We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad beach, no soundproofing in the rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, bad beach, no soundproofing in the rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

We went to Dreams Puerto Aventuras on a 4 1/2 star Go Travel Direct Wild Card vacation. We were pleased to find out we would be staying at a 5 star, but not so pleased when we arrived.

Puerto Aventuras is a gated community about 30 minutes south of Playa Del Carmen. It is obviously a yachtie paradise; the marina has many arms reaching into the community, surrounded by condos and time shares overlooking the moored vessels. There is a golf course in the community, and a village center with a dolphin park and some tourist stores and restaurants less than 1 km from the hotel.

The hotel is more like a Cancun resort - very urban - and does not have the natural feel you would expect from Riviera Maya. The beach attached to the resort is very small and rocky, and generally unappealing. The grounds are pie shaped, with the point facing the beach, so that the waterfront feels very compressed with the huge numbers of chairs. The pools were also small, and did not inspire us to spend leisurely days floating around. The beachfront pool is for everyone, and on the back side of the hotel is a pleasant adult-only pool where they often played light music. We have been on many all-inclusive vacations in both 4 and 5 stars, and we did the least swimming here compared to all the others. We hunted around Puerto Aventuras and finally found access to the larger beach near the dolphin park, but this beach was also so crowded that it was unappealing.

The rooms themselves are completely new and pleasant, with stone floors and a modern brown and ivory colour scheme. The rooms have nice bathrooms and tile showers, but no bathtubs. The rooms are not soundproofed at all. We were unlucky at first to be placed in a room beside the kichen on the ground level, facing the pool and the main exit to the beach area. We were simply surrounded by noise on all sides. It turns out the front desk staff have a rule where they won't move guests until they have stayed in their room for two days. Two days later, we were finally moved to a quieter room, but only after many arguments with hotel staff in which they wanted to send us to another ground level room facing the bar. In our new room, we had the pleasure of listening to the neighboring couple scream at their children at bedtime.

We did enjoy the restaurants at this hotel. Although one couple we met found the food weak compared to Iberostar hotels, we thought we had excellent value for the money. The restaurants are beautifully decorated, and those with outdoor patios are very romantic. The service was friendly and attentive. One of the service restaurants is open for breakfast, allowing for leisurely morning meals. We also enjoyed the unlimited room service; many guests had snacks delivered to them poolside. The food selection in the buffet is limited compared to many other resorts, and beans, legumes, and otherwise standard salad items were only occasionally on offer.

We were disappointed that the hotel has no tennis court. The tennis court at the local golf course costs about $30 US /hour. Because it is in a gated community, running is easy and many guests of the different resorts run or walk the loop in the community which we estimate to be 2 km. The hotel gym has new equipment, a view on the adult pool, but is cramped.

The watersports booth is run by a separate concessionaire. We found the staff there arrogant and their system convoluted; they expect guests to carry around a check sheet documenting their use of equipement. We quickly decided kayaking or sailing wasn't worth the hassle of dealing with them.

We only saw a few of the hotel shows, and they were pleasant but not exceptional. Friday nights the hotel runs a beach party with a rock band which plays well, and many guests had fun dancing in the sand.

Overall, we were surprised that Dreams bought this hotel. The quality of grounds don't match what we had associated with the brand. Nice rooms and food can't make up for a cramped property and a tiny, rocky beach, and small pools.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    691
    271
    108
    73
See reviews for
968
777
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

I saw some awful reviews on this site about this hotel before we left but we found this resort to be lovely. We are a family of five who met my parents and siblings with thier families. They were not able to guarantee adjoing rooms and we didn't get them but that didn't work out to be such a big deal, with our three kids staying ni another room.

The design of the place is great. Its at the end of the Puerto Aventuras development, which has really quite a nice feel for walking around (going to the dolphins, etc). The The "marina view" rooms are, in my opinion, better than the "ocean view" as the latter look out over the "adult pool" and the Oceana restaurant and enjoy sunsets and not as much wind on the terraces. Lower noise levels during th day and eventing I expect. We were very happy with this aspect.

