We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, Awesome Service, Our Kids Had a Blast Too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Awesome Service, Our Kids Had a Blast Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

I read various reviews on this resort before selecting this Dreams location. It used to be the Sundial Resort and Dreams purchased it. Our family of four included two kids 8 and 11 (boy and girl) who didn't want to leave. We were there for 6 nights. The resort is part of a group of properties located within the marina area. A dolphin pool and many little shops and restraunts were within walking distance.

First, the property itself. It's clean, elegant without being too formal, the rooms remind me of a spa. Slippers and robes were provided. The beach is perfect. It's like a little cove so when it's windy the waves aren't a problem. My 8 year old could climb on the iceburg (inflatable rockclimbing) or water trampoline in the water and could safely stand when she jumped off. Basically, both the pools and beach were perfect for the kids - not too deep for kids and just fine for us adults. The family area had a huge, slightly warm hot tub that was the size of 4 typical hot tubs. I personally loved it! Also a hint, bring bread, stand in the ocean, and within seconds fish are surrounding you! Awesome!

Second, the entertainment for both adults and children were amazing. Neither of my children once said they were bored. If you have kids, you get how this is a compliment! My 11 year old son WANTED to go in the kids club during dinner to play with his friends. He's usually too cool for "kid club." They had Wii, the internet, and whatever else keeps an 11 year old happy. My 8 year old daughter also loved the kid club and resort. The entertainment was great, but in between organized basketball, beach football, water aerobics, kid fashion show on the beach, movies on the beach at night, and rock band at night, the kids had plenty of kids to play with. My kids don't usually join kids they don't know, but everyone was so friendly they had friends within the first day of arriving. My son hung around the basketball court by the pool and never went without a group of kids his age to play with.

The staff was helpful and polite - always willing to make sure you were enjoying your stay. We've been to this area 3 times and the staff at each resort has always been good, but the people working at Dreams stood out as being much more welcoming and accomodating. Housekeeping was always prompt, came twice a day to change towels, clean up, and make up or turn down the beds. The staff also was attentive to the children. If my son went to the bar by the family pool, they were always promptly waited on and met with a smile.

The food was good. Sometimes is was really, really excellent, but it was always good. The buffet selection changed so you didn't see the same stuff all week. The speciality restraunts were also good. On a scale of 1-10 I'd say the food was an 8. Roomservice and mini bar in the room was convenient and included in the all inclusive!

As far as our room, we had a beautiful basic room on the 6th floor facing the marina. A great view, overlooking the quiet adult pool, bar, and restaurant.

We had a great time watching our kids play, talking to other parents, and relaxing! The resort is just the right size so that you could always keep an eye on your children.

As for some of the complaints others have written, I disagree. No, not everything is perfect all the time. However, I'm very particular. If housekeeping doesn't come, the room is dirty, the staff is rude, or the kid's club is lame, I am the first one to notice. So, be assured that this resort is worth the expense and week of my life!

