We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach, excellent food/entertainment we will go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Maya Caribe
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Adair, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful beach, excellent food/entertainment we will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at Barcelo maya caribe which is one of the 5 resorts in the barcelo complex, recommended since it has the cheapest rooms but you can still visit the rest of the resort besides the Palace area. The beach is on this end and it is just outside the hotel, the gym is on this end and is open on all sides with the roof surrounded by tropical gardens. The resort is surrounded by jungle so it is quiet, beautiful. Food at the buffets are plentiful as far as choices, the beach grills also provide many choices, staff are clean, friendly and always helpful. Shopping area in the resort, and sports bar also available to visit. Hotel does prefer you do not use american dollars for gift purchases or room add-ons. debit/credit cards is the way to go - of course staff enjoys american dollars as tips - a la carte restaurants agave and quixotie had great food also - definitely won't go hungry at this resort (or thirsty) bars are located in lobby areas and beach and sports bar and minibar in the room which also has chips/nuts for snacks - the lobby bar also provides munchies for late nite drinkers

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    318
    101
    48
    27
See reviews for
286
451
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We just returned from a short 5 days at Barcelo. We were supposed to stay at the caribe, but were upgraded to Tropical. We actually would have preferred to have stayed at the Caribe. We spent most of our time in that area. Caribe's pools was uncrowded, Capt. Morgans was a fun spot for snacks and lunch, the beach was better and the tennis courts were close by. As far as I can tell the only plus to the Tropical was more choices for a la carte restaurants and being close to the activity/ water park pools.
The resort is HUGE and beautifully landscaped. They sprayed every day for mosquitos and we never saw one bug. The tennis courts were well kept and well organized; water, equipment, towels, etc. The beaches and pools were well kept and beautiful. The buffets were well done with something for every taste. We went to two restaurants, the seafood one was delicious, the Santa Fe steak house was a bit hokey (cowboy theme) and the steaks pretty much inedible. (my only complaint of the whole trip) The staff was AWESOME! There was a lot of interaction with them. We left small gifts daily for the maid. (One entry level employee told us that she works 6 days a week, 8 hours a day for $55 a week.)
We took a trip to the Mayan ruins of Coba. We picked up the local bus outside of the
resort. at Coba we hired a guide for the 4 of us. ($25 for 1 hour) We climbed up the largest temple which proved to be quite easy. Luckily the day was cloudy so the heat wasn't bad.
We didn't rent bicycles, but would highly recommend that option to anyone who goes.
We decided to take a taxi back to Tulum which cost $30 and then picked up the collectivo to the hotel.
Another little trip was to the El Eden cenote ($6) which is across the street from the resort. It was a short walk. You can swim/ snorkel in the cenote. The water wasn't a cold as I expected. Not many fish to see, but an interesting environment.
All in all we loved the resort and would recommend it to others. We went in mid Jan. so didn't have any problems standing in lines for anything or fighting for pool chairs. We easily booked any sitting at any restaurant. Good value for the money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

First I will say BE PREPARED TO WALK, nothing is very close. Rooms are pretty nice.. no complaints, not as nice as Cancun Palace, thats all i have to compare. The beach is nice but the first 10 yards of the water is rocky. I hate the geeky water shoes but damn I would have liked to have had some here lol. The water was nicer and less rocky if you walk past the peir to the right where the next hotel is.. still a Barcelo hotel. We took the trip down the coast to swim with the sea turtles which was awesome, I wish I could remember the name but its through the hotel scuba shop so its easy to find and inexpensive. The scuba is awesome as well, and so is the sailing, you need to take a little training lesson on the hobie catamarans for like 30 mins then you can go alone, we took them out several times. The food is not bad, it is typical Mexican buffet style food mostly. There are specialty restaraunts like Itallian, Hibachie grill, and steak, if you want to eat these you have to make reservations immedeatly, you get reservation cards when you get there and they fill up very fast. If you wait a day you may not get in.. really. Some other reviews said it was hard to get drinks but i didnt have any problems at all, all day in the pool bars or anywhere else. There are a few lawn games around to play like boccie ball and ping pong tables. we found that everything isnt always open or available like water toys. Sometimes the sea looked fine but we were told it was impossible to take out certain things like water trikes. The night life i cant comment on, I am more of an early morning explorer. The whole place was very clean, and the grounds were well kept. Forget put put you will be mosquito food, they will carry you away. There are quite a few shops around, jewlery and souvinier type places. There is probably more but this is long enough as it is so to sum up. We did have a nice time, especially for the cost, the ocean was awesome, rocky in places, food was nothing special anywhere. lots and lots of walking I honestly think we all lost weight. Go swim with the sea turtles you are guarenteed to see them. Akumal is the place. I would stay there again if I got a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