The rooms are very nice with well appointed rooms, which they make a great effort to maintain well, with nice bedding furnishings, flat screeen TVs and DVD players (they have a free library but you can bring your own DVDs too).

THe lobby is strategically situated to put you in a direct line to either the beach and main pool, or the marina/adult pool areas. Its a pleasure to arrive and walk around.

We were very happy with the sevice, housekeeping, and restaurant sercice. It all seemed much better than it had to be for an all-inclusive. I gave little tips here and there and they were all very much appreciated. If i asked for special top-shelf liquors for my drinks they obliged. special orders in restaurants were dealt with, if not expediently, with tenacity.

One thing for sure, don't ever be in a rush.

As an example of the careful service, we had a special party at the resort for my family and they organized very well. As a result, however, I wound up leaving a whole bunch of stuff on the beach and forgetting about it until the next afternoon. It was all carefully stowed a tthe lost and found and returned to me with reciepts the next day when I went looking for it.

We had a bit of trouble with the locks on our doors but it was a technical glitch that could have happened anywhere.

this was our first stay at a DREAMS and we had a very positive impression -- it seemed to me that they have mastered how to deal with guests and I say bravo and thanks.

The beach and pools were especially nice. the only slight criticism you might say is that they're not cushioned (but then its not a ritz carleton is it?). But they had PLENTY of towels all day long (that people started to grab at sunrise and reserve chairs). OK they had plenty but it was still less crowded than the other neaby beaches.

The people at the dive shop were nice and thought their prices to be a little high but not so high as to merit dealing with the hastles of booking outside the resort. the diving trip to Cozumel that we had was really nice (though not fancy).

We really enjoyed this place and the staff and would definitely go back. Wasn't cheap (for us) though.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We, a family of 5 spent 10 days @ Dreams PA. Like others after reading the reviews when they first re-opened I was calling my travel agent with a few questions and concerns. The resort is in a gated community and the hotel is monitored by security staff. Upon arrival we had a speedy check in but after being put in a "family gardenview room" (which are on the ground floor) on the adult side of the resort we went back to the front desk and asked to be moved. With 3 kids it didn't make sense to be on the adult side. We were offered an upgrade along with the price but refused as the trip was costly enough. ( an upgrade @ no cost wasn't an option on their part!) We were eventually moved to a ground floor room on the family side. The pool was 25 feet out our door, ground level which the kids loved.!! Thanks to Victor @ the front desk for the help! He continued to be very gracious and helpful the rest of our stay.
Our room was nice. Marble decor. Had issues like others with water spraying out the shower because of no curtain and only a partial glass wall deflecting the water. Ended up hanging a towel on the pull out clothes line which helped. They could save on a lot of soaked laundry and floors by investing in shower curtains. The beds/bedding were comfy but would have been nice to sleep in a queen size bed. This style of room comes with 2 double beds and a couch pull out. Don't expect a lot of dresser type drawers to unpack for your stay. There is only one skinny drawer under the TV. We asked for and got folding luggage racks and asked for extra hangers. Our kids discovered "room service" and thought it was great to have food delivered for a bedtime snack. They learned to tip and understood these people made very little money outside of tips they received. We took in the evening entertainment 3-4 times. The size of the resort is on the smaller side compared to what my husband and I have been to but when travelling as a family, it was a good size. Kids could wander around and not be worried about them. The beach unfortunately is not one that you can walk forever. You could walk to the left past the Catelonia out to a point a feed the fish bread/bananas, which the kids enjoyed and that was about it. The area is very rocky. No problems getting a chair or towels. Ocean trampoline and climbing iceberg were well used by kids/families.
We wandered down to the Marina a few times where the kids swam with the dolphins.The $150.00 excursion is pretty much the same as other places. Neat open air restaurants, live entertainment and some shopping, fishing charters and expensive boats!!
We went to Xel-ha for $92.00 a person. We shopped around and after talking to people @ the Marina we booked and saved about $25.00 per person. Reliable, punctual , clean van and staff transported us.
We also went to Excaret. Friends recommended to stay for the "night show" so we opted to pay the $99.00 pp and go @ 11:00 on our own instead of $139.00 pp for the whole day and board a bus @ 0820. We took a cab which the bell boys will arrange for you for $16.00 one way. It cost about $25.00 to get back to the resort. The night show is well worth it. Got back around 9:30. The cabs are clean and drivers were curtious, but some tend to drive to fast!!
We also took a cab to 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen to do some shopping and went to Senor Frogs! The kids loved it!! Great entertainment. $16.00 seems to be the base price for cabs to get somewhere but do pay a bit more to come back. Bartering helps!!
The entertainment staff put in long hours and do a great job! Music got a bit monotonous and loud @ times. We are not fussy eaters and would say the food was good but nothing spectacular.
The internet service is good. cost $14.00 for an hour which expires in 24 hours after activation.
I felt this hotel location is good. About 10 minutes to Xel-ha and Excaret and 15 minutes to Playa Del Carmen. About a 70 minute drive from Cancun. Only had to drop off people once on trips there and back.
Hope this review helps future travellers, Glad we hung in there after reading the initial reviews. Thats the chance you take going when a resort first opens.
Not sure if we would specifically return to this resort. We tend to like to walk the beaches and see/experience different resorts.
Skunks family

