We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Caribe
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for five days in July. Our experience was average. The amenities are fine and the beach is great, but the service is really bad. We had to wait two hours when we arrived at 4:00 PM to get our rooms, and another 3 to get a crib. The food at the restaurants is average, nothing outstanding. The service at the main restaurants is nice, as is typical in Mexico, but slow and do not pay much attention to details. We also made a reservation to one of the "nice" restaurants, but to our surprise, it was in renovation. In its place they use the pool restaurant, without AC. We left.

We have been to other all inclusive hotels in the Riviera Maya and Barcelo was definitely below average. I don't think we will come back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
aponcer ; Thanks you for your comments, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused but glad that you enjoyed many aspects of you Vacation with us.

Guest comments are a useful tool for us to improve our services and we always treat them seriosly and take appropriate action to continue to better ourselves day by day.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    408
    130
    58
    45
See reviews for
432
542
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights on our first ever visit to Mexico and wow!! what a fantastic first impression.

The hotel is very nice, grounds well maintained, facilities excellent, food excellent. But what really made our stay was the exceptional service we received. The staff treated us like royalty (we did tip which goes a long way).

We fell in love with Mexico at Barceló, thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Rachel K; Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network.

We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services. Barcelo Hotels is preparing new services with great renovations for your next visit!

We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in April there were some improvements going on but they upgraded us to a better room and moved us away from the noise lovely clean place right on the beach and plenty to do the staff were great company

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Janet H; Many thanks for sharing your experience at Barceló Maya Caribe with the Tripadvisor users, we are glad you have enjoyed the property and service, and you found our staff to be friendly and hard working.

Improvements and surprises coming soon with the remodelation!!!

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our 7th trip to this resort complex. We've gone from staying a week to 2 weeks over the years. When we first chose the resort, there was only the Beach and Caribe, so we've watched it grow as the years have gone by. We've stayed @ the Beach, Caribe and Colonial sections in both superior and club premium rooms.
This resort complex has it all, from a great variety of shops right on the grounds, to huge pools to a beautiful beach area to swim and snorkel in or just stroll up and down the shoreline.
We've been to other properties on the Riviera Maya and also in the Cancun hotel zone, but nothing comes close to perfection for us like Barcelo, which is why we keep going back.
LOVE the renovations done to the Maya Beach resort area and are looking forward to seeing the Caribe area when renovations are completed.
The staff is awesome and very friendly and always have a smile and an "hola" as you pass them by. I agree that the pool bars need more staffing, but they do work hard on making sure the guests are served as quickly as possible.
The grounds are wonderful and you can tell the staff working on them take pride in what they do. I wish they'd have kept more of the jungle areas between the buildings, as this allowed a more private experience when relaxing on the balcony for early evening coffee or tea, but maybe they had to thin them out to get renovations done and some of it will be allowed to grow back.
Wait staff in the restaurants are very friendly and make the dining experience great!
Beach and pool areas are kept very clean. I like that some of the pools have music and some don't, as there are days you want to get in the groove and some days you want to just relax and chill out. Beach areas are never crowded and there are always lots of sun loungers to choose from.
My only concern is the spring breakers. It used to be they were not allowed or bad behavior not tolerated, but have noticed more and more of them in recent years. On this trip we were going to go for a swim in the Tropical section's pool, but saw about 150-175 spring breakers had taken over the pool and were literally climbing on the pool bar and about 20 deep around it, so no swim or beverage for us there and we went to another pool so we didn't have to deal with a bunch or rowdy, drunk kids that made such a scene that hotel security had to pull some of them aside and cut off their wrist bands. It was kind of sad really, as the Tropical section is an upper tier area, being just a step down from the Palace and you'd think this type of behavior would not be allowed, especailly in that portion of the hotel. We are looking to stay @ either the Tropical or Palace in 2015 and increasing our stay from 2 weeks to 3 weeks and hope,hope,hope the spring break rowdy issues are addressed, as I'd hate to have to change to another resort because of them. I want to continue...when I'm planning a vacation trip to say...."Si, Barcelo!"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
John P; We appreciate the time you have taken to share your kindly comments, also your preference to Barceló Maya Beach Resort, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property and the service we proudly offer.

it would be our pleasure to host you one more time

We remain at your service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and i stayed for 5 nights.When the driver pulled up to let us out the bellman said the hotel was closed for renovation.So they drove us next door to the sister property.They only had 2 rooms available.There were. 4 couples in the van.So they drove us back over and we were given rooms in a building that was being renovated.The restaurants were closed and we were told to go to the sister property to eat there.The other couple followed us but the restaurant turned us away.We had to take a cab to town to eat every day.Managemant apologized and credited 200 dollars to us but we declined and are sueing the Barcelo co

Room Tip: dont go you may not get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
bill t; Thank you for your contact, we are sorry that you left with this negative view of our property that not allowed you to fully enjoy your Vacation.