We stayed at the Catalonia in the same marina two years ago. The Dreams Resort was much better!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    785
    309
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,114
878
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We just got back from staying 7 days at Dreams Puerto Aventuras and had a GREAT time. We traveled with four children (ages 2, 6, 8 and 11 years). There was so much for them to do all day and evening! The food was good and the service was great! Bring $1 and $5 bills, tip each day and you will be treated like a king! It is a small resort that has great security and we felt safe at all times. It is only a 5 minute walk into town where you can swim with the dolphins and shop. There is a snorkeling lagoon just down the beach (3 minute walk down the beach) where you can snorkel and see TONS of fish, crabs... The beach was great with calm waters, fish, and white sand! You will want to bring a pair of water shoes if you want to walk over to where the fish are, as it is coral. No problem finding lounge chairs by the beach,,,plenty! No wait for breakfast, lunch or dinner and the food was good. We tipped the good employees and were treated well...special drinks for the kids when they walked by the bar, towel art, waiters carrying our plates of food (from the buffet) to our table, "napkin art" while we ate dinner. The all-inclusive includes top shelf drinks and alcohol! We also took advantage of the Spa and our three boys had a kids chocolate and mint scrub and chocolate wrap. They loved it and the staff is so great with kids! I could go on and on. I was very worried about staying at the resort after reading all the bad reviews. All I have to say is that there was nothing I could complain about and cannot understand why the bad reviews!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed at Dreams Puerto Aventuras from 3/26/09 - 4/4/09. We chose this hotel because it is smaller than some of the resorts. The pool and hot tub are close to all the rooms and the beach only 100 feet away. This is one of the few hotels in Mexico that keep the pool warm and the hot tub hot. Unfortunately, the beach is alittle rocky under water. It is built in a protective cove, but the waves can still wash away the sand during storms leaving rocks exposed under the water. Part of the oceanfront is built on exposed coral reef rocks which would be great snorkeling in calm weather. We had wind and waves the whole week so the snorkeling was not good, but the tide pools on the rocks had lots of crabs and snails and fish that the kids played with. The hotel looks new. Everything is well kept up and painted. Lots of art. There are both indoor and outdoor restauraunts and an indoor buffet. We liked the food and variety in all. The outdoor bars were nice. We never went into the indoor bar because it was dark and out of the way. The only problem we had with the food was that there was no ice cream dispenser in the entire hotel. No ice cream in the bars, none in the restauraunts. We thought that was weird.
The staff at the hotel was very nice. Our room was ready early, check-in and out was easy. The room and maid service was good. The only problem we had was water on the floor and fog on the mirrors the first day. Either they forgot to mop after cleaning, or the air conditioner was frozen. After we complained, they mopped the floor dry and they checked the air conditioner and it stayed dry the whole week.
We did two excursions. Xel Ha was wonderful for snorkeling, floating in innertubes and climbing up a cliff, then jumping into the water below. We also did a cave tour called Rio Secreto. It is a tour through one of the underground rivers from one cenote to another. We wore wet suites, water shoes and lights on our helmets. The tour takes about an hour to walk and swim through the tunnels. There are beautiful formations hanging from the ceilings and walls, blind fish in the pools and albino insects and spiders living in the darkness. The guide did a great job showing us everything. They would not let us take cameras because they wanted to sell pictures instead. At $25.00 per picture or $80.00 for a disk with 8 pictures, I didn't buy any.
The resort is also next to a Dolphinarium. Everyday they have free shows where you can watch people who pay to swim with the dolphins, manatees, sting rays and sea lions. They had two female dolphins give birth while we were there. My daughter swam with the dolphins, fed the manatees, and got to pet the sealions for $200.00.
Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. It would be even better if the rocks in the water could be removed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

