Seaside Grill (they have a really good lunch menu) and they'll also bring it to you. Never tried the Mexican restuarant or the Sushi place, heard both establishments were just average.

Drinks - plenty of options and they don't water anything down. If you receive the $200 resort credit, we would recommend you use the coupons to upgrade your wine selections at dinner. You can use $40 at a time. The resort does offer plenty of free wine but it's not that great in our view and we had some fantastic wine using the coupons.

The rooms were beautiful and were kept very clean. Our balcony overlooked the ocean and it was wonderful just sitting there looking out over the property. Only complaint was the mini-bar wasn't stocked all that regularily. When we arrived, each fridge (we had two rooms) had 5 or 6 beers, some juices, water and some cold pop. We had to ask several times to have staff re-stock the fridge before it was replenished.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel. In our view it was great value and while it could have been better in some areas, the total experience was beyond our expectations. If you have a family and are looking for a safe and friendly resort, Dreams delivers 100 percent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    697
    271
    108
    73
See reviews for
981
782
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We spent the first week of april 2009 at this resort, (my wife and I) , ill start with the weather, sunny and over 30 degrees every single day, the people were excellent, so friendly and nice,we loved the food and there was plenty of it. Loved the Sea Side Grill especially the Peruvian Ceviche, Sushi was great, and so were Oceana (seafood) the Mexican and the Italian restaurants. It was the best vacation we've ever had. mind you we went to relax and to get away from this never ending winter in Barrie, Ontario. The bartenders were so nice, especially the ones by the adult pool, they will come around to ask if we needed drinks and bring them right to us while we were suntanning; take a walk to swim with the dolphins, or ride a bike, available through the activities team. Beach was nice. the rooms were big and the bathrooms bigger than normal. we had a view of the marina, with a nice terrace(main floor) workers try very hard to make sure your stay is nice and safe, so please tip whenever you can ,they dont make a lot of money, we would recommend this hotel 100%, thanks again Dreams Puerto Aventuras for a wonderful vacation, we would go back in a heartbeat. Great place for families too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

My wife and I went another couple for our 10 yr. anniversary. We left the kids behind and overall had a good time. We knew there would be some issues, but got a great price and just wanted to get away, so I make my comments having read EVERY post on here prior to leaving. Therefore, please know my review is made with as much objectivity and honesty as possible to give you a true feel for our experience. Basically, Its a clean and nice resort that tries to be luxury but falls short. Its very familiy friendly, but was also pleasant for couples.... either can be happy here. BUT, you need to be prepared for teh fact that its small and has a few issues. If you can get a great bargain its a decent place, if you pay full price, you will be disappointed.

Pros: friendly staff (albeit clueless most of the time), very clean rooms and resort, decent food, good alcohol selection and drinks, adult pool, nice activities for kids.

Cons: Service (they try, but have no clue what that really means). Small size and few choices of things to do for couples (no real nightlife). After 3 days, your bored. spa is overpriced compared to U.S. spas. VERY far from airport.

