We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The resort is extremely well run. From when we first arrived until our departure, the entire resort staff was polite, thoughtful and went out of they're way to make sure we were comfortable and had basically whatever we needed/wanted. The entertainment was very good and the entertainment support team, especially Jesus and Ivan, was great and very enthusiastic. The music, Mardi Gras celebration and the other activities on the beach and pool were well organized and run. The wait staff was outstanding and very helpful, especially at Oceana. Damien in the Desires nightclub was also fantastic and entertaining. The Concierge, Front Desk and Room staff did a great job and were very helpful. We were extremely satisfied with all the restaurants except the Seaside Grill where the food seemed sub par. Overall our stay (21 family members) went by too fast but was very memorable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor overlooked the 'adults only' pool, the Oceana restaurant and othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to have had you with us and thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are pleased to know you have enjoyed our staffs’ exceptional service and please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire team, especially the staff members that you took the time to personally mention.

We would love to have the chance to welcome you back again one day

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    785
    310
    118
    81
See reviews for
1,116
878
26
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This resort is without question one of the best-run hotels we have stayed in. The staff are not only well-trained but amazingly kind, thoughtful, and helpful. Kudos to them all but especially to Carlos who ran the entertainment and his assistants (Ivan and Jesus), the folks in all the restaurants, the women who cleaned the rooms etc etc. The hotel itself is beautiful and spotless but with some evidence of wear and limitations (e.g. cold showers on a couple of days). However, given its age and use, they are always repairing, painting etc to keep it looking good. The food in all the restaurants was exceptional for a busy resort -- even in the buffet restaurant -- many choices as others have noted and the quality is very high. The activities are for the most part fun and varied as is the entertainment. The exercise (pilates, aqua-aerobics, yoga) is excellent.

Why not for everyone? This is a family resort. It is wonderful for folks with young children and for young adults (18-30). It is not quiet with contemporary music blaring everywhere (from every bar, on the beach etc). The Explorers Club for kids is a godsend for harried parents allowing them to have relaxed time. But for an older couple looking for quiet relaxation, there is not really any place to go. Even the adult pool has music, people drinking too much, and at times, not enough chairs. There is one area of the beach that is out of the range of music but it is too windy there to be comfortable and there is no shade. The entertainment is primarily family oriented as well (think rock music, General audience films, "mentalist"). It would have been nice to have music to dance to that was of a wider variety. So, we would return here with family and grandchildren but not ourselves.

One concern: we had booked a "deluxe oceanview room" which we understand is based on "availability". What we got was a room on the 3rd floor (lobby is on 2nd) over a restaurant with a view of palm trees. If we went out on the balcony and craned our necks, there was a glimpse of the ocean. It took us along time to get a room change (the font desk was not too helpful but the concierge was able to get us a change to a sixth floor room with ocean view the next day). It is not right to sell accommodations as ocean view if they are not.They should be marketed either as "palm view" or "Partial ocean view" and sold at a lesser rate. We saw several other couples also disappointed trying to get their rooms changed. The other problem with second floor rooms is that they are noisy both because of the continuous music as well as the beach events. The 6th floor room was lovely and the view of the waves offered a calming experience.

In summary, we would recommend this resort for families with children or for young couples. It is a fun place but not in our view the place for a quiet romantic holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th floor or up. If you desire quiet, choose a room on the marina side (no ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Dreams Puerto Aventuras team we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your overview on your stay with us. All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments shared regarding our operational team and the hotel itself. The staff members that you took the time to personally mention such as Carlos, Ivan and Jesus will be particularly pleased to know that their efforts were recognized and appreciated. They will also be made aware of your excellent suggestions regarding the night time entertainment.

We truly apologize for not having exceeded your expectations regarding the view from your room. Please be advised that you comments and suggestions have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and improved.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we would truly love the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to this resort for two weeks at the beginning of February. Everything was wonderful. The staff were very kind, make you fell like you are an important guess (special hola to Diana). The room very clean and nice deco. The food was awesome at every restaurant we choose (Portofino = WOW!). Concierge were very helpful. This resort is very appreciate by Family. But If you prefer calm, the section of the beach next to Barracuda Bar is perfect and so the adult pool. We choose to stay with everybody and we met nice people. We will surely return to this resort but we will take a room facing the marina.

Room Tip: The room we have was on the third floor ocean view. it was a little noisy for the late afternoon sie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing such great comments here on TripAdvisor follwing you recent stay at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your time here with us and Diana will be particularly pleased to know that her efforts were recognized. Our chef will be extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food during your vacation.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was by far our most enjoyed family vacation to date. We travelled with a large group of family and friends for my brother's wedding. Staff were amazing. Even after only a couple of days there many of them knew our names. The food was good in all the restaurants. We loved the pool as somedays we were the only ones in it and Roberto was always around to play volleyball with my kids. The bartenders at the swim up bar were great and made my young son many tasty milkshakes (and of course some nice tropical and different drinks for the adults!). The dolphin swim was amazing and it was great that our entire family could watch the adventure! There were many nice activities for all to enjoy, including the huge chessboard. We travelled to Chichen to see the ruins, which was a dream of my husband's. Many good memories were made on this trip and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community reagrding your vacation here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. It was a true pleasure for us to be part of such a special occasion and we wish your brother and his new bride all the best in the future.