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My girlfriends and I just returned from a long weekend trip to Dreams. After a VERY long shuttle trip, we arrived and were greeted immediately by the bell staff. Our check-in was ordinary (no additional information on services, etc.) and we were shown to our room.
We ate at El Patio the first night and waited to be seated for over an hour and a half. The hostess kept telling us that we were next in line, but it continued to take a long time. After being seated, the service was poor. We waited over 15 minutes for drinks and the waiter brought out 2 small platters of chips and guacamole that would only feed half of our group. When we asked for more chips, it was as if we were inconveniencing them. The food was horrible at El Patio. The guacamole and pico were the only "safe" foods to eat. The steak was fatty, chicken mole disgusting, soup bland, drinks flat. This was the worst restaurant at the resort. However, Oceana was fabulous. Everything we had at Oceana was fresh and very appetizing. The service was slow, but the food compensated. It truly seemed that the resort was understaffed. The wait staff was always slow and not ever very accomodating. At breakfast each day, the waiters were very rude. It would take atleast 10 minutes just to ask for a drink, and they did not make refills a priority at all! Likewise, at Portofino the service was horrible. Our waiter was blatantly rude and made our dinner very unpleasant. The food was cold, and we had to actually get up and get our own water throughout our meal. We were very displeased with our visit to Portofino.
The hotel still seems quite old. Our room was right beside the kitchen and was extremely loud. We were awoken several times to plates being dropped, etc. The noise levels in the hotel are very high. It might be where our room was, but it sure seemed like it was noisy everywhere. The bathtub/shower in our room was strange. There was only a half wall, so water leaked all over the bathroom floor when you took a shower. Gross. The beds however, were very comfortable and the room was very spacious, with an iPOD dock and flat screen TV. Not too bad for the price we paid.
The beach, pools and lagoon at the resort were awesome. While it was a little chilly to go swimming (for me), the property was kept up very nicely and was very family friendly. The lagoon was our favorite place to relax! Very secluded and quiet. It seemed like the resort would be a great place to travel with kids. There were always activities going on, and activity staff trying to recruit for them constantly! Overall, a fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

is a good hotel with a great staff..

check in: well, the best advice is...look for Samantha!! she is really helpfull and she is going to explain you everything, im not sure of her ship but i think she is there all day, she is always at the front desk bar with a huge smile...

the room: we had a marina view room , is a great view, the room was big enought , the bed is good and the bathroom is clean .

the pool; the jacuzzi at the adults side never works, the family pool needs better music, i think salsa and mexican music is better than the bettles if you are in mexico.

bars: desires is like the night club but close at one..the service is the best there, alfredo and carlos are great!!

the last year we stay at dreams puerto vallarta was good but ...puerto aventuras is our favorite now!!