After a fantastic trip to Dreams Cancun in March 2008 we were ready for more and ready to try another Dreams property. Net net Dreams Puerto Aventuras was nice and had a lot going for it but the food left a lot to be desired. As Puerto Aventuras just became a Dreams property in late 2008 I suspect that they will get there - but they have some real kinks to work out.
The positives :
• The property is beautiful - two pools (one adults only and one for families) - family pool had a cordoned off shallow pool and a broad ledge for the little ones, beautifully landscaped and maintained, nice (albeit small) beachfront - a little rocky - but lots of neat sea life to look at - also the rooms are very nicely turned out (although I wish they would use queen beds vs doubles) - we were on the ground floor and had a nice little patio and mini-yard
• We (and more importantly the kids) love the Explorer's club - that is Dreams fantastic kid's club. Frankly we keep coming back to Dreams for that Explorer's Club. Nice facilities, tons of activities for two busy boys (beach camp-out, marshmallow roasting and movies on the beach were their favorites) and really lovely staff
• Great bars and bartenders - loved the Barracuda bar right on the water - great drinks - rooms had well stocked (and included) mini-bars with water, beer, juice, soda etc
• Good activities - from the jumping trampoline, the pictures with parrots/monkey/iguana to the sea kayaks and ocean climbers to the evening market- plenty to see and do for those who wanted to participate - plus lots to do off campus
• Responsive security staff - our four year old slipped and cut his chin and the security guys and a medic were on the scene in a New York minute - unnecessary in this case - nothing that a kids pina colada could not fix - but nice to know they were there
• Wireless internet access - the Cancun property did not have this - I found it quite handy for keeping up with work
• Friendly staff - for the most part the staff were friendly and ready to accommodate and help whenever they could - had some challenges communicating but once we got that figured out people were very nice
The cons- really only one as far as we were concerned - but it was a big one...the food really needs work - there are 5 restaurants on the campus - so good variety - but the preparation was spotty at best - food was regularly cold (esp at the Sea Side Grill), the produce was poor (my wife had a salad and a sandwich with lettuce that was just gross) and often undercooked/raw. The sushi place was nicely laid out/visually appealing but the sushi was weak. Our best meal was at the adults only Oceana and at the Italian restaurant Portofino - but all in all surprisingly and consistently bad.
We would go back next year but we'd be betting that Dreams Puerto Aventuras will have gotten the message about the food and figured it out by Spring 2010.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights and it was the experience of a lifetime! We got married on Friday, March 27 - and from the moment we arrived, the staff was incredible, the resort was spectacular and the activities plentiful. We had a marina-view honeymoon suite which was absolutely breathtaking --- a wrap-around porch, an outdoor jacuzzi, incredible views of the marina (obviously), a beautifully tiled shower and bathroom with double sinks, and free 24-hour room service. The entire time we were there the weather was really windy (which was unusual for the area and season), but other than that, we couldn't complain, and we can't complain anyway you look at it. Wednesday, March 25, we relaxed by the pool with margaritas o'plenty and had an amazing dinner at Oceana. Thursday the 28th - our family arrived and it was more relaxing by the adults-only pool and another amazing dinner at Portofino. Friday was our precious wedding day - we had to move our ceremony to the deck above Portofino, but it was perfect! We had a mariachi band for cocktail hour and a lovely private dinner next to Oceana and the adults-only pool - it was very intimate for it being outside, and the wind was much less on the marina side. We danced the night away at Desires afterwards. I cannot stress enough how great the staff is at Dreams - they made every just perfect! Saturday we relaxed a little more, and strolled along the marina to watch the dolphins, sea lions, and manatees - so awesome... and a little shopping, dinner at El Patio - great atmosphere, but not my favorite food at the resort ----- wasn't nearly as Mexican as I was craving. We also had drinks at Baracuda Bar on the beach and met some great people. Sunday we went off-resort to check out Tulum (Tulum Express Tour)... we had a bit of an unfortunate experience, as we wanted to take some additional photos with our photographer and he was denied access because he looked like a professional photographer - needless to say, the Tulum experience was ruined - it was pretty, but I wasn't expecting what we encountered. So we came back and redeemed the day with some beach volleyball. Monday was aqua aerobics, a couples massage, a lot of beach-time, and dinner in Playa del Carmen - a completely different feel from the quiet and relaxing Puerto Aventuras. But dinner at Ajua was delicious - we were definitely feeling some authentic Mexican food, and had to stop in for one drink and sit on the swings at Senor Frogs. Tuesday we took the Mexican Adventure snorkel tour we booked with the Dive Shop (and guide Carlos) and it was amazing --- since it was so windy we missed out on snorkeling with the Akumal turtles, but we did do some snorkeling in Yal Ku Lagoon and 2 Cenotes, Eden and Azul - both incredible. We got another massage and hit Gohan for some Sushi and then Portofino - again, more great people. Wednesday was our last day, so we enjoyed a little bit of everything. We did some snorkeling and kayaking in the lagoon beside the Catalonia resort (since it was too windy to be active in the sea), we relaxed on the beach, then tried out scuba in the pool ---- and LOVED it --- we wished we had had more time there. Our last night we enjoyed another dinner at Oceana and took a stroll along the marina, just to find a live band playing outside the Omni Hotel and a bit more nightlife than we expected ---- the perfect end to a perfect vacation/weddingmoon. It was really really hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

My wife and inlaws stayed at this location the last week of March. It was our second time staying in a Dreams resort.

