We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was unsure, but had a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Discovery

Dolphin Discovery
Mz 23 Plano 1 Lote 11-Centro Comercial Marina, Puerto Aventuras 77400, Mexico
866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the paradise of the Riviera Maya. Our beautiful, natural lagoon setting is ideal for your hands-on interactions with our family of dolphins, manatees and sea lions. We offer programs for all ages, a family-friendly experience you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Richmond, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Was unsure, but had a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Dolphin Discovery on Isla Mujeres after stopping in as we were driving around the island. I had read about it online, but generally have mixed feelings about whether to support programs that use wild animals as a tourist attraction. From the outside, it's really hard to tell what the facility is like inside- the outside looks a little depressing. After walking in to look around and seeing how nice it was, we decided to give it a try. The program was a lot of fun and it is obvious that the trainers are professional and really care for the animals they work with. The areas where the dolphins swim are large and are basically fenced off sections of the open water, so it's a pretty natural environment for them. This program does have certifications from organizations that monitor programs like these, so that's a positive too. We did the royal swim with the manatee encounter add on. Our package included the "VIP" buffet, which was good and allowed you access to an upstairs area with less people around. We were not interested in the photos and didn't even go to look at them, so there was no hassle there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    269
    116
    50
    47
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved being able to swim with dolphins, sting rays, and manatees all in one visit. The dolphin swim was longer and more interactive that other swims I have had. The manatees.....ohhhh the manatees. They are like big cuddly ( stinky ) sweet teddy bears. Love love love them. Our visit included lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome tainted by making us stay longer and expensive pictures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We brought water cameras as nothing in the booking process, FAQ, or website said we could not. They did not allow us to bring them with on our swim. Others were allowed to take separate sessions so they could trade off who was swimming and who was taking pictures but we were put in the last group of the day. We reserved a 2:30 time, their transport got us there at 2:00 and they put us in the 3:15 group and made believe they couldn't understand us when we said we booked 2:30. When we repeatedly questioned they said they didn't even have a 2:30 booking so apparently they try to get you there for longer to spend more money. We considered paying the $120 they wanted to put our pictures on a disk but we don't carry that much cash around Mexico when leaving our resort. Would not deal with us at all and my friend ended up paying $25 for one picture. We had eaten lunch before we left and spent so long trying to work a deal with photos we did not have time to eat before 5:00 transport back to our hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dolphin Swim Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I went on the Dolphin Swim Adventure at Puerto Aventuras, Mexico. It was AMAZING. Our group included only 6 people (including the 2 of us). We spent 45 minutes with 2 dolphins (they were rescue dolphins), and we can't say enough about the wonderful experience. It wasn't just looking/petting/touching the dolphins. We did a belly ride, boogie board push (the 2 dolphins push you by your feet on a boogie board), dolphin kiss, hand touch, ball touch, hold the dolphin "like a baby" & play time. This was an adventure that neither of us will ever forget. I would recommend it for people of all ages.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great time for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked two different dolphin swims. First was the Encounter with myself, my husband, my father in law and our two young daughters. It was a great time!!! The dolphins are amazing creatures and the trainers are very informative.

My mother, mother in law and sister did the swim adventure. Looked neat! They said the dorsal tow was their favorite;)

We booked straight through the site and got a great discount for booking early. The rep that handled our booking was very helpful and set us up for back to back swim times and joined our rides together.

We bought one picture while there and it was $25. They said it was one for $25, 10 for $89 or the whole disc for $150. Pretty steep, but the pictures are wonderful, so it was worth it.

After the swims, you get a free lunch and beverage. I don't think alot of people to took advantage of it or maybe they weren't aware of it? But the food area was never busy and we were served right away. Food was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Discovery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.