debbie

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Our visit was February 19-25, 2009.
Our room #636 provided us with a great view of the ocean and pool/beach area of the resort. In or opinion, we could not have had a better room. Staff cleaned the room daily between 9a-5p as stated in the hotel information guide, provided us with any special requests we asked for and the evening turn down service was a nice bonus. The AM room service was prompt. The refridgerator was restocked daily, special requests were honored. It could have been a bit colder, it was turned to the coldest setting but beverages while cool, were not cold to our liking.
Food/ Restaurants in order of our preferences - To say from the top all wait staff we encountered were prompt, helpful and attentive. There was never a shortage of food and the wait never longer, for us, than 10-15 min. Most of the time it was immediate seating. Restaurants were clean. The Patio- Mexican restaurant with a quiet dining atmosphere. Both times we ate there the food was excellant. The recommended Mojito made with tequila was a new and different experience from the usual rum after the first i do not knoe if i would return to the rum. The International Buffet had great meal selections breakfast through dinner. Oceaniana- the restaurant on the adult side of the resort, was a nice break from the more hectic side of the resort. There was soft music, and quiet conversation could be enjoyed. Gohan the Susi bar offered a limited but enjoyable offering of susi no selecting they porvide you with their offerings. Nice place to get a late snack. Seaside grill at lunch there 2x and the food was good. Portofino - Italian was ?. Neither of us ordered the Italian entrees, so that may have been our mistake. My salmon was fully cooked and was dry. I forgot to ask for it be a bit rare and they did not ask my preference. My husband scallops and shrimp which were a bit overcooked. For the most part the dress codes were followed for each restaurant, but there are always those who feel guidelines/rules do not apply to them.

Activities- at the resort were offered hourly, staff were very energetic and always smiling. You could become as involved as you chose or just sit back and relax.

The adult side of the resort was quite for the most part , with the exception of those adults who chose to act as children. It was a good get away from the more busseling side of the resort. We did not use the pools or hot tubs. On the general population side of the resort it seemed that the children spent most of the day in the hot tub. Some of the children required more adult supervision, but i suppose their parents were on vacation.
The water area is a bit rocky so bring water shoes if your feet are sensitive.
The thing that intrieged me the most was to watch the early gathers(picking up of towels) and hunters (the search for the perfect beach chairs-s). This was our first large all inclusive experience, we usually stay at much much smaller resorts. This process could begin as eary as 6am, people would be out there to get towels & reserve their chairs(s). Some took towels in the evening just for the purpose of having towels for the am. There was never a shortage of towels. I did have to lye on the sand with my towel one day due to a shortage of chairs. Rember the 2 hour rule, if no one shows up to claim their chair in 2 hours, gently place their beloingings on the ground and claim the chair as yours.
My facial at the spa was a treat and readied me for my tan. The Fitness Center was nicely equipped.
We did visit Tulum and Chiten Itza and the tours were both very worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Even though the resort was wonderful, the missing camera left a bad taste in our outhes and we probably wont go back.

In my initial review I wrote about how my daughter left her digital camera in the Mexican restaurant and when she went back to get it the restaurant was closed and no one could get in to look around.

This all happened the day before we left so the last of our time at the resort was spent talking to everyone that could help us. The manager at the Mexican restaurant was very sympathetic and assured me he would speak to both the waiter and busboy. The thing that irritated me was one of the beach bar ladies stood there with a big smirk on her face the whole time.

We gave up ever getting the camera back and then two weeks ago the concierge called and said the camera was found. She said it would cost $100.00 USD to send it back FedEx and they wanted opies of our plane tickets to prove we were on vacation.

Does this sound right to anyone?

The camera was not really expensive but we would like the memory card.

Now I find out that the concierge, Gabriella Garcia, is no longer at the resort and Maya has assumed her duties. I have written to Maya a couple of times trying to find alternatives to paying what I consider the hotels' customer service responsibility to pay and she will not write back.

I thought we would have the camera back by now but this hotel is really just giving us the runaround. So, if anyone has any suggestions I would really appreciate it.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.