We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family favorite for your stay in Riviera Maya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Caribe
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A family favorite for your stay in Riviera Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is the 5th time my family and I stay at this resort. This is by far one of our favorite destinations as family vacations worldwide. There are plenty of things to do within the resort, from relaxing at the white sand beach, next to the pool, snorkeling, enjoying the night shows at the theater. Being an all-inclusive means you do not need to worry about anything more that literally enjoying life.

Room Tip: It is well worth the extra cost of joining the beach club in order to get a room closer to the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Fiero9; Many thanks for your contact, we appreciate that Barcelo Maya Beach Resort remains one of your favorite options and for preferring us.

We are happy to invite you to experience the renovated Barceló Maya Caribe, which is preparing new surprises.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    321
    104
    48
    29
See reviews for
291
462
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I spent one week from November 15 to 22 in the Barcelo Maya Caribe and had a great time just relaxing and enjoying sunshine and the breathtaking waterfront. The beach really is stunning, just as you can see it on typical postcard pictures.

It was my first time to Mexico. The flight from Paris was long and the jetlag quite something.
However, once there I didn't regret at all. Until the day I arrived they had heavy rain every day, but then the rainy season stopped, and the weather was sunny and really warm. The sea too was amazingly warm. I got in from time to time just to refresh, but didn't really stay long for swimming or so in the deep water, which is at least 200m off the shore. You don't really now what is in there in these tropical waters. ;-) However, no sharks or so spotted during my stay.
Animation was good, not too much, not too less. I enjoyed all the sports they offered throughout the day, Water gym, beach soccer and beach volleyball, and even Yoga on the beach in the morning. I well remember the charming and beautiful Jassania and Carina, always with a smile and real professionals with regard to their animation job. The guys playing soccer with us were great, too.
Food was ok, accomdation as well.

When you seek sunshine, a beautiful setting and a fantastic beach this is a place to go to.

Two minor things:

1) You have to pay for the Wifi in your room, ad it's damn expensive. So for one week, better disconnect from the world! :-)
2) The beach is stunning and beautiful with its palmtrees. I don't know about the sand though. It's really sharp, and I got back with wounds on my knee from playing soccer and beach volleyball. And I wasn't the only one bleeding because of falling on this sharp sand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
rk_75: We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Caribe, we are glad you have enjoyed the facilities and service.

We are happy to inform you that we will reopen on December this year and we would like to share we are preparing a water park and teen disco for the kids, a static wave surfrider, two new speciality restaurants and a commercial plaza, it will also have a 24 hour sports bar with bowling alley and theatre with high definition huge screen.

It will be our pleasure to host you again.

We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five days in July. Our experience was average. The amenities are fine and the beach is great, but the service is really bad. We had to wait two hours when we arrived at 4:00 PM to get our rooms, and another 3 to get a crib. The food at the restaurants is average, nothing outstanding. The service at the main restaurants is nice, as is typical in Mexico, but slow and do not pay much attention to details. We also made a reservation to one of the "nice" restaurants, but to our surprise, it was in renovation. In its place they use the pool restaurant, without AC. We left.

We have been to other all inclusive hotels in the Riviera Maya and Barcelo was definitely below average. I don't think we will come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
aponcer ; Thanks you for your comments, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused but glad that you enjoyed many aspects of you Vacation with us.

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriosly and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights on our first ever visit to Mexico and wow!! what a fantastic first impression.

The hotel is very nice, grounds well maintained, facilities excellent, food excellent. But what really made our stay was the exceptional service we received. The staff treated us like royalty (we did tip which goes a long way).

We fell in love with Mexico at Barceló, thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Rachel K; Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network.

We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services. Barcelo Hotels is preparing new services with great renovations for your next visit!

We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here in April there were some improvements going on but they upgraded us to a better room and moved us away from the noise lovely clean place right on the beach and plenty to do the staff were great company

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Janet H; Many thanks for sharing your experience at Barceló Maya Caribe with the Tripadvisor users, we are glad you have enjoyed the property and service, and you found our staff to be friendly and hard working.

Improvements and surprises coming soon with the remodelation!!!

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our 7th trip to this resort complex. We've gone from staying a week to 2 weeks over the years. When we first chose the resort, there was only the Beach and Caribe, so we've watched it grow as the years have gone by. We've stayed @ the Beach, Caribe and Colonial sections in both superior and club premium rooms.
This resort complex has it all, from a great variety of shops right on the grounds, to huge pools to a beautiful beach area to swim and snorkel in or just stroll up and down the shoreline.
We've been to other properties on the Riviera Maya and also in the Cancun hotel zone, but nothing comes close to perfection for us like Barcelo, which is why we keep going back.
LOVE the renovations done to the Maya Beach resort area and are looking forward to seeing the Caribe area when renovations are completed.
The staff is awesome and very friendly and always have a smile and an "hola" as you pass them by. I agree that the pool bars need more staffing, but they do work hard on making sure the guests are served as quickly as possible.
The grounds are wonderful and you can tell the staff working on them take pride in what they do. I wish they'd have kept more of the jungle areas between the buildings, as this allowed a more private experience when relaxing on the balcony for early evening coffee or tea, but maybe they had to thin them out to get renovations done and some of it will be allowed to grow back.
Wait staff in the restaurants are very friendly and make the dining experience great!
Beach and pool areas are kept very clean. I like that some of the pools have music and some don't, as there are days you want to get in the groove and some days you want to just relax and chill out. Beach areas are never crowded and there are always lots of sun loungers to choose from.
My only concern is the spring breakers. It used to be they were not allowed or bad behavior not tolerated, but have noticed more and more of them in recent years. On this trip we were going to go for a swim in the Tropical section's pool, but saw about 150-175 spring breakers had taken over the pool and were literally climbing on the pool bar and about 20 deep around it, so no swim or beverage for us there and we went to another pool so we didn't have to deal with a bunch or rowdy, drunk kids that made such a scene that hotel security had to pull some of them aside and cut off their wrist bands. It was kind of sad really, as the Tropical section is an upper tier area, being just a step down from the Palace and you'd think this type of behavior would not be allowed, especailly in that portion of the hotel. We are looking to stay @ either the Tropical or Palace in 2015 and increasing our stay from 2 weeks to 3 weeks and hope,hope,hope the spring break rowdy issues are addressed, as I'd hate to have to change to another resort because of them. I want to continue...when I'm planning a vacation trip to say...."Si, Barcelo!"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
John P; We appreciate the time you have taken to share your kindly comments, also your preference to Barceló Maya Beach Resort, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property and the service we proudly offer.

it would be our pleasure to host you one more time

We remain at your service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and i stayed for 5 nights.When the driver pulled up to let us out the bellman said the hotel was closed for renovation.So they drove us next door to the sister property.They only had 2 rooms available.There were. 4 couples in the van.So they drove us back over and we were given rooms in a building that was being renovated.The restaurants were closed and we were told to go to the sister property to eat there.The other couple followed us but the restaurant turned us away.We had to take a cab to town to eat every day.Managemant apologized and credited 200 dollars to us but we declined and are sueing the Barcelo co

Room Tip: dont go you may not get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
bill t; Thank you for your contact, we are sorry that you left with this negative view of our property that not allowed you to fully enjoy your Vacation.

I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.

I am sorry that we were not able to find a suitable compensation for you on this occasion, our main goal is to make sure that all our guests leave with wonderful memories of their stay here and wanting to return.

We will be happy to receive you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.