We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive to your Saves list
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. We went for 7 nights Jan 4th-11th for our honeymoon. The staff and service was excellent. It's a smaller resort, which we really liked. We did tip our waiters anywhere from $1-$7USD depending how how we felt their service was. We skipped the main beach in favor of the quieter one by the Baraccuda bar and there were rarely any kids there and it was much quieter and we had great service from the bars and the servers. The only disappointment we had was at Gohan, the sushi bar. Our waitress did not speak good English and they seemed to be severely understaffed as we sat at our table for nearly 30 minutes before receiving a menu. Needless to say, we ate appetizers and then went somewhere else to eat. Their welcoming staff will try to get you to go to the Tulum resort just down the road where while you'd get a $100 spa credit, you'd have to sit through a 90 timeshare presentation, so we skipped that. Go the Fire and Water show if you can, it was awesome! We also had some issues with getting our mini bar restocked properly, but once I called and asked for it to be restocked, it was taken care of promptly. We really wanted to go to the Tequila tasting, but when we (and other guests) showed up at El Patio for it (which is a fantastic restaurant), the staff had no clue about it, so that disappointed us. We are already planning our next trip next January to a Dreams resort!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Lagoon side are quieter, even though that's the adult side. There is always a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us here on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our resort.

We always welcome both positive and negative feedback as this shows the areas that may need improvement in order to achieve the highest levels of customer service. As professionals in the service industry we do understand that past customer feedback is essential.

We truly apologize for any inconveniences experienced during you time here with us and please rest assured that all of your comments have been shared with the involved departments in order to be adressed and improved. We are delighted to hear that despite these inconveniences you enjoyed your overall stay here with us.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future and we are confident that on any future visit we will surpass all of our expectations.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    752
    301
    115
    80
See reviews for
1,079
839
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just got back our vacation and had an absolutely wonderful time! We were greated with a glass of champaign while we checked in and we had a honeymoon banner with champaign waiting on ice when we got into our room. The staff was very friendly, the food was good and the overall atmosphere was nice and relaxing. I really enjoyed that the adult pool was on the other side of the hotel from the kid's pool so if you wanted quiet, it was easily attainable. There were tons of activities within the resort so you didn't have to leave or go into town to find anything, everything was there. The room service was great! Definately took advantage of that a few times. All in all a great hotel, I would certainly recommend and we would definately go back again! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback following your recent stay here with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that you were able to experience a wide variety of the amenities and facilities we offer here as part of our Unlimited Luxury.

We truly thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a really nice trip and location.
Especially the big variety of excellent food in restaurants and cocktails at the beachbars.
Special thanks and greetings to Johana, Juan (Alles klar!) and Amado in the Worldcafe for always a warm welcome and a excellent service. Not to forget the little spanish lessons every morning by Johana. Que era muy bueno;-)
Saludos desde Alemania!
Señor Norberto y Señora Heike:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we would like to truly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us.

All of your comments will be shared with our operations team, especially with the Johana, Juan and Amado. They will be particularly pleased to know that they were able to assist you during your time here with us. Our Food & Beverage manager will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the food and drink consumed during your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Since the moment I saw the hotel I was making sure that did not accidentally arrived into the wrong one. This hotel completely disappointed me. The service at the restaurants was very poor. The waiters made u feel unwelcome.
The pool was too shallow and the beach was very shallow and had a lot of rocks .
The interior design was very outdated. Mostly this resort is for families .
I would never ever stay at this resort, waste of my money .

Room Tip: stay away from the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. We are extremely disappointed to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval.

We are not sure why you felt the your stay was so bad and in general it would have been helpful to receive a bit more detail in the review so that both we and the TA community could fully understand the reasons behind your comments. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further, please contact us directly at the email address below .

We look forward to discussing the matter in more detail.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were at Puerto Aventuras from December 31st to January 9th, with our wedding on January 5th. Here are the pros and cons of the resort...

Pros
- All of the staff, from the front desk to the bartenders, are friendly and helpful.
- The food and the restaurants are all amazing (except for Gohan, the sushi place)
- Room service comes fast and actually brought one of our guests shots
- The town of Puerto Aventuras is small and charming
- There is excellent snorkeling right off the resort's beach

Cons
- Many of the staff members struggle with English, so communication can sometimes be difficult
- Room type is guaranteed, but bed type is not, so you get a king instead of two doubles and vice-a-verse
- The WiFi is spotty at best and their smartphone app doesn't work
- Puerto Aventuras is pretty far from everywhere else (Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cancun, etc.), so cabs/shuttles can be *very* expensive

What not to miss
- The adult pool: A lot of people don't even know it's there, so its considerably quieter and less crowded than the family pool.
- The Barracuda Bar: (Aka the swing bar) It's right on the beach, past all of the restaurants.
- The ocean pool: They cut a pool into the coral/rock that's fed from the ocean. It's great for swimming and snorkeling, with fish everywhere. It's past the Barracuda Bar.