We are always glad to hear when our guests have had the chance to sample so many different aspects of the Unlimited Luxury as well as the high levels of service that we continually strive to maintain. Please rest assured that all of your comments will be shared with all of the staff here at the hotel and they will be thrilled to know that they were able to assist you during your time here with us.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlyle, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went with another couple for a week at the begining of the month!
We loved everything about this resort! The food was awesome, and there was plenty to choose from! The service at every place we went was outstanding.
There was always so much going on, water aerobics every day, dance lessons, activities for children, and one day there was even a water balloon fight! The dolphins were amazing as well! i loved having that right on the resort being an animal lover it was nice you could sit and watch what was happening and there was also a FREE show every day!
We paid for an Ocean view room, however it was more like Palm tree view room. It really didn't bother me though, our room was really wonderful, and Bettina, the women who cleaned our room did such an outstanding job all week.
It didnt matter if you were on the beach or in the pool there was always people walking around to take your drink order! that was a nice touch!
I have to say the one thing that stood out for me the most was how friendly the staff was. I dont think I passed anyone in the hallways that didn't say hello or smile. The service we received was really amazing. Miguel and Roman were the two men at the pool bar that stood out! They were so friendly and really quite funny! They seemed like they enjoyed what they were doing and never failed to take the time to ask me how my day was or if I was enjoying myself!
Shaira was a women who worked in the lobby bar, and she was wonderful as well! Really friendly and even remembered my name next time I came in! i enjoyed chatting with her and she answered all my questions about the area and things like that!
I really could go on forever about how much we enjoyed this resort, its a wonderful place to go with friends or with your family! It was well worth every penny we spent, and i would go again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: although its a beautiful view, rooms facing the ocean can get a little loud at times just because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dreams Puerto Aventuras for your recent vacation. We were extremely pleased to read your glowing review and hear that you would visit us again.

We are glad to hear that you had a chance to experience a variety of our available amenities, including the Dolphin Show and the activities offered by our entertainment team. We truly appreciate the kind comments shared regarding the high levels of service you experienced on behalf of our staff. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our operational team and especially with the staff members you took the time to personally mention.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I reserved ocean view rooms for a long weekend for my four adult children and then for 5 days when my children left and my wife joined me. Fortunately I had printed out confirmations and had them with me, as our reservations were badly screwed up when checking in, The good news is that the staff were uniformly pleasant, and the food was excellent. The bad news is that the seven floor building is directly over the pool, the noise level- including constant music, loud broadcasts from the pool and beach, kids playing ping pong early AM, didn't cease. from morning to night. We transferred to the rear of the hotel , a little quieter adult- only side ( and a cheaper room but no rebate ) but the toilet didn't work and they couldn't fix it so we transferred again. Another negative is that the sandy beach is very narrow-if you are looking for a long beach walk this is not the place. If you have young chuildren this can be a good -if noisy-family choice. If you are looking for a quiet, restful, typical Maya Riviera experience, forget it!

Room Tip: "Ocean View" isn't much and is noisy. Best is the "adult" side- cheaper, qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are extremely sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval. All guest feedback, both positive and negative, allows us the opportunity to improve our services.

Thank you for adding positive comments about our staff's service and the quality of food during your time here with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not having been able to exceed your expectations with some of the services provided such as the check in process. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to pertinent departments in order to be addressed and improved. We are concerned that you feel you were given a downgrade in room without any compensation or rebate, we would love the chance to discuss this situation further with you.

Again, we apologize for any bad impressions, as we pride ourselves in guest service and strive for overall guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your next visit and can ensure that we will do our very best to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality services we uphold here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are confident that in any future stay with us we will surpass expectations.

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband & I chose this resort to celebrate our 5 yr anniversary. It is a beautiful resort! The food was great in all of the restaurants. The only issue we had was the breakfast buffet with the scrambled eggs. They weren't so great. They have someone there who can make your own eggs so I would definitely go to them. All of the waiters and waitresses were very nice and made you feel welcome. Beware of the concierge people trying to make you leave the resort to visit their other properties. its a scam. We were offered to go to an all adult resort our last two nights which sounded fabulous. We were promised a junior suite and bottle of champagne if we chose to go. Well we did and had to fight to get what was promised to us. We think they offer this because they over book their own resort so they are trying to free up the room. My advice would be to stay where you're at to avoid any issues. We don't have children so we thought it would be a great experience. Never again. This resort is great so it was a mistake to leave. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Deluxe Ocean View is worth paying the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. Your comments regarding the breakfast eggs have been shared with our head chef in order to be addressed and improved. All customer feedback, regardless of how small or insignificant the comment may seem, is extremely important to us as this helps us to monitor and improve the quality and standards in our resort. We truly appreciate the kind comments shared about our staff and facilities.

We are extremely concerned that you are under the impression that the offer provided to you was a scam. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience or bad impressions you may have experienced. This was by no means our intention and certainly not in keeping with how we treat our guests.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.