We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach and resort, but service needs improvement.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Maya Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Maya Caribe to your Saves list
Barcelo Maya Caribe
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great beach and resort, but service needs improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in a Junior Suite Club Premium March 5-12 in the Caribe section. We had friends staying in the Beach section and were able to see the upgraded Club Premium section. The Caribe rooms definitely looked dated compared to the upgraded Beach rooms; however, we felt the Caribe layout was better for a family. Although the bathroom door is louvered in the Caribe rooms, it afforded more privacy than the partial door in the remodeled rooms.

Pros: The beach is awesome! There are sandy areas for swimming and coral reefs for snorkeling. There are plenty of loungers on the beach with palm trees for shade. The best snorkeling is about straight out from the jaguar statue in the Tropical resort area. We had Club Premium and used the Beach CP lounge daily, we also enjoyed access to the Colonial/Tropical buffet where the servers were much more attentive. If you don't have CP, go to the Beach buffet as it is newly remodeled and has more to offer. We needed to call housekeeping a couple times for "room emergencies" they were responsive and took care of our issues. The combination of all the resorts provides you with plenty of areas to explore. Make sure to check out the cenote near the Palace.

Cons: There were several small things that added up to a disappointment in the level of service/quality of the Barcelo resort. A bulb in the bedside lamp was burned out the entire time that we were there. While the room was cleaned, the towels were replaced in some sort of sporadic order. For example, we started the week with 2 washcloths, 2 hand towels and a shower mat, by the 3rd day of our stay we had no washcloths or shower mat and 1 hand towel, but on day 5 we had 2 hand towels and a shower mat and on our last night a housekeeper came by to offer extra bath towels. We never had towel animals or anything special. We requested water and Fanta in the mini-fridge, but the request made no difference. There were always lines at the pool bars and you will only get a straw in your drink if you request one. The people in the room next to us ordered room service and the tray sat in the hallway for 2 days.

We specifically chose this resort because of its awesome beach and the variety of free non-beach activities such as mini-golf, sports bar, ala cartes, theaters and buffets. If you are planning to spend your time in the pool you might want to look for a resort with better service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
LuvMex828; We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Maya Caribe and we are glad you enjoyed spending your vacation with us.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that we take all comments very seriously as we know they help us to improve our services.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    320
    104
    48
    29
See reviews for
290
462
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Booked a package and think the picture do not do this place justice. The entire property is immaculate and the grounds are kept beautiful. Restaurants, always great choice could have possibly been slightly hotter but for a weeks stay we were given vouchers to eat in the A La Carte's for four nights so when we went in there as you'd expect beautiful and piping hot food. The service from all staff in all roles was brilliant - everyone wanted to help and chat and be friendly or leave you in peace. The rooms were comfortable and clean all in all, we enjoyed this hotel more than Sensatori, I think with some of the added 'luxurious' extras that other hotels throw in, the hotel would easily go up a star rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Benjamin86; Thank you for spending your vacation at Barceló Maya Caribe and contacting us through Tripadvisor sharing your impressions about the property and service, we are glad that we have exceeded your expectations and found the Resort enjoyable.

We always try to do our best to satisfy our guests and make their vacation enjoyable, I would also like to assure you that guest feedback is very important to us as we know they help us to continue improving our services.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went with our 2 teenage daughters over spring break and were concerned that it would be very busy. The resort shares the property with the Beach, Tropical, and Palace so it was huge and we never had any issue finding chairs around the pool or on the beach and we often commented "where is everyone".

The Caribe is a little dated but the rooms were very clean and well kept and the grounds are kept spotless. The staff were polite and always greeted us anywhere we went. The food was good and plentiful, we ate at the Spanish, Mexican, and Italian restaurants. The Italian was the best of the 3 and we would have liked to try the others however they were full.

Like I said the grounds are huge and there are a lot of pathways that follow the beach and go thru the jungle so you may get to see the wildlife which makes it enjoyable. They do have a train (which is a tractor that pulls cars behind it) that will pick you up and does the run to all the lobby's and cul-de-sacs by the beaches.

We traveled with WestJet and they greeted us at the airport and at the resort which was great and they directed us to tours and what to be cautious of. There was no Timeshare people at this resort. We did not have any pedlars on the beach.

We did take a cab from the resort to Playa to go to 5 Ave which is a large shopping and restaurant area. The fee was 23 US one way and takes about 20 mins. From the airport to resort takes just over an hour.