The overall vibe of the resort is laid back and not stuffy, perfect for what we were looking for. No formal clothes for dinner, but certain people would get dressed up.

We enjoyed our trip, and had a good quality experience. The food is not gourmet, but does the job. Alcohol is top notch, good Vodka, Bud, Bud Light, Corona Dark, Corona, Negro Modela, Modela, Pacifico, Sol. Also plenty of tequilas. The bartenders would make you anything you wanted.

Dreams goes out of their way to make you happy. Whether it be a bar set up in the theater, a tequila tasting, food, they really do want you to enjoy your stay.

We never had a problem getting chairs on the beach or at the adult pool. During the day chairs were tough at the main pool if you did not get there in the morning.

The front desk was not the most helpful, but other than that the staff made the trip. We were always greeted with a hello, asked what we needed, and never felt like the staff was not willing to help.

In conclusion, I would recommend this resort to families, laid back couples who do not mind children who are looking to have fun, as well as people travelling with extended families. Great consistent resort, well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Our family of four spent 8 nights here in March. Got a great rate, booked in Dec. through Bookit. We were told we would get 2 marina view rooms anywhere on the 2nd through the 6th flloor. We arrived at 2:30 pm and our rooms were ready. We ended up with 2 adjoining Marina- view rooms on the sixth floor. The rooms were great-we loved our view and location. Everything worked and beds very comfortable. One room had two beds, the other had a king bed. We preferred the room with the king bed -had a sofa ,more storage(a bit of a luxury here I'm afraid), much nicer bathroom w/double sinks and huge modern shower area.
We found lots to do here - kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, hourly activities, some type of show nightly. Plenty to eat and drink, whenever we wanted. We waited to get into breakfast one day (8AM) 5 minutes but besides that no waiting. We often went to eat when they first opened. Try all the restaurants, some foods definitely better than others. I liked the grouper for lunch at Seaside and had several times. Breakfast buffet always had a good selection. Get your fruit in the morning, harder to find later in the day.
We found the staff hard working here and eager to please No problem getting beach service for drinks and always plenty of towels. Shaded umbrellas hard to come by we never were able to get one but threw a few towels down around eight most mornings and always had a decent beach seat..
There are a lot of kids here. Some of the young ones use the explorer club and seem happy. There are plenty of activities to keep the older ones busy if they want to join in. My daughter (12 ) said this was her favorite vacation ever and did many activites and made many, many firends. My 19 year old son had plenty to do too with volley ball, football and such and he definitely enjoyed himself.
It can be loud at times during pool and/or beach activites. We never minded but I can see where someone without kids or just away as a couple might.. The Adult side was quieter and we went over there for a drink a couple times but didn't spend a lot of time there.
We had minimal issues at this resort. Mini bar was not filled and safe wouldn't lock upon arrival within an hour both were resolved. Use the safe though. They seemed to be in and out of the room often-morning maid , mini- bar refilled,, turn down service , fresh towels and trash removal. We didn't always see them but knew someone had been in. We arranged to have a bithday cake and balloons brought up to my daughter's room through the concierge, she loved that..
We walked down to the marina area both day and night. Always felt safe. Easy walk, lots of restaurants and some shops. Dolphin Discovery is there also and a good time. We also walked along the beach on the back side of the marina and out by the getty, that was good for a bit of exercise. We took a taxi early one morning to Tulum ruins- it was beautiful there. We had a great family vacation at Dreams and Puerto Aventuras and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.