This resort should be a 4-5 "apple". If they improve the service and add a few more amenities, it could be better. Also, do NOT get the "preferred" package, its a rip-off. Basically you get nothing extra and quite frankly anyone can walk into the "lounge" (consists of 4 chairs and a bar) and have a drink. We were very upset with teh fact that we paid extra for nothing additional. BTW, trip to Playa for shopping and dinner is fun.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My fiancé and our 2 best friends who are newlyweds decided to take a trip to Mexico and were blown away by the amazing experience we had. The best part was the constant confirmation that we were staying at a 5 star hotel. From the service to the accommodations and the quality of the food we just could not get enough. The staff was unbelievably sweet and attentive. They were focused on us and never gave us the "be back in 5 minutes with a solution" answer; they truly took care of us and our requests. They gave us warm smiles and loved that we remembered their names and tried to greet them in Spanish when we saw them.
The resort offered a very relaxing atmosphere, everything was spotless and new. The ambiance was beautiful in all 5 restaurants. The buffet offered all of the best food - including different kinds breads, smoked salmon, fresh salads, and exotic fruits. The restaurants were my favourite part of the whole vacation - the food is like nothing I have ever tasted - the quality of the ingredients used and the service were first class. We never had to wait or could even come up with one complaint.
The beach is rocky so remember to bring beach shoes that cost $7.00 at Canadian Tire but would make such a difference to your vacation.
You can really enjoy all of the non-motor sports offered and you don't have to wait for them. Everything is accessible at all times.
The disco bar and the DJ were amazing - the bartender had serious skills!
You can go shopping in the Puerto Aventuras area and take long walks around the resort which is a safe and very private huge area.
You can see the dolphins and seals in the marina within walking distance.
Don't forget that you can bargain when you want to buy souvenirs and you should take advantage of visiting some tourist spots around like Tolum (beautiful ruins and paradise beach).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I want to first start by saying this vacation was wonderful we have been to Dreams in Los Cabos and this Dreams was on the mark! This hotel is first class in service. We never received poor service for the five days (April 5- 9) we were there. In fact, people like David at Oceana and the bar service on the preferred club was top notch. Remember to tip and show them you appreciate them. Upon arrival my family was greeted by Jesus who thanked my family for selected their resort. We received champagne and my children were given Shirley Temples. We later arrived to our room which was cleaned daily. I appreciated that the floors were moped everyday. This was great because of the sand brought in from the beach would have drove me crazy. My kids enjoyed room service and the shows. My daughter is still talking about the ‘bowling ball’.
The activities were great. If you wanted peace and quite you could have that. If you wanted crazy pool tricks, you could get that too. I enjoyed the beach and kayaking. I really loved the kayaking. I enjoyed Portofino they had really good food. The almond dessert was my favorite. My son loved the fish tacos from the Seaside Grill.
I have to take time to rave about the Explorers Club. The ladies at the club were the best. My six year old child loved all the activities and wanted to eat dinner with her new friends on several occasions throughout the week. I was surprised how much they all loved doing their jobs.
I can only tell you good things about this resort. I would also suggest a trip to Tulum. While there check out the ruins and wear a bathing suit for the great beaches. A cab ride there was about 30 minutes and ran about $25 for the four of us each way. Remember your dreams bottled water. The reef at Dreams was perfect for snorkeling. When you are here you seem to forget about work and the stresses at home. It is a vacation.. I will remember.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We went the first week of January. The weather was not that great but that is not the Hotels fault.
The hotel itself is small compared to some of the mega resorts. We stayed on the 6th floor which is part of the "preferred package" which gets you a better bar selection and a little area with snacks and such. We spent a lot of evenings here after dinner.
The beach itself is rather small and is rocky in some spots but the water was clear and very good for snorkeling. There was also a little snorkeling pond on the back side of the hotel that was very cool.

The main bars in the hotel are by the beach and all access pool. Most people could find a drink they were looking for. Corona and Pacifico were the beers available.
Also Bud Lite in a can.
We ate at all the restaurants at 1 ppoint and they were all ok. Nothing special but we disliked the Italian the most. It just wasnt very good.

The thing that made this trip special was not the hotel but the staff. They were what made the trip. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make each guest feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We were at this resort in March 2002 and it was the Oasis Puerto Adventuras. What a change in 7 years. I will make this short. Everything was new and clean, room was large, bed comfy, service was excellent, food was sometimes cold but always good, beach was small, a little rocky but had large waves and required water shoes for the rocky areas, stood and watched fish circle us, entertainment was short ( 45 to 60 minutes) and started promptly at 8:30. Very nice indoor theatre that they also use to show movies later at night. Audience participation for the hypnotist and illusionist only and none of those audience shows you get at other resorts. All 5 shows we saw we enjoyed. Mainly Americans and canadians. We are both retired and were given a room on the main floor overlooking the family pool. It was more suited to a family with children. However after 9:30 it is very quiet. It had many families with children of all ages. I understand it was also spring break in some states. Not a place for young partiers. We would return again but we won't wait 7 years this time. Only negative was the long ride from the airport and the lack of a Canadian Tv station which we suggested on their questionnaire at check out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.