We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“once in a life time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Discovery

Dolphin Discovery
Mz 23 Plano 1 Lote 11-Centro Comercial Marina, Puerto Aventuras 77400, Mexico
866-393-5158
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery Puerto Aventuras invites you to live the dream of swimming with dolphins in the paradise of the Riviera Maya. Our beautiful, natural lagoon setting is ideal for your hands-on interactions with our family of dolphins, manatees and sea lions. We offer programs for all ages, a family-friendly experience you will never forget.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“once in a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

excelent day out all dolphines are in good health in natural open ocean water (only fenced off)
in very large enclosures small very interactive groups memories that will last forever

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    270
    117
    50
    46
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Swimming with dolphins was something I have always wanted to do and it did not disappoint me. Their pictures of your experience are pretty expensive so we (my husband & I) went at different session times so we could take pictures of each other. I do have to say that their pictures are very professional in quality & very good. They are able to get much closer so their pictures are better. I wish I could remember the name of the trainer I worked with. He was excellent! This is definitely somewhere I would recommend. This is something I will never forget! (They also have manatees & sea lions that you can swim with).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Dolphins, manatee and stingrays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had always wanted to swim with a dolphin and manatees and had already swum with stingrays in Antigua. Not a cheap thing to do, but well worth the money, and something I will remember for the rest of my life. After a talk about how to interract with the dolphins we went into the water and had a wonderful time. The dolphins were so friendly, we hitched a ride on their fins and it was so fast, kissed them, shook their fins as a hand shake, were pushed on our bare feet by 2 dolphins. It was exhilarating and highly recommended to do this at least once in your life. Going into the water with the manatees was an experience I would love to do again, having been charmed by these gentle creatures by watching them on tv, decided must do this. 3 large manatee in pool plus a baby one, now the baby was massive, the adults were 3 times the size of the baby! One big manatee was next to me as I was feeding it lettuce heads, I felt something touch my leg and the baby manatee had come under the adult, and was crawling up my leg with its fins, until its head came out of the water, pushing adult aside for food lol. I will never forget this experience it was so lovely. The Discovery Dolphin experience was a lovely site, lots to see and do, spent the whole day there. Plenty places to get something to eat, walk around watching dolphins in the other pools, saw baby dolphins. Did not bother swimming with stingrays as done it before, but it is a wonderful thing to do, but I had done this in the wild and I dont think you could better that. The photos and dvd are expensive, but we haggled and got them down a fair bit. Dont pay first price, just walk away, they need people to buy these and came after us offering deals. Still expensive but within budget.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience, and at half price, brilliant value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked this direct with Dolphin Discovery online before we travelled, and paid usd556 for 8 people (approx £44 each) which included a 'swimmers meal' and a drink (Fajitas are good!), and transport to and from our hotel.
We had a Royal Swim, which included a kiss, handshake, dance, waterfight, dorsal pull and foot push. The experience was amazing and we had 2 adults and also 2 babies (9 months old).
We did buy the photos, but we managed to haggle to get the price for 7 instead of 8,it is expensive at $279, but there were 300ish pictures which were really good quality.
Spectators can watch really closely too, and get pretty good pictures if you don't want to spend too much money. Lockers are free.
If you want to swim with dolphins whist in Riveria Maya, this is the place to do it, just look online beforehand to see if you can get a good deal (they also have a facebook page which shows their offers)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PHOTOS OUTRAGEOUS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I loved our dolphin experience, BUT at the end when we went to get pictures, i wanted to buy the whole CD since it was my 50th birthday and my 3 year old granddaughter was so brave and went too.....He came back with a price of 189 for a CD of pictures...and i said US or pesos and he said US $189 US dollars and i asked how much for 1 picture and the price was $25 bucks....I think this is OUTRAGEOUS!!!! I would of been willing to pay up to 100 but $189 is crazy....my feeling is they just lost out!!! I did buy 1 picture for $25....But the dolphin experience was amazing!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discovery also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Discovery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.