I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve.

I am sorry that we were not able to find a suitable compensation for you on this occasion, our main goal is to make sure that all our guests leave with wonderful memories of their stay here and wanting to return.

We will be happy to receive you again one day with a guarantee that we can exceed your expectations.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I visited this resort with several friends, many who have stayed here before. I was hopeful that this all inclusive resort was going to be as great as they said it was. Well it is not according to them it is not what it used to be.

At the airport is where it started for me. I had a confirmation email that a ride would be waiting for me and a friend. Once we run the gauntlet at the airport and get outside it takes us 45 minutes to find the Barcelo representative and our names are not on the list. I produce the confirmation email he tells us to wait over by the bar. I seem him making several calls and after 30 minutes he comes back and says he will get us a ride but we have to wait for other parties to arrive. 45 minutes later they arrive and we are headed to Barcelo Maya Beach....Now wait we are supposed to go to Barcelo Maya Caribe? " No they said Beach" he said...hmm ok I will go with the flow.

So now we are checking in and I asked why am I at the Beach when we reserved Caribe? "The Caribe resort is under construction" is what we are told. So Barcelo let us reserve Caribe which is centrally located and put us at the Beach on the end of the resort. They did this with no notice and didn't seem to have any remorse as they checked us in. So if you booked the Caribe property don't expect to stay there because as of 5-24-14 when we left it was tore up.

So now I will rate the amenities on a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best.
Pool was an 8, very large with plenty of seating.

Pool Bar was a 3, it was under staffed many times during the day and I waited up to 20 minutes to get a drink several times during my stay. Several times some of the bartender where extremely rude and made comments under their breath in Spanish. I guess this is how the meter out the all you can drink with slow service.

Beach was large and Had plenty of beach chairs. I am giving that a 10.

Food was a 5, Most of the meals where made with cheap cuts of meat with little to no flavor. Breads and rolls where hard as rocks most of the time. Ham and Hotdogs seemed to be hidden in every meal in multiple entries. My guess is they had to empty out the freezers at Caribe for the construction.

Drinks was a 5. Beer was Corona and if you asked you could get Modela if they didn't run out. Most of the mixed drinks where made with a sugary syrup and some type of cheap liquor. If you asked for a particular brand you would usually get 1 drink and then they would tell you they ran out unless you tipped then all was good. (oh you think tipping wasn't allowed? More on that later)

Room was a 4. The decor was worn out. The mattress was very firm. The A/C worked great. The water pressure was strong. The bathroom had many issues including mold and a faded bathroom mirror. Towels are like sand paper. The stocked refrigerator was nice.

Staff was an 9. 99 percent of the staff went above and beyond great service. Many of them seemed to be very proud of their Country.

Wi-Fi is 50-60 USD and is good in the rooms and pool but that is about all.

Hints:
I was told tipping was prohibited, but I found everything went smoother when a tip was given.

If renting snorkel gear bring a credit card. They are not part of the resorts. If you forget it you will have to walk all the way past the resort you where supposed to be staying (Caribe) and good 30 minute walk back to the beach resort.

Visit Tulum ruins it was breath taking.

You can upgrade to the premium level by paying $25 per person per day. Worth it if you like drinking good liquor.

Look through the coupons they give you when you check in and make sure they record it on the paperwork what you are paying for. We used coupons but they never recorded them and on check out our bill had full prices listed with no discounts.

If you are looking for WOW vacation this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure Caribe is going to be available if you reserved it. I am 6'4" tall and the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Phixer1280; Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, however would like to apologize that everything was not up to the standard you would have liked. The comfort of our guests is of utmost importance to us, and without these comments we could not improve our services

Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences caused due to the information you received previous to your arrival. We had advised our travel partners that Caribe hotel would be closing for renovation but that all services would be relocated in the Beach hotel.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important for us, and wherever possible we are happy to listen and learn, we hope that they will give us the opportunity to serve them again sometime in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice relaxed hotel,with many possibilities . The food was great In the buffet restaurants and super friendly service!
The ála carte Restaurants In the hotel was really a nice surprise. Very Delicious food and cosy inviorment.
The staff provided a high standard, so you could just sit back and enjoy .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest Sirtravelallot,

We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Caribe staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Knowing that you travel a lot and hearing your kindly comments meant a lot to us!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Beach
Barcelo Maya Beach
#5 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 5,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#2 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe
#4 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 stars 3,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#6 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#8 of 16 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.