everything was awesome at this hotel, cleanliness, staff, food, etc. steak house was the bomb. do not eat at the spanish restaurant, it needs work. overall i give it a solid A. see goyo at olympus tours, he'll hook you up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We travelled with our 2 teenage boys and had a great time: there were enough activities to please everyone. We have never been to an all-inclusive, so this was new to us and we thoroughly enjoyed it. While the boys stayed at the resort and took advantage of the water sports, the great location made it easy for me to do some site seeing (Chichen Itza, Tulum, cenotes). The hotel is well-located: far enough away from busier, overdeveloped Cancun but close enough to worthwhile sites and along a beautiful stretch of beach. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. We were there during the xmas holiday and it was crowded, but you'd never know it because the place is so large and spread out. Some other travellers complained about the long distances to walk places, but I enjoyed the walking and didn't find it a problem.

The beach was wonderful - nice, white sand; warm water, small waves (as a parent, it's a relief not to have to worry about strong tides). The pools were beautiful and inviting but the water was cold, so we stuck to the beach. There were always plenty of lounge chairs, even though it was at high capacity when we were there. I was surprised by the amount of litter people left - cups, cigarette butts - but the staff do a great job trying to keep it clean.

Water sports: My sons both ended up doing lots of scuba diving. The diving staff is terrific - patient, helpful and enthusiastic. My kids also took a free windsurfing lesson and were able to sail almost every day. The availability of sailing (and windsurfing) depends on the wind (so make sure you sign up for those activities in the afternoon, when there's typically more wind). These activities were cancelled one day while we were there because of the lack of wind. I was a bit disappointed that you could take sailboats (hobie cats) out for only 30 minutes (I think it's normally 1 hour but they limited the time due to the xmas crowds). One complaint about the water activities, however: you need to stand in line to sign up for activities to make sure you get a slot. For windsurfing and sailing, you had to get on line much earlier than the 9:00 am opening time to assure a reservation/slot. Getting a canoe/kayak was much easier: just walk up and ask for one any time. At the the dive/snorkel shack, there was always a long wait to speak to the staff to sign up for activities, plus there was no queue (just people bunching up), making it pretty frustrating. I certainly spent more time waiting on line than I'd like during my vacation.

Other activities: There were more activities than we had time for: big chessboards, ping pong, basketball, painting ceramics. Darts and archery are available near the massage area at the Caribe/Tropical, but I think it's only in the afternoon. I liked the fitness center, which had plenty of machines (treadmills, bikes, life cycles) and weights. They had some great music on the sound system that kept me moving. There's also a jacuzzi at the gym.

Rooms: I've heard complaints about hard beds from other travellers. They were firm, but certainly not uncomfortable. The bathrooms were nice and had shampoo, conditioner and gel available (so no need to bring your own conditioner).

Food: The buffets offered a large variety of food - enough to please all 4 of us, including 2 picky teenagers. It was good but not fabulous, but we really didn't care about that. Regarding the restaurants, as everyone suggests, make your restaurant reservations as soon as you get there; otherwise, you might not get a reservation or you'll get slim pickings (very early in the evening or late at night). We didn't like the Mexican restaurant, but the Spanish restaurant was very good. We didn't get to the other ones.

Site-seeing: I took a one-day trip to Chichen Itza. While it's definitely worth visiting, it was frustrating that the tour didn't spend enough time there so you could see everything. The ruins are spread out. As for Tulum, I would repeat what others have said: take the collectivo. It was very easy, fast and cheap. Just go out to the highway and cross the road (to head south) where you'll see a little overhang. The white mini-van collectivos ply the roads. It was about $3 (yes, the take US dollars; not sure how much it is in pesos). Tell them you want to go to the Tulum ruins (not Tulum, the town), and they'll drop you off right at the start of the (about) 1 km walk to the ruins. We also went to Gran Cenote, which was nice, by taking a tax from the ruins.