We do suggest this resort for families (there are water parks for smaller kids and some of the other pools have slides for older kids, there is also a kids camp) or couples as there is a large selection of all ages.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest CanadaBunky,

We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Caribe staff involved in your entire satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My friend and I just returned from a 3 night stay here. We wanted a quick getaway from the cold NY weather and needless to say we wanted to stay longer. We both loved our stay here. I travel often to Europe and the Caribbean. I've used cheapcaribbean.com for 3 trips now into the Caribbean. Great time for relaxation and SUN! I'll list the Pros and Cons of this hotel and Riviera Maya:

Pros:
Nice Room, we had a garden view superior room. It looks just as the pictures do.
Plenty of food choices. The Buffet was very impressive. Many choices for everyone. I don't eat a lot of red meat and there were plenty of choices for meat eaters, vegetarians, pescatarians. For Buffet Food is was good and I was impressed.
Gift shop had about anything that you needed or forgot to bring on your trip.
The hotel staff was not pushy in selling things; ie upgrades, times shares.
Spa was nice, my friend and I got massages and we were both pleased with our services.

Cons:
I think that this resort needs more staff to keep up with their expansion.
We ate at the Mexican restaurant and there was 1 waitress there for about 10 tables taking our orders. She did have help with other busers and servers, but my friend and I waited and waited first to order and within each dish.
The place to get towels had no towels, for about 2 hours. The worker behind the counter kept telling us no towels come back in 1 hour and the towel place is not really close to where our pool was. Word of recommendation barcelo, put towel huts within each "campus." Barcelo Maya Beach Resort has 5 within the compound. They should provide 1 for each.
There was no server by the pool to ask us if we wanted any drinks or anything. All the resorts I've been to have at least a server coming around to ask if we needed anything, not a big deal I can just walk to the bar, but again, Barcelo needs more staff and this is one of the things that other resorts do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear guest Schung914,

It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Your suggestions are very important to us and we will work on them in the near future.
Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here in November of 2013 and had a great experience! I am a travel agent so my review is honest and I like to think I know what to look for! That being said I have never been one to let the small things ruin my vacation! In this particular one though there were no negatives to speak of! The resort was kept immpeccibly clean, the food was delicious and the selection was great! We spent most of our time in the pool and it was fabulous. We went into Playa del Carmen via the bus that stops at the hotel gate. This was a 3 dollar charge eachway, so totally worth it over a cab, however it doesn't drop you at 5th avenue. We had to walk but we felt very safe and it wasn't far! I have always enjoyed Barcelo's and have sold them with confidence for years, I was very to happy to have had the chance to stay at this particular resort and will continue to sell it with confidence!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear lyn1million,

We appreciate your kindly comments which have been sent to the Barceló Maya Caribe staff involved in your entire satisfaction. Thank you so much for your loyalty and if you ever need a special request please let us know!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We rounded off our grand tour of Mexico in this beach resort. Quite different to everywhere else we stayed (and none the worse for that!). Our trip was quite tiring and this was the perfect end to our trip where we could have a little rest and relaxation. It's all-inclusive so it was a bit strange being able to eat and drink whenever you felt the desire. The acommodation was excellent and the food and choice of food just wonderful! The staff are extremely courteous and helpful and friendly. Most, if not all, seem to have a good grasp of English so communication is no problem. Ideal for those who like to soak up the sun. Probably great for families.

Room Tip: I imagine they have a good range of rooms, suites etc. I had a basic double room and was very satis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear williamsdew

It is a pleasure for Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel to review your kindly comments with the staff involved in your entire satisfaction.

Thank you very much for visiting this paradise and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Maya Caribe during a much needed week long vacation. The resort was very large and very clean. The beach area was huge and there were many pools and bars to choose from. We never had trouble finding beach chairs and the lines at the bars were minimal. Housekeeping could have used a little help, we had to call daily to have washcloths delivered! The buffet and restaurants were delicious and we quickly got used to having "Luis" our waiter look out for us and give us local tips on what to go see and do. Overall it was a great vacation and very fun resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors seemed a little more private. Talking to the front desk about any issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorBeachCaribe, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Caribe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear KV,

Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel in Tripadvisor network. We are pleased that we have met your expectations regarding our services.

Your recommendations have been analyzed with housekeeping department and we are sure that Luis will be very pleased to welcome you again.

We hope to see you soon at Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Maya Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Maya Caribe

Address: Ctra Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km 266.3, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Maya Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Barcelo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Maya Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Maya Caribe Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Barcelo Maya Caribe Beach
Barcelo Maya Caribe Riviera Maya/Puerto Aventuras, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Maya Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.