Room Tip: Get a marina view if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, congratulations on your recent wedding. It was truly an honor for us to be part of a special event. We truly appreciate the time taken to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor.

All guest feedback allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities and we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments. We were extremely glad to hear that you were able to experience the high levels of service offered by our team and our Head chef will be glad to hear that your group enjoyed the food during your stay.

Please accept our sincerest apologizes for not having been able to exceed your expectations in some of the services provided. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to pertinent departments in order to be addressed and improved. As professionals within the service industry we know that our guests feedback is the key to success! }

We wish you all the best in your new life as a married couple and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. We are confident that in any future stay with us we will surpass expectations.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were guests at this fantastic resort from Jan. 2-9, 2013. Our family of 5 have been planning a vacation for many months and Dreams Puerto Aventuras did not dissapoint. Trip Advisor helped us decide on this resort and the positive reviews we read were all true. Our kids range in age from 8yrs to 16yrs and there was something for everyone but also the option to just relax. WE really enjoyed how safe and comfortable the atmosphere was. YOu could leave the resort and walk around the harbour community - one of our favorite memories are the baby dolphins at the near by Dolphin Discovery and the shark we saw being taken off a fishing boat. The beach and snorkeling were great. The catamaran rides and kayaking (which were all included) were super!! During one catamaran ride the driver even caught a fish with just a line on a spool and hook. Our 8 yr old loved the bungee ride and water trampoline and although he never went in the kids club - any activities that were on the beach, the wonderful leaders of this club always invited him and made him feel included in their great activities. Even my 16 yr old was invited to decorate cakes on the beach with the kids (thanks Sadi). The food was great - our favorite a la carte being Portofino (the Italian restaurant). At the World Cafe the friendly service and great hospitality were top notch. Evening entertainment on the beach was superb!! We would like to mention the great work of the whole entertainment team - especially Carlos and Isreal (thanks for helping me cross off one of my bucket list items by teaching aqua fit on the beach). At the pool bar - thanks to Luis and Noe for not just serving with a smile, but joking and entertaining the kids. My kids loved the chocolate Milkshakes. I enjoyed Mojitos by Miguel on the beach. Although the Sun, the surf and the Sand were what we came for , the Service by all employees (from management to servers to room maids, pool boys and entertainment staff) was absolutely fantastic. Everyone would make eye contact and greet you in Spanish and English with a smile! The reply to our "Thank-you's" was not the traditional "your Welcome" but "My Pleasure" and I truly believed them!! It is MY Pleasure to highly reccomend this resort to anyone looking for the perfect family holiday and sincerely thank all the staff for making our Dream vacation come true.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in rooms 360 & 362 which were adjoining. We had an ocean view and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderfull detailed review following your recent stay here with us at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. After choosing our resort based on the tripadvisor reviews we are thrilled that you then went on to share your personal feedback with us. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits.

As professionals in the service industry we know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services. All of your feedback will be shared with our operations team, especially with the staff members who you took the time to personally mention. They will be particularly pleased to know that they were able to assist you during your time here with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staffs’ exceptional service and that your children were able to experience the wide variety of activities offered by our Explorers Kid's Club.

We would love to have the chance to welcome you all back again here with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went with my wife and her family for Christmas 2012. We were a group of 13, and had 4 children (4 months, 7 months, 2 years and 3 years). We were able to eat every meal together in any restaurant, buffet or a la cart. While the buffet food was not always the best quality, there was so much variety that everybody was able to put together a meal they enjoyed, And the staff was super friendly and efficient. Every a la cart restaurant had great staff, and the food was delicious. The waiters at el patio went above and beyond. Every night there was entertainment in the theater, and the sports and entertainment team were always around working hard keeping people entertained on the beach and around the resort throughout the day. While the magician wasn't fantastic, the rope trick guy and the break dance beat box shows were excellent and really entertaining. The pool was safe and clean with easy access to beverages and snacks for the kids. Every day the maid staff cleaned our room around our schedule and it was always spotless. Even the crib in our room was clean and organized every day, and turned down at night when they did our bed. The room service was always timely and accurate. Whether sitting at the pool, on the beach or even on our porch at our room, we had staff coming and asking us for drink orders. Excursions were also really easy to book and go on, with transportation included right from the hotel lobby. All in all everyone in our party was extremely impressed with the resort and we would be happy to go back!

Room Tip: the pool/beach side was louder during the day, but quiet between 10 pm until 8 am. We were in a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge-DreamsPA, Social Media Coordinator at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such glowing feedback following your recent stay with us here at Dreams Puerto Aventuras.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our staffs’ exceptional service and it’s always nice to know that we have met your expectations with our outstanding service. Your comments will be shared with our entire operations team expecially with our Entertainment department and Food & Beverage who will be particularly pleased to read such valuable feedback.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you all back here with us on a future occasion.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Tunstall
E Concierge & Social Media Coordinator
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepa@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Dreams Resort Puerto Aventuras
Sunscape Puerto Aventuras Riviera
Sunscape Puerto Adventuras
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.