Shows: The shows are not my cup of tea. If you like American Idol, you might find them worth attending. The Circus show wasn't bad, though. The worst part was that a lot of people smoke in the audience, making it even more unpleasant. I wish they had a disco that's more geared for families that would be open all the time (free, smoke-free): all you need is a good dj.

Overall, though, it was lovely. There's plenty to do if you want to keep busy, but it's also a great place to laze around, read, and sit on your bum and watch the water/scenery. We'd definitely go back. The only other complaint I have is that sometimes they seem a bit disorganized and not all the staff know the details of activities or amenities (not that they should - the place is so large), but at least they should have information available in some way (staff, written handouts, signs, etc.).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Ambiance, service, food, drinks, beaches - everything was terrific. Wine at the bars was lacking (wine on tap is not my favorite), but really, that's the only negative.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Easy check in, large rooms with garden view BLDG. Sayil # 5262 & # 5256. Great service ,clean ,extremely comfortable beds,near all necessities. .Beach,food, theater, & pools, & bars. Large resort but short walks, or take the commuter buses or trolleys. Re. the sharing of all the resorts the Barcelo Maya,Caribe Tropical & Colonial all can be shared , food , snacks & beverages, theaters all except reservation restraunts., This was confusing in the other reviews & with the agents. Steak house great, service could have been improved. Not as peppy as other ones. Seafood restraunt great , spanish good too, traveled with 2 mothers & 4 jr/sr college students. They were very busy & relaxed too. Wonderful time great fun lots to do. Gregg (Gyro) in the service Olympus tours exceptional & concientious of his people being taken care of & happy. He met our needs with suggestions. Went to Selvatica to zipline, off road, sky jump,bridges & cenote swim & zip. It couldnt have been better, food is safe & wonderful there. Buy trhe pics & dvd totally worth it then can print from home as sugg. Greg also arraged a private guide & DRIVER $54 OR $57 PP THEY TAKE U anywhere. We went to Tulunm with a great tour very bright & knowledgeable, also went to the beach,the village of Tulum, Akumal. toured there saw mucho stopped at another beach for view & shells. Saw homes of stars there too History & developmement intresting., went to a snorkel Lagoon, Then onward to a cenote Garden of Eden he suggested,great, toured around ,then to Playa del Carmen . We could take as long as we needed in all places. Their closing time is 6pm. They picked us up at 8:30 returned at 5:40.Roberto was a wonderful guide & talked to us like best friends Alberto the driver great too . they had a cooler, we brought beverages & snacks. We could also stop for lunch.We tipped them, they did many extra but was not expected. They all work very hard to please & very good English also. The hotel staff all wonderful, if they do not speak good English or you do not know Spanish no problem they know the basics to get u through. At one of the pool bars the bartender was alittle quiet but no harm. Most Love to laugh, smile,& be friendly. This is my 19th trip to the RIVIERA Maya many different resortsRiu, Iberostar, Grand Princess, Royal Hideaway Viva Azteca, Moon Palace etc. This Barcelo complex was a great mexican feel large but small feel. Staff remember your names & if u miss a day in their area the staff are wondering where u were. Very Clean, bed turn down with candy allneeds were met by note in the room if u needed something from the assisting maids for rooms. One thing :MAKE RESERVATIONS THE DAY U ARRIVE FOR RESTRAUNTS. i TOOK OTHER REVIEW SUGG. THEY WERE RIGHT. Be comfortable staying with Barcelo. ps there are shops at the resort also in the shopping center ,the vendors have fair prices,They bargain. The rent is high there so the inside stores some are higher,depends what u are looking for.Jewelry store in the Caribe not too bad. Not worth upgrading when they offer u get the same treatment. That was shared by many people. Many fronm the Palace over to our resorts Our beach is much much better, great snorkeling near the rocks a reef in front of the tropical area I believe the bouys are there, many fish & also by the dock, but not as many different kinds.feed them it is fun. Nice beach & tour over to the area of the hurricane wreckage there is a lagoon there too .Stay along the edges not toward the opening the tides are moving out so there is alittle pull there. Sorry to go on but so much to say I hope it helps.. Disco nightlife,marachhi band in lobby,safe in rooms,safe walking,never felt compromised. Take collectivos into town, wait by road they pull over go anywhere $ 2.00 us pp. Resort can be lively,or quiet depends the area u choose to be that day or evening.All guests seemed happy !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.